Skip to Search





A Guide to the Stetson Kennedy Papers

Finding aid created by Amanda Beyer-Purvis and James Cusick

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

January 2018



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Kennedy, Stetson, 1916-2011.
Title: Stetson Kennedy Papers
Dates: 1916-2014
Bulk dates: 1970-2011
Abstract: Articles, manuscripts, correspondence, talks, subject files from the working papers of writer and activist Stetson Kennedy.
Extent: 22.62 Linear Feet. 39 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0403
Language(s): English
Access: Researchers should consult with Special Collections staff before using the collection because there are access restrictions. See the Access note for more information.
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

William Stetson Kennedy (1916-2011), activist, writer, and folklorist, was born October 5, 1916 at his family home on Walnut Street in Jacksonville, Florida.

Kennedy's long life as a writer and activist brought him to the forefront of organizations opposing the Ku Klux Klan, as well as into contact with many well-known contemporaries, including writers Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright, writer and radio host Studs Terkel, and folk singers Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger. Author of seven books, his best-known works are Palmetto Country, The Klan Unmasked, and Southern Exposure.

Kennedy grew up in Depression-era Jacksonville and also spent many hours of his childhood exploring the woods surrounding his family's property along the St. Johns River, near current-day Switzerland, Fla. Fond of the outdoors, he discovered local flora, shot game, and peeled sugar cane right off of his childhood back porch. His love of Florida's natural world, and its people, inspired his lifelong activism in seeking justice for both the citizens and the environment of Florida and the nation as a whole.

Kennedy attended the University of Florida in the academic year 1935-1936, attaining his sole "A" in a class called "Man and His Thinking," while he skipped classes on "Reading, Speaking, and Writing" and "General Mathematics." Kennedy's commitment to social activism was already apparent at UF, where he helped to found the Florida Intercollegiate Peace Council. While attending UF, Kennedy began his employment with the National Youth Administration, an agency of the WPA.

Kennedy was disenchanted with college life, and already at odds with prevailing prejudices and political sentiments on campus. Following his freshman year, he dropped out, shipped his belongings to Key West, and hitch-hiked south to the Keys to try his hand, as he would later quip, at independent study. In Key West he studied local dialects, began to publish professionally, and met his first wife, Edith Amelia Ogden. The couple married in 1937. Eventually, Kennedy applied to get work with the Federal Writers' Project in Gainesville, having what he called the essential qualification - no means of supporting himself.

Employment with the Federal Writers' Project from 1937 to 1942 allowed him to travel all around Florida collecting information on folk dialects, traditional folklore, and folksongs. Relocating to Jacksonville, he became an editor on the Project, having, among other responsibilities, the task of editing contributions from noted Florida novelist Zora Neale Hurston. The work that Kennedy did with Hurston and with colleague and musicologist Alan Lomax later earned them all recognition as founders in the field of oral history.

Kennedy's work with the WPA also solidified beliefs that had developed from a young age about the unethical nature of class and race exploitation in the South. These beliefs brought his relationship with his family to a head in the 1940s. The Kennedy family was deeply entrenched in the traditions of the South. His maternal grandfather had been a lieutenant in the Confederate Army, his mother wrote papers for the United Daughters of the Confederacy, and his uncle Gordon Perkins was a member of the Ku Klux Klan. While home in Jacksonville for a family dinner, Kennedy had a falling out that alienated him from his family. After a comment by his sister Martha, who said she believed Kennedy "would rather be with them [Negroes] than with us," Kennedy replied "As a matter of fact, I would." He rose from the dinner table, packed his bags and was never again admitted back into the family fold.

His days with the Federal Writer's Project also produced material for his first book, Palmetto Country, which was published in 1942 to encouraging reviews. Kennedy then went to work for the Congress of Industrial Organizations on "Operation Dixie" in Atlanta, Ga., where he helped to write union pamphlets.

While working in Georgia, Kennedy began what would become his best-known example of direct action. In 1945, on his own initiative, he infiltrated the Ku Klux Klan, joining Atlanta Klavern No. 1 under the name John Perkins, and arranging to provide information on Klan activities to an assistant state attorney in Georgia as an unofficial undercover agent. He particularly strived to reveal the workings of the "flog squad," the military branch of the Klan, also known as the Klavaliers. Kennedy focused on this branch because "that's what needed to be stopped most of all."

While undercover, Kennedy began leaking information about Klan activities to various radio shows. Drew Pearson, noted newspaper columnist and radio announcer in Washington, D.C., featured a Sunday segment called "Minutes from the Klan's Last Meeting." Perhaps most famously, in 1946 Kennedy began supplying secret Klan information to the writers for the radio program The Adventures of Superman. The information was incorporated into the scripts of a series of episodes called "The Clan of the Fiery Cross," in which Superman, Jimmy Olsen, and the Daily Planet take on a hate group. In addition to casting the Klan as villains, and giving it a bad press, the show also alarmed Klan members, who realized that an infiltrator was passing on Klan rituals and other secrets to the radio show's 4.5 million listeners. Kennedy later said the negative publicity and the ongoing leak of information caused prominent members of the Klan to quit the organization out of fear of exposure.

