Skip to Search



A Guide to the Fray Francisco del Rosario Manuscript

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
July 2007


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Rosario, Francisco del
Title: Fray Francisco del Rosario Manuscript
Dates: 1676
Abstract: Report by a Dominican friar, Fray Francisco del Rosario, in Pueblo de Santa Teresa de los Moços, complaining that Spanish soldiers imprisoned Indians who were in his care.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 letter.
Identification: MS Group 112 2/15
Language(s): Spanish
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

Report by a Dominican friar, Fray Francisco del Rosario, in Pueblo de Santa Teresa de los Moços, complaining that Spanish soldiers had imprisoned Indians who were in his care. The document is dated February 10, 1676, and the first page is missing so the intended recipient is unknown. This document reveals relations between the friars, local Indian leaders (curacas), and civil Spanish authorities concerning Indian labor. Some interesting details about everyday life are mentioned, such as gifts of maize, yuca, and other items to the curacas, and wine the governor gave to the Indians. It is difficult, however, to understand the full context for the document without the missing first page.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Fray Francisco del Rosario Manuscript, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Indians of South America -- Missions -- Sources.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page