Skip to Search



A Guide to the Paul A. Hughes Collection of Caribbean Stereographs

Finding aid created by Ana D. Rodriguez and Richard Phillips

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
October 2015


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Hughes, Paul A. (Collector)
Title: Paul A. Hughes Collection of Caribbean Stereographs
Dates: 1898-1903
Abstract: The collection includes 88 stereograph images showcasing scenes and views of the Greater and Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean Sea.
Extent: 1.5 Linear feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MSS 0341
Language(s): English
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/paulhughes_es.htm

Biographical/Historical Note

Stereographs, two almost identical photographs paired to create a three-dimensional experience, were first made in the 1850s. People viewed stereographs as a form of entertainment until the 1920s. Stereographs also had an educational purpose: they provided images of significant events, and of diverse places and people.

The collection includes stereographs from two of the most important stereographic firms in the United States: Underwood & Underwood and Keystone View Company. Brothers Elmer and Bert Underwood founded Underwood & Underwood in 1880 in Ottawa, Kansas. Starting with door to door sales and eventually branching out into freelance photography work, the brothers' company grew large enough to relocate to New York City in 1891. At the turn of the century the firm was selling 300,000 stereographs a year. After stereograph production was discontinued in the 1920s, Underwood & Underwood sold its stereographic stock to the Keystone View Company.


Scope and Content

The Paul A. Hughes Collection is comprised of 88 stereograph images showcasing scenes and views of the Greater and Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean Sea. The stereograph cards were taken between 1898 and 1903 by the following publishing companies: Underwood & Underwood, American Stereoscopic Company, Keystone View Company, Strohmeyer and Wyman, H. C. White Company, Universal Photo Art Company, and M. H. Zahner. The Greater Antilles are represented by Cuba (Series 1), Puerto Rico (Series 2), and Jamaica (Series 4). Cuba is featured prominently, followed by Puerto Rico, and Jamaica with one stereograph image. The Lesser Antilles (Series 3) are represented with views of Martinique, Guadeloupe, Nevis, Barbados, and St. Kitts. The aftermath of the volcanic eruption of Mount Pelée in Martinique is documented in several stereographs. The rest of the Lesser Antilles islands are represented with one image each.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged into four series: "Series 1: Cuba," "Series 2: Puerto Rico," "Series 3: Lesser Antilles" and "Series 4: Jamaica."


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The William P. Angrick II Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Stereographs at the University of Florida

Panama Canal Stereographs at the University of Florida Digital Collections

Tom Pohrt Collection at the University of Miami


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/paulhughes_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Paul A. Hughes Collection of Caribbean Stereographs, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated by Paul A. Hughes in 2014.


