Skip to Search



A Guide to the Nathan S. Marshall Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
October 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Marshall, Nathan S., 1832-1914
Title: Nathan S. Marshall Papers
Dates: 1853-1965
Abstract: A diary and related materials belonging to Nathan S. Marshall, a hospital steward on U.S.S. Vandalia describing Admiral Matthew C. Perry's fleet and the mission to Japan, 1853-1856.
Extent: 0.01 Linear Feet. 1 Folder.
Identification: MS Group 112 1/8
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Born of Quaker parentage, Marshall worked in an uncle's drug store when he was 14 and attended school. In 1853 he enlisted in the crew if the U.S. Vandalia as a hospital steward and assistant to the ship surgeon, where he traveled with the United States Navy when Admiral Matthew C. Perry negotiated the opening of Japan to the outside world. Marshall went on to become a physician.


Scope and Content

The collection includes a diary, one pamphlet and a manuscript. The diary was originally written by Dr. N.S. Marshall in 1853-1856 and this copy was proudced for A.R. Mead in 1913 after Mead spent a great deal of time at the doctor's home with the intent of learning more about Japan and the doctor's journey. The pamphlet is entitled: "A poem prayer offered by Captain W. H. Hardy... for the 60th anniversary of the treaty with Japan." The manuscript is entitled "A hospital steward and Perry's opening of Japan, 1853-1854" written by Mead in 1965 based on the diary with a annotated bibliography and typescript of the treaty with Japan.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Nathan S. Marshall Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Physicians -- Diaries
United States Naval Expedition to Japan -- (1852-1854) -- Personal narratives



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page