Skip to Search





A Guide to the Duvall Family Letters

Finding aid created by Catherine J. Stiefel

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

July 2020



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Duvall, Ralph G., 1861-1941.
Creator: Duvall, Alma D., circ 1871-1958.
Title: Duvall Family Letters
Dates: 1927 January 15-April 8
Abstract: Letters from Alma and Ralph Duvall in St. Augustine, Florida to their daughter Glorian at the Lasell Seminary School in Newton, Massachusetts during the 1927 winter season. The correspondence provides a detailed account of the Duvall's Florida adventures along with ample advice and direction to their boarding school daughter.
Extent: .58 Linear Feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MSS .0568
Language(s): English .

Biographical/Historical Note

Ralph Griffing Duvall (September 07, 1861 – May 26, 1941) and Alma Deforest Duvall (Curtiss) (circa 1871 - 1958) were prominent in the community of Shelter Island, New York. They married on March 18, 1908. Ralph, a native of Shelter Island, was a prominent businessman in real estate, president (1928) of the Shelter Island Historical Society, and author of The History of Shelter Island (1932). Alma, born in Oakland California, was also active in the Shelter Island Historical Society, serving as Treasurer in 1923. Their daughter, Glorian Duvall Devereux (September 23, 1909 - January 30, 1993), attended Lasell Seminary School a finishing school in Newton, Massachusetts.


Scope and Content

The collection contains copies of correspondence - postcards, telegrams, letters - news clippings, church and concert programs, and photographs documenting the Duvall's activities and advice to Glorian their daughter who was attending boarding school during their three month stay in St. Augustine during the 1927 winter season. The letters describe St. Augustine amusements such as minstrel shows, band concerts, cake walks, the Ponce de Leon Festival, Casino Nights at the Alcazar, Chautauqua presentations, and activities sponsored by the Tourist Club. Descriptions of the Duvall's trips to Howie-in-the-Hills, Daytona Beach, Davis Shore, and the Volusia County State Fair are also included in the letters. Alma Duvall's letters to her daughter exemplify the values of an affluent and educated woman of the era.

Note: The correspondence is hand-written in cursive form.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

See Shelter Island Historical Society.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Duvall Family Letters, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

By purchase from Between the Covers Rare Books, 2020.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Ralph Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 January 15
12 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 16
13 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 17
14 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 18
15 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 19
16 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 20
17 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 21
18 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 22
19 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcards). 1927 January 24
110 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 24
111 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 January 25
112 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 25
113 Ralph Duvall to Glorian (Postcards). 1927 January 26-27
114 Ralph Duvall to Glorian (Postcards). 1927 January 27
115 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 27
116 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 27
117 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 28
118 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 29
119 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 30
120 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 January 30
121 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 January 31
122 Ralph and Alma Duvall to Gloiran (Postcards Telegram Card). 1927 February 1, 4, 10
123 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 3
124 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 February 3-4
125 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 February 5
126 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 6
127 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 February 8
128 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 8
129 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 9
130 Ralph and Alma Duvall to Glorian(Enclosure). 1927 February 10
131 Ralph Duvall to Glorian (Card). 1927 February 10
132 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 February 11
133 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 12
134 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 13
135 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 14
136 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 February 14
137 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 February 15
138 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 15
139 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcards). 1927 February 16
140 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 16
141 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 17
142 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 18
143 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 19
144 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 20
145 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 February 21
146 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 21
147 Aunt r Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 February 21
148 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 February 22
149 Ralph Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 February 22
150 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 23
151 Photos to Glorian. 1927 February 23
152 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 24
153 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 February 25
154 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 February 26
155 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 February 27
156 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Telegram). 1927 February 27
157 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcards). 1927 February 27
158 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 February 28
159 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 February 28
160 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 March 1
161 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 March 1
162 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 March 2
163 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 3
164 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 March 3
165 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 4
166 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 5
167 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 6
168 Ralph Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures Photos). 1927 March 7
169 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 7
170 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 8
171 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 9
172 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcards). 1927 March 9
173 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 10
174 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 11
175 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 12
176 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 12
177 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 13
178 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures and Photos). 1927 March 13
179 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 March 14
180 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 March 15
181 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 16
182 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 16
183 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 17
184 Ralph Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure Postcard). 1927 March 17
185 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 18
186 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 March 18
187 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcards). 1927 March 19
188 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 20
189 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 21
190 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 21
191 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 22
192 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcards). 1927 March 23
193 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 March 24
194 Ralph Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 March 24
195 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 25
196 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 26
197 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 27
198 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 28
199 Ralph Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 March 28
1100 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 March 29
1101 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 March 30
1102 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 March 31
1103 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure Postcard). 1927 March 31
1104 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 April 2
1105 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 April 3
1106 Alma Duvall to Glorian. 1927 April 4
1107 Ralph Duvall to Glorian. 1927 April 5
1108 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 April 5
1109 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosure). 1927 April 6
1110 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Enclosures). 1927 April 7
1111 Alma Duvall to Glorian (Postcard). 1927 April 8

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Duvall, Alma D., circ 1871-1958.
Duvall, Ralph G., 1861-1941.
Florida -- Saint Augustine.
Travel.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page