In December 1946, Kennedy blew his cover by testifying in open court against members of a neo-Nazi organization called the Columbians. Subsequently, his evidence on Klan activities contributed to the revocation of the Klan's non-profit, tax free charter in Georgia and damaged the organization financially.

Kennedy eventually produced three books based on his undercover work and investigative reporting. All of them were exposés on the abuses of the Jim Crow South: Southern Exposure (1946), I Rode with the Ku Klux Klan (1954, published abroad in England and France, and only published in the United States as The Klan Unmasked in 1990), and The Jim Crow Guide to the USA (1956, also first published in France; originally titled, The Jim Crow Guide: The Way It Was Before the Overcoming).

In 1947 Kennedy moved to New York and worked for the Anti-Defamation League of B'nai B'rith as its special consultant on hate groups. He became National Research Director for the Anti-Nazi League. During his time in New York he wrote for the Pittsburg Courier, the Afro-American, and the Amsterdam News under the pseudonyms Daddy Mention and Snow James.

In 1950, back in Florida, Kennedy ran a senatorial campaign against George Smathers, standing as a "color-blind," anti-segregation, write-in candidate on a platform of total equality. He was endorsed by the Black Progressive Voters League headed by Harry T. Moore, who claimed to have registered 100,000 black voters sympathetic to Kennedy's campaign message. Kennedy only received 813 write-in votes.

Two years later, Kennedy was in Geneva, testifying about debt peonage practices in Florida at the UN Committee on Labor. This led to eight years of travel throughout Western and Eastern Europe and into the Soviet Union and China. One of the least known parts of his career, his time abroad brought him into contact with Richard Wright and other ex-patriot writers. He spent time in East Germany and was in Hungary in 1956 when the Soviet military suppressed a Hungarian uprising against Soviet rule. During the 1950s Kennedy saw some of his work published as articles in Russian and Chinese, and brought out his best-known work I Rode with the Ku Klux Klan. Much of that book, which had been partially written before Kennedy left the United States, was completed in a Paris police station, where Kennedy had to go daily to renew his visa to stay in France.

Kennedy returned to Florida in 1960 and by 1965 he was working for an organization born of the "war on poverty" campaign of the Johnson administration, the Greater Jacksonville Economic Opportunity Organization (GJEO). He worked for the GJEO under several different titles for 14 years before leaving in 1979.

In 1972 Kennedy and his wife Joyce Ann Kennedy, a teacher, settled at his property at Lake Beluthahatchee (St. Johns County), in a house they built called the "Lake Dwellers." For the next two decades, Kennedy focused on his writing and activism before becoming "rediscovered" in the early 1990s as an important Florida folklorist, activist, and writer. He was honored with numerous awards and accolades including the Cavallo Award, The Jules Verne Medal of Honor, and an Honorary Doctorate from the University of North Florida among many others. Kennedy's final published works appeared as Grits and Grunts (2008) and The Florida Slave (2011). He left at least seven unpublished book manuscripts, including two versions of his memoir, and some shorter unpublished works, at the time of his death. In 2003 his home at Beluthahatchee was recognized as a National Literary Landmark in recognition of the works produced by Woody Guthrie while living on the property in the 1940s; and it was again designated a National Literary Landmark in 2014 in recognition of Kennedy and his works.

Though Stetson Kennedy may not always be found in traditional civil rights histories, his lifelong labor toward social justice continues to touch on many contemporary issues, including hate crimes, police-community relations, discrimination and minority rights, and protection of the environment. Kennedy strove to remind people "that racism, sexism and class oppression were not artifacts of the past," but present injustices that require attention and opposition. His legacy is carried on by the mission of the Stetson Kennedy Foundation.


Scope and Content

NOTE: This is a preliminary finding aid. More parts of the collection will become available as the collection is processed.

Besides documenting the career and writings of Stetson Kennedy, the collection is an important record of labor and civil rights movements of the day, for which he frequently advocated, and also contains information about many of the people Kennedy knew and worked with. The papers are also a significant record of Florida folk culture and folk life, of the Federal Writers' Project in Florida, and of Kennedy's lifelong crusade against the Ku Klux Klan.

The following sections of the papers are currently available: Biography; Thoughts & Sayings; Articles Written by Stetson Kennedy; Articles Written about Kennedy; Correspondence; Talks and Appearances; Awards, and Events. Unpublished works, subject files, and photographs are still being processed. There is an extensive library of Audio-visual Materials, many of which have been converted to digital format.

The collection also includes a microfilm set of the Stetson Kennedy Papers at the New York Public Library pertaining in particular to his work against the Klan in the 1940s and portions of his papers and correspondence at Georgia State University dealing with folklife and folklore.


Arrangement

The Stetson Kennedy Papers are arranged into 7 series:


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

A small amount of material is restricted from public access due to privacy concerns of people interviewed by Stetson Kennedy.

Use

Please note, all rights to published books and unpublished manuscripts by Stetson Kennedy rest with his estate through the Stetson Kennedy Trust. Use or publication of these works requires permission of the estate.


