Skip to Search



A Guide to the Kratina Family Collection

Finding aid created by Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2015


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Kratina Family
Title: Kratina Family Collection
Dates: 1841-1967
Bulk dates: 1885-1955
Abstract: The Kratina Family Collection documents several generations associated with the Pressly and Kratina families. These records primarily consist of correspondence that highlights the interesting times and spaces the families occupied, including subjects such as the affects of the depreciation of German money and harsh import taxes in the 1920s and 1930s, the presence of Nazi leader Adolf Hitler in Germany, and life under Soviet occupation in the postwar period. The collection includes genealogical documents; photographs and newspaper clippings featuring the Kratina family; and works by and about Rudolph Kratina, including lithographs of sketches he created, music he composed or arranged, and performance posters and pamphlets.
Extent: 7 Linear feet. 17 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0337
Language(s): Includes materials written in English, German, and French.

Biographical/Historical Note

The Kratina Family Collection documents several generations associated with Frederic's grandfather, Charles Payton Pressly. Pressly was born to Dr. Joseph Pressly and Tallulah Frazier on July 4, 1860 in Cedar Springs, Georgia. Upon completing his law studies at Erskine College, and being admitted to the Georgia bar in 1882, Pressly established a law practice in Augusta, Georgia and then began a career in the American diplomatic corps. After serving in several diplomatic posts upon initial appointment by President Cleveland in 1894, President Wilson appointed Pressly as Vice and Deputy Consul General to France during World War I.

In December of 1887, Pressly married Maude Margaret Stovall, daughter of Confederate Colonel Massillon Stovall and his wife Margarite Stovall. Pressly's union to Stovall brought one daughter, Marguerite Terrell Pressly (1890-1971). In 1925, Marguerite would go on to marry Rudolf Kratina (1891-1967), an Austrian cellist and son of the well-known Czech solo violinist Josef Kratina. After their marriage, Marguerite primarily resided with her husband and son Frederic in Dresden, Germany, where Rudolf was a concert cellist.

Rudolf Kratina made his concert debut at the age of twelve. Later, in 1913, he would become the solo bass singer for the Dresden Opera. In 1925, Kratina accepted a position as a cellist for life in the Dresden Opera. In 1939, the political turmoil in Germany led Kratina to move his family to Georgia. It was there that he would join the University of Georgia at Athens as the chair for cello and chamber music for twenty years. While in Georgia, he performed for the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Atlanta Community Orchestra.

In addition to being a highly skilled cellist, Rudolf Kratina was a bass soloist, composer, and a skilled artist. Twelve of Kratina's lithographs are featured in the Library of Congress and twenty-five of his sketches are in the New York Museum of Art. Other pieces of his artwork can be found at the British Museum in London, and at the Berlin and Dresden Museums in Germany.


Scope and Content

The Kratina collection primarily consists of correspondence between the Presslys and Kratinas, families that occupied interesting times and spaces. Charles Pressly often writes to his wife Maude from his various assignments. Later, Marguerite writes to her parents of her daily experiences in Dresden in the 1920s and 1930s, detailing obstacles she faces on imports, how her family is affected by the depreciation of German money and harsh import taxes, and even the presence of Nazi leader Adolf Hitler in Germany. In the postwar period, family and friends remaining in Dresden describe life under Soviet occupation.

The collection includes genealogical documents and newspapers relating to both the Kratinas and the Presslys as far back as the family could trace themselves. In addition to correspondence and genealogical documents, the collection includes photographs and newspaper clippings featuring the Kratina family; and works by and about Rudolph Kratina, including lithographs of sketches he created, music he composed or arranged, and performance posters and pamphlets.

The music series contains sheet music, mostly handwritten and mostly by Kratina. These pieces date from 1935 to 1962, though the majority of them are not dated. The works included are mainly for cello and piano or for voice and piano, though a few chamber music arrangements are also present. Similarly, some works have been arranged into a number of formats, for example the Adagio in the first folder is written for cello and organ (or piano), and is also arranged for string quartet. The works here are arranged alphabetically by title, and unless noted otherwise, are written or arranged by Kratina. Most of the works in this series appear to be unpublished.


Arrangement

The collection is arranged into four series: 1. Correspondence, 1841-1967; 2. Documents, clippings and photographs, 1887-1962; 3. Artwork, undated; and 4. Music, 1935-1962.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], , Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frederic Charles Josef Kratina (1926-2010). The bulk of the collection was discovered by a student at Emory University in the attic of a house he was renting and was subsequently given to Frederic (Fred) Kratina. Dr. Kratina donated the collection to the University of Florida in 2009 along with additional materials already in his possession.


