Skip to Search





A Guide to the Latina Women's League Records

Finding aid created by Nelissa E. Caraballo-Ramos

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

March 2020



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Latina Women's League (Gainesville, FL).
Title: Latina Women's League Records
Dates: 2005-2019
Abstract: Correspondence, meeting agendas, reports, event programs, and posters of the Latina Women's League.
Extent: 1.32 Linear Feet. 2 Boxes. 1 Flat Box and 21 Digital Files.
Identification: MSS 0522
Language(s): Includes materials written in English and Spanish.
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ufmss0522_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Founded in 2005, the Latina Women's League is an all women non-profit organization dedicated to contributing to the Latino/Hispanic culture and art in Gainesville. The Latina Women's League was created as a forum for discussions about the experiences of Latina women living in the United States. This mission is accomplished through the following activities: networking, social events, community service projects, including free English language and citizenship preparation classes, the Annual Gainesville Latino Film Festival, mentoring and advocacy.

One of the major projects by the Latina Women's League is the Annual Gainesville Latino Film Festival. This event was created in 2005 and its main goal is to contribute to the Latino/Hispanic culture of the North Florida area and the Gainesville community. The Latino Film Festival is a two-week-long series of international films concerning Latino issues in the United States and Latin America. Screened films are created by Latin American directors and present the diversity of the Latino culture.


Scope and Content

The Latina Women's League collection dates from 2005 to 2019. The majority of the items were produced by different board members of the league. The collection includes: correspondence, minutes, reports, legal documents, grant applications, newspapers, leaflets, a CD-ROM and posters. The collection covers topics such as the Gainesville Latino Film Festival, meetings, art, education, and community events. The items of the collection are written in English and Spanish.

This collection would be of interest to people interested in Latin American studies, Latin American Culture and those studying the experience of Latinos in Gainesville and women's experiences and leadership in the United States.

The collection is arranged into four series:

Series 1: "Correspondence, 2005-2014" discusses different educational and health programs, celebrations for the Hispanic Heritage month and Gainesville Latino Film Festival, fund raising and publicity events, collaborations, grant opportunities, invitations and meetings.

Series 2: "General Files, 2005-2014" contains a list of accomplishments, community service projects, Latino literature, legal documents such as bylaws, articles of incorporation and a marketing contract. This series also includes meeting invitations, newsletters, speeches, and newspaper articles related to the work of the Latina Women's League.

Series 3: "Gainesville Latino Film Festival, 2005-2019" is divided in two subseries: "General" documents and "Posters". The "General" subseries contains: grant applications, reports, job opportunities, press releases, and a list of sponsors. It also includes programs and schedules of the Film Festival. The "Posters" subseries contains posters and brochures from the 1st to the 15th Annual Gainesville Latino Film Festival. The oversized posters from the 4th to the 15th Annual Gainesville Latino Film Festival have been digitized and are available at the University of Florida Digital Collections website. Subsequent oversized posters will have a digital copy.

Series 4: "Meeting Minutes and Annual Reports, 2005-2014" contains topics such as memberships, invitations, the League's website, schedules, finances, events, announcements and reports. The meeting minutes for the year 2006 contains one CD-ROM.


Arrangement

The collection is arranged in alphabetical order and topically.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Latina Women's League are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/ufmss0522_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Latina Women's League Records, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by the Latina Women's League in 2019.


Contents List

Correspondence. 2005-2014



Box Folder
11 Correspondence. 2005
12 Correspondence. 2006
13 Correspondence. 2007
14 Correspondence. 2008
15 Correspondence. 2009
16 Correspondence. 2010
17 Correspondence. 2011
18 Correspondence. 2012
19 Correspondence. 2013
110 Correspondence. 2014



General Files. 2005-2014



Box Folder
111 Accomplishments. 2005-2008
112 Community Service Projects. 2006-2014
113 Latino Literature. 2008, 2010-2011, undated
114 Legal Documents - Articles of Incorporation. 2005
115 Legal Documents - Articles of Incorporation. 2007
116 Legal Documents - Bylaws. 2007
117 Legal Documents - Marketing Contract. 2011
118 Meeting Invitations. 2006-2008
119 Newsletters. 2007, 2009
120 Newspapers. 2007, 2009, 2013
121 Programming Awards. 2012-2013
122 Strategic Planning. 2013, undated
123 Welcome Speeches. 2014



Gainesville Latino Film Festival. 2005-2019



General.


Box Folder
124 Grant applications and reports - Art Tag. 2009
125 Grant applications and reports - Art Tag (with attachments). 2009
126 Grant applications and reports - Final Grant Report. 2010
127 Job opportunities. 2009
128 Poster design contest announcement. 2014
129 Press Release - 4th Annual Latino Film Festival. 2008
130 Press Release - 8th Annual Latino Film Festival. 2012
21 Programs and Schedules. 2005-2009
22 Programs and Schedules. 2010, 2012-2013
23 Sponsors. 2009, undated


Posters.


Box Folder
LA-OS11 1st Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2005
LA-OS11 2nd Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2006
LA-OS11 3rd Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2007
LA-OS11 4th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2008
Online 4th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2008
LA-OS11 5th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2009
Online 5th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2009
LA-OS11 6th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2010
Online 6th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2010
LA-OS12 7th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2011
Online 7th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2011
LA-OS12 8th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2012
Online 8th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2012
LA-OS12 9th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2013
Online 9th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2013
LA-OS12 10th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2014
Online 10th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2014
LA-OS13 11th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2015
Online 11th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2015
LA-OS13 12th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2016
Online 12th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2016
LA-OS13 13th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2017
Online 13th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2017
LA-OS13 14th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2018
Online 14th Annual Latino Film Festival - Oversize posters. 2018
Online 15th Annual Latino Film Festival - Posters and brochures. 2019



Meeting Minutes and Annual Reports. 2005-2014



Box Folder
24 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2005
25 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2006
26 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2007
27 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2008
28 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2009
29 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2010
210 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2011
211 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2012
212 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2013
213 Meeting Minutes and Annual reports. 2014



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Education.
Film festivals.
Florida -- Gainesville.
Hispanic American women -- Social conditions.
Latin America.
Latina Women's League (Gainesville, FL).
Leadership in women.
Women -- Societies and clubs.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page