Related or Separated Material

For additional information on this topic, you may also want to see:

1. Stetson Kennedy Papers, Southern Labor Archives, Georgia State University, Atlanta.

2. Stetson Kennedy Papers, 1936-1978, The Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

3. Florida Folklife from the WPA Collections, 1937-1942, Library of Congress, Washington D.C.

4. Stetson Kennedy Papers, Woody Guthrie Center, Tulsa, OK

5. Stetson Kennedy Collection 1916-1950, Archives and Manuscripts, The New York Public Library, New York, NY.

6. Peggy Bulger Collection on Stetson Kennedy 1940-2016, University of Florida Archvies


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Stetson Kennedy Papers are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digi tal objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Stetson Kennedy Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The current contents of the Stetson Kennedy Papers at the University of Florida comprise materials donated to the university by the Stetson Kennedy Trust in 2013 and papers transferred to UF from Special Collections at the University of South Florida, Tampa, in 2014.

Processing Information

Processing of portions of these papers was done by Special Collections, University of South Florida Library, Tampa, who generously transferred custody to the George A. Smathers Library in 2013. Articles and audiovisual materials in the collection were processed and arranged by UF student interns and assistants Sarah Calise, Christopher VanDemark, Chelsea Jimenez, Anne Carey, Jordan Vaal, Casey Gymrek, Lucy Gosselin, Jeffrey Abalos, Katie Gresham, Anna Armitage, and Jennifer Thelusma. A major part of the correspondence and subject files was processed by Amanda Beyer-Purvis serving as the graduate research assistant to Special Collections.


Contents List

Series 1. Biographical.



Box Folder
11 Biographical Timelines.
12 Short Biographies.
13 Introductions and Blurbs.
14 "Dissident at Large" Biographical File and Chronology.
15 "Contemporary Authors" Texts and Proofs.
16 Biographical Material from the Internet.
17 Biographical Synopsis of Kennedy Prepared by Lou Salome.
18 Fragments of Biographical Writings, Likely by Other Authors.
19 Resumes.
110 List of Awards.
111 List of Works.
112 Tributes.
113 Relationship with Family.
114 Family History / Genealogy.
115 Birth Certificate / Employment History.
116 Marriages / Relationships.
21 Lee High School Documents.
22 Articles about Lee High School Fraternal Organizations.
23 Lee High School Yearbook Photos. circa 1932
24 Student Records.
25 Fraternity Memberships.
26 Miscellaneous Personal Documents.
27 University of Florida. 1937-1938
28 Klan Membership Materials. 1940s
29 Campaign for U.S. Senate. 1950-1951
210 FBI Files on Stetson.
211 Passport Petitions, Europe 1950s.
212 International Travel Documents.
213 Business Cards, Press Passes, Membership Cards, etc..
214 Pseudonyms.
215 Activism, Material, Memberships, Statements.
216 Re-Union of Elementary and High School Classmates.
217 "Warren Drugstore Generation" Reunion Jacksonville, FL. 2004
218 Stetson Kennedy's Writings on His Childhood.
219 Stetson Kennedy's Writings on His College Experience.
220 Stetson Kennedy Writing About His Early Career. 1930s-1940s
221 Stetson Kennedy Writings on His Time in Europe. 1950s
222 Stetson Kennedy's Writings on His Life Post-1960s.
31 Interviews Part I.
32 Interviews Part II.
33 Interviews Part III.
34 Interview with Vice Magazine Drafts.
35 Interview with Rocco Castro.
36 Donations To Archives and Collections.
37 Southern Labor Archives.



Series 2. Writings.



2a. Thoughts and Sayings.


Box Folder
38 Stet's Sayings "Heard and Said Along the Way".
39 Various Sayings.
310 Pieces of Political Satire.
41 Thoughts and Writings. 1988-1996
42 Addresses, notes, misc., Thoughts and Writings. 1988-1996
43 Thoughts and Writings. 1988-1996
44 Thoughts and Writings. 1988-1996
45 Thoughts and Writings. 1988-1996
46 Thoughts and Writings. 1988-1996
47 Thoughts and Writings. 1988-1996
48 Thoughts and Writings. 1988-1996
49 Thoughts and Writings. 1988-1996
410 Thoughts and Writings, various notes. 1988-1996
411 Thoughts and Writings, notes for talks. 1988-1996


2b. Articles by Stetson Kennedy (Pre-1950) From His Papers at Georgia State University.


Box Folder
51 List of Materials in this Box.
52 Items 1, 3-10, Box 1518/62.
53 Items 11-20, Box 1518/62.
54 Items 21-26, 28, Box 1518/62.
55 Items 1-10, Box 1518/63.
56 Items 11-18, Box 1518/63.
57 "Mason-Dixon Line".
58 "Old Man Williams...".
59 "And Little Fishes!" and Others.


2c. Articles by Stetson Kennedy.


