Skip to Search





A Guide to Álbum de viaje

Finding aid prepared by Carl Van Ness

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

January 6, 2014



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Guiteras Font, Eusebio, 1823-1893.
Title: Álbum de viaje
Dates: 1842-1845
Extent: 0.25 Linear feet. 3 vols..
Identification: MS Group 321
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/Albumdeviaje_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Cuban intellectual and educator. Eusebio Guiteras Font was born in Matanzas, Cuba, on March 5, 1823. WIth his brother, Antonio, he founded the college La Empresa in Matanzas. The college was closed by Spanish authorities in 1868 as the college was seen as a source of dissent against Spanish colonial rule. Guiteras moved to Philadelphia in 1869 and died there on December 24, 1893.


Scope and Content

On July 13, 1842, Eusebio and Antonio Guiteras Font embarked on a three year voyage that took them from their home in Matanzas to the United States, Canada, Spain, France, Italy, Greece, the Holy Land, and Eygpt. The collections consists of three journals written by Eusebio. It contains detailed notes of the journey along with memorabilia from the trip.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

A transcription of the journal was published in Sevilla in 2010 under the title El pensamineto liberal cubano a través del diario de viaje de Eusebio Guiteras Font.

Digital reproductions of selected items in Álbum de viaje are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at https://www.uflib.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/Albumdeviaje_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Álbum de viaje, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Gift of Guiteras Jacunski Family in 2004.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cuba.
Intellectuals.
Voyages and travels.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page