Skip to Search





A Guide to the Ian Parker Collection Relating to East African Wildlife Conservation

Finding aid created by Dan Reboussin, Barbara Gundersen, and John Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

July 2014



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Parker, I. S. C. (Ian S. C.), 1936-
Title: Ian Parker Collection Relating to East African Wildlife Conservation
Dates: 1896-2012
Bulk dates: 1956-2004
Abstract: The Ian Parker Collection documents wildlife management and conservation in East Africa, particularly in Kenya, over more than fifty years. The bulk of the collection spans 1956-2004 and covers Parker's service as a Game Warden in Kenya, his activities with Wildlife Services Ltd., work as an independent consultant, and his research and activities relating to the ivory trade, poaching, elephants and other wildlife.
Extent: 35.75 Linear feet. 62 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 324
Language(s): English
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Ian S.C. (Stuart Carlisle) Parker was born February 11, 1936 in Malawi (then Nyasaland). His mother returned with him to Kenya to be close to her family after Ian's father joined the Royal Air Force during the Second World War. Parker attended Cheltenham College (England), returning to Kenya in 1953 without going on to university. He worked as a laborer on a dairy farm until he was old enough to enlist with the Kenya Regiment during the Mau Mau Uprising. Once trained, he was seconded from the Regiment to the colonial administration. In this role, along with his peers from the Regiment, young men not yet 20 years old were given administrative responsibility for important aspects of the lives of as many as 10,000 people. As a result of this experience Parker never regretted opting for it instead of going to university.

In 1956 Parker became a Game Warden with the Kenya Game Department. Early in his career, Parker explains, he "broke ranks and advocated allowing the Watta people to hunt rather than treating them as poachers." This approach led to the creation of the Galana Game Management Scheme in 1960, arguably the earliest and largest community conservation project in Africa. After eight years as Game Warden, Parker resigned in 1964 and started Wildlife Services, Ltd. with his wife Christine Mowat Parker and four friends as partners. Theirs was the first wildlife research and management consultancy in East Africa. Parker had frequent contact with East African government conservation departments through his role in the company. While working in many areas relating to wildlife, Wildlife Services became best known internationally for undertaking a series of large scale elephant culling operations from 1965 to 1969 in Uganda, Kenya, and Tanzania. This was the first time such work was attempted. The data collected were used to produce numerous scientific publications.

Managing the sale of ivory produced by these culling projects gave Parker contacts and experience in the ivory trade, which he continued to investigate through commissions on behalf of those with national, commercial, and conservation interests. He researched the history, scope, scale, and value of the trade, its varying market practices across the continent and internationally, as well as the influence of political corruption and illegal trade on conservation practices and prospects. Parker became a recognized authority on the provenance of ivory stocks through forensic observation, and an expert on ivory distribution and markets.

After closing Wildlife Services, Ltd. in 1976, Parker continued his work as an independent consultant, ivory broker to governments and businesses, and advocate of wildlife product monetization practices that support conservation and economically benefit African communities. He represented several ivory trader associations' proposals regarding the international trade to the third and fourth Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) biennial conferences. With over 50 years working in wildlife conservation, management, and development, Ian Parker retired in 2011, moving from Nairobi to Australia with his wife.


Scope and Content

The Parker Collection documents wildlife management and conservation in East Africa, particularly in Kenya, over more than fifty years. Although materials in the collection date from 1896 to 2012, the bulk of the collection spans 1956-2004 and covers Parker's service as a Game Warden in Kenya, his activities with Wildlife Services Ltd., work as an independent consultant, and his research and activities with the ivory trade.

The collection is arranged in multiple file series or groups:

  • 1979 World Ivory Trade Study
  • Second World Ivory Trade Study (1989) for CITES
  • Eburiana
  • Miscellaneous Ivory Files
  • Elephant Data
  • Rodney Elliott Files
  • Kenya
  • Uganda
  • Shashe Silk
  • Correspondence and Subject Files
  • Photographs and Audiovisual
  • Maps and Oversize Materials
  • Reprints
  • Miscellaneous Publications

Some subjects such as ivory, elephants, poaching, and Kenya, are pervasive throughout the entire collection. Whenever files were clearly labeled and/or grouped in these categories by Parker, the files were maintained in this arrangement. Many files throughout the collection include handwritten or typewritten notes by Parker explaining the context for the materials and the historical importance of specific documents.

The first five file groups pertain to the ivory trade and elephants. These materials include research data, correspondence, government publications and legislation, and numerous reports created by Parker. In addition to reports completed for the 1979 World Ivory Trade Study and the Second World Ivory Trade Study, there is the "Black Report" that he produced for Botswana in 1971, the "White Report" produced in 1973, and the Ebur (Latin for ivory) Report from 1974-1975. The files identified by Parker as "Eburiana" include materials Parker gathered on the ivory and horn trade, poaching, corruption, the World Wildlife Fund (WWF), and Operation Lock, a covert operation conducted in South Africa by a private military firm, KAS Enterprises. The culmination of these investigations was a presentation before the 1996 Commission of Inquiry into the Alleged Smuggling of and Illegal Trade in Ivory and Rhinoceros in South Africa (one of President Mandela's government's Truth Commissions). The Elephant Data files consist of biological field data compiled during culling operations intended to mitigate elephant overpopulation from 1965-1969 at environmentally stressed sites in several East African countries.

The Rodney Elliott files were bequeathed to Parker after Elliott's death in 2005. Elliott was a retired British military officer who served both as a game warden and a national park warden in Kenya (the national parks and the Game Department were separate organizations before 1976), as manager of the private Solio Wildlife Sanctuary, and briefly as a Superintendent in the Kenya Police responsible for investigating corruption of the game wardens and government agencies. The files span much of his career, with the bulk covering his investigations of corruption, his management of the Solio Sanctuary, and his fervent anti-poaching activities. The files also include correspondence with wildlife conservationists George and Joy Adamson. George was a Senior Game Warden in northern Kenya and Joy authored the best selling book Born Free.

The Kenya and Uganda files include reports, laws, regulations and correspondence pertaining to those countries. Several files document the work of Parker and Wildlife Services Ltd. completed in and for those countries. Many of the Kenya files are related to the Kenya Wildlife Service, wildlife conservation and management legislation, poaching, game wardens, the Kenya Game Department, and the Galana Game Management Scheme (1960-1964). Similarly, the Shashe Silk files cover Parker's involvement in an attempt to develop a silk industry in Botswana. The majority of these files pertain to research into the production of Gonometa silk as a major export product.