Box Folder
61 "Ideals and Traditions of Sigma Phi Omega". circa 1930s
62 "It's Great to be an American". circa 1930s
63 "Paine's Prairie". 1930s
64 "The John Gorrie Budget by the Kennedy Kid". 1930s
65 Contributions to "The John Gorrie Budget". 1930s
66 "Havana Conference Will Discuss Trade Problems". circa 1930s
67 "The Liberators". circa 1930s
68 Draft Opening to "Top of the World," a Story.
69 Curb Girl. 1930s
610 "Chosen Profession". circa 1935
611 "Gin House Lake". circa 1935
612 "Telegrammatic Writing". circa 1935
613 "Of Thee I Sing". circa 1936
614 "Fragment on a Lynching". circa 1936
615 "Iconoclast". 1936
616 "World News in the Nude". 1937
617 "Poem: City Limits". 1937 January
618 "Toward a Humane Society for Humans". 1937 April 22
619 "Color Added". 1937
620 "Peace Group Receives Bid". 1937 November 11
621 "Bird of Death (Fiction)". circa 1938
622 "Voices from the Great Depression". circa 1938
623 "Captain Antonio". 1938
624 "Credo on the Production of Millionaires". 1938
625 "Color Added". 1938
626 "Section c. Miami to Key West". 1938 September 2
627 "Florida WPA: A Catalogue". 1938-1941
628 "Charcoal Kilns on the Florida Keys". circa 1939
629 "The Pageant of Key West". 1939
630 "[One] Reason for Writing". 1939
631 "Report on Folklore Recording". 1939
632 "South of the Deep South". 1939
633 "Go, Bad Year". 1939 January 1
634 "Conch Dialect on the Florida Keys". 1939 May 9
635 "Federal Arts Project in the Southernmost City". 1939 May 27
636 "Ex-Slaves of Miami Organize". 1939 September
637 "Lynch Stuff". 1939 October 24
638 "Amazing Expose of How JC Kills 30,000 Yearly, Incomplete" (USF). circa 1940s
639 "Black Bottom". circa 1940s
640 "Malevolent". circa 1940s
641 "Plain Facts About the Poll Tax" (USF). circa 1940s
642 "Sand in your Shoes". circa 1940s
643 "CIO Comes to Small Farmers AID; Foils 'Callaway' Hired-Hand Plan". 1940s
644 "Congress Fiddles While America Burns". 1940s
645 "On the Southern Front with Quentin P. Gore" (USF). circa 1940s
646 "WWII Related". circa 1940s
647 "Negro Voting Deterrent". circa 1940s
648 "The Pan-American New Year" (USF). 1940 January 20
649 "WPA Band Plays Patriotic Music for Jaxons". 1940 February 13
650 "Macfadden in a Labor-Betraying, Carrot-Eating, Evil Old Man". 1940 May 11
651 "Here Hung Isleno for Living with a Brown". 1940 May-August
652 "Diary of an Unknown Soldier". 1940 June 3
653 "War, it's Wonderful!". 1940 June 3
654 "Mexican Counsel - Pan American Day". 1940 July 30
655 "Florida's Key Deer" (USF). 1940 October-November
656 "Economic Skeleton, Book review of "Statistical Atlas of Southern Counties" by Charles S. Johnson". circa 1941
657 "The Law of the Forest (Pagent)". circa 1941
658 "Obstruction, Please!". circa 1941
659 "Her First Love, Book review: Hurricane Hush by Laurie Havron". 1941 November 9
660 "Florida Folkways" (USF). 1942 August
661 "Key West, Gibralter of America". 1942 September
662 "Florida Folk Ways (Incomplete)". 1942 October
663 "Hog Wild". 1942 November
664 "Florida River, Book review of "The St. Johns" by Branch Cabell". circa 1943
665 "Democracy in the South". 1943 January
666 "The Odd Skeleton". 1943 January
667 "From Can to Can't". 1943 February
668 "On Boogies and Such" (USF). 1943 June
669 "Sponger Money". 1943 July-August
670 "Four Freedoms Down South (Preview)". 1944
671 "Let the People Vote!". 1944
672 "Democracy in the South" (USF). 1944 June
673 "The Southern Patriot SK as guest editor". 1944 December
674 "Is The South's 20% Democracy Enough?" (USF). 1945 October
675 "Letter on Poll Tax".
676 "Kluxer Claims 1500(?)". circa 1946
677 "Votin' is White Folk's Business". 1946
678 "Voting the Hard Way". 1946 January
679 "Better and Shorter...For Better Elections, Incomplete" (USF). 1946 May
680 "The Ku Klux Klan Rides Again". 1946 July
681 "Georgia's Talmadge Trouble". 1946 August
682 "Talmadge in the Saddle". 1946 October
683 "Green of the White Sheet (Incomplete)". 1946 November
684 "Lord Make us Ashamed (Prayer)". circa 1946-1947
685 "It All Depends . . ." "Words to the Anti-Defamation League". 1947
686 "Lethal Statistics". 1947
687 "Loren's Teeth". 1947
688 "Loomis and Burke Doing Business Again" (USF). 1947 February 23
689 "U.S. Let's Klan Evade $685,305 Taxes".
690 "5 'Good' Reasons Why KKK Gave Up Charter". 1947 June 15
691 "[Author] [Writer] Defies KKK Vow". 1947 August 4
