Skip to Search



A Guide to the Rufus Nims Architectural Drawings

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Nims, Rufus
Title: Rufus Nims Architectural Drawings
Dates: 1950-1992
Abstract: Architectural drawings created by South Florida architect Rufus Nims. These include plans for residences and buildings in Florida, Louisiana, New York, Costa Rica, and several countries in the Caribbean. The collection also includes motel and hotel designs for Howard Johnson, Marriott, and other corporations.
Extent: 19 Linear feet. 24 Boxes; 40 Flat Files.
Identification: MS Group 177
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Architect Rufus Nims was born in Pensacola, Florida, in 1913. He graduated from North Carolina State in 1934 with a degree in architectural engineering. He worked in twenty-five states and twelve foreign countries throughout his career. He is best known for his work with the Howard Johnson hotels and restaurants, and his residential work in South Florida and the Caribbean. Nims opened his firm in Miami in 1945 and was one of a handful of architects who defined the modern tropical house following World War II before the widespread use of central air-conditioning. Connection to the natural environment was of utmost importance for the architect, as he would even turn down potential clients who did not care whether they were living in Florida or New Jersey. Nims challenged the traditional Spanish and Mediterranean design principles found in South Florida at the time by experimenting with building materials, construction technologies, and house structures. His prolific body of work won him over eighteen national and international awards including: American Institute of Architects awards (1958, 1975), House and Home Award of Merit (1958), Progressive Architecture: Salaven Design Award (1956), and the Original Progressive Architecture Award (1958). Nims died at the age of 90 in 2005.


Scope and Content

The collection consists primarily of architectural drawings created by Rufus Nims, as well as sketches, photos, newspaper clippings, articles, notes and other papers. The drawings include plans for residences and buildings in Florida, Louisiana, New York, Costa Rica, and several countries in the Caribbean, among other locations. South Florida cities such as Miami, Key Biscayne, and Coconut Grove are well represented. The collection also includes a small amount of material on the motel and hotel designs for Howard Johnson, Marriott, and other corporations.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Rufus Nims Architectural Drawings, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated February 2004 by Rufus Nims, with the assistance of Martha Kohen, former director of the University of Florida School of Architecture. A second donation from the Nims family occurred in October 2010.

Processing Notes

The collection acquired in 2004 originally consisted almost entirely of architectural drawings. These drawings can be found in boxes 1-18. Also included were a very small amount of news clippings, photos and other papers. Each of the projects represented in the 2004 materials was assigned a project number, and a Projects List was created in Microsoft Excel format at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/NimsProjects.xls. In addition, a detailed list of each item was created during the initial processing of the 2004 collection, and this early detailed inventory is available in Microsoft Word format at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/Nims_detail.doc.

The materials acquired in 2010 included drawings and a large number of photos, sketches, news clippings, articles, and miscellaneous papers. Rolled drawings from this acquisition can be found in boxes 19-20, and flat drawings or oversize project photos and papers are stored in flat files (not in boxes). All other 2010 materials are stored in boxes 21-24. The small amount of news clippings, photos and other papers that had been acquired in 2004 have been interfiled with these 2010 materials. Please note that project numbers have not been assigned to the 2010 materials and the project list created in 2004 has not been revised.


Contents List

Project Drawings (Rolled)


