Skip to Search





A Guide to the Alfred M. Silberfeld Genealogical Research Collection

Finding aid created by Katalin Franciska Rac

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

October 2016



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Silberfeld, Alfred M., 1921-2012
Creator: Silberfeld, Heath, 1950-
Title: Alfred M. Silberfeld Genealogical Research Collection
Dates: 1900-2015
Abstract: This collection contains research papers, personal correspondence, and literary works of Alfred M. Silberfeld and his relatives. The collection includes copies of personal documents and photographs of Silberfeld's extended family and ancestors, collected and arranged as part of Silberfeld's genealogical research.
Extent: 2.40 Linear feet. 6 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0369
Language(s): Includes materials written in English, Hebrew, Polish

Biographical/Historical Note

Alfred M. Silberfeld was born and raised in New Jersey. After completing his high school studies in 1939, he worked for two years at the cosmetics firm of his father's second cousin, Helena Rubinstein. Afterward, he became an office machine operator in the U.S. Department of Labor. Nights and weekends, he was a comic master of ceremonies and performed in nightclubs in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. In 1943, he joined the team of the Hudson Dispatch in Union City, New Jersey, working first as a cub reporter and later as a rewrite editor. Silberfeld worked as an advertising manager and associate editor of the West New Yorker, later aka Jersey Pictorial. He also worked for the Metropolitan Service Company. After a short intermission spent in the retail business, he operated two businesses of his own: Silco Air Conditioning and Television and Silco Printing and Advertising Specialties.

Max Schlanger, his employer at Metropolitan Service Company, sponsored his membership in 1951 in Abraham Lincoln Lodge #6, Knights of Pythias, West New York, New Jersey. He became a lifetime member in the Knights of Pythias in 1966. He served in numerous positions of responsibility and leadership in lodges in New Jersey, Florida, nationally, and internationally, including Grand Chancellor and Supreme Representative. From 1976 until the time of his death, he was involved with genealogical research. Silberfeld corresponded with different Jewish historical and genealogical societies, such as the American Jewish Historical Society, the Jewish Genealogical Society, National Genealogical Society, the periodical Hadassa, and more. He continued his genealogical research until his death.

As a retiree in Florida, he continued both his genealogical research and activities as a Pythian. He founded the Jewish Genealogical Society of Palm Beach County in 1990. The Society organized a memorial event after his death, as the attached email correspondence in folder no. 4 that includes the event program illustrates. For his first Yahrzeit (anniversary of his death), the family organized a memorial ceremony.