Contents List

Series 1: Correspondence. 1841-1967


Box
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1925
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1926
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1927
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1928
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1930
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1931
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1932
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1933
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1934
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1935
1 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from MPK (Marguerite Pressly Kratina). 1936
2 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1925
2 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall) from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1926
2 Letters to CPP (Charles Pressly) from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1928
2 Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Pressly from Rudolf Kratina. 1926
2 Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Pressly from Rudolf Kratina. 1928
2 Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Charles Pressly from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1929
2 Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Pressly from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1930
2 Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Pressly from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1931
2 Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Pressly from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1932
2 Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Pressly from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1933
2 Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Pressly from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1934
2 Letters to Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Pressly from RJK (Rudolf Kratina). 1935
2 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to the Presslys (parents-in-law). undated
2 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Charles P. Pressly. 1897
2 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Charles Pressly (father). 1920
2 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Charles Pressly (father). 1926
2 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Charles P. Pressly. 1927
2 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Charles P. Pressly. 1934
2 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Charles Pressly (father). 1935
2 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Charles P. Pressly. 1936
2 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Charles Pressly (father). 1937
2 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Charles Pressly (father). 1938
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1886
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1888
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1889
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1890
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1891
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1892
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1894
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1895
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1899
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1920
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1922
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1923
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1925
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1928
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1930
2 Letters to Charles P. Pressly from Maude Stovall (Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1931
3 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1885
3 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1886
3 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1886
3 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1887
3 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1887
3 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1888
3 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1889
3 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1890
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1891
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1892
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1894
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1895
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1896
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1897
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1920
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1924
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1926
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1927
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1928
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1930
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1932
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). 1935
4 Letters to MSP (Maude Stovall Pressly; Mrs. Charles P. Pressly). undated
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1922
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1925
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1926
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1927
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1928
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1929
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1930
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1931
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1932
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1933
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1934
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1935
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1938
5 Letters to CPP (Charles P. Pressly) from MPK (Marguerite P. Kratina). 1941
5 Letters from Marguerite Kratina to her parents. undated
6 Letters from various Germans to Rudolf Kratina and Gretel (Marguerite) Kratina (in German). 1895-1941
6 Letters from Various Germans to Rudolf Kratina and Gretel (Marguerite) Kratina (in German). 1896-1959
6 Letters from Various Germans to Rudolf Kratina and Gretel (Marguerite) Kratina (in German). 1932-1988
6 Letters to Rudolf and Marguerite Kratina (in French). 1935-1946
6 Miscellaneous Letters to/from Rudolf Kratina. 1924-1965
6 Miscellaneous Letters to/from Marguerite Pressly. 1905-1965
6 Miscellaneous Letters to/from Maude Stovall Pressly. 1890-1935
6 Miscellaneous Documents related to Charles Pressly. 1879-1936
6 To Rudolf and Marguerite Kratina. undated
6 To Mr. and Mrs. Charles P. Pressly. undated
6 To Charles P. Pressly from Will M. Rowland. 1892
6 Letter to Charles P. Pressly from Mrs. Susan B. Hill. 1923
6 Letter Mr. Charles P. Pressly from W. Dawe. 1925
6 Letter to Charles Pressly from S.W. Mathiason. 1890
6 Letters to Marguerite Pressly Kratina from Maude Stovall Pressly. 1925
6 Letters to Marguerite Pressly Kratina from Maude Stovall Pressly. 1926
6 Letters to Marguerite Pressly Kratina from Maude Stovall Pressly. 1927
6 Letters to Marguerite Pressly Kratina from Maude Stovall Pressly. 1935
6 Letters to Marguerite Pressly Kratina from Maude Stovall Pressly. 1936
6 Letters to Marguerite Pressly Kratina from Maude Stovall Pressly. 1940
7 Letters to/from Addie R. Bares. 1927-1932
7 Letters to/from Agnes Von Kracht. 1928-1950
7 Letters to/from Dr. Albert Fromme. 1948
7 Letters to/from Allina Kratina. undated
7 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Anna Fisdoer. 1948
7 Letters to/from Beatrice Vozel. undated
7 Letters to/from Aunt Bertha (Aunt of Marguerite). 1928-1937
7 Letters to/from Connie (Charles P. Pressly Cousin). 1931
7 Letters to/from Cristine. 1948
7 Letters to/from Dessie. 1922
7 Letters to/from Dietrich v. Kracht. 1947-1948
7 Letters to/from Dorothy Hart. 1946-1956
7 Letters to/from Dorothy Porter. 1939-1951
7 Letters to/from Eckardt. 1926-1949
7 Letters to/from Eda Meyer. 1948
7 Letters to/from Elinor Sdionberg. 1940-1946
7 Letters to/from Elsa Schirmer. 1948
7 Letters to/from Fannie Pressly (sister of CPP). 1929-1930
7 Letters to/from Frederick F. Schneider. 1925
7 Letters to/from Frieda Kratina. 1935-1958
7 Letters to/from Frieda Kratina. 1918-1959
8 Letters to/from Fritz Hautschel. 1948-1958
8 Letters to/from Helen Hurless. 1947
8 Letters to Marguerite from Uncle Hugh. 1940
8 Letters to/from Jan Kratina (Rudolf's Cousin). 1937-1942
8 Letters to/from Josef Kratina. 1939
8 Letters to/from Lee Meriwether. 1936
8 Letters to/from Lester Edwards. 1930-1935
8 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Sister M. Augustine. 1939
8 Letters to/from Margarete Haefer. 1947
8 Letters to/from Marianne. 1940-1946
8 Letters to/from Marie Stoward. 1946
8 Letters to/from Martha Pressly. 1940
8 Letters to/from Mary Biddle P.. 1940
8 Letters to/from Mary Brierly. 1918-1928
8 Letters to/from May Lee. 1918
8 Letters to/from Mildred Rose. undated
8 Letters to/from Molly Fitch. 1934
8 Letters to/from M.V Buliz. 1947
8 Letters to/from Paul Hoter. 1947-1949
8 Letters to/from Paula II. 1953
8 Letters to/from Sandra Kratina (Fred's Wife). undated
8 Letters to/from Samantha Huntley. 1915-1934
8 Letters to/from Sarah Stokes. 1926
8 Letters to/from Savannah. 1930
8 Letters to Marguerite Kratina from Tori. 1937-1939
8 Letters to/from Valerie Kratina (Kohler). 1937-1965
8 Letters to/from Y. Notker. 1947-1949
8 "Ellis Island Friendship Renewed by Von Trapps". 1965 April 9
8 Miscellaneous Papers Unknown. undated
8 Rice Paper, Dresden. 1940
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1927
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1938
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1939
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1940
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1941
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1942
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1945
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1946
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1947
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1948
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1949
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1951
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1952
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1953
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1954
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1955
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. 1967
8 Letters from Rudolf Kratina to Marguerite Kratina. undated
8 Miscellaneous Letters to and From Various. 1911-1967
9 Letters Pre-1880. 1855-1866
9 Blanche Louise Stovall (twin of Rose)(daughter of Col. Massillon Pleasant Stovall and Margaret Speer Stovall)(Letters to MPS). 1864-1871
9 Rose Elizabeth Stovall (twin of Blanche)(daughter of Col. Massillon Pleasant Stovall and Margaret Speer Stovall)(Letters to MPS). 1866-1869
9 Mrs. M. H. Stovall. 1886-1889
9 Frank M. Stovall (son of Col. Massillon Pleasant Stovall and Margaret Speer Stovall). 1864-1866
9 Eustace Stovall (Son of Col. Massillon Pleasant Stovall and Margaret Speer Stovall)(Letters to MPS). 1864-1866
9 Margaret Speer Stovall (MSS) [Wife of Col. Massillon Stovall](Letters to MPS). 1865-1870
9 Col. Massillon Pleasant Stovall (Letters to MPS from Various) (Letters to General from MPS). 1841-1884
9 To Col. Massillon Stovall from Blanche Stovall. 1870


