Skip to Search





Advertencia. La presente reseña de los acontecimientos...

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

August 2004



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Prats y Salas, Antonio.
Title: Advertencia. La presente reseña de los acontecimientos...
Dates: circa 1863
Abstract: Manuscript "Advertencia" by Antonio Prats, describing the events that resulted in his arrest during the period of political unrest leading up to the 10 Years War in Cuba.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder.
Identification: MS Group 162
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/prats_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

Manuscript "Advertencia" by Antonio Prats, describing the events that resulted in his arrest during the period of political unrest leading up to the 10 Years War in Cuba. In the Advertencia, he describes the political, military, and legal situation in Cuba around 1863. Prats was accused of stealing or freeing several African slaves by local authorities, a charge he disputes as false and claims is nothing more than a political maneuver on the part of the local individuals in power. The document is written in Spanish, and a typescript transcription is included.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/prats_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Advertencia of Antonio Prats y Salas, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Howard Karno Books, Valley Center, California, 1999.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Autonomy and independence movements.
Cuba.
History.
Nineteenth century.
Politics and culture.
Politics and government.
Slavery.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page