Skip to Search



A Guide to the David L. Kent Letterpress and Calligraphy Collection

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
June 2006


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Kent, David L.
Title: David L. Kent Letterpress and Calligraphy Collection
Dates: 1944-2005
Bulk dates: 1967-2005
Abstract: Correspondence, printed ephemera, and publications created by letterpress printers and other individuals in the graphic arts.
Extent: 10.5 Linear feet. 18 boxes, 7 binders.
Identification: MS Group 194
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

David L. Kent is author of Barbados and America and other genealogical sourcebooks. He is publisher of genealogical and typographical periodicals The Lincoln Log: Studies from the Medieval Records of Norfolk, England, and Titivillitia: Studies of Illiteracy in the Private Press. Since 1977 he has been employed as a U.S. research agent for Debrett's and Burke's peerages. He also has served as archivist for the Amalgamated Printers Association.

Carol Kent, his wife, founded Erespin Press in Austin, Texas in 1980. Carol also worked as printer for the Press at the Humanities Research Center (University of Texas at Austin).


Scope and Content

This collection will be of particular interest to researchers and scholars exploring letterpress printing and graphic arts. The collection primarily is comprised of correspondence, printed ephemera, and publications created by letterpress printers, bookbinders, calligraphers, booksellers, book designers, typefounders, and collectors. Several prominent individuals in the profession are represented in the collection, including Wilbur L. Doctor, Guy Raymond Botterill, Jr., Richard L. Hopkins, David Churchman, Polly Boettger Johnson, Duane Scott, Egdon H. Margo, J. Ed Newman, and Harry Ward Ritchie. The bulk of the materials in the collection are dated between 1967 and 2005.

The collection also includes business correspondence (1985-1988), articles and news clippings, photographs, and memorabilia such as keepsakes from Wayzgoose, the annual meeting of the Amalgamated Printers' Association. Kent also created six binders containing approximately 700 proprietor cards for printers and others in the printing and graphic arts profession.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.

Usage Restrictions

Copyright to the materials in this collection are retained by the creator or his or her heirs.


Related or Separated Material

Several books and publications created by Erespin Press and other presses were removed from the collection and cataloged separately in the Rare Books collection at UF. A list of these materials is available online. Additionally, several journals and serials were removed from the Ephemera and Printed Materials series and cataloged separately in the Rare Books collection. These publications include: Type and Press, The Microbibliophile, The Printer, American Typecasting Fellowship Newsletter (Richard L. Hopkins), Limited Edition (Phillip J. Cade), The Fossil, People Watcher (Lauren R. Geringer), Scarlet Cockerel and Weaker Moments (Ralph W. Babcock), National Amateur, Titivillitia (Kent), Reader's Buffet (Henry J. Jolly), Bent Bodkin (Joseph A. Diachenko), Printer's Devil (Joe M. Singer), Silver and Gold (Gale Sheldon), Flexible Voice (Robert L. Orbach), Albion, Abracadabra, and multiple Harold Segal titles (Campane, Shampane, Sham-Coffin, Shambler). All of these titles may be searched using the library's catalog.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], David L. Kent Letterpress and Calligraphy Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated in 2005 by David L. Kent.

Processing Notes

The collection was arranged and described by David L. Kent prior to acquisition in 2005. In 2005-2006, department staff conducted further processing of the collection (e.g., transferring materials to archival folders and boxes). No materials were discarded, but some materials were separated from original folders and described separately (in particular, printed publications). Thus, the description of the collection's arrangement provided by Kent in the introductory material binder differs from the current arrangement of the collection.


Contents List

Introductory Material


Volume
1 Introduction to the collection by Kent, biographical information, photographs of Kent and the Erespin Press, a bibliography and descriptive sheets for Erespin Press, and checklists for Erespin Press ephemera, Press at the Humanities Research Center imprint, and Golden Horus imprint.


Correspondence, 1967-2005

Correspondence between Kent and printers, booksellers, calligraphers, booksellers, etc.


