Skip to Search





A Guide to the Cuban Slave Insurance Collection

Finding aid created by Rachel Walton

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

December 2009



Descriptive Summary

Title: Cuban Slave Insurance Collection
Dates: 1855-1878
Abstract: Seventeen documents pertaining to insurance for slaves in Cuba.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder.
Identification: MS Group 268
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/cubanslave_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

The collection includes seventeen insurance policies and other documents pertaining to insurance for slaves in Cuba. The policies include the names and locations of owners, the insured value of the slaves, and descriptive information about the slaves such as name, age, gender, skin and hair color, height, facial features, health, and the presence of scars. The collection includes an inventory of 105 slaves in the jurisdiction of Trinidad in the area of Río de Ay, as well as a coolie immigration document from Trinidad.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/cubanslave_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Cuban Slave Insurance Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased with the generous support of the Manuel Pedro González Endowment.


Contents List

Box
1 La Protectora's (General Cuban Security Company for the Lives of Slaves) Policy Subscription. Authorized by the superior order of the Governor on this Island on November 20, 1855 and located in Havana. Policy Number 814. Jurisdiction of Cienfuegos. Slave Owner: Manuel G. Acevedo of Potrero on the property of Esperanza. Slave Name: Antonio. Slave Description: 30 year old male from Ganga, employed in the countryside/fields, black in color. Value of Slave according to category: 1,200 pesos. Indemnified Value: 1,051 pesos. Signed by the Director of La Protectora - José M. Morales. Duration of Policy: four years. March 1, 1856
1 Policy Number 820. Jurisdiction of Cienfuegos. Slave Owner: Manuel G. Acevedo of Potrero on the Property of Esperanza. Slave Name: Severino. Slave Description: four year old creole male, curly black hair, black in color. Value of Slave according to category: 250 pesos. Indemnified Value: 182 pesos. Signed by the Director of La Protectora - José M. Morales. Duration of Policy: four years. March 1, 1856
1 Policy Number 21384. Jurisdiction of Havana. Slave Owner: Don Franco Antonio Vidal of Havana. Slave Name: Antonia. Slave Description: 28 year old washwoman/laundress from Carabalí, black in color. Value of Slave according to category: 1,000 pesos. Indemnified Value: 800 pesos. Signed by the Director of La Protectora - José M. Morales. Duration of Policy : four years. December 10, 1857
1 Policy Number 22049. Jurisdiction of Havana. Slave Owner: León de Martiastre of Havana. Slave Name: Luis. Slave Description: 34 year old male from the nation of Guadalupe, employed in the countryside/fields, black in color. Value of Slave according to category: 1,500 pesos. Indemnified Value: 1,200 pesos. Signed by the General Director of La Protectora - José M. Morales. Duration of policy: four years. Includes reference to scar and states that the company is not responsible for the present epidemic of small pox or its consequences. September 15, 1858
1 Policy Number 23347. Jurisdiction of Cárdenas. Slave owner: Juan Gutiérrez Ramírez of Cárdenas. Slave Name: Roberto. Slave Description: 50 year old male from Gangá with a variety of occupations, black in color. Value of Slave according to category: 1,500 pesos. Indemnified Value: 1,245 pesos. Signed by the Director of La Protectora - José M. Morales. Duration of Policy: four years. May 25, 1859
1 Policy Number 23419. Jurisdiction of Lagunillas. Slave Owner: Segundo Núñez of Lagunillas. Slave Name: Julián. Slave Description: 33 year old creole male, employed in the countryside/fields, black in color. Value of Slave according to category: 1,500 pesos. Indemnified Value: 1,275 pesos. Signed by the Director of La Protectora - José M. Morales. Duration of Policy: four years. April 15, 1859
