Skip to Search



A Guide to the Military Papers of the Spanish Army in Cuba

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Title: Military Papers of the Spanish Army in Cuba
Dates: 1869-1897
Abstract: Correspondence, finanical records, and others documents about the organization and activities of the Spanish military in Cuba from 1869 to 1897.
Extent: 0.05 Linear feet. 16 Folders.
Identification: MS Group 161
Language(s): Spanish
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

Correspondence, finanical records, and official documents that reveal the presence, organization, and activities of the Spanish military in Cuba from 1869 to 1897. Most of the military units documented by the records are volunteer units, and several records refer to the Ejercito de Cuba (Cuban military) and the Comisaria de Guerra. A number of the financial documents were created or signed by Salvador Bonet, the Habilitado (accounts officer or paymaster). Several documents are also signed by Gregorio Lopez. Included are muster rolls, letters, a poem, invoices, service records, and inventories of arms, ammunition, rations, supplies, and personnel. Folders are arranged in alphabetical order. All of the documents are written in Spanish.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Military Papers of the Spanish Army in Cuba, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Folder
1 Bonet, Salvador - Correspondence and official documents from his tenure as Habilitado (accounts officer or paymaster). 1880-1884
2 Enlistment and promotion of Jose Rosell. 1875
3 File of Fidel Marques, Batallion of Volunteers, Santiago de Cuba (Voluntarios de Santiago de Cuba). 1869-1877
4 Inventories of weapons, ammunition, etc. 1877-1882
5 Inventory, military supply depot, Tigualos, Cuba. 1896-1897
6 Muster Roll, First Royal Regiment of Infantry. 1882
7 Muster Roll, First Royal Regiment of Infantry, Ciego de Avila. 1882
8 Passport, certificate, and official documents of the Comisaria de Guerra. 1882-1884
9 Payroll for Officers, and credits and debits for personnel accounts. 1878-1896
10 Poem, "Despedida de la Isla de Cuba" (Farewell to the Island of Cuba). n.d.
11 Rations (rice, galleta, coffee, etc.). 1896-1897
12 Receipts, invoices, and other financial documents. 1878-1884
13 Record of Desertion ("Hoja de Estadistica Criminal de Guerra"). 1879
14 Service Record of Ramon Leal, First Royal Calvary. 1870
15 Supplies, equipments, property. 1882
16 Training and instruction for personnel. 1879-1882

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cuba -- History -- 1810-1899.
Cuba -- History, Military.
Spain -- Armed Forces -- Mobilization -- History -- 19th century.
Spain -- Colonies -- History, Military.
Spain -- History, Military -- 19th century.
Spain. Ejercito -- History -- 19th century.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page