Box
1 1: Bonding States. Plaza Development Corp., Ruston, Louisiana. 1978
1 Set I: Preliminary sketches including diagrams, plans, and sections on 7 sheets, 11"X17" pencil on graphed vellum.
1 Set II: Preliminary Drawings, 10 plans on 3 sheets, 17" X 24" pencil on graphed vellum.
1 Set III: Reproductions of preliminary sketches of plans. Land use diagrams.
1 2: Umbrella Inn: For Francis E. Gorman, St. Kitts, British West Indies. 1963
1 Set I: Preliminary drawings on 4 sheets, 24" X 36". Pencil on vellum.
1 3a: Overall Plan for Public Plaza Inc.: Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 1967-1968
1 Set I: Documents. Topographic site maps (different areas), Sizes: 24" X 36". Prepared by Gulf Coast Aerial Mapping Co.
1 Set II: Drawings of site plan
1 3b: Moving Picture Theater for Public Plaza Inc. Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 1967-1968
1 Set I: Plans, sections, and perspectives
1 3c: Service Station for Public Plaza Inc. Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Service Station. 1967-1968
1 Set I: Bound set of construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
1 Set II: Bound set of construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
1 Set III: Other drawings: Plans, sections, and perspectives.
2 3d: A Community Merchandising Center for Public Plaza Inc. Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 1967-1968
2 Set I: Plot plans, ground plans, balcony plans.
2 Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
2 3e: Apartments for Public Plaza Inc. Hammond, Louisiana. 1967-1968
2 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" and various sizes, pencil on vellum
2 4: School Competition Preliminary Drawings. 1953
2 Set I: Preliminary plans, elevations, floor plans. 5 sheets, 30" X 36"
2 5a: Hotel: Torres de Punta Leona, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1977
2 Set I: Design drawings on 6 sheets, 24" X 36", reproductions
2 5b: Residences: Playas de Punta Leona, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1978
2 Set I: Original Thinking: Preliminary drawings on two sheets, 17" X 24", pencil on vellum
2 5c: Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1979
2 Set I: Three Topographic maps of Punta Leona, Costa Rica
2 5d: Punta Leona Villas, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1980
2 Set I: Bound set of design drawings, 16" X 16" reproductions
3 5e: Hotel Punta Leona Club, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1981
3 Set I: Construction drawings, 30" X 41" reproductions
3 Set II: Misc. reproductions of design drawings
3 5f: Hotel Punta Leona: Villas, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1982
3 Set I: Construction drawings, 21" X 29" reproductions
3 5g: Club de Tenis, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1983
3 Set I: Misc. drawings, 24" X 36".
3 5h: Hotel Punta Leona Administration Building, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1984
3 Set I: Misc. drawings, 8.5" X 26" pencil on trace
3 5i: Misc. Documents for Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1985
3 Set I: Site photograph, news article, project description, operating projections, maps
3 Set II: Misc. sketches and drawings on trace paper
3 5j: Punta Leona Residences, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1986
3 Set I: Preliminary plans, sections, and elevations on four sheets, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
3 5k: Hotel Torre Mar, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976-1987
3 Set I: Preliminary drawings, reproductions
4 6: Reno Vada Resort, Reno Nevada. 1962
4 Set I: Design drawings, seven sheets, 24" X 36". Pencil on vellum
4 7a: Two-bedroom Condominium House for Mr. Robert Goldman. 1962-1963
4 Set I: Design drawings, pencil on vellum
4 7b: Development for Mr. Robert Goldman, Marion County, Florida. 1962-1964
4 Set I: Design drawings: Land use study, diagrammatic layout of a city.
4 Set II: Preliminary drawings on three sheets sizes varied: 30" X 48" to 36" X 69", scale not specified
4 8: Residence for Dave and Kathleen Robinson. 1989
4 Set I: Design drawings
4 Set II: Misc. reproductions, 36" X 46"
4 9: Apartment for Joyce Mitchell, 404 Building 1, Quayside, Miami, Florida. 1977
4 Set I: Construction Details, 18" X 18" pencil on vellum