Box
1 Adcock, Perry E. 1985
1 Agner, Dwight Edward 1985
1 Albert, Ray Allen 1983-1988
1 Allan, William T. 1987-1992
1 Alterman, Benjamin 1988
1 Anderson, Frank J. 1985-1986
1 Anderson, Louis H. 1987
1 Averitt, Beverly Angel 1993
1 Averitt, Doug 1993
1 Babcock, Ralph Winslow, Jr. 1981-1993
1 Bacon, Harold S. 1985
1 Bannister, Tom 1993
1 Bayuzick, Stephen 1986-1988
1 Beard, Cathy 1985-1987
1 Beilke, Marlan 1985-1993
1 Beitz, Les 1986
1 Berliner, Harold A. 1992
1 Bishop, Peter 1986
1 Boerner, Steve 1985
1 Bogan, James 1990
1 Bogardus, William P. 1983-1986
1 Boggs, Gordon 1983
1 Bosselman, Valerie 1992
1 Botterill, Guy Raymond, Jr. 1981-1987
1 Botterill, Guy Raymond, Jr. 1987-1991
2 Botterill, Guy Raymond, Jr. 1991-2004
2 Bowden, Ann 1988
2 Boyer, Leslie W. 1982-1998
2 Bradofsky, Hyman 1982-1989
2 Branca, John G., Jr. 1987
2 Brignull, Alan 2003
2 Bromer, Anne C. 1989
2 Brunsman, August E. 1985
2 Bryans, Dennis 2001
2 Bullwinkle, Benjamin B. 1985-1986
2 Bush, Charles L. 1983-2002
2 Bushey, W.L. 1986-1987
2 Butt, Elizabeth 1982-1984
2 Cade, Phillip J. 1982-1993
2 Califia Books 1985
2 Carlson, Lage Eric 1988
2 Carmichael, Maurice A. 1987-2003
2 Carter, Matthew 1969
2 Chalmers, John Putnam 1985
2 Churchman, David Curtis 1984-2002
2 Clelland, Marjorie B. 1986
2 Clement, John R. 1986-1992
2 Cole, Edw. Sherman 1983
2 Coleman, Janet M. 1988
2 Colvin, Charles 1981-1985
2 Conover, Theodore E. 1987
2 Cooper, Jeffrey 1993
2 Coster, Germaine de 1988
2 Cousins, Stanley E. 1986
2 Cresswell, William Lewis 1989-1994
2 Croom, R.S. 1983-1984
2 Crosdale, Alf 1985-1986
2 Cross, Dwight 1985
2 Cuddington, Ray 1982-1986
2 Curran, Joseph W. 1983-1988
2 D'Angelo, Mary 1993
2 Da Rif, Gerda 1985-1987
3 Dast, James C. 1984-1989
3 Davenport, Guy 1987
3 Davids, Harold E. 1988
3 DeNeef, Susan Not dated
3 Deering, Stephen H. 1985-1986
3 Diachenko, Joseph A. 1984-1988
3 Doctor, Wilbur Louis 1983-1988
3 Doctor, Wilbur Louis 1985-1988
3 Doctor, Wilbur Louis 1988-2000
3 Doletzky, James H. 1983-1994
3 Doolittle, James L. 1993-2000
3 Douglas, Lucy Stovall 1986-1987
3 Dreyfus, John Gustave 1987-1989
3 Duensing, Paul Hayden 1967-2001
3 Dunn, Clair 2001
3 Dunn, Tim Not dated
3 Eddy, William D. 1984-1986
3 Eickhoff, John 1991-1996
4 Ely, Timothy C. 1987-1988
4 Estes, Laurence E. 1988
4 Eveland, Linda 1996
4 Evetts, Deborah M. 1988
4 Farrell, Jennifer 2004
4 Fick, Alvin S. 1982-1992
4 Fielding, Edgar X. 1986
4 Fine Print 1987-1990
4 Fleming, Richard 1984-1988
4 Frith, Roger C. 1993
4 Fusfeld, Robert D. 1988-1991
4 Gausepohl, Ralph M. 1983
4 George, Richard S. 1987
4 Giampa, Gerald 1988
4 Giroux, Neil C. 2001-2003
4 Goldsberry, Charles U. 1988
4 Goldsmith, Arthur, Jr. 1983-1999
4 Greenhill, Elizabeth 1988