1 Policy Number 23432. Jurisdiction of Havana. Slave Owner: Cristóbal Alonzo of Havana. Slave Name: Guillerma. Slave Description: 24 year old creole female washwoman/laundress and cook, black in color. Value of Slave according to category: 1,300 pesos. Indemnified Value: 1,079 pesos. Signed by the Director of La Protectora - José M. Morales. Duration of Policy: four years. April 20, 1859
1 Policy Number 23620. Jurisdiction of Puerto Príncipe ("Pto. Prpe"). Slave Owner: Buenaventura de Zayas of Puerto Príncipe. Slave Name: Sebastián. Slave Description: 35 year old male from the Congo with a variety of occupations, black in color. Value of Slave according to category: 1,500 pesos. Indemnified Value: 1,350 pesos. Signed by the Director of La Protectora - José M. Morales. Duration of Policy: four years. December 10, 1859
1 La Protectora's (General Cuban Security Company for the Lives of Slaves) Inventory. Jurisdiction of Trinidad in the area of Río de Ay. 105 total slaves listed. Description includes: name, nation, sex, age, height, condition, color, hair type, forehead type, eye color, nose type, lips type, beard type, employment, category, value according to category, indemnified value, and corresponding policy number. 2 pages in length - front and back of first page and front of second. February 3, 1857
1 La Providencia's (General Cuban Security Company for the Value of Slaves) Policy Subscription. Authorized by the superior order of the Governor on July 23, 1855 in Havana. Policy Number 4471. Agency of Havana. Slave Owner: Gumesindo Balbás of Havana. Slave Name: Facundo. Slave Description: 65 year old male from Carabalí (word written over "Gangá"), employed as a hand servant, black in color. Price of Security/Insurance: 250 pesos. Signed by the General Director of La Providencia - Miguel de Embil. Duration of policy: five years. September 30, 1855
1 Policy Number 14279. Jurisdiction of San Antonio de los Baños. Slave Owner: Francisco Ferrer de la Calleja of Havana. Type of Property: Sugar Mill/Factory. Slave Name: Máximo. Slave Description: 47 year old male from the Congo, employed in the countryside/fields, black in color. Price of security/insurance: 450 pesos. Signed by the General Director of La Providencia - Miguel de Embil. Duration of policy: five years. March 17, 1856
1 Policy Number 14280. Jurisdiction of San Antonio de los Baños. Slave Owner: Francisco Ferrer de la Calleja of Havana. Type of Property: Sugar Mill/Factory. Slave Name: Félix. Slave Description: Creole male, employed in the countryside/fields, black in color. Price of security/insurance: 900 pesos. Signed by the General Director of La Providencia - Miguel de Embil. Duration of policy: five years. March 17, 1856
1 Policy Number 14281. Jurisdiction of San Antonio de los Baños. Slave Owner: Francisco Ferrer de la Calleja of Havana. Type of Property: Sugar Mill/Factory. Slave Name: Diego. Slave Description: 6 year old creole male, employed in the household/home, black in color. Price of security/insurance: 550 pesos. Signed by the General Director of La Providencia - Miguel de Embil. Duration of policy: five years. March 17, 1856
1 Policy Number 14282. Jurisdiction of San Antonio de los Baños. Slave Owner: Francisco Ferrer de la Calleja of Havana. Type of Property: Sugar Mill/Factory. Slave Name: Agustín. Slave Description: 51 year old male from Mandinga, employed in the countryside/fields, black in color. Price of security/insurance: 525 pesos. Signed by the General Director of La Providencia - Miguel de Embil. Duration of policy: five years. March 17, 1856
1 Coolie Immigration Document from Trinidad. Name of Patron: Doctor Juan Secchi. Name of Coolie: Vangaramy. Related Sum: 2,180 pesos. August 19, 1878
1 Slave Security Contract licensed by the Governor. Slave Owner: Don... Núñez of San Antonio. Slave Name: Nicolás. Slave Description: 2 years old, black. Employment: in the house/home. 1859
1 Slave Security Contract licensed by the Governor. Slave Owner: Don... Nuñez of San Antonio. Slave Name: José Elijio. Slave Description: 2 years old, brown ("pardo"), still suckling ("lacta"). 1859

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cuba -- Cienfuegos.
Cuba -- Havana.
Cuba.
Insurance companies.
Slavery.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page