4 10: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. La Ricos, Roanoke County, Virginia. 1956
4 Set I: Construction drawings, 24" X 36"
4 Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36"
4 Set III: Previously bound sheets 24" X 36", reproductions of Set II
4 Set IV: Design drawings 24" X 36", pencil on vellum
5 11a: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Straus, Harbor County, Key Biscayne Florida. First design. 1960
5 Set I: Design drawings, 18" X 24" pencil on vellum.
5 Set II: Bound set of construction drawings, 19" X 25"
5 Set III: Construction drawings, 18" X 24" reproductions. Labeled: Complete set for Mr. Straus
5 Set IV: Misc. drawings: Sketch of clear glass light detail, alternate for second floor and roof framing and details, landscape diagram
5 Set V: Misc. documents: Sketch of survey, area site plan, cost estimate
5 11b: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Straus, Harbor County, Key Biscayne, Florida. Nicknamed Igloo. 1968
5 Set I: Design drawings, pencil on vellum.
5 11c: Alterations to Straus Residence, 592 Fernwood Road, Key Biscayne, Florida. A studio for Mr. Clifford Straus. 1973
5 Set I: Plan, section, and details, 18" X 24" pencil on vellum. Scale: various
5 12: Sweetland. 1967
5 Set I: Design drawings: sketches of unit/lot, site plans, overall layouts, sections, elevations.
5 13: DIA Shopping Center by Creative Developers Inc. 1968
5 Set I: Design drawings, pencil on vellum
5-6 14: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Sam Coslow, Palm Island, Miami Beach, Florida. 1966-1968
5-6 Set I: Preliminary layout drawings, pencil on vellum
5-6 Set II: Preliminary design drawings, pencil on vellum
5-6 Set III: Preliminary sketches on 13 sheets, pencil on trace and Mylar, various sizes.
5-6 Set IV: Misc. reproductions of design drawings.
5-6 Set V: Construction drawings, 36" X 44" reproductions
5-6 Set VI: Construction drawings, 36" X 48" photocopies
5-6 Set VII: Furniture details, pencil on graph paper
7 15: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Barnett Guthartz. 1973
7 Set I: Bound set of drawings, reproductions.
7 16: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. John Hamer. Circa 1980
7 Set I: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum.
7 Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
7 Set III: Documents: Sketch of Survey and location map for John Hamer.
7 17: City House (Nims?). Not dated.
7 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pen on trace paper
7 18: Addition to Residence for Mark Ancet. 7790 SW 110 St. Miami, Florida. 1992
7 Set I: Addition to residence: drawings, pen on trace and vellum.
7 Set II: Design drawings, 19" X 24" pencil on trace
7 Set III: Misc. drawings and documents: sketches, handwritten agreement between Rufus Nims and Mark Ancet.
8 19: Hotel and Transient Housing for the College of Boca Raton, Boca Raton, Florida. 1979-1984.
8 Set I: Preliminary drawings, pencil on vellum
8 Set II: Preliminary design drawings, 25" X 36" pencil on vellum
8 Set III: Misc. design drawings, pencil on vellum
8 "Set IV: Presentation drawings, 30"" X 36"" pen and pencil on vellum and film"
8 20: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Collins, Key Biscayne, Florida. 1972-1973.
8 Set I: Preliminary design drawings and sketches
8 Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
8 21: Honeymoon Capital Hotel for Gene Guido, Niagara Falls, New York. 1879-1981
8 Set I: Preliminary Study: floor and room plans, elevation sketches.
8 22: Apartments for Burl Johnson, Merritt Island, Florida. High-density condominium type houses or apartments, 20 units per acre. 1963
8 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
9 23: Residence for James McDonald, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1973-1981
9 Set I: Bound reproduction set of construction drawings
9 Set II: Construction documents, reproductions. By Uni bilt Systems Inc. Stamped by Dewey N Corbett, Engineer.
9 24: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Ben Bloom, Keystone Point at Keystone Island, Florida. 1959
9 Set I: Construction drawings, 24" X 35"
9 Set II: Misc. sketches.
9 Set III: Bound set of construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
9 Set IV: Bound set of finalized construction drawings
9 25: Housing Study- Gas Concrete sponsored by Vincoa International, Inc. for Rock Resorts, Inc., Mauna Kea, Hawaii. 1970