Series 2: Documents, clippings, and photographs. 1870-1962, undated


Box
9 Charles P. Pressly Missionary Documents. 1907-1962
9 Kratina Family Lineage.
9 Documents on Elsa Bertha Michel.
9 Documents on Josef Kratina.
9 Documents on Frieda Kratina.
9 Documents on Valeria Kratina.
9 Charles P. Pressly - German Law Regarding Marguerite Pressly to be Married to Rudolf Kratina. 1931
9 Stovall Business Estate Work - Passed on to Charles Pressly. 1887-1932
9 Pressly Frazier Heart.
9 Charles P. Pressly Business-to/from. 1904-1925
9 Frazier - Estate of Tallulah H. Pressly (Mother of Charles P. Pressly).
9 Marguerite P. Kratina (Wife of Rudolf Kratina and daughter of Charles P. Pressly). 1864-1929
9 Clippings Related to World War I and the French War Council.
9 Death of Charles P. Pressly.
9 Maude Margaret Stovall (Daughter of Col. Massillon Pleasant Stovall and Margaret Amelia Speer) (Married to Charles P. Pressly). 1870-1887
9 Speer Family Records.
9 Genealogic Relative Information.
10 Folder related to Rudolf Kratina's Career, including letters to RJK. 1940s
10 Awards, Certificates, and Miscellaneous Documents Related to Rudolf Kratina.
10 Miscellaneous Documents related to Rudolf Kratina.
10 Letter to Rudolf Kratina from the Office of the Pope. 1953
10 Obituaries of Rudolf.
10 Clippings Related to Kratina's Career.
10 Photos of Musicians.
10 Photos of Rudolf Kratina.
10 Rudolf Kratina, "Shall We Have Chamber Music?".
10 Music Programs and Kratina's Musical Promotions.
10 Rudolf Kratina, Passport and Personal.
10 Clippings, photos, and paintings related to Marguerite Kratina.
10 Kratina and Richter Family Trees.
11 Diaries. 1936-1966
11 Two address books.
11 Two notebooks undated.
12 Oversized box with documents and Dresden Opera broad sheets.
13 Stovall Pressly Kratina Family Photos.
13 Biography of Rudolf Kratina.
13 Documents related to Josef Kratina.