692 "Notes on White Supremacy". 1947 October 20
693 "Courier Attends Big Klan Meeting". 1947 November 29
694 "The Ku Klux Klan: What to do About it" (USF). circa 1948
695 "Smashing the Clay Feet of Race Idols". circa 1948
696 "Original Ending of Prelude to (Jim Crow) Guide". 1948
697 "Political Slavery Enchains 5,000,000". 1948
698 "Southern Negro Spokesman To Answer... 1948" (USF). 1948
699 "Will the South Really Revolt?". 1948 March 27
6100 "Georgia Governor's Race 1948" (USF). 1948 April 26
6101 "Is Demockkracy Below Mason-Dixon Dead?". 1948 May 1
6102 "Approval Greets Big Klan Rally". 1948 July 21
6103 "Gaudy Invitation Hints Rebirth of Klan Hatreds". 1948 July 25
6104 "Klan Rites Hint Rebirth of Hate Group" (USF). 1948 July 25
6105 "Georgia's KKK Gets Ready to Put 'Hummon' Talmadge in the Saddle". 1948 September 5
6106 "How Many of Georgia's Negro Voters Will Defy KKK?". 1948 September 7
6107 "Talmadge Terrorism Ill Omen for Nation". 1948 September 10
6108 "In Fact". 1948 September 27
6109 "One Month After Talmadge". 1948 October 19
6110 "KKK to Take Over Unions". 1948 December 10
6111 "KKK Struts-And Talmadge Winks" (USF). 1948 December 10
6112 "Key Victories Scored by Unions". 1948 December 24
6113 "Irvin's Own Story" (USF). 1949
6114 "U.S. Urged to Collect From Klan". circa 1949
6115 "Anti-KKK Leaflets 'Fire Hazard'". 1949 January 6
6116 "Klan Steps Up Anti-Catholic Propaganda". 1949 August 12
6117 "Klan Spreads Out Under Front Name". 1949 October 1
6118 "Jim Crow Guide to USA: Starting a New Series by Stetson Kennedy and Elizabeth Gardner". 1949 November
6119 "In the Matter of Soviet Purges". circa 1950s
6120 "Folk Art Under the Red Star". 1950s
6121 "Advertising Slogans". circa 1950s
6122 "Cold War and Frozen Travel". circa 1950s
6123 "Fascism and Nazis". circa 1950s
6124 "KKK and Organized Labor". circa 1950s
6125 "Life Behind the Curtain". circa 1950s
71 "The Polish Path - Back to Bossism?". circa 1950s
72 "Prospectus for a Monthly Magazine". circa 1950s
73 "The Relativity of Liberty". circa 1950s
74 "Rule-by-Claque". circa 1950s
75 "Who Controls American Foreign Policy?". circa 1950s
76 "The Klansman Who Became a Christian". circa 1950s
77 "Legend of the Sea Serpent of Florida's Cape Sable". 1950s
78 "Programme De Travail (French)". 1950s
79 "Un Homme Sortit... (French)". 1950s
710 "KKK Drives to Defeat Pepper". 1950 February 27
711 "Stars and Bars Forever?". 1950 September 8
712 "Florida's Open Season on Prisoners". circa 1951
713 "Murder by Bombing". circa 1951
714 "Op-Ed in The Nation". circa 1951
715 "Can Pepper Come Back?". 1951
716 "Florida: Murder Without Indictment". 1951
717 "We Charge Genocide". circa 1951
718 "Negro-Killing Sheriff Gets Hero's Treatment in FL" (USF). 1951 November 19
719 "Miami Anteroom to Fascism". 1951 December 22
720 "Florida Blasts Claims Second Victim". 1952 January 7
721 "Bombs Bring Us Together". 1952 February 2
722 "The Nation, Letter on Violation of Voting Rights, Altamonte Springs". 1952 February 23
723 "The Klan's Latest Hate Outfit: Inside the New Confederate Army". 1952 August 17
724 "The Charge is Slavery: An Investigator...". 1952 September 21
725 "Majority of Rioters Are Freed". 1952 October 13
726 "Forced Labor in the USA (Russian)". 1953 January
727 "Introduction A L'Amerique Raciste (French)". 1953 July
728 "La Racisme Aux Estats-Unis (French)". 1955
729 "Könyvespolc (Hemingway-The Man)". circa 1956
730 "Socialist Etiquette on the Road". circa 1956
731 "Hungarian Victims of Mass Hysteria". circa 1956
732 "New China Finds Lost Nationalism". 1956
733 "Notes from China". 1956
734 "Why America Fell Behind". 1956
735 "Introduction A L'Amerique Raciste (French)". 1956 March 3
736 "Affidavit Belgrade". 1956 November
737 "Embrace the Revolution". 1956 December 8
738 "Time for a Second Reconstruction". circa 1956-1957
739 "On Stage in China". circa 1957
740 "Mexican Connection". 1957
741 "Notes from France". 1957
742 "Letter to the Editor, Paris". 1957 February 22
743 "Tchang You Fait Bouillir La Mer". 1957 September
744 "The Franco-Anglo-American Contribution to Democracy". 1958
745 "Juris Diction of US Government Over Racial Discrimination". 1958
746 "Monograph for International Labor Organization". 1958
747 "Racial Discrimination in Employment". 1958
748 "Youth Congress Closes". 1958 April 15