9 Set I: Preliminary drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
9 26: "A delightful land plan of Kayman Kai on the charming island of Grand Cayman BWI, for Don Dise Developer." 1965
9 Set I: Misc. drawings
10 27a: Motor Hotel for Cherry Hill, New Jersey. 1968
10 Set I: Documents: Budget for hotel, building and construction specifications, expense sheet from Desmond Miremond and Associates Inc.
10 Set II: Bound set of drawings, reproductions with pencil annotations
10 Set III: Bound set of construction drawings, 36" X 36" reproductions with pencil annotations and corrections
10 Set IV: Misc. sketches, 24" X 36", pencil on Mylar.
10 27b: Marriott Inn Hot Shoppers, Cherry Hill, New Jersey. 1968
10 Set I: Misc. floor plan reproductions
11 28: Bokone Hills Housing Development, Monrovia, Liberia. 1963
11 Set I: Preliminary study
11 Set II: Preliminary study, 11" X 17" pencil on graphed paper with annotations
11 Set III: Misc. drawings
11 Set IV: Design drawings, 25" X 36" pencil on trace/vellum.
11 Set V: Design drawings, 25" X 36" pencil on vellum
11 29: Residence for Howard and Rosalie Aronson, Lake Cassanovia, New York. 1970
11 Set I: Design drawings, 30" X 36" pencil on vellum
11 Set II: William Oliver, Architect(?): floor plan.
11 30: Residence for Howard and Rosalie Aronson, Bocaire Boulevard, Boca Raton, Florida. 1989
11 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
11 31: House for Florida Atlantic Builders Association. 1981
11 Set I: Design drawings, reproductions
11 Set II: Documents: Contact sheet and business cards
11 32: Office for Leonard Brothers Trucking Co. Inc. 1972
11 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
11 Set II: Bound set of design drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
12 33: Howard Johnson Motor Lodge Re-Do. 1984
12 Set I: Design drawings, 8.5" X 11" pen/pencil on vellum.
12 Set II: Misc. drawings: Perspective, drawing from J.Q. Adams, Architect.
12 34: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Fred C Berg, Plantation Key, Florida. 1979
12 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
12 Set II: Design drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions
12 Set III: Misc. drawings: Second floor plan, pencil on vellum
12 35: Hilltop Motor Lodge for Mr. Dryden Jones, Cocoa, Florida. 1964
12 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
12 Set IIA: Electrical drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
12 Set IIB: Electrical drawings, 12" X 18" pencil on vellum, with annotations
12 Set III: Detail Drawings, 12" X 18" pencil on vellum, with annotations
12 36: Residence for Mr. Don Verkins of Americon Inc. Three bedroom atrium house. Not dated.
12 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum, some with corrections, sketches and annotations.
12 Set II: Misc. drawings, 24" X 36", no scale specified on most
13 37: Residence for Dr. and Mrs. Charles Hall. 1971-1972
13 Set I: Preliminary drawings, pencil on vellum
13 Set II: Construction drawings, pencil on vellum/Mylar. With annotations and corrections
13 38: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. John Messmore, Redington Beach, Florida. Circa 1953.
13 Set I: Construction drawings, pencil on trace
13 Set II: Misc. drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on trace
13 39: Residence for Dr. D.G. Williams, Hibiscus Island, Miami Beach, Florida. 1951-1955.
13 Set I: Construction drawings, 18" X 24" pencil on trace
13 Set II: Preliminary drawings, pencil on trance/vellum
13 Set III: Misc. drawings, 18" X 24" pencil on trace
13 Set IV: Documents: Handwritten note and sketch, lists
14 40: Residence remodeling for Garrison Boyce and Donald Laier (labeled as Otto Cohen's house). 1 Dilido Drive, Dilido Island, Miami Beach, Florida. O.J. Jorgensen-Structural Engineer. 1988-1989
14 Set I: Preliminary drawings
14 Set II: Design/Construction drawings
14 41: Four corners house (a.k.a House on corner of patio). 1950
14 Set I: Misc. drawings, pencil on vellum
14 43: "The Mercado". A shopping center for the city of St. Augustine, Florida. Dryden Jones, Real Estate Inc. 1980
14 Set I: Preliminary drawings, 11" X 17" pencil on vellum
14 44: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Burl Johnson, Magens Bay Area, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. 1962-1963.