The Correspondence and Subject Files represent those materials that were not grouped into any of the preceding file series. It should be noted, however, that there is a great deal of overlap between these files and materials found in other groups within the collection. For example, there are Subject Files that pertain to Kenya and the ivory trade. Correspondents include Peter Jenkins, Richard H.V. Bell, R.M. Laws, Graeme Caughley, A.D. Graham, and various organizations and firms including Botswana Game Industries (BGI) and Tombooth Ltd. Many of the subject files relate to consultancy work completed by Parker and Wildlife Services Ltd., including reports, surveys, and research data. In addition to elephants and rhinos, these files include materials pertaining to game birds, gazelles, tropical fish, frogs, crocodiles, hippopotamuses, and other wildlife. Several of the files pertain to countries such as The Gambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Somalia, Tanzania, etc., as well as to non-African locales including the United States, Europe, and Hong Kong.

The remaining file groups are primarily based on physical format: Photographs and Audiovisual, Maps and Oversize Materials, Reprints, and Miscellaneous Publications. Many of the photos, films, maps, and oversize materials had been stored with papers throughout the collection, but have been separated from their original files or boxes in order to preserve them. Of particular interest among these files are aerial photos used to count wildlife (e.g., elephant and rhino herds), films pertaining to a BBC production on elephants, and a large-scale map documenting hippos along the Nile for 50 miles above Murchison Falls.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.

Usage Restrictions

None of the motion picture films created under contract with African governments (or the digitized video files or DVDs derived from them) are to be removed from the research room or reproduced. These video files may be viewed by researchers on site in the George A. Smathers Libraries.


Related or Separated Material

The University of Florida Smathers Libraries also holds the following related collections which are processed and available to researchers: the Records of the East African Professional Hunters Association, the Graham and Brian Child Collection, and the Larry Harris Collection (in process).


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Parker collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Materials relating to the ivory trade, such as Parker's 1979 report, The Ivory Trade, are available online at http://ufdc.ufl.edu/AA00020117/00001/allvolumes (also includes Ebur and rhino files, Rodney Elliott materials, etc.). Digital reproductions of elephant data sheets are available online at http://ufdc.ufl.edu/l/AA00013409/. A sketch map of the Victoria Nile between Murchison Falls and Chobe showing hippopotamus distribution and numbers is available at http://ufdc.ufl.edu/AA00018741/. Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Ian Parker Collection Relating to East African Wildlife Conservation, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Ian Parker donated this collection to the University of Florida Smathers Libraries in 2010.


Contents List

1979 World Ivory Trade Study

Wildlife Services Ltd. completed this study as a consultancy for Iain Douglas-Hamilton on behalf of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN). Parker's final report, titled "The Ivory Trade," was submitted in June 1979. In addition to copies of this report, these files include research data, reference materials, reports, and Parker's notes. Although most of the documents date from 1979 or earlier, some of the materials date after 1979, including Parker's testimony in the U.S., correspondence regarding the report, and data that he continued to collect.



Box Folder
11 Contractual Details, etc. 1978-1979
12 Statistics, References, Quotes, etc. Circa 1979
13 Miscellaneous Data from Europe and the Far East (Folder 1 of 3). Circa 1979
14 Miscellaneous Data from Europe and the Far East (Folder 2 of 3). Circa 1979
15 Miscellaneous Data from Europe and the Far East (Folder 3 of 3). Circa 1979
16 File "Ivory 2" (Folder 1 of 3). Circa 1979
17 File "Ivory 2" (Folder 2 of 3). Circa 1979
21 File "Ivory 2" (Folder 3 of 3). Circa 1979
22 File "Ivory 3" - Miscellaneous Data from Africa (Folder 1 of 2). Circa 1979
23 File "Ivory 3" - Miscellaneous Data from Africa (Folder 2 of 2). Circa 1979
24 File "Ivory 4" - Elephant Control and Legal Ivory Exploitation in Tanganyika. Circa 1979
25 Miscellaneous Ivory Data (including currency conversions). Circa 1979
26 Auxiliary Ivory File (Folder 1 of 2). Circa 1979
27 Auxiliary Ivory File (Folder 2 of 2). Circa 1979
28 Miscellaneous Data from Hong Kong. 1979
31 Douglas-Hamilton African Elephant Action Plan (IUCN, WWF, NYZS). 1979
32 African Elephant Ivory Trade Study Final Report by Douglas-Hamilton. 1979
33 Parker Report: The Ivory Trade Volume 1 Commerce in Ivory. 1979
34 Parker Report: The Ivory Trade Volume 2 Biological Aspects. 1979
35 Parker Report: The Ivory Trade Volume 3 Discussion and Recommendations. 1979
36 Parker Report: The Ivory Trade Volume 4 Tables (1 of 3). 1979
37 Parker Report: The Ivory Trade Volume 4 Tables (2 of 3). 1979
38 Parker Report: The Ivory Trade Volume 4 Tables (3 of 3). 1979



Second World Ivory Trade Study (1989) for CITES

Includes research data, reports, reference materials, notes and other materials created and collected by Parker during his consultancy for CITES (Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora). Some of Parker's correspondence with CITES, particularly materials dated after 1989, can be found in the Miscellaneous Ivory file group.



Box Folder
41 CITES Data 1 - Customs and Wildlife Trade Monitoring Unit (WTMU) Statistics on Ivory Imports/Exports. Circa 1989
42 CITES Data 2 - WTMU 1977-1987 Imports (Folder 1 of 2). Circa 1989
43 CITES Data 2 - WTMU 1977-1987 Imports (Folder 2 of 2). Circa 1989
44 CITES Data 3 - WTMU Data (Folder 1 of 2). Circa 1989
45 CITES Data 3 - WTMU Data (Folder 2 of 2). Circa 1989
46 CITES Data 4- Reports on Imports/Exports (WTMU) (Folder 1 of 2). Circa 1989
47 CITES Data 4- Reports on Imports/Exports (WTMU) (Folder 2 of 2). Circa 1989
48 Parker Report: The Raw Ivory Trade 1979-1987. 1989
49 The Ivory Trade in Southern Africa (Report to Parker by R.B. Martin). 1989



Eburiana

The bulk of these files date from 1995-1996 and consist of materials Parker gathered together in 1995 when he was asked to present evidence before the Commission of Inquiry Into the Alleged Smuggling of and Illegal Trade in Ivory and Rhinoceros Horn in South Africa. The materials cover the ivory and horn trade, poaching, corruption, the World Wildlife Fund (WWF), and Operation Lock, a covert operation conducted in South Africa by a private military firm, KAS Enterprises. There is a great deal of correspondence dated 1975-1996 with Stephen Ellis, historian and director of the African Studies Centre in the Netherlands, and with Kathi Austin, expert on weapons trafficking and smuggling in Africa. Also included is the final report in 1996 by the chair of the commission.



