Skip to Search





A Guide to the Cartoon History of the Spanish American War

Finding aid created by Department Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

October 2019



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Crawford, Blanche S.
Title: Cartoon History of the Spanish American War
Dates: 1898
Abstract: This scrapbook made by Blanche S. Crawford is a compilation of political cartoons pertaining to the Spanish-American War published in American newspapers in 1898. While the cartoons come from different newspapers, they illustrate various aspects of the Spanish-American War from an American point of view.
Extent: 0.14 Linear Feet.
Identification: MSS 0541
Language(s): English
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ufmss0541_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

This scrapbook is a collection of political cartoons published in various newspapers during the Spanish-American War (1898). This conflict occurred between the United States, Spain and the Spanish colonies of Cuba and the Philippines, due to the American intervention in the Cuban War for Independence and, specifically, the sinking of the American Battleship the Maine. The war was carried out on several fronts including Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines. The Spanish- American War concluded with the Treaty of Paris, which gave the United States possession of the Philippines, Guam and Puerto Rico.


Scope and Content

This collection is a scrapbook of political cartoons pertaining to the Spanish-American War compiled by Blanche S. Crawford. The cartoons were taken from various popular newspapers published in 1898, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune and the discontinued New York World. This collection also includes a few short newspaper articles, printed photographs of American military protagonists of the war, and cards featuring paintings (drawings) of American ships. The cartoons featured in this collection focus mainly on Spain "unwillingness" to surrender, the questionable involvement of the United States in foreign matters, and criticism of Americas proceedings throughout the conflict.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Cartoon History of the Spanish American War are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ufmss0541_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Cartoon History of the Spanish American War, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Gift of Linamelia Adams and Ramiro Casañas.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Colonization.
Cuba.
Political cartoons.
Revolution (Cuba: 1895-1898).
Spanish-American War (1898).
Treaty of Peace between the United States and Spain (1898 December 10).
Uncle Sam (Symbolic character)




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page