14 Set I: Misc. drawings.
14 Set II: Design drawings
14 45: Residence for Alan Hutchison, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1966-1969
14 Set I: Design Drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
14 46: Hotel Development for George Selkirk, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1977
14 Set I: Preliminary drawings, 30" X 42" pencil on vellum
14 47a: Golden Sovereign Resort, for Golden Sovereign, LTD., Double Head, Conch Point, Barkers Beach, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. Includes: houses, cottages, hotel, and a downtown. 1969-1981
14 Set I: Preliminary drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on trace/vellum
14 Set II: Bound set of drawings labeled preliminary, reproductions
14 Set III: Design drawings, 11" X 25" pencil on vellum
14 Set IV: Misc. drawings
15 47b: Turtle Inn, for Golden Sovereign, LTD., Orchid Beach, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1969-1981
15 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
15 Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
15 Set III: Misc. drawings.
15 48: Warehouse for Mrs. Mary H. Carter, Perrine, FL. Jorgensen and Schreffler Consulting Engineer. 1962
15 Set I: Construction drawings
15 49: Quepos Hotel Study. Not dated.
15 Set I: Study sketches: Plans, perspectives, elevations, 24" X 36" reproductions. Not scaled, not dated
15 50: Housing Development Studies, Curacao. Product of Steel Co. 1972
15 Set I: Preliminary design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
15 Set II: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
15 Set III: Misc. drawings
15 51: Office Park, proposed office layout for an advertising agency, Birmingham, Alabama. 1957
15 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
16 52: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. Frank Hudson, Old San Antonio Road, eight miles north of Benchly. 1972-1973.
16 Set I: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
16 Set II: Construction drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum
16 53: Bolivia. Various house plans. 1962-1963
16 Set I: Construction drawings of houses with various square feet, 24" X 36"
16 Set II: Construction drawings of various house models, 24" X 36"
16 54: Pavilion for Dade Jr. College. Not dated.
16 Set I: Misc. drawings
16 55: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. J. Goodkin, Keystone Island # 5, North Miami, Florida. 1966-1967
16 Set I: Design drawings, 24" X 36" pencil on vellum/Mylar
16 Set II: Bound set of construction drawings, 24" X 36" reproductions with annotations
16 Set III: Misc. drawings
16 Set IV: Documents: calculations, test boring report.
17 56: Office Towers (International Tower), Miami, Florida. 1957-1961
17 Set I: Preliminary design drawings, 18" X 24" pencil on Mylar
17 Set II: Misc. Drawings
17 Set III: Misc. Documents: Photograph of Model, news articles, booklets and other spare sheets
17 57: Heart of Syracuse Hotel, for Howard Aronson, Syracuse, New York. 1956-1957.
17 Set I: Preliminary drawings, 24" X 36" ink on vellum
17 58: Model Prototype Hotel Room, for Howard Aronson, Syracuse, New York. 1956-1957.
17 Set I: Preliminary drawings
18 59: Residence for Mr. and Mrs. J. Jamieson, Miami, Florida. 1953
18 Set I: Preliminary drawings
18 60: Housing Development for Mr. Charles Koche/ Burl Johnson, Island of Montserrat, British West Indies. 1965
18 Set I: Preliminary drawing, 36" X 36" pencil on vellum
18 61: Berry Hill Barn Living Units, Don Dise Developer, Grand Cayman. Living units for Land Plan in Kayman Kay (26). 1965
18 Set I: Preliminary drawing, 11" X 32" pencil on trace
18 62: Little Haiti Iron Market Competition, Lemon City/Little Haiti. 1977-1978
18 Set I: Misc. drawings
18 63: Residence for Jean Paul Barbier, Island Drive, Key Biscayne, Florida. 1979
18 Set I: Early schematic drawings, 24" X 48" pencil on trace
19 Bohlig Residence (M/M C. F. Bohlig), Naples, FL.
19 Hoffman Residence (Mrs. J. B. Hoffman), Coral Gables, FL. 1961
19 Nims Residence (Sarah M. Nims), Woodford, KY. 1995
20 Fraternity House for Alpha Epsilon Pi, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL. 1956
20 West Bay Beach Development (Maple Leaf Enterprises, LTD), West Bay Beach, Grand Cayman, British West Indies (Also referred to as Cayman Sands Village). 1963