Box Folder
51 Commission of Inquiry - Report and Stephen Ellis Documents. 1995-1996
52 Eburiana General (Parker Subpoena) - A-J
53 Eburiana General (Parker Subpoena) - K-Z
54 Eburiana Media A-F
55 Eburiana Media G-Z
56 Lawyers - regarding Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS), South Africa, etc.
57 South Africa - World Wildlife Fund (WWF)
58 World Wildlife Fund - Documents and Correspondence



Miscellaneous Ivory Files

This series of files includes correspondence, research data and field notes documenting Parker's study of and involvement with the ivory trade. Also included are the "Black Report" that he produced for Botswana in 1971, the "White Report" he produced in 1973, and the EBUR Report from 1974-1975. Related reports completed by Parker in 1979 and 1989 are filed separately under: the 1979 World Ivory Trade Study, and the Second World Ivory Trade Study. Photos found with these files have been separated and stored in the Photographs and Audiovisual group.



Box Folder
61 Aden, British Somaliland, Sudan
62 African Elephant Working Group (AEWG), African Elephant Conservation Coordinating Group (AECCG), Ivory Trade Review Group (ITRG)
63 "Black Report" - "East African Elephant Ivory Trade 1925-1970" (Parker report). 1971
64 Botswana - Import/Export - Miscellaneous
65 CITES - Correspondence, Documents (Folder 1 of 3). 1980-2004
66 CITES - Correspondence, Documents (Folder 2 of 3). 1980-2004
67 CITES - Correspondence, Documents (Folder 3 of 3). 1980-2004
68 Djibouti Ivory Data
69 "EBUR" Report (Ivory). 1974-1975
610 Friedlein, Thom (Ivory Buyer) - Correspondence re: Ivory Trade (Folder 1 of 2)
611 Friedlein, Thom (Ivory Buyer) - Correspondence re: Ivory Trade (Folder 2 of 2)
612 Hong Kong Ivory Export Data. 1960-1977
71 Ivory Contacts with Trade and Authority (mid-1979; closed 31-12-83) (Folder 1 of 2)
72 Ivory Contacts with Trade and Authority (mid-1979; closed 31-12-83) (Folder 1 of 2)
73 Ivory Field Notes
74 Ivory Trade Data Customs Statistics
75 Miscellaneous Ivory Import/Export, Elephant Data, Hunting and Poaching Statistics
76 Mombasa Ivory Room Auctions - including ivory, rhino horn, hippo teeth data (Folder 1 of 2). 1959-1976
77 Mombasa Ivory Room Auctions - including ivory, rhino horn, hippo teeth data (Folder 1 of 2). 1959-1976
78 Pearce, David - Reports, Data, Statistics on Ivory Trade
79 Tabulated East African Tusk Data
710 Valuation of Seized Ivory (for Kenya Police C.I.D.)
711 "White Report" - "A Background to the Ivory Trade" (Parker report). 1973
81 Ivory Register - Botswana Game Industries (6 volumes). 1970-1988
82 Elephant Register. 1965-1966
83 Elephant Register. 1967
84 Elephant Uganda and Tsavo Veterinary Register of Data Collected



Elephant Data

Field data compiled during culling (herd thinning) operations intended to mitigate elephant overpopulation in 1965-1969 at environmentally stressed sites: Murchison Falls National Park, Budongo Forest, Tsavo, and Mkomasi. Taking advantage of this unique opportunity, body and organ measurements, age estimates, reproductive status, and disease observations were collected post mortem and recorded on 3,175 data sheets. The data sheets are unique because the large number of individuals is unlikely to be reproduced, and the sampling represents natural (albeit environmentally stressed) family groups rather than trophies or weak individuals. Digital reproductions of the data sheets are currently available online (http://ufdc.ufl.edu/l/AA00013409/). In addition to these data sheets, a volume titled "Elephant Stomach Content Analyses" is stored with Oversize Materials in Box 46. Researchers should note that the files in this Elephant Data group pertain specifically to the 1960s culling project, but data on elephants can be found throughout this collection (e.g., there are numerous files pertaining to the ivory trade and poaching that include elephant data).



Box Folder
91 MFP (Murchison Falls National Park) GMU 1-199 (North Bank) (Folder 1 of 2)
92 MFP (Murchison Falls National Park) GMU 1-199 (North Bank) (Folder 2 of 2)
93 MFP 200-399 (South Bank) (Folder 1 of 2)
94 MFP 200-399 (South Bank) (Folder 2 of 2)
95 MFP 400-599 (Folder 1 of 2)
96 MFP 400-700 (Folder 2 of 2)
97 MFP 701-1000 - Nuffield Unit of Tropical Animal Ecology (Folder 1 of 3)
98 MFP 701-1000 - Nuffield Unit of Tropical Animal Ecology (Folder 2 of 3)
99 MFP 701-1000 - Nuffield Unit of Tropical Animal Ecology (Folder 3 of 3)
101 MFP 1001-1300 - Nuffield Unit (Folder 1 of 2)
102 MFP 1001-1300 - Nuffield Unit (Folder 2 of 2)
103 MFP 1301-1650 - Nuffield Unit (Folder 1 of 2)
104 MFP 1301-1650 - Nuffield Unit (Folder 2 of 2)
105 MFP 1651-2000 (Folder 1 of 2)
106 MFP 1651-2000 (Folder 2 of 2)
107 Uganda Budongo Forest Nos. 1-269 (Folder 1 of 3)
108 Uganda Budongo Forest Nos. 1-269 (Folder 2 of 3)
111 Uganda Budongo Forest Nos. 1-269 (Folder 3 of 3)
112 Uganda Budongo Forest - Elephant Samples, Data Sheets
113 Tsavo Nos. 1-300 (Folder 1 of 3). 1966
114 Tsavo Nos. 1-300 (Folder 2 of 3). 1966
115 Tsavo Nos. 1-300 (Folder 3 of 3). 1966
116 Mkomasi Nos. 1-308 (Folder 1 of 2)
117 Mkomasi Nos. 1-308 (Folder 2 of 2)
121 Mkomasi Second Series Nos. 309-606 (Folder 1 of 2)
122 Mkomasi Second Series Nos. 309-606 (Folder 2 of 2)



