Skip to Search



A Guide to the M. de Marillac Letter Book

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
December 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Marillac, M. de.
Title: M. de Marillac Letter Book
Dates: 1699-1702
Abstract: Letter book containing copies and drafts of letters to the Comte de Pontchartrain from a French naval officer of the Marine. Includes a description of a voyage to the West Indies.
Extent: 0.1 Linear feet. 1 volume.
Identification: MS Group 128
Language(s): French
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

The writer of these letters is probably French naval officer M. de Marillac who is named as one of the two "lieutenans nommes pour le Mexique" in the letter dated July 18, 1701. The squadron the author was part of was almost totally destroyed 4 days after the date of the final letter by a British force under the command of Rooke and the Duke of Ormonde.


Scope and Content

The M. de Marillac letter book contains copies and a few autograph drafts of letters to the Comte de Pontchartrain, Secretary of State (and a few other ministers), from an officer of the Marine. Fifteen letters are from St. Malo, where the writer appears to have been Port Commandant (November 15, 1699 to January 26, 1700, 33 p.). Three letters were written from Treguiler in Brittany (May-June 1699, 3 p.). The final twenty-five letters are from Brest (one letter) and from sea (July 18, 1701 to October 4, 1702, 76 p.). The letters from July 1701 to the end of the volume describe the voyage to the West Indies of the joint Franco-Spanish squadron commanded by the Compte de Chateau-Regnaud, Vice-Admiral of France. They are written from Lisbon, Cadiz, Madeira, Martinique, Porto Rico, San Domingo, and Havana and, after returning across the Atlantic, from Vigo.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

A digital reproduction of this item is available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], M. de Marillac Letter Book, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

France -- Marine -- History -- 17th century -- Sources
France -- Marine -- History -- 18th century -- Sources
Navies -- Officers -- Correspondence
Navies -- Officers -- Travel
Spanish Succession, War of, 1701-1714 -- Personal narratives
Spanish Succession, War of, 1701-1714 -- Sources



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page