Skip to Search



A Guide to the John Parker Letters

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Parker, John
Title: John Parker Letters
Dates: 1815
Abstract: Letters from John Parker in Havana, Cuba, to his employer, A.C. Johnstone, describing business in Cuba.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder.
Identification: MS Group 165
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

Two autograph letters and the concluding page of a third letter from John Parker in Havana, Cuba, to his employer, A.C. Johnstone. The first letter, dated April 3, 1815, is written following Parker's arrival in Havana aboard the "Amelia." He describes various transactions and business contacts he has made and discusses the shipping of sugar and coffee to St. Petersburg. In the second letter, dated June 7, 1815, he discusses business transactions in more detail, complains about having to deal with the Spanish in buying real estate and goods, congratulates Johnstone on the purchase of a cotton plantation, and includes a price list of men, women, and boy slaves from Africa. The final letter, dated August 6, 1815, consists of the concluding page only, but describes the coffee, sugar and other markets in Havana.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of the Parker letters are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], John Parker Letters, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Capital market -- Cuba -- History -- 19th century.
Coffee -- Cuba.
Cuba -- Commerce -- United States.
Havana (Cuba) -- Commerce -- History -- 19th century.
Havana (Cuba) -- History.
Slave-trade -- Cuba.
Sugar trade -- Cuba -- History.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page