Skip to Search



A Guide to the James Page Correspondence

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Page, James
Title: James Page Correspondence
Dates: 1905-1911
Abstract: Correspondence, dated 1905 to 1911, pertaining to Page's position as the engineer in charge of constructing a water supply and sewer system in Cienfuegos, Cuba.
Extent: 0.1 Linear feet. 10 folders.
Identification: MS Group 160
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

James Page was Chief Engineer of the Contract for the Water Supply and Sewer System of Cienfuegos, Cuba, starting around 1905-1907. He resigned in 1911, prior to the completion of the project.


Scope and Content

Correspondence, dated 1905 to 1911, pertaining to Page's position as the engineer in charge of constructing a water supply and sewer system in Cienfuegos, Cuba. All of the 1911 correspondence pertains to his resignation. The earlier correspondence provides a small amount of information about the project, but does not provide a detailed description. Of particular interest is a 1910 report on the status of the water system that includes blueprints, correspondence, and estimates ("Tasacion... del Acueducto Cienfuegos"). Most of the documents from Cuban officials are in Spanish and have been translated, but one letter and the report are available in Spanish only. Folders are arranged in chronological order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], James Page Correspondence, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Folder
1 Letter from Edwin Morgan, American Minister, Habana, Cuba. ca. 1905-1910
2 Letter from D. Loubudaus, Secretario Interino (In Spanish). September 11, 1907
3 Letter from Dearing, F., Charge d'Affaires. August 4, 1909
4 Letter from Dearing, F., Charge d'Affaires. October 25, 1909
5 Letter from N.W. Black, Colonel, Corps of Engineers. October 26, 1909
6 Tasacion de las Pertenencias del Acueducto Cienfuegos. A report on the Cienfuegos aqueduct, including blueprints, correspondence, and estimates (In Spanish). 1910
7 Letter from Joaquin Chalons, Secretario de Obras Publicas (Public Works). April 1, 1911
8 Letter from Jose M. Gomez, President of Cuba. April 1, 1911
9 Letter from Pedro M. Hernandez, Presidente, Centro de Propietarios Urbanos de Cienfuegos. April 5, 1911
10 Letter from John B. Jackson, American Minister. April 18, 1911

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Aqueducts.
Cienfuegos (Cuba : Province) -- History.
Cienfuegos (Cuba) -- Buildings, structures, etc.
Cienfuegos (Cuba).
City planning -- Cuba -- Cienfuegos.
Public works -- Cuba.
Water-supply -- Cuba.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page