4 Greenlee, Robert G. 1993
4 Greer, David F. 1983-1992
4 Greer, William Melanchthon 1985
4 Grisenti, James B. 1986-2001
4 Grunbock, Robert N. 1987
4 Gudonis, Joseph J. 1988
4 Guinane, James F. 1987
4 Guiney, Corinne 1986
4 Gunskey, Frederic C. 2001-2004
4 Halbert, Robert L. 1981-1991
4 Hantke, Gerhard John 1983-1986
4 Harchar, Harry A. 1985
4 Harnish, Herbert G. 1985-1989
4 Hawley, Timothy T. 1984
4 Haynes, Douglas P. 1988
4 Haynes, William Greaner, Jr. 1968-1992
4 Haywood, William F. 1985
4 Hedges, James 1987-2003
4 Herbert, Clifford L. 1988
4 Heller, Joshua 1987
4 Hildreth, Don E. 1985-1986
4 Hill, Robert W. 1985
4 Hinde, Charlie 1987
4 Hines, Laurence R. 1983-1989
4 Hinkel, R. Jonathan 1987
4 Holman, Barbara 1986-1987
4 Holman, David Kent 1982-1990
4 Holman, William Roger Not dated
4 Hopkins, Richard L. 1985-2000
5 Horn, John 1985-1990
5 Horton, James B. 2002
5 Horvat, Martin Michael 1983-1986
5 Hoy, Peter 1988
5 Hughes, Sue Margaret 1987-1989
5 Humfleet, Betty Nash 1987
5 Humphreys, Julianna 2000
5 Hunt, Richard C. 1985
5 Hutchison, Willis 1984-1985
5 Jackson, Bill 1983-1988
5 Jackson, Judy 2002
5 Jenkins, William 1988
5 Jensen, Craig William 1989
5 Johnson, Arthur W. 1988
5 Johnson, Polly Boettger 1986-1989
5 Johnson, William M. 1984
5 Joly, Greg 1999
5 Jones, Dan 1988
5 Joyce, Carol 1988
5 Kamm, Sylvan 1986
5 Kane, George Robert 1987
5 Kapplin, James Lionel 1983-2001
5 Keffer, Willametta Turnepseed 1983-1988
5 Keijser, G. Jan 1993
5 Kelly, Jerry 1989-1992
5 Kent, Carol Joy (Miller) Jiles 1982-1989
5 Kent, David L. (#1) 1981-2001
5 Kent, David L. (#2) 1984-2003
5 Kent, David L. (#3) 1983-2001
6 Kent, David L. (#4) 1983-2002
6 Kent, David L. (#5) 1982-2005
6 Kent, David L. (#6) 1983-2003
6 Kent, David L. (#7) 1984-1995
6 Kent, John 1986
6 Kent, Robert Lloyd 1985
6 Killie, J.F. 1986
6 Klensch, Charles H. 1983-2003
6 Kopel, Jocelyn 1988
6 Koster, Ronald A. 1988
6 Kroeger, Stanley A. 1993-1994
6 Kuehlem, Marilyn 1986
6 Lair, Nancy 1988
6 Leary, Patrick 2001-2002
6 Leutz, Pam 1986
6 Levy, Bruce R. 1989
6 Liddle, Frederick Joseph 1983-2000
6 Lieberman, Jay Ben 1983-1986
6 Loeffler, Lorraine J. 1985
6 Long, Robert Paul 1986
6 Long, Walter A. 1983-1989
6 Lorson, James 1987-1988
6 Lowman, Al 1983
6 Maccoun, William E., Jr. 1984-1989
6 Maloy, Robert 1991
6 Margo, Egdon H. Not dated
6 Mason, Carl 1982-1989
6 Mason, Roger Burford 1986
6 Maxwell, Norris K. 1982-1986
6 McGrew, F.M. "Mac" 1986-1987
6 McKelvey, Greg E. Not dated
7 Merrill, Robert H. 1983-1987
7 Metzler, Robert A. 1988
7 Middleton, Bernard C. 1988
7 Miura, Kirstin Tini 1988
7 Moitoret, Victor Antoine 1981-2005
7 Molitor, Patrick J. 2000
7 Monson, Kenneth L. 1983
7 Moy, Don 1985
7 Murphy, Jack 1989
