Skip to Search



A Guide to the Richard F. Phillips Latin American Postcard Collection

Finding aid created by Ana D. Rodriguez and Wondy Joseph

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
December 2015


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Phillips, Richard F. (Richard Frederick), 1949- (Collector)
Title: Richard F. Phillips Latin American Postcard Collection
Dates: approximately 1937-2012
Abstract: The collection consists of postcards featuring views of various cities and countries throughout Latin America, as well as images of Latin American art.
Extent: 0.42 Linear feet. 95 Postcards.
Identification: MSS 0346
Language(s): Includes materials written in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/phillips_es.htm

Biographical/Historical Note

Richard F. Phillips was head librarian of the Latin American and Caribbean Collection at the University of Florida (UF) from 1993 to 2014. Before that he worked in cataloging for 15 years at UF, Princeton University, and University of Colorado. He collected many of these postcards during his trips to Latin America as head of the collection.


Scope and Content

The Latin American Postcard Collection is comprised of a total of 95 postcards featuring views of various cities and countries throughout Latin America. Mexico is highly featured in this collection, with a group of black and white photographic postcards with views of Cuernavaca, Morelos, as well as color images of murals painted by Diego Rivera, José Orozco, and David Alfaro Siqueiros.


Arrangement

The collection is arranged into two series: "Series 1: Landscapes and art" and "Series 2: Mexican Murals." Within each series, the items are organized alphabetically and by region.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/phillips_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Richard F. Phillips Latin American Postcard Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Richard F. Phillips donated the postcards to the University of Florida in 2015.


Contents List

Series 1: Landscapes and art. 2012, undated


Box
1 Argentina: Portrait of Eva Perón, Museo Evita, Buenos Aires, Argentina (2 copies). 2012
1 Belize: The Belizean Flag. undated
1 Bolivia: Painting Autoretrato by Cecilio Guzmán de Rojas (1947). undated
1 Bolivia: Painting Calle de Wuarina by Cecilio Guzmán de Rojas (1942). undated
1 Bolivia: Painting Campesino Aymara by Cecilio Guzmán de Rojas (1937). undated
1 Bolivia: Painting Profundidad Abismal by Cecilio Guzmán de Rojas (1942). undated
1 Brazil: Four views of the city of Curitiba. undated
1 Brazil: Night view of the Paulista Avenue with Transmission Tower, Sao Paulo. undated
1 Brazil: Painting of San José de Anchieta and poem on verso by Guilherme de Almeida. undated
1 Colombia : Map of Terra Firma et Novum Regnum Granatense et Papayan made by Juan Ogilby (1671). undated
1 Cuba: Aerial view of Havana. undated
1 Cuba: Aerial view of Hotel Melia in Varadero. undated
1 Cuba: Painting of El camello azul by Edelberto Alonso. undated
1 Cuba: View of an indigenous ceremonial park in Guamá. undated
1 Cuba: View of Baconao Beach in Santiago de Cuba. undated
1 Cuba: View of Caña River and the Escambray Mountain Range in Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province. undated
1 Cuba: View of Hotel Nacional in Havana. undated
1 Cuba: View of Morro castle in Havana. undated
1 Dominican Republic: Painting of Aguacatera con pájaros by Gilberto Hernández Ortega. undated
1 Dominican Republic: Painting of Invocación a la lluvia by Gilberto Hernández Ortega. undated
1 Dominican Republic: Painting Retrato de mi abuela by Gilberto Hernández Ortega. undated
1 Mexico: Archaeological site of Paquimé in Chihuahua (2 copies with different views). undated
1 Mexico: Interior view of the Chapel of the Virgin of the Rosary in Puebla (2 copies with different views). undated
1 Mexico: Israelite Sports Center building in Mexico City. undated
1 Mexico: Monument to Doña Josefa Ortiz de Dominguez, "La Corregidora," in Queretaro. undated
1 Mexico: Pilgrimage of the Zapopan virgin to her shrine in Guadalajara, Jalisco. undated
1 Mexico: Soldiers in Chihuahua. undated
1 Mexico: View of Taxco, Guerrero. undated
1 Mexico: View of the Universidad Autónoma of Queretaro. undated
1 Mexico: View of the valley of Mexico (2 copies). undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. Aerial view of Capilla Nuestra Señora del Carmen and Capilla de la Tercera Orden de San Francisco de Asís. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. Boy drinking from a fountain in the Parque Revolución. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. El Calvario. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. Hillside street with view of the cathedral. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. Panorama. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. Panoramic view of Tepoztlán in the state of Morelos. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. View of Chapultepec Garden. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. View of Palacio de Cortés from side street. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. View of San Antón Waterfall. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. View of Tepetates Street. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. View of the archway on the street Carlos Cuauglia, the old aqueduct over the Amanalco Ravine (2 copies). undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. View of the Atrial Cross and Capilla de la Tercera Orden de San Francisco de Asís (2 different views). undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. View of the Cathedral of the Assumption of Mary. undated
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. View of the city's downtown (3 copies). undated
1 Puerto Rico: Aerial view of Castillo San Felipe del Morro. undated
1 Puerto Rico: Architecture of Old San Juan. undated
1 Puerto Rico: Capilla del Cristo. undated
1 Puerto Rico: Fort San Cristobal. undated
1 Puerto Rico: La Fortaleza (Governor's Mansion) and Old San Juan Street. undated
1 Puerto Rico: Old San Juan City Hall building and Plaza de Armas. undated
1 Puerto Rico: Paseo de la Princesa. undated
1 Puerto Rico: San Juan Cathedral. undated
1 Puerto Rico: San Juan Gate. undated
1 Puerto Rico: San Juan Harbor and Old San Juan. undated
1 Puerto Rico: Totem Pole. undated