Rodney Elliott Files

Elliott, a retired British military officer, became a Game Control Officer in 1948 and a Game Warden in 1950 (dates approximate). From 1955 to 1971 he was Game Warden Maralal. Like Parker, he returned to military service during the Mau Mau Uprising. Elliott was controversial politically in Kenya because of his fervent anti-poaching stance. After retiring in the 1970s he was hired by Court Parfet to manage the Solio Wildlife Sanctuary. In 1978, Parfet encouraged President Daniel arap Moi to appoint Elliott as Superintendent in the Kenya Police Reserve to investigate corruption of the game wardens and the Wildlife Conservation and Management Department. According to Parker, Elliott ended his investigation prematurely when he realized the extent of corruption throughout the government. Their friendship going back to when they were colonial Game Wardens, Elliott and Parker had pooled their politically dangerous information on corruption for some years before Elliott's death in 2005, when Parker received his files from the estate.

Elliott's files date primarily from 1955-1994, although there are materials dating as recently as 2005. Many of the files pertain to Elliott's work at the Solio Sanctuary in the 1970s and 1980s, including correspondence, data, notes, and patrol reports. Other files from this same time period cover his investigations into corruption in Kenya. Also included are Elliott's diaries and his personal correspondence, which includes letters to and from George and Joy Adamson. Photos found with these files have been separated and stored in the Photographs and Audiovisual group.



Box Folder
131 Adamson, George and Joy - Correspondence with Elliott. 1947-1979
132 Aberdares National Park - Correspondence between Elliott and R. Leakey
133 Correspondence and Biographical Materials
134 Correspondence (Miscellaneous, Pre-Independence) (Folder 1 of 2). 1955-1961
135 Correspondence (Miscellaneous, Pre-Independence) (Folder 2 of 2). 1955-1961
136 Divisional Annual Reports. 1972-1974
137 Documents and Samples of Various Permits Relating to Hunting Trophies
138 Game Warden Identification Cards, Photos, Documents
139 Handwritten Report to Wildlife Conservation and Management Department. 1979
1310 Miscellaneous Correspondence - Solio Ranch
1311 Miscellaneous (Appointments, Game Dept., Wildlife Conservation and Management Dept., National Parks, Kenya Police)
141 Miscellaneous Personal Copies. 1965-1974
142 Monthly Trapping. 1970-1974
143 Poaching Reports, Documents (Elliott Police Report, Zambia, West Germany, Hong Kong, including photos) (Folder 1 of 2)
144 Poaching Reports, Documents (Elliott Police Report, Zambia, West Germany, Hong Kong, including photos) (Folder 2 of 2)
145 Poaching Reports, Testimony (Folder 1 of 2). 1974-1985
146 Poaching Reports, Testimony (Folder 2 of 2). 1974-1985
147 Records, Pre-1973
148 Report: "Wildlife - Human Conflicts in Kenya" (Elliott's copy of report). 1994
149 Solio Ranch Game Reserve Black Rhino Census (Elliott's copy of report by R.A. Brett). 1989
151 Solio Reserve White Rhino (includes photos) (Folder 1 of 2)
152 Solio Reserve White Rhino (includes photos) (Folder 2 of 2)
153 Solio Reserve - Miscellaneous Documents from Elliott Estate
154 Unpublished Autobiography
155 White Rhino - Photographs and Details Book
156 Patrol Reports Volume. 1970-1971
157 Patrol Reports Volume. 1971-1972
158 Patrol Reports Volume. 1973-1974
159 Patrol Reports Volume. 1974-1977
1510 Patrol Reports Volume. 1977-1978
161 Diary (includes daily report of game). 1977
162 Diary. 1978
163 Diary. 1979
164 Diary. 1979
165 Diary. 1981
166 Diary. 1982
167 Diary. 1983
168 Diary. 1984
169 Diary. 1985
1610 Diary. 1986
1611 Black Rhino - Photographs and Details Book (also includes lions)
1612 Record of Ammo Expenditure and Beast Killed with .222 by Otoro (Solio Ranch). Circa 1980-1982
1613 Notebook - Data (Cheetah, Rhino, Lion, Elephant, etc.)



Kenya

A large percentage of these files contain reports, laws, regulations and other documents created by the Kenyan government and collected by Parker. There are also materials created by Parker and Wildlife Services Ltd. for the Kenyan government. Many files pertain to the Kenya Wildlife Service, wildlife conservation and management legislation, poaching, game wardens, the Kenya Game Department, and the Galana Game Management Scheme. Researchers should note that there are materials relating to Kenya found throughout this collection. Many of the files in this group were specifically designated by Parker as "Kenya" files. Photos found with these files have been separated and stored in the Photographs and Audiovisual group.



