Skip to Search



A Guide to the Walton Family Papers

Finding aid created by Florence M. Turcotte

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
June 2015


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Walton, Kate L., 1917-1985
Title: Walton Family Papers
Dates: 1927-1948
Bulk dates: 1943-1947
Abstract: Kate L. Walton (1917-1985) was an attorney from Palatka, Florida who served as legal counsel in the Cason versus Baskin case, known as the Cross Creek Trial. The bulk of this collection consists of correspondence of the law firm relating to the trial and its proceedings, but also includes personal papers of Walton and various family members.
Extent: 0.42 Linear feet. 1 document box.
Identification: MSS 0331
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Kate L. Walton (1917-1985) served as legal counsel for Zelma Cason, plaintiff in the Cason versus Baskin case, also known as The Cross Creek Trial. She graduated from the University of Florida Law School and in 1936 was one of the first women admitted to the Florida Bar.


Scope and Content

The bulk of this material is correspondence of Judge Vertrees and Kate Walton law firm relating to the Cross Creek trial itself and its proceedings. Of note is a copy of the original agreement between Zelma Cason and the Walton Law firm with the contingency fee and Cason's signature. There is also a folder of personal correspondence belonging to Kate Walton, which provides details of life during the Great Depression and World War II. A frequent correspondent was Harold A. Henderson, a family friend who served in the Justice Department Anti-Trust Division. Henderson's son John had been a classmate of Kate Walton's at the University of Florida Law School.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in chronological order with the legal correspondence from the Cason versus Baskin case first, followed by the Cross Creek letters, and finally the personal correspondence of Kate Walton.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Related documents, from the point of view of the defendant, can be found in the Cross Creek Trial (Cason versus Baskin) Papers.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Walton Family Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Billy Townsend, descendent of Walton Family in 2013.


Contents List

Box
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1942
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1943 January-June
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1943 July-December
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1944
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1945 January-June
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1945 July-December
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1946 January-February
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1946 March-April
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1946 May-June
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1946 July-August
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1946 September-October
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1946 November-December
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1947 January-February
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1947 March-May
1 Cason versus Baskin correspondence 1947 June-July
1 Cross Creek letters 1942-1948
1 Kate Walton letters 1927, 1931, 1936, 1940-1947

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Privacy, Right of
Rawlings, Marjorie Kinnan, 1896-1953
Trials (Libel)--Florida
Walton, Kate L., 1917-1985



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page