Drawings and Oversize Materials (Flat Files)


Adler Residence (M/M Ralph W. Adler), Biscayne Bay, FL (two flat files: drawings and oversize materials). 1951

Aronson Colonnades (M/M Howard Aronson), Miami, FL (oversize materials). 1963

Aronson Residence I (M/M Howard Aronson), Lake Cassanovia, NY (drawings). 1970

Baptist Church, Biscayne Bay, FL (oversize materials).

Binder Residence (M/M B. I. Binder), Miami Beach, FL (drawings).

Birmingham Office Park (Mr. Irwin Jackson), Birmingham, AL (oversize materials). 1957

Bokone Hills Housing Development (Mr. Burl Johnson), Monrovia, Liberia (drawings). 1963

Boulder Hill Ranch, Aurora, IL (two flat files: drawings and oversize materials). 1966

Club Punta Leona, Punta Leona, Costa Rica (two flat files: drawings and oversize materials). 1976

Coconut Grove Office Building (Mr. Rufus Nims), Coconut Grove, FL (oversize materials). 1961

College of Boca Raton Hotel and Transient Building (College of Boca Raton), Boca Raton, FL (oversize materials). 1979

Collens Residence (M/M Tom Collens), Key Biscayne, FL (sometimes written as "Collins") (drawings). 1972

Conrad Residence (Mr. Jerry Conrad), Miami Beach, FL (Also referred to as Cook Residence and Nagler Residence) (two flat files: drawings and oversize materials). 1954

Coslow Residence (M/M Sam Coslow), Miami Beach, FL (drawings). 1966

Eisenberg Residence (Harry Eisenberg), Miami, FL (Also referred to as the "Flexible House") (oversize materials). 1948

Exploded House (oversize materials).

Habitat for Humanity (drawings).

Life Resource Center (The Life Resource Center Org.), Morrisville?, NC (drawings). 1993?

Little Haiti Iron Market-Lemon City Project (Contest), Miami, FL (oversize materials). 1977

McDonald Residence (Eileen McDonald), Miami, FL (drawings).

Montserrat Housing Development (Mr. Charles Kothe and Mr. Burl Johnson), Montserrat, British West Indies (drawings). 1964

Motor Hotel for Cherry Hill, Cherry Hill, NJ (drawings). 1968

Nosara Development (Inversiones Nicoya Sa), Nosara Beaches, Costa Rica (drawings).

Ratner Residence (Mr. Nat Ratner), Miami Beach, FL (two flat files: drawings and oversize materials). 1959?

Reno Vada Resort, Reno, NV (oversize materials). 1962

Roman Residence (oversize materials). 1948

Roscoe Residence? (drawings).

Salhaven Health and Welfare Village (UIU Health and Welfare Fund), Jupiter, FL (oversize materials). 1954?

Sky House (Condominium Concept), Key West, FL (oversize materials). 1951

Stillman Residence (M/M Ronald Stillman), Miami, FL (two flat files: drawings and oversize materials). 1953

Straus Residence (M/M Straus), Key Biscayne, FL (Also known as the Igloo) (two flat files: drawings and oversize materials). 1960

West Bay Beach Development (Maple Leaf Enterprises, LTD), West Bay Beach, Grand Cayman, British West Indies (Also referred to as Cayman Sands Village) (two flat files: drawings and oversize materials). 1963


