Skip to Search





A Guide to the Bernabé Sánchez Letterbook

Finding aid prepared by Carl Van Ness

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

November 2004



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Sanchez, Bernabe.
Title: Bernabé Sánchez Letterbook
Dates: 1898-1900
Abstract: A letterbook containing copies of letters written by cattle rancher and financier Bernabé Sánchez of Cuba between 1898 and 1900.
Extent: 0.03 Linear feet. 1 volume.
Identification: MS Group 179
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/sanchezb_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Bernabé Sánchez Adán, born July 15, 1841; died Sept 27, 1926. Cattle rancher and financier based in Nuevitas, Camagüey, owner of company "Bernabé Sánchez and Sons". Founded Central Senado in 1882 by combining two other properties: La Caridad and El Congreso. Bernabé managed the Ingenio until 1921.

Bernabé paid the mambises 1,000 gold pesos in 1898 to safeguard the property. His eldest son, Bernabé Sánchez Batista, was a senior officer among the Cuban insurgents during the Ten Year War against Spain and was elected governor of the province of Camagüey in 1913.

El Senado has since been renamed Noel Fernández. Before the 1959 revolution, it was the 24th biggest producer in the country, and employed 4,100 workers during the harvest. The estate covered 2,691 cabellerías.


Scope and Content

The collection consists of one letterbook containing copies of letters written by Sánchez between September 24, 1898 and October 31, 1900. There are 504 pages in the letterbook and most are legible.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Bernabé Sánchez Letterbook are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digi tal objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/sanchezb_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Bernabé Sánchez Letterbook, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cuba.
Sugar -- Manufacture and refining.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page