Box Folder
171 Agriculture Act. 1986
172 Association of Kenya Sea Angling Clubs - Analysis. 1976-1981
173 Community Wildlife Conservation Trust Based at Sera, Samburu District, Northern Kenya (concept document). 2001
174 Confidential Enquiries and Testimonies - Game Departments
175 Controlled Areas
176 Cropping - Miscellaneous Reports. 1974-2001
177 Environmental Management and Co-Ordination Act. 1999
178 Kenya - Extracts from Game Department Annual Reports (includes Tanzania). 1926-1957
179 Fauna Conservation Legislation. 1982
1710 Fisheries Act. 1991
1711 Forest Policy. 2004
1712 Galana Count Data. 1960-1963; 1981
1713 Galana Game Management Scheme (Folder 1 of 3). 1957
1714 Galana Game Management Scheme (Folder 2 of 3). 1957
1715 Galana Game Management Scheme (Folder 3 of 3). 1957
181 Galana Game and Ranching Ltd.
182 Game Use on Two Kenya Ranches - Confidential Report to Government of Kenya. 1973
183 Interim Report of the Game Policy Committee. 1943
184 Kenya Files A-K (Folder 1 of 3)
185 Kenya Files A-K (Folder 2 of 3)
186 Kenya Files A-K (Folder 3 of 3)
187 Kenya Files K-Z (Folder 1 of 2)
188 Kenya Files K-Z (Folder 2 of 2)
189 Kenya Game Department Annual Reports. 1910-1914, 1924
1810 Kenya Game Department (includes George Adamson files) (Folder 1 of 2)
191 Kenya Game Department (includes George Adamson files) (Folder 2 of 2)
192 Kenya Wildlife Service - Addenda, Personal Correspondence
193 Kenya Wildlife Service - Documents and Briefs (Folder 1 of 3)
194 Kenya Wildlife Service - Documents and Briefs (Folder 2 of 3)
195 Kenya Wildlife Service - Documents and Briefs (Folder 3 of 3)
196 Kenya Wildlife Service - A Policy Framework and Development Programme 1991-1996
197 Kenya Wildlife Service - Draft Wildlife (Conservation and Management) Bill. 1996
198 Kenya Wildlife Working Group - Consortium (Folder 1 of 2)
199 Kenya Wildlife Working Group - Consortium (Folder 2 of 2)
1910 Lake Naivasha. 1996
201 Laws of Kenya - Grey Book (cover only, with notes by Parker)
202 Laws, Regulations, Accompanying Documents (Folder 1 of 2)
203 Laws, Regulations, Accompanying Documents (Folder 2 of 2)
204 Legislation (Veterinary Practitioneers Bill, Meat Control Bill, etc.). 2002-2003
205 Machakos Wildlife Forum (Folder 1 of 2). 1942-1990
206 Machakos Wildlife Forum (Folder 1 of 2)
207 Miscellaneous Game Warden Reports and Organization Charts
208 Miscellaneous - Trout Fishing, Forests Act, Parasites, National Parks
209 Nanyuki Station Report
2010 National Report on the Human Environment in Kenya. 1971
2011 Nora Kelly Thesis: "In Wildest Africa: The Preservation of Game in Kenya 1895-1933". 1978
211 Nora Kelly Thesis: "In Wildest Africa: The Preservation of Game in Kenya 1895-1933". 1978
212 Notes on the Wild Animals Protection Act - Game Department. 1964, 1966
213 Policy - Game Policy, Wildlife Management, Wildlife Utilization. 1959-1980
214 Report on Poaching in the Tsavo National Park (DLW Sheldrick). 1976
215 Royal National Parks of Kenya - History
216 Second Interim Report of the Game Policy Committee. 1946
217 Tsavo - Miscellaneous Documents from Wildlife Services Ltd.
218 Wild Animals Protection Ordinance (Restricted) - General rules as to criminal responsibilities and specimen charges. 1951
219 Wild Animals Protection Ordinance. 1962, 1963
2110 Wildlife (Conservation and Management) Act. 1985
2111 Wildlife (Conservation and Management) Amendment (Bill #14). 2004
2112 Wildlife (Conservation and Management) Bill. 2007
2113 Wildlife Conservation and Management Amendment Bill (Mwai Kibaki, President). 2004
2114 Wildlife Utilisation Study (Draft) by Tack International. 1995



Uganda

Primarily dating from the 1960s and 1970s, these files document the activities of Parker and Wildlife Services Ltd. relating to Uganda. Included are reports, data, correspondence, surveys and notes.



Box Folder
221 Game Management Ltd.
222 Game Management Ltd. Register of Members and Roll Book. 1965-1968
223 Murchison Falls National Park 5 Year Plan
224 Murchison Falls National Park Game Count. 1969
225 Notes from Uganda Game Department Reports (also includes Tanganyika and Kenya)
226 Report on Project to Develop the Murchison Falls Area of Uganda. 1967
227 Surveys of Uganda's Wildlife Protected Areas. 1995
228 Swynnerton's Report on the Control of Elephants in Uganda. 1923
229 Uganda
2210 Uganda A-Z (Folder 1 of 4)
231 Uganda A-Z (Folder 2 of 4)
232 Uganda A-Z (Folder 3 of 4)
233 Uganda A-Z (Folder 4 of 4)
234 Uganda Institute of Ecology Quarterly Reports. 1966-1973
235 Uganda Institute of Ecology Quarterly Reports. 1966-1973
236 Uganda - Paul Ssali Naluma
237 Uganda Tusk Data



Shashe Silk

Primarily dating from the mid-1980s through the late 1990s, these files document Parker's involvement with the silk industry in Botswana. Parker was a member of the board of directors for Shashe Silk Ltd. (formerly B.G.I. Sin-Dee Silk Ltd.), and these files cover all aspects of the firm's activities. The majority of the files pertain to research into the production of Gonometa silk as a major export product, and to the development of the firm's operations. Also included are financial statements, meeting minutes, business memoranda, and consultant reports, including some produced by Parker. In addition to the files, there are also a small sample of Gonometa cocoons, silk, knitted products, etc. Photos found with these files have been separated and stored in the Photographs and Audiovisual group. A board presenting samples of Mopani Silk is stored with Oversize Materials in Box 46. Also, there are general correspondence files pertaining to BGI (Botswana Game Industries) found with the Correspondence and Subject Files.



Box Folder
241 Shashe - Research I - Botswana Silk, Gonometa Research, Richard Hartland Rowe (Folder 1 of 3)
242 Shashe - Research I - Botswana Silk, Gonometa Research, Richard Hartland Rowe (Folder 2 of 3)
243 Shashe - Research I - Botswana Silk, Gonometa Research, Richard Hartland Rowe (Folder 3 of 3)
244 Shashe - Research II (Folder 1 of 3)
245 Shashe - Research II (Folder 2 of 3)
246 Shashe - Research II (Folder 3 of 3)
247 Shashe - Investigation of Botswana Shashe Silk
248 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 1 of 2). Before 1986
249 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 2 of 2). Before 1986
251 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 1 of 3). 1987
252 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 2 of 3). 1987
253 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 3 of 3). 1987
254 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 1 of 3). 1988-1989
255 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 2 of 3). 1988-1989
256 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 3 of 3). 1988-1989
257 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 1 of 3). 1990-1991
258 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 2 of 3). 1990-1991
261 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 3 of 3). 1990-1991
262 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 1 of 3). 1992-1994
263 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 2 of 3). 1992-1994
264 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 3 of 3). 1992-1994
265 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 1 of 3). 1995-1999
266 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 2 of 3). 1995-1999
267 Shashe Silk Industry (Folder 3 of 3). 1995-1999
268 Auxiliary Botswana Game Industries File - Silk (Letters with no dates). Not dated
271 Samples of Gonometa Cocoons, Silk, Knitting, etc.
281 Samples of Gonometa Cocoons, Silk, Knitting, etc.