Series 2: Mexican Murals. undated


Box
1 Mexico: Cuernavaca. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio de Cortés. Agrarian Revolutionary leader: Emiliano Zapata. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by David Alfaro Siqueiros. Palacio de Bellas Artes. Liberty. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by David Alfaro Siqueiros. Palacio de Bellas Artes. Sacrifice for liberty. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by David Alfaro Siqueiros. Private house (Sonora 9) Cuauhtemoc against the myth. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio de Bellas Artes. Science. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. Arts and crafts in ancient Mexico. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. Arts and crafts in ancient Mexico with indigenous rulers. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. Hernan Cortés and Fray Bartolomé de las Casas, the protector of the Indians.. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. Marketing in ancient Mexico. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The conquest. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The execution of Maximilian in Queretaro (1867). undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The foundation of the City of Mexico-Tenochtitlan by the Aztecs (1323). undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The Great Tenochtitlan: city center of Tenochtitlan. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The Great Tenochtitlan: the market of petates (straw mats) in Tlaltelolco. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The Great Tenochtitlan: the temple of the war and the rain gods in Tlacopan. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The Great Tenochtitlan: the wheeling dog. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The Independence War of Mexico (1810). undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The legend of Quetzalcoatl (Toltec Period). undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The reformation of the laws by Benito Juárez (1857). undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The revolution of Madero (1910). undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional de México. The struggle of the classes according to Karl Marx. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by Diego Rivera. Secretaría de Educación Pública. Night of the poor. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by José Clemente Orozco. Edificio de la Suprema Corte. Allegory of Mexico. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by José Clemente Orozco. Edificio de la Suprema Corte. Crooks. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by José Clemente Orozco. Edificio de la Suprema Corte. Justice. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by José Clemente Orozco. Edificio de la Suprema Corte. Justice with torch. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by José Clemente Orozco. Iglesia del Hospital de Jesús. Angel in the vault of the Choir. undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by José Clemente Orozco. Iglesia del Hospital de Jesús. Angel in the vault of the Choir (different view). undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by José Clemente Orozco. Iglesia del Hospital de Jesús. Angel tying the devil (Apocalipsy). undated
1 Mexico: Mexico City. Mural by José Clemente Orozco. Iglesia del Hospital de Jesús. Life. undated


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Caribbean Area
Latin America
Mexico
Mexico--Cuernavaca
Muralists
Postcards



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page