7 Nevin, Elizabeth 1992
7 Newberry, Bob 1983-1985
7 Newman, John Ed 1983-2003
7 O'Connor, Michael James 1994
7 Olsen, Don 1994
7 Parisod, Fernand A. 1989-1990
7 Parr, Philip J. 1984-1986
7 Paxton, Russell Louis 1981
7 Payer, Ted 1986
7 Peat, David W. 1986
7 Peavy, Asa 1985-1987
7 Peck, Elaine Jorgensen 1984-1988
7 Penza, James A. 1994
7 Phillips, Charles E. 1985
7 Phillips, Michael James 1986-1993
7 Polster, Nathaniel 1981-1989
7 Pope, Elspeth 1993-1994
7 Powell, Lawrence Clark 1987
7 Powers, James Michael, Sr. 2001
7 Prather, Maurice 1988
7 Priebe, Joseph B. 1984-1988
7 Prowell, Clarence D. 1984-1995
7 Quillman, Ruby A. 1984-1985
7 Radcliffe, Howard G. Circa 1984
7 Rasmussen, William E.H. 1985-1986
7 Ray, T.J. 2001
7 Reeder, William G. 1986
7 Rehak, Theo 1986-1995
7 Rennie, Silvia 1988
7 Reyer, Dustin Gilkey 1985
7 Rice, Roy A., Jr. 1990
7 Richardson, Bob 2001-2003
7 Ritchie, Harry Ward 1985-1995
7 Roatcap, Adela Spindler 1988
7 Robbins, Kit 1988
8 Roberts, Jane 1982-1986
8 Robertson, Ian Leonard 1986-2001
8 Robinson, Ivor 1988
8 Robinson, John 1988
8 Robinson, Van W. 1986-1988
8 Rouze, Gordon K. 1995
8 Ruben, Elliott 1983-1986
8 Rueter, William 2004
8 Schori, Ward Kermit 1983-1994
8 Schrader, Barry L. 1986
8 Schroeter, Wessel S. 1987
8 Schrunk, W. Lee 2003
8 Schultz, William Otto 1986-2000
8 Scott, Duane C. 1984-2001
8 Scott, Kim Allen 1986
8 Segal, Harold 1981-1993
8 Sheldon, Gale 1987-1988
8 Sherdeman, Ted E. 1985
8 Simpson, Edmund E. 1987
8 Small, Richard M. 1986-1990
8 Smith, Lonnie Not dated
8 Smith, Pamela 1988
8 Smith, Sally Lou 1988
8 Speckter, Penny 1985-1986
8 Stallings, George Wilkinson 1984
8 Stedman, Dale L. 1986-1994
8 Steen Library, Stephen F. Austin State University 1986
8 Sterne, Harold E. 1986-1993
8 Stolfo, Leonard A. 1986
8 Stuart, Gloria 1985-2000
8 Sweet, Dorothy Pantzer Not dated
8 Tanner, Robert W. 1987
8 Tarachow, Michael 1984-1989
8 Thomas, Page A. 1986
8 Tichenor, Stan 2000-2002
8 Turner, Decherd Henry 1987-2002
8 Valentine, Eugene 1986-1989
8 Vanable, Andrew A. 2000-2001
8 Vardjan, Matthew 1985
8 Von Holdt, Richard T. 1985-1992
8 Voss, William Erik 1988
9 Walsdorf, John J. 1988
9 Waring, Alan C. 1990-1997
9 Warner, Jacob L. 1983-1987
9 Werner, Rhoda 1982
9 Wesson, Sheldon C. 1985-1986
9 Westreich, David 1988
9 Whaley, Charlotte T. 1986
9 Wheeler, Kenneth B. 1986
9 Whitbeck, Norris T. 1986-1991
9 Williams, Robert S., Jr. 1982
9 Williams, Fred C. 1984-1999
9 Wonders, Lillian 1986-1988
9 Woodward, Emily 1984-1989
9 Worley, Lillian H. 1986-1988
9 Worley, Parker 1985-2001
9 Wulling, Emerson Gissel 1984-1995
9 Young, Nils R. Bull 1983-1991
9 Yost, Arthur Kenneth 1985
9 Zapf, Hermann 1987-1992
9 Zempel, Edward N. 1995


