Skip to Search



A Guide to the Leonard Carpenter Panama Canal Collection

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Carpenter, Leonard (Collector)
Title: Leonard Carpenter Panama Canal Collection
Dates: 1887-1973
Bulk dates: 1914-1929
Abstract: Photographs, publications, artifacts, and other materials related to Panama and the Panama Canal Zone during construction.
Extent: 0.4 Linear feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MS Group 169
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

Photographs, publications, artifacts, notes, correspondence. The collection primarily consists of photographs of Panama and the Panama Canal Zone during construction, beginning in 1914. The photographs show dredging and construction operations, workers, military personnel and camps, ships such as the U.S.S. Ohio, the dam at Pedro Miguel, an hydroelectric plant, locks, the Steamship Cristobal, Paraiso Yard, and a U.S. Navy dirigible. Several photos have captions identifying the persons, places and events shown. Most of the collection, particularly the photographs and items dated 1914 to 1929, originally were created or collected by Walter E. Boyd. He appears in a small number of the photographs, and two of the publications int he collection were mailed to him.

The publications include guides, magazines, and brochures that provide historical and travel information about the Canal. Included among a small number of artifacts is a metal spike from the Pacific Coast railroad, which Boyd evidently brought to the U.S. in 1919. The collection also includes an 1887 letter, in French, regarding a proposal for a scheme to transport dredged rubble from the Canal.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Items in this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Leonard Carpenter Panama Canal Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Leonard Carpenter in 1993.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page