Skip to Search





A Guide to the Earl M. Starnes Papers

Finding aid created by Ismail El Aboudi

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

June 2017



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Starnes, Earl M.
Title: Earl M. Starnes Papers
Dates: 1956-2009
Abstract: Earl M. Starnes was a growth management and planning expert who served as the director of the Florida Division of State Planning from 1972 to 1975 and as a faculty member of the University of Florida from 1976 to 1993. His papers primarily include books, articles, papers, and research planning material created during his time working for the state government and the university. Also included is material related to his various consulting projects in Florida and the Caribbean, photographs from his early private architectural practice, and general correspondence.
Extent: 5.22 Linear feet. 9 Boxes and 1 oversize flat folder.
Identification: MSS 0379
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Earl Maxwell Starnes was born on September 14, 1926 in Winter Haven, Florida. During World War II he served with the United States Coast Guard from 1944 to 1946. After the war Starnes studied at Florida Southern College, before attending the University of Florida where he graduated with a Bachelor's Degree in Architecture in 1951. After graduation, he worked for a variety of architectural firms in Miami and Fort Lauderdale, eventually opening his own practice, Starnes and Rentscher and Associates, in 1957.

In 1971 Starnes began working for the State of Florida, first as director of the Division of Mass Transit Operations for the Department of Transportation, and then from 1972 to 1975 he served as director of the Division of State Planning under Governor Reubin Askew. While working for the state, Starnes continued to further his education earning a Master's Degree in Urban and Regional Planning from Florida State University in 1973. From 1976 until his retirement in 1993, Starnes served as the director of the University of Florida's newly created Urban and Regional Planning program.

Throughout his career, Starnes worked on a variety of growth management and planning projects ranging from town and city redevelopment plans to national planning policies for Caribbean nations. He also served as an expert witness in land use and comprehensive planning cases in Florida and worked on the statewide greenway planning project. Starnes authored numerous research papers and publications including his book Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida which he co-authored with Florida State University Professor Richard Rubino in 2008.


Scope and Content

The Earl M. Starnes Papers primarily include books, articles, papers, and research planning material created during his time working for the state government and University of Florida. Also included is material related to his various consulting projects in Florida and the Caribbean, photographs from his early private architectural practice, general correspondence, and Starnes' master's thesis and dissertation work as well as a copy of his curriculum vitae.

"Series I: Publications and presentations" dates from 1970 to 2009. This series primarily contains material concerning Starnes' work on research papers, articles, books, and presentations concerning state planning, land use, environmental research, and growth management. Also included are speech files and conference reports. Represented here is Earl Starnes' work for the Florida State Government as Director of the Division of Mass Transit Operations for the Department of Transportation from 1971 to 1972 and then as Director of the Division of State Planning from 1972 to 1975. Also included is his work as a professor at the University of Florida from 1976 to 1993 and his work as Professor Emeritus after his retirement. Of particular interest are annotated drafts for his book Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida.

"Series II: Consulting projects" dates from 1975 to 2011. This series contains files related to specific consulting projects Starnes worked on concerning land use, redevelopment plans, growth management, and environmental planning. The majority of these projects concern areas in Florida and the Caribbean. Of particular interest are the materials relating to the Florida Greenways Project, Jamaica, and St. Kitts.

"Series III: Private architectural practice" dates from 1956 to 1971. This series contains material related to Starnes' private architectural work prior to his academic and state government career. Included are two binders containing photographs, slides, maps, and sketches related to his early architectural work including the First Unitarian Church in Dade County, Florida.

"Series IV: Correspondence" dates from 1981 to 2009. This series primarily contains general correspondence concerning the various consulting projects, research, and teaching activities of Earl Starnes. Also included is personal correspondence, letters from Florida Governor Bob Graham, and committee correspondence.

"Series V: Thesis, dissertation, and curriculum vitae" dates from 1973 to 1977 and includes Starnes' master's thesis and dissertation from his time at Florida State University as well as a copy of his curriculum vitae and an additional list of papers, articles, books, and other works he contributed to.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged into five series: "Series I: Publications and presentations," "Series II: Consulting projects," "Series III: Private architectural practice," "Series IV: Correspondence," "Series V: Thesis, dissertation, and curriculum vitae." All series are arranged chronologically except for series II which is arranged alphabetically by topic.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Earl M. Starnes Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

This collection was donated by Earl M. Starnes in 2016.