Ephemera and Printed Materials, 1944-2005

Printed materials, such as journals and printing ephemera, filed under the name of the printer or press. Also includes calligraphy drafts and specimens from Egdon H. Margo and other calligraphers. Several publications were removed from this series and cataloged separately in the Rare Books collection. These publications include: Type and Press, The Microbibliophile, The Printer, American Typecasting Fellowship Newsletter (Richard L. Hopkins), Limited Edition (Phillip J. Cade), The Fossil, People Watcher (Lauren R. Geringer), Scarlet Cockerel and Weaker Moments (Ralph W. Babcock), National Amateur, Titivillitia (Kent), Reader's Buffet (Henry J. Jolly), Bent Bodkin (Joseph A. Diachenko), Printer's Devil (Joe M. Singer), Silver and Gold (Gale Sheldon), Flexible Voice (Robert L. Orbach), Albion, Abracadabra, and multiple Harold Segal titles (Campane, Shampane, Sham-Coffin, Shambler).


Box
10 Agner, Dwight Edward Not dated
10 Aken, Paul H. Not dated
10 Albert, Ray Allen ("Rays") 1958-1988
10 Ambrosi, Phillip Not dated
10 Anderson, Frank J. 1983-1985
10 Anderson, Louis H. 1985-1986
10 Babcock, Alfred Penn ("Alf's Cat") 1981
10 Babcock, Ralph W. ("Weaker Moments") 1982-1984
10 Bacon, Harold 1985
10 Barbour, Mark 1994-2003
10 Bayuzick, Stephen Not dated
10 Beilke, Marlan 1985-1991
10 Benton, George A., III Not dated
10 Bishop, Peter Not dated
10 Blitzer, Ernie 2003-2005
10 Boerner, Steve ("Grass Roots") 1983-1984
10 Bogardus, William Not dated
10 Bolton, Claire 1980-1984
10 Book Club of Texas 1980-1989
10 Botterill, Guy Raymond, Jr. ("Goose Gazette") 1982-2004
10 Boyer, Leslie W. ("American Amateur Journalist" and "Echo") 1964-1994
10 Bradburn, Joseph F. 1979
10 Brady, Denise Not dated
10 Bridwell Library, Southern Methodist University 2001-2005
10 Brignull, Alan 1995
10 Bullwinkle, Benjamin B. 1985-1986
10 Bush, Charles L. ("Arrow Amateur") 1984-2000
10 Bushey, W.L. 1985-1987
10 Cade, Phillip J. 1976-1981
10 Carmichael, Maurice A. Not dated
10 Carroll, John S. 1982
11 Churchman, David Curtis 2002
11 Colophon - Friends of SMU Not dated
11 Colvin, Charles ("Pursuit of Happiness") 1973-1984
11 Cross, Dwight ("Communicator" and "Crossfire") 1983-1985
11 Curran, Joseph W. 1981-1986
11 Da Rif, Gerda Circa 1981 and not dated
11 Davids, Harold E. ("Reflections and Refractions") 1984-1986
11 Derring, Steve Not dated
11 Diachenko, Joseph A. 1985-1988
11 Dingman, John F. ("Post-rider Dispatch") 1985-1988
11 Doctor, Wilbur Louis ("Side-Ways") 1983-1997
11 Douglas, Lucy Stovall 1986
11 Eddy, William D. 1986
11 Eickhoff, John ("Acorntype News") 1992-1996
11 Emery, Jody Not dated
11 Engebretsen, Glenn Not dated
11 Erespin Press - See Box 18 for oversize Erespin Press ephemera
11 Farrell, Jennifer Not dated
11 Fick, Alvin S. 1986-1992
11 Fielding, Edgar X. Not dated
11 Fleming, Richard ("Buried Treasure"; "Flying Coffin"; and "Stout Hearted Men") 1981-1989
11 Fossil - Historians of Amateur Journalism 1985-1989
11 Fusfeld, Robert D. 1992
11 Gage, Frederick H. ("Gage Pin") 1982-1988
11 Goldsberry, Charles U. ("Penny Magazine") 1983-1988
11 Goldsmith, Arthur, Jr. Not dated
11 Greer, David F. 1987
11 Greer, William Melanchthon 1978-1979
11 Grisenti, James B. Not dated
11 Gudonis, Joseph J. 1988
11 Guinane, James F. ("Small Talk") 1986
11 Halbert, Robert L. ("Herald and Democrat") 1981-1983
11 Hamilton, George William 1986
11 Hamon, J. Hill 1983
11 Harnish, Herbert G. 1985-1989
