Skip to Search





A Guide to the Yemenite Liturgical Manuscript

Finding aid created by Matt Kruse

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

July 2017



Descriptive Summary

Title: Yemenite Liturgical Manuscript
Dates: circa 1830
Abstract: Hebrew hymns for mourning and the Ninth of Av, including lamentations (qinot), penitential hymns (selichot), and other non-liturgical texts.
Extent: .25 Linear feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MSS 0400
Language(s): Includes materials written in Hebrew, Aramaic, and Judeo-Arabic.
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

A Yemenite liturgical MS codex (incomplete) containing lamentations (qinot), penitential hymns (selichot and maranot) for the Ninth of Av and for mourners in Hebrew and Aramaic. Includes compositions of the medieval Hebrew poets of Spain (Solomon Ibn Gabirol, Judah ha-Levi, Abraham Ibn Ezra) and other well-known hymns of the Sephardi rite, as well as poems known only from the Yemenite rite. Also, bound into the codex are astronomical texts in Judaeo-Arabic, including mention of lunar mansions and prognostications by quivering. In between the leather and sack cloth binding is a parchment leaf containing text from Pirke Avot, Mishnah 1: 4-8. Other leaves are hidden between the leather, but they are too damaged and crumbled to retrieve. The version of the prayer for the dead (Kaddish) is according to the Baladi (local) Yemenite rite.

The texts are handwritten in black ink by multiple scribes; some leaves show evidence of scribal practice. The liturgical texts are vocalized with Babylonian supra-linear vowel signs. One leaf of parchment and several crumbling leaves are hidden in the binding. The manuscript also contains dried leaves (possibly sorghum) in between ff.40-41; green threads in between ff.75-76; a printed text in between ff.100-101, and a patterned cloth insert bound into the pages between ff.104-105.


Access or Use Restrictions

Usage Restrictions

Given the fragile nature of this manuscript please use the digitial reproduction when possible. Prior to using the original manscript researchers are advised to consult with Dr. Rebecca Jefferson, Head of the Price Library of Judaica (352-273-2865).


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

A digital reproduction of this manuscript is available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Yemenite Liturgical Manuscript, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Dr. Rebecca Jefferson, Head of the Price Library of Judaica, in July 2017.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Astronomy
Judaism--Liturgy
Selihot
Yemen (Republic)




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page