Correspondence and Subject Files

Correspondents include Richard H.V. Bell, R.M. Laws, Graeme Caughley, A.D. Graham, and various organizations and firms including Botswana Game Industries (BGI) and Tombooth Ltd. Many of the subject files relate to consultancy work completed by Parker and Wildlife Services Ltd., including reports, surveys, and research data. In addition to elephants and rhinos, these files include materials pertaining to game birds, gazelles, tropical fish, frogs, and other wildlife. Data sets include crocodile data sheets, hippopotamus data, zebra data, and a set of rhino data collected by Peter Jenkins. Jenkins was a National Park Warden in Kenya (1948-1992, serving most of this time at Meru National Park). Several of the files pertain to countries such as The Gambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Somalia, Tanzania, etc., as well as to non-African locales including the United States, Europe and Hong Kong. Although some of these files are related to Kenya and Uganda, researchers should note that the collection includes separate groups of files for those countries. Photos and films found with these files have been separated and stored in the Photographs and Audiovisual group.



Box Folder
291 African Elephant and Rhino Specialist Group (AERSG) - Documents and Confidential Correspondence (Folder 1 of 2)
292 African Elephant and Rhino Specialist Group (AERSG) - Documents and Confidential Correspondence (Folder 2 of 2)
293 AERSG - Wankie Meeting. 1981
294 Basotu File - Zebras
295 BBC Film on Elephants. 1984-1985
296 Bell, Dr. Richard H.V. (Folder 1 of 3)
297 Bell, Dr. Richard H.V. (Folder 2 of 3)
298 Bell, Dr. Richard H.V. (Folder 3 of 3)
301 Botswana Game Industries (BGI) (Folder 1 of 3)
302 Botswana Game Industries (Folder 2 of 3)
303 Botswana Game Industries (Folder 3 of 3)
304 Botswana Game Industries - Balance Sheets, etc.
305 Botswana - Lake Ngami Fishery
306 Caughley, Graeme - Correspondence
307 Coles Ranch Cropping Project Costs
308 Correspondence regarding Kruger, South Africa, Symposium, Ivory, Tsavo (including "Tsavo Story" by Parker) (Folder 1 of 2)
311 Correspondence regarding Kruger, South Africa, Symposium, Ivory, Tsavo (including "Tsavo Story" by Parker) (Folder 2 of 2)
312 Course Notes - Introduction to Gamebird Biology (Mpala Research Centre)
313 Cropping Data Field Sheets - Tanzania Field Crop 2 (Thompson's Gazelle, Grant's Gazelle, Wildebeest, Impala, Giraffe) (Folder 1 of 2)
314 Cropping Data Field Sheets - Tanzania Field Crop 2 (Thompson's Gazelle, Grant's Gazelle, Wildebeest, Impala, Giraffe) (Folder 2 of 2)
315 Daily Nation - Newspaper Clippings (Poaching). 1975-1977
316 Douglas-Hamilton Selous Survey, Luangwa Survey, Mera Survey (Folder 1 of 2). 1981
317 Douglas-Hamilton Selous Survey, Luangwa Survey, Mera Survey (Folder 2 of 2). 1981
318 East African Wildlife Society (Folder 1 of 2)
319 East African Wildlife Society (Folder 2 of 2)
3110 Elephant Decline: A Hypothesis Paper (Folder 1 of 2)
321 Elephant Decline: A Hypothesis Paper (Folder 2 of 2)
322 Elephant Papers (2) - Including slides, tables, etc.
323 Ethiopia and Mozambique - Documents and Personal Correspondence
324 Fish and Fishing - Frogs, Thiririka (Folder 1 of 2)
325 Fish and Fishing - Frogs, Thiririka (Folder 2 of 2)
326 Gambia Land Resources Development Project - Consultancy. 1972
327 Game Bird Committee - Minute Book No. 1
328 Game Birds - Additional Correspondence
331 Ghana and West Africa - Ivory Files and Data; Mali Wildlife Services Ltd. Contract
332 Hippopotamus Data (Folder 1 of 3)
333 Hippopotamus Data (Folder 2 of 3)
334 Hippopotamus Data (Folder 3 of 3)
335 Hippopotamus Data Sheets (Folder 1 of 2). 1966, 1967
336 Hippopotamus Data Sheets (Folder 2 of 2). 1966, 1967
337 Hippopotamus Register
338 Hippopotamus Register
339 Hong Kong
3310 Hong Kong - Agriculture and Fisheries Department Report. 1981
341 International Institute for Wildlife Research
342 International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources
343 Jenkins, Peter - Rhino File 1 (Folder 1 of 2)
344 Jenkins, Peter - Rhino File 1 (Folder 2 of 2)
345 Jenkins, Peter - Rhino File 2 (Folder 1 of 3)
346 Jenkins, Peter - Rhino File 2 (Folder 2 of 3)
347 Jenkins, Peter - Rhino File 2 (Folder 3 of 3)
348 Jenkins, Peter - Rhino File 3 (Folder 1 of 3)
351 Jenkins, Peter - Rhino File 3 (Folder 2 of 3)
352 Jenkins, Peter - Rhino File 3 (Folder 3 of 3)
353 Laikipia Wildlife Forum Ltd.
354 Lake Rudolf Crocodile Survey - A. Graham, Wildlife Services
355 Lake Rudolf Crocodile Data Sheets (Folder 1 of 4)
356 Lake Rudolf Crocodile Data Sheets (Folder 2 of 4)
357 Lake Rudolf Crocodile Data Sheets (Folder 3 of 4)
358 Lake Rudolf Crocodile Data Sheets (Folder 4 of 4)
359 Laws, Dr. R.M. - Correspondence (Folder 1 of 2)
361 Laws, Dr. R.M. - Correspondence (Folder 2 of 2)
362 Malawi
363 Malawi
364 Miscellaneous Articles, Reports, Letters (Folder 1 of 2). 1982-2002
365 Miscellaneous Articles, Reports, Letters (Folder 2 of 2). 1982-2002
366 Miscellaneous Biology - Wildlife Services
367 Miscellaneous Correspondence
368 Miscellaneous - "Enigma" File - Documents, Correspondence (including film script draft, "A Girl Called Thursday") (Folder 1 of 2)
369 Miscellaneous - "Enigma" File - Documents, Correspondence (including film script draft, "A Girl Called Thursday") (Folder 2 of 2)
3610 Miscellaneous Laws, Ordinances, Policies (Rwanda, Rhodesia, Gambia, etc.)
371 Miscellaneous Notes (Folder 1 of 2)
372 Miscellaneous Notes (Folder 2 of 2)
373 Miscellaneous Personal Correspondence
374 Miscellaneous Personal Correspondence
375 Miscellaneous Wildlife Data (Folder 1 of 2)
376 Miscellaneous Wildlife Data (Folder 2 of 2)
377 Miscellaneous Zoological Records (Folder 1 of 3)
378 Miscellaneous Zoological Records (Folder 2 of 3)
379 Miscellaneous Zoological Records (Folder 3 of 3)
381 Mkomazi Game Reserve - Reconnaissance Survey
382 National Game Bird Committee (Folder 1 of 2)
383 National Game Bird Committee (Folder 2 of 2)
384 National Geographic Society
385 Parker's Early Immobilisation Records (Elephants)
386 Parker Interview - People Daily. 2003
387 Parker: "A Perspective on Elephant and Hippo Culling". 1972
388 Parker: "Perspectives on Game Cropping" Report
389 Parker: "Who Owns the Game?" - Talk given to East African Wildlife Society. 2001
3810 Poaching - Offenders and Informants List
3811 Rwanda
3812 Seychelle Archipeligo Fisheries
3813 Somalia (Folder 1 of 3)
3814 Somalia (Folder 2 of 3)
3815 Somalia (Folder 3 of 3)
3816 Sudan
3817 Sudan
3818 Tanzania (Folder 1 of 3)
391 Tanzania (Folder 2 of 3)
392 Tanzania (Folder 3 of 3)
393 Tanzania Game Count Ledger
394 Tanzania - Additions
395 Temporary Game Bird Licensing Committee. 1990s-2000s
396 Temporary Game Bird Licensing Committee - Game Bird Advisory Committee (Folder 1 of 3). 1990s-2000s
397 Temporary Game Bird Licensing Committee - Game Bird Advisory Committee (Folder 2 of 3). 1990s-2000s
398 Temporary Game Bird Licensing Committee - Game Bird Advisory Committee (Folder 3 of 3). 1990s-2000s
399 Tombooth Limited (Folder 1 of 2)
3910 Tombooth Limited (Folder 2 of 2)
401 Tropical Fish Correspondence - Breeding Plans, Methods
402 United Kingdom and Europe
403 United States (Folder 1 of 2)
404 United States (Folder 2 of 2)
405 United States and Canada - Correspondence (Folder 1 of 2)
406 United States and Canada - Correspondence (Folder 2 of 2)
407 Vwaza Marsh Game Reserve - Report of Survey and Recommendations. 1980
408 "Why Aerial Survey" - Wildlife Services, Ltd.
409 Wildlife Policy, Legislation and Practice - Study Tour of Zimbabwe, Namibia and Botswana. 2004
4010 Wildlife Services Ltd. East African Cheetah Study - Raw Data. 1965
4011 Wildlife Services Ltd. - General (Folder 1 of 3). Post 1969
4012 Wildlife Services Ltd. - General (Folder 2 of 3)
411 Wildlife Services Ltd. - General (Folder 3 of 3)
412 Zaire/Congo - Kinshasa
413 Zambia - Luangwa Valley Survey and Reports
414 Zebra Data Sheets (#385) - Loliondo, Tanzania (Folder 1 of 4). 1968-1969
415 Zebra Data Sheets (#385) - Loliondo, Tanzania (Folder 2 of 4). 1968-1969
416 Zebra Data Sheets (#385) - Loliondo, Tanzania (Folder 3 of 4). 1968-1969
417 Zebra Data Sheets (#385) - Loliondo, Tanzania (Folder 4 of 4). 1968-1969
418 Zimbabwe