749 "Crisis of the Socialist Motherland". circa 1959
750 "J'ai Appartenu Au Klan". circa 1959
751 "False Truisms". 1959
752 "Words on Painting"/"Why We Paint". 1959
753 "Facts Relative to Racial Discrimination". circa 1955-1959
754 "Avenues of Progress & Dead-End Streets". circa 1960s
755 "Hate-Mongering: Free Speech or Incitement to Riot?". circa 1960s
756 "Peace is Wonderful". circa 1960s
757 "3 articles- "Jax Will Have Another..." "Stark Terror..." "Youths Spurn Orange Juice". circa 1960s
758 "Up Front...Down South: Moving Day". circa 1960s
759 "All is Not Lost, KKKs Head Tells Courier in Tuscaloosa". 1960s
760 "Aspects of Foreign Policy". 1960s
761 "Nonstop Protest". 1960s
762 "Stark Terror Grips St. Augustine". 1960s
763 "FBI Is Ordered Not to Touch Rights Cases". 1962 October 12
764 "Cold War Aided Negroes'Re Civil Rights Battle". 1963 August 17
765 "Up Front...Down South: Follow the Leader!". 1963 September
766 "Must Get Go Ahead From D.C" (USF). 1963 November 9
767 "Qui N'a Pas Tue Kennedy?". 1963 December 19
768 "Cattle Prods are New Weapons". circa 1964
769 "Youths Spurn Orange Juice" "Police Have No Power Over Sit Ins". circa 1964
770 "I Was Lucky Says Target of Florida KKK". 1964
771 "St. Augustine Hit by Wave of Terror". 1964
772 "Seeing St. Augustine Proves Exciting by Snow James in Reporting Civil Rights Part Two". 1964 June
773 "Stardust". 1965 September 11
774 "The Voice of GJEO's Loyal Underground". 1967
775 "Ingredients in the American Political Pot". circa 1970s
776 "The Hounds of the Pharaohs" (USF). 1970 June
777 "Jazz can be Cured". 1972 July 10
778 "Comments for Black History Month". 1974
779 "Moonshine & Magnolias" (USF). 1975
780 "Le Prochaine President Americaine". circa 1976
781 "Bicentennial Betrayal?". 1976
782 "Applied Humanities". circa 1980s
783 "Can Green Grow in Germany? Letter". circa 1980s
784 "Changing, for Better of Worse?". circa 1980s
785 "The FBI Skinhead Bust". circa 1980s
786 "How not to Protest?". circa 1980s
787 "Isleno's Curse". circa 1980s
788 "Maurice Hindus". circa 1980s
789 "McCarthyism". circa 1980s
790 "Monoliths". circa 1980s
791 "On the Nuking of Korea". circa 1980s
792 "Private Ownership". circa 1980s
793 "Stetson on the National Question". circa 1980s
794 "Toward the Third Reconstruction". circa 1980s
81 "The Mystification of America/Why Regan Won". circa 1980s
82 "Naturalism is a Universal Tradition". circa 1980s
83 "The Natural Imperative". circa 1980s
84 "Posters for Progress". circa 1980s
85 "Roots in Retrospect". circa 1980s
86 "What Happened to the Union?". circa 1980s
87 "Slavery--The Peculiar Institution". circa 1980s
88 "Why Reagan Won". circa 1980s
89 "Andy Young, American". 1980
810 "Dear Undecided". 1980
811 "Who Goes There - Kooks or Klux?". 1980
812 "Ye Complete Guthrie/Woody Guthrie: A Life". 1980
813 "Pre-Language Vocal Communication". 1981
814 "A Sense of Community" (USF). 1981 May 21
815 "The Crisis Backs Demand That FBI Release Moore Murder Tapes". 1982
816 "On my 67th Birthday, Walesca". 1983
817 "Good Will". 1983 June 20
818 "Addressing Communism". 1983 September 29
819 Response to Times Union "De-Marxification". 1983 October 24
820 "Beyond 1984". circa 1984
821 "Picking up the Tab for Reaganism". circa 1984
822 "South on the Range". circa 1984
823 "Busing Prevents Return to Crippling Jim Crow Schools". 1984 January 4
824 "Critique of Manuscript: When Klan Comes to Town 1/5/1984". 1984 January 5
825 "Dean Dixon". 1984 February 12
826 "Comments DNC Ballot". 1984 February 23
827 "The Klan Exposed-Tony Brown's Journal". 1984 April-June
828 "Pollution Kills More People then Mass Murders". 1984 June 14
829 "The Inevitables on Florida's Agenda, Unless...". circa 1985
830 "The Art and Science of Motivation". 1985
831 "In Defense of Defeatism". 1985
832 "Witch Burning in the City of Brotherly Love". 1985 May 15
833 "Salvation". 1985 May 16
834 "A Theory of the Vital Function". 1985 May 19
835 "Institutions". 1985 June
836 "Economic Structure". 1985-1986
837 "Contra Link to Moonies' Causa". 1986
838 "'Fascism' Robotry". 1986
839 "The Right of Conquest". 1986
840 "Soviet Russia's Ideology". 1986
841 "Writings on Hi-Tech of the 21st Century". 1986
842 "Of Human Bondage". 1986 February 19
843 "Open Letter to Congressman Barnes". 1986 March 6
844 "Nicolas Pagno". 1986 September 4
845 "Juan Dole". 1986 October 24
