Skip to Search





A Guide to the Jose Ignacio Rodriguez Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

March 2005



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Rodriguez, Jose; Ignacio, 1831-1907.
Title: Jose Ignacio Rodriguez Papers
Dates: 1873-1890
Abstract: Letters and documents of lawyer who represented clients whose property was seized by the Spanish government as retribution for their support of Cuban independence.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 84 items.
Identification: MS Group 306
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/Rodriguez_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Lawyer. Jose Ignacio Rodriguez worked in Washington, D.C. with Cubans living in the United States whose property was seized by the Spanish government for supporting the Cuban independence movement.


Scope and Content

Correspondence, documents and manuscript fragments. This collection contains letters and documents of Rodriguez's clients related to appeals presented to the Joint Spanish and American Commission in an attempt to reclaim the expropriated property of United States citizens, including the island of Cayo Romana. There are also materials about the insurrectionary activity in Camaguey, such as the uprising on Joaquin de Aguero in 1851 near Puerto Principe.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections: including letters from Mateo C. Rodriguez and Perfecto de Rojas. Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/Rodriguez_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Jose Ignacio Rodriguez Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

correspondence
Cuba -- Camagüey.
Cuba.
Cuban Americans.
Eminent domain.
Hispanic American lawyers.
Insurrection (Cuba : 1849-1851).
Nineteenth century.
Politics and government.
Revolutions.
Spain.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page