Photographs and Audiovisual

Many of these photos and audiovisual materials have been separated from their original files or boxes in the collection. In order to preserve the original context, separation sheets have been inserted indicating the original container location. The films in Box 45 have been digitized, and the DVD reproductions are available in Box 44. The descriptions for these films are transcribed from the film canisters and reels. Note that the Rwanda Film Index folders in Box 44 relate to many of these films.



Box Folder
421 Botswana - Photos for counting zebra and wildebeest (northwest of Ntwetwe Pan and around where Botetke River turns south) (Folder 1 of 6). 1974
422 Botswana - Photos for counting zebra and wildebeest (Folder 2 of 6). 1974
423 Botswana - Photos for counting zebra and wildebeest (Folder 3 of 6). 1974
424 Botswana - Photos for counting zebra and wildebeest (Folder 4 of 6). 1974
425 Botswana - Photos for counting zebra and wildebeest (Folder 5 of 6). 1974
426 Botswana - Photos for counting zebra and wildebeest (Folder 6 of 6). 1974
427 Crocodile Data Photos - Graham - Lake Rudolf Survey (negatives and contact sheets)
428 Crocodile Data Photos - Graham - Lake Rudolf Survey (negatives and contact sheets)
429 Fisheries Photos - unknown location
4210 Galana Tsavo Aerial Photos - Elephants (Folder 1 of 3). 1963
4211 Galana Tsavo Aerial Photos - Elephants (Folder 2 of 3). 1963
4212 Galana Tsavo Aerial Photos - Elephants (Folder 3 of 3). 1963
4213 Game Wardens and Sibiloi National Park Rangers. 1975
4214 Lake Naivasha Aerial Photos. Circa 1967-1969
4215 Lake Rudolf Crocodile Survey - A.D. Graham
4216 Moving a Boat by Truck to Lake Turkana. Circa 1974
431 Photos taken by R. Elliott of Nairobi and Mombasa ivory register records, sales permits, etc. Includes summary by Parker. Mounted negatives, prints and negatives. 1979
432 Photos taken by R. Elliott Box-RE1 (Mounted negatives)
433 Photos taken by R. Elliott Box-RE2 (Mounted negatives)
434 Photos taken by R. Elliott Box-RE3 (Mounted negatives)
435 Photos taken by R. Elliott Box-RE4 (Mounted negatives)
436 Rhino Capture and Release (Peter Jenkins)
437 Rhino Horn Seized in West Germany
438 CD - Ivory and Poaching Data
439 CD- Anti-Poaching Data - Kamba. 1956-1957
441 DVD - Reproductions of Super8 and 16mm films (see Box 45)
442 Rwanda - Film Index (Folder 1 of 2)
443 Rwanda - Film Index (Folder 2 of 2)
444 Serengeti National Park
445 Shashe Silk - Gonometa Cocoons
446 Shashe Silk Operation (Botswana)
447 Solio Reserve - Photos for Mrs. Elliott. 1972
448 Solio Reserve
451 Film - Rwanda Elephants in pens. Entrance to Akagera.
452 Film - Lee Lyon's Elephant Rwanda Brable
453 Film - X05277 Rwanda- hides skins elephants in pens. 1975
454 Film - Mkomazi BBC Television, The Natural World, Elephant
455 Film - Mkomazi copy
456 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 1
457 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 2
458 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 2A (or 15)
459 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 3
4510 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 4
4511 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 5
4512 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 6
4513 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 6A (or 14)
4514 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 7
4515 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 8
4516 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 9
4517 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 10
4518 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 11
4519 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 12
4520 Film - Nairobi (30678) - 13
4521 Film - Hippo cropping Uganda / QE Park. 1963
4522 Film - "Fire Damage" / Dana Cheware Daladine [?]
4523 Film - Large herd Dakabuko. Kozouri[?] (useless film, old record only). 1962
4524 Film - Large herd of elephants…of no value for film underexposed/shaky; chot Pech Enarts [pecherant?]
4525 Film - Large herd/Danacheware/Dec. Didima Bule (Science record only; scratched.). 1962
4526 Film - Hippo cropping QE Park - Record only… poor film. 1963
4527 Film - Unlabeled turquoise reel ["Rest of Super 8 taken 1975 and has been through the BBC's hands."]. Circa 1975