11 Hawley, Timothy T. 1967-1989
12 Haywood, William F. ("Just Our Type"; "The Scribe"; and "Kathie's Korner") 1982-1988
12 Hedges, James 1980-1988
12 Henry, John G. Not dated
12 Hildreth, Don E. 1985
12 Hill, Robert W. 1981-1986
12 Hines, Laurence R. ("Proofs and Pulls") 1981-1986
12 Hinde, Charlie 1986
12 Hopkins, Richard L. 1984-1998
12 Horn, John Clinton 1966 and not dated
12 Horvat, Martin Michael ("Golden Argosy") 1981-1988
12 Humfleet, Betty Nash 1982-1985
12 Hutchison, Willis 1985-1988
12 Jackson, Bill Not dated
12 Jensen, Craig William 1982
12 Johnson, Polly Boettger Not dated
12 Jolly, Henry J. 1982
12 Jones, Austin 1981
12 Kapplin, James Lionel 1982-1986
12 Kelly, Jerry 1987-1988
12 Kent, David L. 1983-1999
12 Kent, David L. 1983-1999
12 Kent, David L. 1981-2005
12 Kent, David L. 1981-2005
13 Kroeger, Stanley A. Not dated
13 Leonard, Clifford S., Jr. 1984
13 Lewis, Blaine 1981
13 Liddle, Frederick J. ("National Calamity" and "Suncoast Amateur") 1981-1988
13 Lieberman, Jay Ben 1957
13 Long, Robert Paul Not dated
13 Long, Robert Paul 1984
13 Mack, Albert J. 1983
13 Margo, Egdon H. 1980 and not dated
13 Margo, Egdon H. - Calligraphy Not dated
13 Mason, Carl 1981-1988
13 Maxwell, Norris K. ("Tejano!") 1981-1986
13 McGrew, F.M. "Mac" 1984-1986
13 McKelvey, Greg E. (Gem-X-Press) 1982-1984
13 Meagher, James J. ("Tumbleweed") 1981-1982
13 Miniature Book Society (newsletter) 1986-1988
13 Moitoret, Victor A. ("Aire Sonora"; "Cemetery Rabbit"; and "Entrada") 1963-1986
13 Morris, Henry Not dated
13 Molitor, Patrick J. Not dated
13 Mueller, W. Gale 1992
13 Murphy, Jack Not dated
13 Napa West - West Coast National Amateur Press Association Annual 1981
13 Newberry, Bob Not dated
14 Newman, John Edw. ("The Web"; "Jed's Jernl"; and "J. Ed's Almanack") 1967-1989
14 Oldham, Robert W. 1983-1986
14 Olsen, Don Not dated
14 Orbach, Robert L. 1944-1988
14 Parisod, Fernand A. 1998
14 Parr, Philip J. ("Pataka") 1981-1987
14 Parson, Tom ("Antiquated Impressions") 2001-2003
14 Polster, Nathaniel Not dated
14 Postman, Frederica 1983
14 Prather, Maurice 1995
14 Prowell, Clarence D. ("On the Prowell") 1982-1988
14 Rice, Roy A., Jr. 1986-1990
14 Ritchie, Harry Ward 1987
14 Roberts, Jane 1982-1985
14 Ruben, Elliott 1985-1986
14 Ruble, Ronald A. 1974
14 Sableman, Mark 1985
14 Saxe, Stephen O. (APHA Newsletter) 1987-1988
14 Schrunk, W. Lee Not dated
14 Schori, Ward Kermit 1984-1993
14 Scott, Byron Circa 1998
14 Scott, Duane C. 1981-1986
14 Shipley, Schuyler R. 1990-1991
14 Singer, Joe M. ("Printer's Devil") 1992-1994
14 Smith, Lonnie 2001-2003
14 Stauffacher, Jack Werner 1989
14 Sterne, Harold E. Not dated
14 Stuart, Gloria Not dated
14 Sweet, Dorothy Pantzer 1988-2002
14 Tarachow, Michael 1989
14 Tichenor, Stan Not dated
14 Treasure Gems - Amalgamated Printers Association Annual 1995
14 VAPA Trails - Virginia Amateur Press Association Annual 1981-1986
14 Vardjan, Matthew Not dated
14 Von Holdt, Richard T. 1987
14 Voss, William Erik 1988
14 Walczak, Jim Not dated
14 Wallace, William Warren Not dated
14 Waring, Alan C. Not dated
14 Warner, David L. ("Offshoot"; "Longest Century"; and "Tramp Printer") 1976-1986
15 Weigel, Robert D. ("Occam's Razor") 1974
15 Wesson, Helen and Sheldon C. ("Siamese Standpipe") 1981-1986
15 Whitbeck, Norris T. 1986-1989
15 Williams, Fred C. Not dated
15 Wulling, Emerson Gissel 1987-2000
15 Yost, Arthur Kenneth Not dated
15 Young, Nils R. Bull 1983-1991
15 Young, George B. 1985