846 "A Talk at the Southern Labor History Symposium". 1986 October 27
847 "We Want Our History!". 1986 November
848 "Vincente Lombardo Toledano". After 1986
849 "Torture". 1986-1987
850 "Living Law and Writ on Paper". 1987
851 "Right to Life/Right to Choice". 1987
852 "A State of Hate". 1987
853 "Writings on Biology and Society". 1987
854 "Folk Culture as a Component of General Welfare: Governmental Responsibility". 1987
855 "Pathfinder". 1987 January
856 "Question of Whether the Living Organism...". 1987 January 22
857 "Whither the Rat-Race?". 1987 January 22
858 "Last Word on 'Color Purple'". 1987 February 2
859 "Educational System: Legends of History". 1987 April 13
860 "Black Power Communication". 1987 April 27
861 "Toward Feral Man". 1987 June 4
862 "On Stemming Tides". 1987 June 5
863 "Observances: What's in them for us?". 1987 June 14
864 "Scholem Aleichem". 1987 June 23
865 "Everything in life is equally important and unimportant". 1987 June 24
866 "The South Revisited". 1987 October
867 "Maintenance of Power". 1987 October 10
868 "Woe unto you, Hypocrites". 1987 November 16
869 "Lost Causes & Then Some". 1987 December
870 "Bringing the Humanity to Humanity". 1987 December 10
871 "Agenda for Americans". circa 1987-1988
872 "Letters to the Editor, Pravada, Moscow, USSR". 1988
873 "Paying the Interest Only". 1988
874 "Writings against Marxism". 1988
875 "Writings on the Nature of Society". 1988
876 "Writings on Profit Motives". 1988
877 "Public/Private Economic Structure ".
878 "Comments on: Jacksonville Today's Portrait of Black Community". 1988 January 18
879 "The Role of Unions". 1988 March-April
880 "The Right of Private Citizens...Memorandum by SK". 1988
881 "Where Folksongs Come From". 1988
882 "Mellowing for Wine". 1988 October 10
883 "Capital Improvement". 1988 December 30
884 "Lore & Liberation". 1988
885 "Working With Zora". circa 1989
886 "Caring For The Cradle of Tampa Latina". 1989
887 "Two of a Kind film script". 1989
888 "What Makes Mario Great". 1989
889 "The WPA Florida Writers Project: A Personal View". 1989
890 "Writings on The Old Man and the Sea". 1989
891 "What is Floridian". 1989 September-October
91 "A Little Advice about Citizenship". circa 1990s
92 "Americans, Regardless of Color". circa 1990s
93 "America - Share it or Lose it". circa 1990s
94 "The Black Side of Rosewood". circa 1990s
95 "Can We Change Our Spots?". circa 1990s
96 "Can We Get Along". 1996
97 Episode for "Klanbuster". circa 1990s
98 "Fundamentalism is Ignorance". circa 1990s
99 "How Now to Protest". circa 1990s
910 "Juridica Through Rights". circa 1990s
911 "Maddie's Story". circa 1990s
912 "Negritude Conference". circa 1990s
913 "Review of Cirque Soleil". circa 1990s
914 "Stetson Kennedy Foundation, Folk Culture". circa 1990s
915 "Talking Paper Democracy". circa 1990s
916 "Task Confronting our Species". circa 1990s
917 "Viva La Florida". circa 1990s
918 "Vive, Aggression". circa 1990s
919 "Wackos in Waco, Inside and Out". circa 1990s
920 "Wake Up Call to Lock Up Hate Crime Conspirators". circa 1990s
921 "Where Stalin Feared to Tread". circa 1990s
922 "Why Klansman can't be Lawmen". circa 1990s
923 "Will the Waco Hearing Spawn More Terrorism?". circa 1990s
924 "Words into Action". circa 1990s
925 "Writings on Terrorism and Capitalism". circa 1990s
926 "Before Medgar Evers, Harry Moore Was" (USF). circa 1990s
927 "Bush 'New World Order'". circa 1990s
928 "Congressional Districting: Race as a Basis for Rep. (unpublished)". circa 1990s
929 "How to Uphold Democracy" (USF). circa 1990s
930 "No Primrose Path for Haiti" (USF). circa 1990s
931 "Triptik to the Promised Land". circa 1990s
932 "USA and CIA IN Near Shootout in Haiti" (USF). circa 1990s
933 "Is the Dialogue on Race" DOA?. circa 1990s
934 "Road Back is not Road Ahead". circa 1995-1999
935 "Viva Karla!". circa 1995-1999
936 "Orders of the Day". circa 1990s
937 "Most Probable Scenario". circa 1990
938 "Another American's". 1990
939 "Emir and Shamir Expect Every American to do their Duty". 1990
940 "Keys Folk". 1990
941 "The Mark of Zora " (USF). 1989-1991
942 "Mirror, Mirror, on the shelf...". 1990
943 "Peace in the Middle East". 1990
944 "Togetherness". 1990
945 "Dress rehearsal for national mourning". 1990 December
946 "A Star Fell on Florida". 1990 January 26-27
947 "Hard Times Handbook Book review of "First Person America" by Ann Banks". circa 1991