Project Clippings, Notes and Photographs


Box
21 Adler Residence (M/M Ralph W. Adler), Biscayne Bay, FL. 1951
21 Adler Residence - Photos.
21 Admiral Motel, Redington Beach, FL.
21 Aronson Residence I (M/M Howard Aronson), Lake Cassanovia, NY - Photos. 1970
21 Bay Harbor Island Development (Mr. Howard Kane), Miami, FL.
21 Binder Residence (M/M B. I. Binder), Miami Beach, FL.
21 Birmingham Office Park (Mr. Irwin Jackson), Birmingham, AL. 1957
21 Bloom Residence (M/M Ben Bloom), Keystone Island, FL. 1959
21 Club Punta Leona, Punta Leona, Costa Rica. 1976
21 Club Punta Leona - Photos. 1976
21 Coconut Grove Office Building (Mr. Rufus Nims), Coconut Grove, FL. 1961
21 Cohen Residence (M/M Otto J. Cohen), Miami Beach, FL. 1989
21 College of Boca Raton Hotel and Transient Building (College of Boca Raton), Boca Raton, FL. 1979
21 Conrad Residence (Mr. Jerry Conrad), Miami Beach, FL (Also referred to as Cook Residence and Nagler Residence). 1954
21 Coslow Residence (M/M Sam Coslow), Miami Beach, FL. 1966
21 Department Store Style House , Miami, FL. 1949
21 Dixon Residence (Capt/M Guy Dixon), Miami, FL.
21 Driftwood Motel and Howard Johnson's Restaurant.
21 Exploded House.
21 Florida Atlantic Builders Association House (Collaborative).
21 Fraternity House for Alpha Epsilon Pi, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL. 1956
21 Frigidaire Kitchen Plan.
21 Golden Sovereign Resort (Golden Sovereign, LTD), Barkers Beach, Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1969
22 Howard Johnson's Motor Lodge (Howard Johnson Co.). 1954
22 Howard Johnson's Motor Lodge - Photos. 1984
22 International Center (Collaborative) (S. D. Haynsworth and Associates), Bay Island, FL. 1948
22 Life Resource Center (The Life Resource Center Org.), Morrisville?, NC. 1993?
22 Little Haiti Iron Market-Lemon City Project (Contest), Miami, FL. 1977
22 Macdonald Residence (James Macdonald), Grand Cayman, British West Indies. 1973
22 Messmore Residence (M/M John Messmore), Redington Beach, FL (2 folders). 1953
22 Messmore Residence - Photos.
22 Miller Residence (M/M Al Miller), Miami Beach, FL.
22 Miller Residence - Photos.
22 Palm Bay.
22 Pensacola Shotgun Houses, Pensacola, FL.
22 Ratner Residence (Mr. Nat Ratner), Miami Beach, FL. 1959?
22 Ratner Residence - Photos.
22 Roman Residence. 1948
22 Roman Residence - Photos.
22 Salhaven Health and Welfare Village (UIU Health and Welfare Fund), Jupiter, FL. 1954?
22 Salhaven Health and Welfare Village - Photos. 1954?
22 Sky House (Condominium Concept), Key West, FL. 1951
22 Steel House, Pittsburg, PA (Built on roof of Kaufmann's Dept. Store). 1956
22 Steffen Residence (Steve Steffen), Miami, FL. 1955
23 Stillman Residence (M/M Ronald Stillman), Miami, FL. 1953
23 Stillman Residence - Photos (2 folders). 1953
23 Straus Residence (M/M Straus), Key Biscane, FL (Also known as the Igloo; later renovated). 1960-1973
23 Straus Residence - Photos.
23 Sweetland. 1967
23 U.S. Steel Homes and Service Station (Manufactured Units).
23 U.S. Steel Homes and Service Station - Photos.
23 West Bay Beach Development (Maple Leaf Enterprises, LTD), West Bay Beach, Grand Cayman, British West Indies (Also referred to as Cayman Sands Village). 1963
23 Woman's Day Magazine Vacation Cabin. 1961


Awards, Articles, Publications and Miscellaneous Papers


Box
23 American Institute of Architecture Award. 1958
23 "Architects, Craftsmen Get Awards" - AIA Award Write Up: M. Herald.
23 Award Info.
23 Bayfront Park Parking Articles.
23 Carolina Architecture. 1939
24 Design Magazine - Tropical architecture article by Nims and article about new Howard Johnson's designed by Nims. 1950
23 Designing with Kids Article - Miami Herald. 1961
23 Dwell Magazine (p. 82) and Harold Seckinger Letter (re: Nims and modern architecture). 2005 March
23 Florida South Chapter American Institute of Architects Silver Award.
24 Greenville High School Diploma. 1930
23 Historical Museum of South Florida - Florida Home/Modern Living Exhibit. 2004
23 House and Home 1958 Award of Merit in Residential Design and Construction. 1958
23 Magazine Subscription Forms Using Nims as Advertising.
23 News Clippings.
24 Newspapers and Clippings.
23 Original Progressive Architecture Award - Ratner. 1958
23 Progressive Architecture: Salhaven Design Award. 1956
23 Reviews (Articles About Nims' Work).
23 Rufus Nims Architecture/Newspaper Education Ideas.
23 Rufus Nims: Indigenous Architecture of South Florida.
23 Rufus Nims Lecture.
23 Rufus Nims Resume.
23 Rufus Nims Sketches.
23 Rufus Nims Transcripts (CD).
23 Sarah P. Nims Articles - Miami Herald.
23 Standard Builders Sheet (Old) - Used by Rufus Nims Office.
24 State of North Carolina Architecture License. 1942
23 Tropical Architecture Show Review - Miami Herald.
23 University of Florida School of Architecture Award. 2005


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Architectural drawing -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- Caribbean Area.
Architecture -- Designs and plans.
Architecture -- Florida -- 20th Century.
Architecture -- Louisiana -- 20th Century.
Architecture -- New York -- 20th Century.
Architecture, Domestic -- Florida.
Hotels -- Designs and plans.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page