Business Correspondence, 1985-1988


Box
16 Libraries, Dealers, Local, Jobbers, Guild of Bookworkers (Note: removed from binder labeled "Correspondence 2") 1985-1988
16 Purchases (Supplies) - Invoices and Correspondence 1986-1988
16 Standing Orders, Purchases, Inquiries (Note: removed from binder labeled "Correspondence 1") 1985-1988


Miscellaneous, 1982-2002

Wayzgoose keepsakes, photographs, newspapers, and memorabilia. Wayzgoose keepsakes include posters, broadsides, cards, and printed ephemera.


Box
17 Articles by or about David L. Kent and Carol Kent 1988-2002
17 Articles on various subjects (Richard Lyttle, Emily Strayer, Leadville newspapers, Fred Liddle, Timothy Ely, Norris T. Whitbeck, John M. Anspacher) 1984-1991
17 Articles on various subjects (Decherd Turner, The Bridwell Library, Australian Type Foundries, Alexander Thompson) 1996-2001
17 Photos - General (David Kent, Carol Kent, Kent family members, Wilbur L. Doctor, and a Bridwell Library printing workshop) 2001 and not dated
17 Photos (Photocopies) of Wayzgoose Attendees (Amalgamated Printers Association Members) 1982-2001
17 Press at the Humanities Research Center materials (University of Texas at Austin) 1986-1988
17 Prospecti (Primarily publication lists for Erespin and other presses) 1985-1996
17 Related to Emery Walker: "The Master of the Art of the Book" 1986-1988
17 Wayzgoose Keepsakes 1984-1985
17 Wayzgoose Keepsakes 1986
17 Wayzgoose Keepsakes 1987
17 Wayzgoose Keepsakes 1987-2001
17 Wayzgoose Keepsakes (Chicagoose) 2001
18 Wayzgoose Keepsakes - Posters 1990-2001 and not dated
18 Rubbing of gravemarker for Estes. H. Hall Not dated
18 Wayside Chronicle (newspaper) special edition devoted to Wilbur Doctor 1983
18 Progress Bulletin (Pomona Progress) edition pertaining to Edward Everett Stowell and history of newspaper 1985
18 Erespin Press - Erinna's Lament (broadside) Not dated
18 Erespin Press - The White Goddess (broadside) 1985
18 Erespin Press - Strong in Right is Ra, Chosen By Ra, Beloved of Amun, Ramesses (cartouche, portfolio) Not dated


Proprietor Cards for Printers

Six binders containing approximately 700 proprietor cards and descriptive sheets for letterpress printers, bookbinders, collectors, booksellers, and others interested in the book arts, including book designers, calligraphers, typefounders. Each sleeve found in this group of binders represents one printer and typically includes proprietor cards, Amalgamated Printers Association numbers for members of the APA, and references to related materials found in the collection (e.g., correspondence and ephemera). There are multiple cards in some cases, as the proprietors sometimes moved, changed their operations, or renamed the presses. Some proprietor cards have information on their versos. Kent added the year of death, if known.


Volume
2 Abrahamson - Church
3 Churchman - Goldsmith
4 Graham - Klinke
5 Kommer - Newcom
6 Newman - Scott
7 Scott - Zempel


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Calligraphy.
Kent, Carol Miller.
Letterpress printing.
Printers -- United States.
Private presses.
Type and type-founding.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page