Series 3: Artwork. undated


Box
13 Four Sketch Books.
13 Two plastic bags of sketches on postcards.
13 Rudi Sketches.
13 Rudolf Sketches, including some originals.
14 Smaller flat box of Kratina art.
15 Larger flat box of Kratina art.


Series 4: Music. 1935-1962, undated


Box
16 Adagio for cello and organ (or piano), and for string quartet. undated
16 Agnus Dei, trio arrangement. undated
16 Andante a la Gregoriano for cello and organ (Christmas). 1962 December
16 Andante appassionata for cello and piano. 1960
16 Andantino, Gavotte, and Andante for cello and piano. 1956, undated
16 Aria for cello and piano. 1961
17 Assorted sketches and notes, includes one letter from son. 1962, undated
17 Ave Maria for bass and piano. 1941
17 Ave Maria for bass and piano. undated
17 Ave Verum Corpus, adapted from W. A. Mozart for bass voice. undated
17 Barcarolle (piano) by Hugh Hodgson and arrangement for cello and piano by Kratina. 1935, undated
17 Benedictus for high and low voices with piano. undated
17 The Blessed Christ Child for voice or cello and piano (multiple arrangements). 1943, 1946
17 Canzona for cello and piano (or organ) by Katrina and Karl Köhler. undated
17 The Dream for cello and piano. 1958
17 Funeral March for cello and organ (or piano) in memoriam of victims of World War II. 1945-1946
17 Georgia Bumblebee for cello and piano. 1956
17 Gipsy Phantasy (with alternate, illegible title) for cello and piano (cello parts only). undated
17 In Memoriam for a Dying Child for cello and piano. undated
17 In Memoriam for cello and organ (or piano) ("Fantasy on a chorale by Mendelssohn"). 1946
17 Inquiétude for cello and piano. undated
17 International Flea Circus for cello and piano. undated
17 Largo in the Old Style for cello and piano, and for violin, cello, and organ (or piano). undated
17 Lieder und Responsorieu (composer unknown). undated
17 Midnight [Christmas] Mass Music for cello and organ. 1961 December
17 Minuet for piano by Hugh Hodgson and arrangement for cello and piano by Kratina. 1935, undated
17 Minuetto for cello and piano. probably 1946
17 Österreich Austrian Phantasy for cello and piano. undated
17 "Our Father" musical setting in multiple languages; setting in English by William S. Karst. undated
17 Perpetuum mobile, based on the Italien Autopullman Bus Signal for cello and piano. 1957
17 Pilgrimage to the Manger: A Nativity Suite for cello and organ (or piano). 1955 March
17 Prayer for Peace for voice and piano. 1943
17 The Prayer for Columbus for voice and piano. undated
17 Prélude (Opus 23, Number 10) by Sergei Rachmaninoff, arranged for cello by Kratina. undated
17 Romanza by James A. Dasher, for violin and cello. undated
17 "Russ. Nat. Hymne" [God Save the Tsar by Alexei Lvov]. undated
17 Seven Variations on a Theme of Handel by Ludwig von Beethoven, arranged for two cellos by Charlotte Axt. undated
17 A Simple Prayer of St. Francis for high voice. undated
17 Variation on a musical theme by Lee, arranged by Kratina for cello and piano, and for two violins and cello. undated
17 Violin duet by W. A. Mozart. undated
17 Volga Intermezzo of Old Russia for cello and piano. undated
17 When from his mother Jesus went for voices and piano. undated


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cello and piano music
Cello music
Germany--Dresden
Kratina, Rudolf, 1891-1967
Lithographs
World War (1914-1918)
World War (1939-1945)



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page