Skip to Search





A Guide to the Visionaires Collection

Finding aid created by Matt Kruse

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

January 2019



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Visionaires Club.
Title: Visionaires Collection
Dates: 1938-2005
Abstract: The Visionaires was founded in February 1938 by eight women who sought to establish a community organization that could foster civic, cultural, and social affairs for African American women in Gainesville, Florida. The Visionaires Collection consists of minutes of their meetings, records of financial transactions, scrapbooks, photographs, and other materials that document the organization's participation in school and community activities.
Extent: 1.82 Linear Feet. 4 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0508
Language(s): English
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

The Visionaires was founded in February 1938 by eight women (Frederica C. Jones, Terrecita Pinder, Daphne Duval Williams, Mozelle Knowles, Florence Waldon Smith, Viola Jackson, Louise Rawls, and Christola Wilkerson Jones) who sought to establish a community organization that could foster civic, cultural, and social affairs for African American women in Gainesville, Florida. Regular meetings were held every other Thursday night and dues were 25 cents per month. Meetings were held in members' homes, in alphabetical order. The group was organized into three committees: Program (for literary affairs), Social (social functions for meetings and special events), and Civic (programs that promoted the welfare of the African American community) committees.


Scope and Content

The Visionaires Collection consists of minutes of their meetings, records of financial transactions, scrapbooks, photographs, and other materials that document the organization's participation in school and community activities.


Arrangement

Most of the files are arranged in chronological order with Photographs, anniversary celebrations, and scrapbooks grouped together at the end.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Visionaires Collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Visionaires Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Visionaires Club - By-Laws (2 copies). 1938 February 24
12 The Visionaires meeting notes recorded by Frederica M. Jones. 1942-1944
13 The Visionaires present "Wings Over Jordan" (Negro Choir) at the Lincoln High School Auditorium - program. 1948 February 26
14 The Visionaires present "The Southernaires" at the Lincoln High School Auditorium - program. 1949 February 10
15 Visionaires Club - cards (3 copies). 1949 March 18
Box
4 The Visionaires present "The Golden Gate Quartette" at the Lincoln High School Auditorium - advertisement. 1951 October 2
Box Folder
16 Daily teacher planning book for 11th and 12th grade at Lincoln High School for Frederica M. Jones. 1961-1962
17 Lincoln High School English program belonging to Frederica M. Jones. 1962-1963
18 Lincoln High School Faculty Handbook belonging to Frederica M. Jones. 1963-1964
19 Concerned Citizens for Juvenile Justice Presents - "Juvenile Justice - Whose Problem Is It?" - sponsored by groups including the Visionaires - announcement. 1981 October 21
110 Rosewood Traveling Exhibit sponsor certificate presented to the Visionaires, President, Gussie Campbell. 1999 September 12
111 Article about the Links honoring Christola Jones (co-founder of the Visionaires Club) in the Gainesville Sun. 2002 July 18
Box
4 National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Alachua County Branch award presented to The Visionaires Club for 63 years of service to the citizens of Alachua County. 2002 December 14
4 Ebony Appreciation Awards Committee award (glass plaque) presented to the Visionaires in recognition of their pioneering spirit. 2003 February 23
4 Sign "Visionaires - The Women in the News - Topic: April 7, 1938". undated
Box Folder
112 Visionaires Club - decorative napkin. undated
113 Visionaires Club - "Ladder of Achievement" notecards. undated
114 Visionaires Club - phone tree. undated
115 Visionaires Club - Report of the Program Committee. undated
116 The Visionaires 40th Anniversary Banquet - program. 1978 March 31
117 The Visionaires 50th Anniversary Celebration - program (2 copies). 1988 February 6
118 The Visionaires 63rd Anniversary Celebration - program. 2001 February 24
119 The Visionaires 68th Anniversary Celebration (this may actually be the 67th given the date?) - announcement. 2005 February
120 The Visionaires 1st Annual Benefit Tea - speech notes. undated
121 The Visionaires 2nd Annual Scholarship Tea - speech notes. undated
122 Photos - students at Lincoln High School. 1936, 1943, undated
123 Photos - The Visionaires Club. 1951
124 Photos - Lincoln High School teacher Frederica M. Jones. 1965 November
125 Photos - Alachua County retired teachers. 1971 June
126 Photos - The Visionaires Club. 1971
127 Photos - The Visionaires Club - party at Daphne's back yard. 1977 July 9
128 The Visionaires Club - minutes and account book. 1938-1941
Box
2 The Visionaires Club - scrapbook, Vol. 1. 1938-1948
2 The Visionaires Club - scrapbook, Vol. 2. 1949-1959
2 The Visionaires Club - scrapbook, Vol. 3. 1960-1970
3 The Visionaires Club - scrapbook, Vol. 4. 1971-1981
3 The Visionaires Club - scrapbook, Vol. 5. 1981-1991
3 The Visionaires Club - scrapbook, "More About US". 1938-1991

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

African Americans.
Education.
Florida -- Gainesville.
Lincoln High School (Gainesville, Fla.).




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page