Maps and Oversize Materials

Many of these items have been separated from their original folders or boxes in the collection and stored in larger containers to ensure proper preservation. In order to preserve the original context, separation sheets have been inserted indicating the original container location.



Box Folder
461 Map - Sketch Map of East Africa Protectorate showing Game Reserves
461 Map - Uganda, with overlays - elephant sanctuary. 1971
461 Map- Nderit - R.C. Long
462 Map - Mwabi Game Reserve Vegetation Map
462 Map - Budongo C.F.R. (including Budongo, Siba, Kitigo Forests)
462 Map - Murchison Falls - Transects south of the Nile - Elephants located by Douglas-Hamilton, Parker, Bell. 1976
462 Map - Vwaza Marsh Game Reserve - 5 maps from report
463 Map - Shire Valley Agricultural Development Project, Malawi. 1973
464 Graph - Hippo Sales Per Week
464 Map - Galana Game Management Scheme - Kilifi District
464 Map - Land Use Potential of Mkomazi Game Reserve, G.D. Anderson. 1967
464 Map - Murchison Falls National Park
465 Map - Narok (Tracing)
466 Map - Five maps produced by first aerial reconnaisance of entire Tsavo-Galana area to count elephants. 1961-1962
467 Display - Mopani Silk
468 Map - Original maps for Kingdon's East African Mammals atlas
469
4610 Scrapbook - "Meru Rhino Massacre" by Peter Jenkins (photos with captions and text)
4611 "Ivory Trade Data" analysis book
4612 "Elephant Stomach Content Analyses" (Mkomasi, Tsavo Koito, Murchison, Budongo Forest)
611 Map - Graham, Lake Rudolf Crocodile Survey
612 Map - Maps of elephant counts for Laws, Parker and Johnstone: Elephants and Their Habitats. 1975
613 Map - Lake Naivasha Aquatic Vegetation (Parker and Watson). 1969
624 Map - Tanzania - Loliondo District. 1962
625 Map - Graham, Bell and Watson count in treetops (3 rolls). 1966?
626 Map - Graham, hippo counts, Ugalla and Malagarasi. 1968
Map - Hippo in the Nile for 50 Miles above Murchison Falls. 1964



Reprints

Parker stored these article reprints separately from other publications, reports, etc., found with the rest of his papers, and he arranged them alphabetically, often writing the first letter on the front of the item for filing purposes. For a complete list of the titles, please refer to the list available online: http://ufdc.ufl.edu/IR00003653/. Originally this section was for published material, but as Parker's collection grew an overlap developed between the reprint collection and materials listed elsewhere in this finding aid.



Box Folder
471 Reprints A-B
481 Reprints B-C
491 Reprints C-D
501 Reprints E-G
511 Reprints H-K
521 Reprints K-M
531 Reprints M-P
541 Reprints P
551 Reprints P-S
561 Reprints S-W
571 Reprints W-Z



Miscellaneous Publications

These publications were interfiled throughout the collection, and filed separately from the Reprints.



Box Folder
581 Africa. Further Correspondence. Preservation of Wild Animals in Africa. (6 items). 1896-1912
582 Establishment of African Ivory Export Quotas and Associated Control Procedures (Report by R.B. Martin). 1985
583 Game Ranching and Its Potential in Modern Africa (Giles Mowbray-Brown). 1974
584 General Assembly Proclaims This Universal Declaration of Human Rights
585 Greater Honeyguide Ph.D. Thesis (Hussein Adan Isack)
586 Guidelines for the Management of Large Mammals in African Conservation Areas. 1983
587 International Conference for the Protection of the Fauna and Flora of Africa - Article 1. 1933
591 Nile Crocodile in the Okavango Delta (by G.W. Taylor). 1973
592 Notes on Some Agricultural Development Schemes in the British Colonial Territories. 1955
593 Serengeti Regional Conservation Strategy. 1991
594 Serengeti Regional Conservation Strategy. 1992
595 Survey of the Status of the Leopard in Sub-Saharan Africa (by Martin and De Meulenaer). 1987
596 Ugalla Game Reserve Draft Management Plan. 1994
601 Parker's Bibliography (on note cards)



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

African elephant

Botswana

Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora -- (1973)

Elliott, Rodney

Ivory

Ivory industry -- Africa

Kenya

Poaching -- Africa

Silk industry

Uganda

Wildlife conservation -- Africa

Wildlife management -- Botswana

Wildlife management -- Kenya

Wildlife management -- Zimbabwe

World Wildlife Fund




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page