Skip to Search



A Guide to the Thomas Moore Papers

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
July 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Moore, Thomas
Title: Thomas Moore Papers
Dates: 1806-1832 and not dated
Abstract: Correspondence, poems, and engraved portraits of Thomas Moore of Ireland.
Extent: 0.2 Linear feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MS Group 38
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Poet, biographer, composer, and musician. Thomas Moore was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1779. He is widely known for his ten-volume work, Irish Melodies, a collection of songs written by Moore and based on traditional Irish airs. Although famous for this collection of music, his poetry was as celebrated and poems such as "Lalla Rookh" assured him a prominent place among Irish poets. Moore died in 1852.


Scope and Content

Correspondence, poems, and engraved portraits. Nine letters written by Moore to various correspondents, including three letters written to or about a Mr. Power. One letter to Joseph Atkinson discusses Moore's poetry, Lord Moira, and current affairs. The letters date from 1806 to 1832, but most are either not dated or have no year recorded. An 1831 letter includes a six-stanza poem entitled "Thoughts on Editors." In addition to the letters, the collection includes engraved portraits of Moore and a poem entitled, "On the Departure of the 'par nobile fratrum,' Lords C-r-gh and St-w-t, for the Continent."


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Thomas Moore Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box
1 Engraving - Portrait of Moore. 1832
1 Engraving - Portrait of Moore. n.d.
1 Engraving - Proof, mounted, "The Author of Lalla Rookh". n.d.
1 Letter from Moore to Joseph Atkinson, Irish dramatist, regarding poems, Lord Moira, and current affairs. 1806
1 Letter from Moore to Mr. Power. 1829 January 19
1 Letter from Moore to "My dear Byny," which includes a six-stanza poem entitled "Thoughts on Editors". 1831 December 3
1 Letter from Moore to James Corry, written at Sloperton Cottage. 1832 March 18
1 Letter from Moore to Mrs. Mereweather. n.d.
1 Letter from Moore to Arch Deacon Macdonald, written at Sloperton. n.y. [June 26]
1 Letter from Moore to Mr. Power regarding a family feud over money. n.y. [October 3]
1 Letter from Moore to Vincent Rowde, written at Sloperton, inviting Rowde to dine with the family. n.y. [November 9]
1 Letter from Moore to unidentified recipient regarding Mr. Power. n.y. [March 17]
1 Newsprint reproduction of engraved portrait of Moore. n.d.
1 Poem: "On the Departure of the 'par nobile fratrum,' Lords C-r-gh and St-w-t, for the Continent" (autograph manuscript, signed "P.F." and entirely in Moore's hand). n.d.

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Poets, Irish -- 19th century -- Correspondence.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page