Contents List

I. Publications and presentations. 1970-2009



Box Folder
11 New Towns - A Possibility for South Florida By Earl M. Starnes, AIA. 1970
12 Growth Management and Urban and Regional Planning (articles, speeches, papers) (1 of 2). 1970-1974
13 Growth Management and Urban and Regional Planning (articles, speeches, papers) (1 of 2). 1970-1974
14 "New Towns - A Possibility for South Florida" - Miami Interaction. 1971
15 Speeches (1 of 2). 1971
16 Speeches (2 of 2). 1971
17 A Scenario To Determine the Effects of Increase in Individual Income on Investment in Transportation. 1972
18 Speeches (1 of 2). 1972
19 Speeches (2 of 2). 1972
110 Florida Division of State Planning - Reorganization and Comprehensive Planning Process. 1972-1974
111 Florida Division of State Planning - Reorganization and Comprehensive Planning Process (legislation). 1972-1976
112 Deployment of State Planning Activities. 1973
113 Land Use - Florida Experience. 1973
114 State land use policies - articles and papers (1 of 2). 1973
115 State land use policies - articles and papers (2 of 2). 1973
21 Papers on social policy. 1973-1974
22 Growth impact assessment and analysis (1 of 2). 1974
23 Growth impact assessment and analysis (2 of 2). 1974
24 Growth Impact Statement - An Address to the American Society of Landscape Architects - Task Force on National Growth, Miami Beach, Florida. 1974
25 Work Paper N.6 - Experiences of Florida in Planning for Land Use. 1974
26 Florida - critical area material (papers, drafts, memoranda) (1 of 2). 1974-1975
27 Florida - critical area material (papers, drafts, memoranda) (2 of 2). 1974-1975
28 Florida growth project growth policy - case study. 1974-1975
29 "Growth Impact Assessment - State and Regional Implementation" - presented at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. 1975
210 "Growth Management in Florida: Progress and Prognosis - Report from UF conference on Florida Growth Policy," Business and Economic Dimensions Vol.11, No. 1. 1975
211 An Implicit Balance - Jobs And Environment - Michigan case study. 1975
212 Policy Making, Knowledge and the State Executive (A Limited Research of the Literature). 1975
213 Policy Reconnaissance - State Growth Management Project - Study Design - The Council of State Governments. 1975
214 The South Looks to The Future - Southern Growth Policies Board - case study. 1975
31 Florida Looks at Growth. 1970s
32 The Critical Areas Program: A Development Management Process in Florida. 1976
33 Urban Land Development Management Process - State, Region, or Local Level (includes slides). 1976
34 Monticello By-Pass - Study. 1977
35 "Florida's Local Government Comprehensive Planning Act" - Business and Economic Dimensions Vol. 14, No. 4. 1978-1979
36 Background Paper on Waterfront Development and Change: Jacksonville, Florida. 1979
37 Community Planning and Political Process - A Vignette. 1981
38 The Ordinance of 1563 to the Local Government Comprehensive Planning Act - A Florida Story - presented to the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning in Chicago, Illinois. 1982
39 Florida Infrastructure Needs and Resources, 1982-2000: A Preliminary Analysis. 1983
310 Substate Districts - Playing Games with Lines and Turf - presented at a Growth Management Conference in Saddlebrook, Florida. 1983
311 Florida infrastructure analysis. 1984
312 Various projects and trips (handwritten notes journal). 1984-1988
313 Florida's Minimum Criteria Rule - Conference on the Growth Management Act of 1985 - Gainesville Florida. 1985
314 Florida, Growth and Who's Paying for it - Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 1986
315 North Orlando Redevelopment Alternatives. 1986
316 Agriculture Leadership (Conference - Presentation Slides). 1992
317 Preliminary Governance Report: The Cross Florida Greenbelt State Recreation and Conservation Area Management Plan by Earl M. Starnes - Ernest R. Bartley. 1992
318 A Limited Report on the Status of State Planning - (slides and drafts). 1992-1993
319 1000 Friends of Florida - Comments. 1993
320 Flagler County - growth management conference (speaker). 1993
41 Dick Nelson Symposium (Smart Growth). 2002
42 "Florida Planning, Meaningful Business and Touch Football" - draft of article. 2003
43 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - seminar notes. 2005-2007
44 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter I - annotated draft. 2007
45 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter II- annotated draft. 2007
46 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter II- edits and notes. 2007
47 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter III - annotated draft. 2007
48 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter IV - annotated draft. 2007
49 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter V - annotated draft. 2007
410 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter VI - annotated draft. 2007
411 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter VI - outline. 2007
412 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter VII - annotated draft. 2007
413 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter VIII - annotated draft. 2007
414 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter IX - annotated draft. 2007
415 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter IX - research cases. 2007
416 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter XI - annotated draft. 2006
417 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - chapter XII - annotated draft. 2007
418 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - bibliography - annotated draft. 2007
419 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - book draft. 2007
51 Lessons Learned? The History of Planning in Florida - Florida Atlantic University (FAU) program. 2009
52 "Short history of Florida Planning" - PowerPoint presentation (cd included). 2009
53 City/county model. undated
54 Port of Jacksonville, Florida development - research and maps. undated
55 Solid waste and drainage - paper, notes. undated