Scope and Content

The collection holds various personal documents (mostly photocopies), newspaper clippings, photographs, and correspondence that pertain to Alfred Silberfeld's extensive genealogical research in the course of which he explored his and his wife Sylvia's family histories. Family tree-charts are also enclosed. The collection also includes correspondence with archives in the United States, Israel, and Poland, and with family members, close and distant relatives, and their descendants. A minority of the items reflect on his active membership in the lodge Knights of Pythias. Two folders hold several of Silberfeld's poems written from the 1930s are collected in a scrapbook. Additional poems and short stories by Silberfeld, in the form of typed manuscript and newspaper clippings, and his biography are kept separately. Some of the stories were authored by family members. Alfred Silberfeld's ethical will is housed together with additional documentation of his funeral. Another folder holds materials related to the conference organized to commemorate Silberfeld's contribution to genealogical research. Additionally, three CDs and two floppy diskettes contain documentation of Silberfeld's research. Two videotapes hold recordings of one of Silberfeld's lectures and visual materials. On a third VHS cassette, a tour in the Pythian Museum is recorded. An audio tape of Rabbi Jacob Halpern's service at Siberfeld's funeral is also attached.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in topical and chronological order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Alfred M. Silberfeld Genealogical Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection is a donation of Heath Lynn Silberfeld, daughter of the late Alfred M. Silberfeld.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Family Matters, family photographs (1 of 2). 1905-1965, undated
12 Family Matters, family photographs (2 of 2). 1965-1995, undated
13 My Family Matters: How the Silberfeld-Rauch Family Tree Grew from 940 CE to 2006, genealogical research documents (1 of 5). 2006, 2009
14 My Family Matters: How the Silberfeld-Rauch Family Tree Grew from 940 CE to 2006, genealogical research documents (2 of 5). 1997, 2006, undated
15 My Family Matters: How the Silberfeld-Rauch Family Tree Grew from 940 CE to 2006, genealogical research documents (3 of 5). 1995, 2003-2006, undated
16 My Family Matters: How the Silberfeld-Rauch Family Tree Grew from 940 CE to 2006, genealogical research documents (4 of 5). 2003-2006, undated
17 My Family Matters: How the Silberfeld-Rauch Family Tree Grew from 940 CE to 2006, genealogical research documents (5 of 5). 2002-2006, undated
21 My Family Matters: Documentation of the Bloom-Cohn-Golumbick Katzenellenbogen-Landau Pinkas-Rauch-Silberfeld Families, genealogical research charts. 1995, 2005
22 My Family Matters: Documentation of the Bloom-Cohn-Golumbick Katzenellenbogen-Landau Pinkas-Rauch-Silberfeld Families, genealogical research 1800s. 1988, 1991, 1995, 2002, 2006, 2008, undated
23 My Family Matters: Documentation of the Bloom-Cohn-Golumbick Katzenellenbogen-Landau Pinkas-Rauch-Silberfeld Families, genealogical research 1900s. 2001, 2003, undated
24 My Family Matters: Documentation of the Bloom-Cohn-Golumbick Katzenellenbogen-Landau Pinkas-Rauch-Silberfeld Families, genealogical research. 1910s, 2003, 2006, undated
25 My Family Matters: Documentation of the Bloom-Cohn-Golumbick Katzenellenbogen-Landau Pinkas-Rauch-Silberfeld Families, genealogical research 1920s. 2003, 2004, undated
26 My Family Matters: Documentation of the Bloom-Cohn-Golumbick Katzenellenbogen-Landau Pinkas-Rauch-Silberfeld Families, genealogical research 1930s. 2003, 2004, 2006, undated
27 My Family Matters: Documentation of the Bloom-Cohn-Golumbick Katzenellenbogen-Landau Pinkas-Rauch-Silberfeld Families, genealogical research 1940s. 1996, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2009, undated
28 My Family Matters: Documentation of the Bloom-Cohn-Golumbick Katzenellenbogen-Landau Pinkas-Rauch-Silberfeld Families, genealogical research 1950s. 2006-2009, undated
29 My Family Matters: Documentation of the Bloom-Cohn-Golumbick Katzenellenbogen-Landau Pinkas-Rauch-Silberfeld Families, genealogical research 1960s. 2001, 2002, 2009, undated
210 Additional research materials. 1944, 1986-1988, 1992-1994, 1998, undated
31 Correspondence (1 of 2). 1977, 1985-1993, undated
32 Correspondence (2 of 2). 1988-1991, undated
33 Copies of family correspondence. undated
34 Photocopies of registry extracts explored during and in support of genealogical research and additional documents. 1998, undated
35 Marriage certificates. undated
36 Research materials related to the Rauch family. 2002-2006, undated
37 Records of genealogical research - copies and a photographs. 1995-2000, undated
38 Family documents, pictures, newspaper clippings. 1927, 1936, 1942, 1943, 1946, 1950, 1977, 1982, 1985, 1986, 1989, 1992, 1994, 2009, undated
41 Scrapbook with poems. 1933, undated
42 Short stories, poems, and Silberfeld's biography and resume. 1985, undated
43 Newspaper clippings and flyers. 1972, 1991, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2003, undated
44 Knights of Pythias documents. 1940, 1953, 1969, 1993, 1998, 2000, undated
45 Ethical Will and photograph and documents related to Alfred Silberfeld's death and funeral. undated
46 Jewish Geneological Society, newspaper clippings and memorial conference. 2006, 2013-2015
47 CDs of Krakow cemetery burials and misc., floppy disks (2). undated
4 VHS cassettes: Pythian Museum Tour; Silberfeld Slides; Silberfeld Genealogy Lecture. undated
4 Book: Alfred M. Silberfeld (editor and chairman), Bicentennial Historical Yearbook Knights of Pythias Grand Domain of New Jersey, publisher: Bicentennial Historical Yearbook Committee of the Grand Lodge Knights of Pythias of New Jersey. 1976
48 Photographs and prints. 1957, 2001, 2005, undated
49 Album of photographs and other family documents. 1977, 1987, 1989-1993, 1995, 1999, 2000, undated
5 Books: The Journeys which were before Me by Alfred M. Silberfeld. 2000 January
5 Books: Many Branches, Many Roots: A Genealogical Narrative of the Bloom, Cohn, Golumbick, Levy, Rauch, Silberfeld, Family Trees by Alfred M. Siberfeld. 1992
5 Books: Many Branches, Many Roots: A Genealogical Narrative. A 1000 Year Study of the Bloom, Cohn, Cohen, Eybenschuetz, Golumbick, Levy, Piller, Pufeles, Rauch, Silberfeld, Spira Ancestry from 940 to 2004 by Alfred M. Siberfeld. 2004 May 10-13
5 Books: Many Branches, Many Roots:Addendum to the Krasnik/Silberfeld Family Tree Books - Information, Persons, and Statistics by Alfred M. Siberfeld. 2004 July 9
5 Books: Many Branches, Many Roots by Alfred M. Siberfeld. 2000 January 27-31
5 Audio tape: Silberfeld memorial service by Rabbi Jacob S. Halpern. undated
61 Rauch and Golumbick family trees. undated

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Holocaust survivors
Jews--Genealogy
Knights of Pythias
Silberfeld, Alfred M., 1921-2012




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page