Contents List

Series 1: Cuba. 1898-1902, undated


Box
1 Spanish block house overlooking Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. 1898
1 Morro Castle after its bombardment by Rear Admiral William T. Sampson's fleet, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. 1898
1 Royal Palm Gardens in Havana, Cuba. 1898
1 Morro Castle, the famous Spanish fort in Havana, Cuba. 1898
1 Wounded Santiago de Cuba soldiers in an U.S. general hospital. 1898
1 View of El Morro Castle from the old fortification in Santiago de Cuba Harbor. 1898
1 Light artillery for shipment to Santiago de Cuba. 1898
1 View of the Saratoga ship carrying troops to Santiago de Cuba. 1898
1 View of hills south of Santiago de Cuba, showing the encampment of American army. 1898
1 Captain General's winter palace and grounds in Havana, Cuba. 1898
1 View of Santiago de Cuba harbor from the Spanish block house. 1898
1 Major General Fitzhugh Lee, Ex-Consul General at Havana. 1898
1 Major General Shafter, Commander of the Army of Invasion at Santiago de Cuba. 1898
1 View of typical country house in the province of Havana, Cuba. 1899
1 Workers laying pipes in the streets of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. 1899
1 Along the docks of Havana, Cuba. 1899
1 Jagua Fort at the entrance of Cienfuegos, Cuba. 1899
1 Columbus Memorial and old tree under which was celebrated the first mass in Havana, Cuba,. 1899
1 View of a typical home of a wealthy Cuban in Matanzas, Cuba. 1899
1 Peasant houses in the Dos Bocas Valley, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. 1899
1 Selling donkey milk, Havana, Cuba. 1899
1 Rural home in the province of Pinar del Rio, Cuba. 1899
1 View of the west side of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. 1899
1 Basilio Street in the poor quarter of Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. 1899
1 View of Principe Alfonso Street in Havana, Cuba. 1899
1 Cuban women washing in the river at Guantanamo, Cuba. 1899
1 Morro Castle in Santiago de Cuba seen from the bay. 1899
1 View of the "East Battery" near Morro destroyed by the American Fleet, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. 1899
1 Last Spanish camp in Cienfuegos, Cuba. 1899
1 Spanish soldiers in Cienfuegos Cuba having breakfast before departing for Spain. 1899
1 Cavalry charge by Cuban troops in Remedios, Cuba. 1899
1 Picturesque Siboney near Santiago de Cuba. 1899
1 Inspection of U.S. troops by General Joseph Cabell Breckenridge, Santiago de Cuba. 1899
1 East view of Villa Clara in the Santa Clara province. 1899
1 View of El Caney from the Fort, scene of general Henry Ware Lawton's glorious victory. 1899
1 View of plaza and cathedral in Cienfuegos, Cuba. 1899
1 View of an iron mining camp in the province of Santiago de Cuba. 1899
1 View of a mountain home in the province of Santiago de Cuba. 1899
1 Havana harbor seen from the dock. 1899
1 Human bones exhumed from graves in Havana, Cuba. 1899
1 Street cleaners at work in Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. 1899
1 Townsfolk passing by Dolores Square in Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. 1899
1 View of a sugar plantation in Caracas, Cuba. 1899
1 View of the Governor's Palace (background) and the Plaza de Armas (foreground) in Santiago de Cuba. 1899
1 Inhabitants of the Cuban village San Luis, in the province of Santiago de Cuba. 1899
1 View of a plantation home in Cuba. 1899
1 Scene of Siboney, Cuba. 1899
1 Street scene in the village of El Caney, Cuba. 1899
1 Cavalry of General Máximo Gómez's Army in Remedios, Cuba. 1899
1 U.S. flag, also known as "Old Glory" hung for the first time at the Morro Castle in Havana, Cuba. 1899
1 View of the city of Guantanamo from across the Guantanamo River. 1899
1 O'Reilly Street, Havana, Cuba (looking east). 1899
1 Santiago de Cuba, from the Bay. 1899
1 Stone Fort, El Caney, Cuba - showing hill up which General Lawton's forces charged. 1899
1 Interior of the destroyed Stone Fort, El Caney, looking towards Santiago, Cuba. 1899
1 Ford of the Aguadores - where many American Boys were killed - near San Juan, Cuba. 1899
1 The gallant Cervera's magnificent Flagship "Colon" - where the great chase ended - Cuba. 1899
1 Laborers on a banana plantation, Cuba. 1900
1 Along the docks of Havana, Cuba. 1901
1 Making laws for the new nation: Cuba's first senate in session, Havana, Cuba. 1902
1 Cuban cigar makers at work in the largest factory in Havana, Cuba. undated
1 Pottery factory in Cuba. undated
1 Courtyard of a Cuban home in Remedios, Cuba. undated
1 The wonderful caves of Bellamar near Matanzas, Cuba. undated
1 View of the harbor of Santiago de Cuba from the Spanish Block House. undated
1 View of new capitol building in Havana, Cuba. undated
1 Entrance of Morro Castle in Santiago de Cuba, Cuba. undated
1 Typical tobacco plantation near Havana. undated
1 View of the Yumuri River from the Yumuri ridge, Matanzas, Cuba. undated
1 City of Havana looking toward the harbor. undated


Series 2: Puerto Rico. 1899-1900, undated


Box
1 A holiday jaunt in a horseless carriage in Coamo, Puerto Rico. 1899
1 Getting bananas ready for market in Ponce, Puerto Rico. 1899
1 Columbus Square, and Fortress of San Cristobal, San Juan, Puerto Rico. 1899
1 Governor's Palace, showing old City Wall and Gate - San Juan, Puerto Rico. 1899
1 Rapid Transit in Yauco, Puerto Rico. 1899
1 Cutting the sugar cane in Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico. 1900
1 Cutting the sugar cane in Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico (beige frame). 1900
1 Life and trade in Commerce Street, Yauco, Puerto Rico. undated


Series 3: Lesser Antilles. 1902-1903, undated


Box
1 Remains of a cathedral after volcanic eruption in Saint-Pierre, Martinique. 1902
1 Ruins of Saint-Pierre caused by Mount Pelée volcano (background) in Martinique. 1902
1 Volcanic explosion of Mount Pelée near Riviere Blanche in Martinique. 1902
1 Panoramic view of Saint-Pierre showing Mount Pelée volcano in Martinique. 1902
1 Beautiful scene in Martinique. undated
1 Coffee pickers at work in Guadeloupe. 1903
1 View of a sugar estate in the island of Nevis. 1903
1 View of a sugar estate in the island of Nevis. undated
1 Group of women preparing cane stalks for replanting in Saint Kitts. undated


Series 4: Jamaica. 1903


Box
1 Scene at a school house in Jamaica. 1903


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Agriculture
Buildings
Caribbean Area
Country life
Cuba--Havana
Cuba--Santiago de Cuba--Castillo del Morro
Keystone View Company
Martinique--Mount Pelée
Puerto Rico
Spanish-American War, 1898
Stereographs
Sugar factories
Underwood & Underwood



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page