II. Consulting projects. 1975-2011



Box Folder
56 Alachua County - Alachua County Comprehensive Plan 1975-1995. 1975
57 Alachua County - study area residential land use counts and cursory population estimates. 1991
58 Alachua County - Spring Hills Development. 2007
59 Bay County - zoning and proposed land use. 2000
510 Bay County - Buckwild land use. 2005
511 Bay County - Shell Island - legal case. 2009
512 Bay County - Shell Island - affidavit. 2009
513 Cape Coral - comprehensive plan. 1988-1989
514 Cape Coral - comprehensive plan - booklets. 1989
515 Cypress-Creek - Pasco County - proposed land use plan. 2004
516 Gadsden County Florida - comprehensive plan. 1981
517 Greenway Project - Markham, Ontario and Alachua County, Florida. 1987-1990
518 Greenway Project - commission meetings. 1993
61 Greenway Project - other Florida greenways. 1993-1995
62 Greenway Project - Pinellas Trail case study. 1994
63 Greenway Project - Florida Statewide Greenways. 1994-1995
64 Greenway Project - legislative notes - Florida Greenways - trails. 1995
65 Greenway Project - Progress Report: Implementation. 1995
66 Greenway Project - Program 1995. 1995
67 Greenway Project - Report #1 (meetings agenda and summary - consultant work - presentation Slides). 1995
68 Greenway Project - workshop Hillsborough County. 1995
69 Greenway Project - Florida Greenways Coordinating Council notebook. 1998
610 Greenway Project - Florida Greenways Coordinating Council Notebook. 1998
611 Greenway Project - Office of Greenways and Trails - notes and correspondence. 2011
612 Greenway Project - Alachua Comprehensive Plan - recreation. undated
613 Jacksonville Beach, Florida - downtown redevelopment - photos. 1985
614 Jamaica - resource assessment. 1982
615 Jamaica - land use management plans. 1986-1989
71 Jamaica - environmental strategy. 1990-1991
72 Jamaica - environmental strategy. 1990-1991
73 Jamaica - environmental strategy. 1990-1991
74 Jamaica - US AID - Montego Bay development plan. 1991
75 Michigan - growth management report. 1976
76 Palm Beach County - ORC Amendment. 2004
77 Sam's Club Expansion - Gainesville Florida. 2007
78 Sam's Club Expansion - Gainesville Florida. 2007
79 St. Kitts - Transgulf Windshield survey. 1985
710 St. Kitts - memoranda, meetings, notes. 1988
81 St. Kitts - resource management plan - booklets. 1988
82 St. Kitts - resource management plan - booklets. 1988
83 St. Kitts - scope and work. 1988
84 St. Kitts - land development project - correspondence. 1989
85 St. Kitts - land use management plan. 1989
86 St. Kitts - memoranda, notes and correspondence. 1989
87 St. Kitts - Tropical Research and Development Inc. - fax, correspondence. 1989
88 St. Kitts - base maps and data. undated



III. Private architectural practice. 1956-1971



Box Folder
89 Selected photographs of projects from early practice (binder). 1956-1965
810 Starnes, Rentscher and Associates Architects - Coral Gables, Florida (projects binder) (1 of 3). 1957-1971
811 Starnes, Rentscher and Associates Architects - Coral Gables, Florida (loose photographs from project binder) (2 of 3). 1957-1971
812 Starnes, Rentscher and Associates Architects - Coral Gables, Florida (13 slides from project binder) (3 of 3). 1957-1971
MC214.1 Robert Neely Residence - Coconut Grove, Florida and another unidentified building. 1960
813 First Unitarian Church - Dade County, Florida (photographs). 1963



IV. Correspondence. 1981-2009



Box Folder
814 Florida Governor Bob Graham - correspondence concerning the protection of vital farmland and the State Wide Regional Planning Council Meeting in Orlando. 1981
815 General Correspondence. 1986
816 Substate District Boundaries Committee. 1986-1987
817 Personal correspondence. 1988-1991
91 General Correspondence (1 of 2). 1989
92 General Correspondence (2 of 2). 1989
93 General Correspondence. 1992
94 North West Florida - Water Management Department. 1992
95 General Correspondence. 2003-2009



V. Thesis, dissertation, and curriculum vitae. 1973-1977



Box Folder
96 Master's Thesis - Deployment of State Planning Activities - draft and notes. 1973
97 Dissertation - Development Management - A Descriptive Model and a Methodology for Analysis - draft, notes, outline. 1975-1976
98 Dissertation - Individual States and Development Management: A Selected Method for Analysis - final draft. 1977
99 Curriculum vitae (CV) and other works. undated



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Florida
Florida--Marjorie Harris Carr Cross Florida Greenway
Greenways--Planning
Land use--Planning
Regional planning
Starnes, Earl M.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page