Skip to Search





A Guide to the Colegio "La Milagrosa" arts and crafts album

Finding aid created by Katiana Bagué

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

October 2017



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Colegio "La Milagrosa".
Title: Colegio "La Milagrosa" arts and crafts album
Dates: circa 1902-1960
Abstract: An album containing cross-stitch and crochet samples made by a student of "Colegio La Milagrosa".
Extent: 0.11 Linear Feet. 1 album.
Identification: MSS 0540
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ufmss0540_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

The Colegio "La Milagrosa", once located in Matanzas, Cuba, was established in 1902 under the direction of the Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul. Before the founding of the school, the Matanzas community did not have an institution where they could send their daughters to have a proper education. Thus, the Daughters of Charity bought a house in the Calle Jovellanos No. 2 and, with the right repairs, it was blessed and inaugurated as an all-girls catholic school on September 8, 1902. In the following years, the establishment grew and by 1930 the school had approximately 200 students enrolled. Aside from teaching the primary and secondary education material, the school also offered classes in needlework, embroidery, knitting and drawing. The school was officially closed in 1961.


Scope and Content

This unique scrapbook displays the work of a former student from the Colegio "La Milagrosa" (possibly Aida S. whose name is inscribed in pencil on page 1). Each page contains a cross stich, knit or crochet design at its center, along with colored pencil drawings of flowers and patterns that accentuate the intricate yarn work. The first few pages demonstrate the student's cross stich skills with a piece of white-woven fabric glued at the center of each page. Within the fabric, the viewer can discern the student's needlework techniques. Page five shows a more detailed cross stich depicting what seems to be a woman and a small child holding hands. The remainder of the album contains small samples of the student's knit and crochet abilities. Most of the samples are square or rectangular in design. However, page seven shows a design rendered in a more circular fashion, similar to a doily.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Colegio "La Milagrosa" arts and crafts album are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ufmss0540_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Colegio "La Milagrosa" arts and crafts album, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased in April 2017.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Catholic schools.
Cuba -- Matanzas.
Cuba.
Education.
Knitting.
scrapbooks




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page