948 "Better A Green Face With A Heart". 1991
949 "Commentary on "The Columbus Quincentenary: What Will We Celebrate?". 1991
950 "Dark Horse Indeed - Letter". 1991
951 "Democratic Lexicon for the war on Words". 1991
952 The New York Times "Slug". 1991
953 "Prospectus for a Worldwide Peace Pilgrimage". 1991
954 "View from Afar". 1991
955 "Ideas for cartoons". 1991 January 21
956 "Anti-war posters/slogans". 1991 January 18
957 "Florida's Christmas Murders". 1991 December 3
958 "Response to survey/interview with Lois Carol Knowles". 1992
959 "Selling Out - Florida Keys and Culture". 1992
960 "Mary McCloud Bethune". 1992 June
961 "Florida Legends". 1992 July-August
962 "Mixed Up Shonafelt". 1993
963 "Race for the '80s". 1993
964 "Southern Exposure Turns 20". 1993
965 "Thoughts on ESOL". 1993
966 "Telling it Like it Was Forum Magazine". 1993
967 "Rosewood's Roots: An Essay on Racial Intolerance". 1993 January 29
968 "Folklife". 1993 July
969 "Florida Boy". 1993 October
970 "A Fateful Confrontation". 1993 October 10
971 "Stetson's Advice". 1994 August 30
972 "The Clinton Doctrine". 1994
973 "Why the Bill Won't Prevent Terrorism". circa 1995
974 "Dialed 911 and got the KKK". 1995
975 "Global Village Enrolls at San Jose". 1995
976 "How to Curb Klan Terrorism". 1995
977 "Note on Fundamentalism". 1995 February 15
978 "On Behalf of Zombies". 1995
979 "The World According to Gingrich and Zhirinovsky". 1995
980 "Could the No. 1 Suspect be US?". 1995 April 30
981 "Terrorism a Long Key in US History". 1995 May 7
982 "Salute to Vanguard". 1995 October-December
983 "Wacky Waco, Inside and Out". 1995 August 6
984 "An Open Letter". 1996
985 "Back to Ball and Chain". 1996 January 4
101 "Ishmael Revisited" Book review of "My Ishmael by Daniel Quinn. circa 1997
102 "No Magic Bullet for Bigotry". 1997
103 "Uprooted, Right On". 1997
104 "Pass the Culture, Please: Art in Public Places". 1997 January 21
105 "Swannee Swatches". 1997 April 20
106 "On the Columbus Quincentenary". 1998
107 "On the 'New Southern Agenda'". 1998
108 "Society as a Conspiracy-of-the-Whole". 1998
109 "The South in Progress". 1998
1010 "Viva Karla!-Op-Ed Piece (Published?) in Response to Execution of Karla Tucker". 1998
1011 "Naked Man Gives Cop a Shower". 1998 November
1012 "Ethnic Fission". 1999
1013 "Letter to the Editor, New York Times". 1999
1014 "Portraits of Our Past". 1999
1015 "Who Needs Peace Keepers". 1999
1016 "Moore's Ford Murders". 1999 March 5
1017 "Wake Up, Lock Up Hate Crime Conspirators". 1999 September 7
1018 "An Apology". 1999 September 28
1019 "Why the FBI's Man in the Klan...". circa 1997-2000
1020 "Input for "Dialogues on Race"-Notes for Town Halls To Combat Prejudice". circa 1999-2000
1021 "JEB's 'One Florida' Just Won't Compute". circa 2000
1022 "Al Qaeda Never Had it So Good". circa 2000s
1023 "Bush's 'One Florida' Isn't". circa 2000s
1024 "Beheading, Low-Tech vs Hi". circa 2000s
1025 "Commentary on Storycorps". circa 2000s
1026 "A Klan Buster Looks Back, My Legacy: Eternal Vigilance". circa 2000s
1027 "Mother Dauette". circa 2000s
1028 On McWhorter's "Carry My Home". circa 2000s
1029 "Sampling of Historical Anecdotes". circa 2000s
1030 "Fishing Forecast". 2000
1031 "Jacksonville on the St. John's". 2000
1032 "Worst Case Scenario: Gov. Bush's One Florida". 2000 February 2
1033 "Jeb Crow". 2000 March
1034 "Woody Guthrie: Natural Born Anti-Fascist". 2000 March
1035 "Florida Treasure Hunt". 2000 July 25
1036 "Ax Handle Saturday". 2000 August 9
1037 "Ax Handle Saturday". 2000 August 15
1038 "Birmingham and Beyond, Book Review of "Carry Me Home" by Diane McWhorter". circa 2001
1039 "Special Forces Vietnam". 2001 May 4
1040 "Voting Rights in Florida". 2001 June 18
1041 "The Right Way". 2001 September 25
1042 "White Men Against Racism". circa 2002
1043 "Rise and Fall of Jim Crow Notes". 2002
1044 "Terrorist Hunt, or War between Worlds?". 2002
1045 "Common Man's Messiah". 2002 July 30
1046 "What Alan Lomax Meant to Me and All the World". 2002 September
1047 "White Man Challenging Racism". 2003
1048 "Economics of the Original Reconstruction Klan". circa 2004
1049 "Harry T. Moore". 2004
1050 "Katrina and Superdome 2005". 2005
1051 "Singing Along Back Roads". 2005
1052 "Freakonomics, Unmasked". 2006 January 24
1053 "Writers on Jacksonville, SK reply to Retired Journalist". 2007
1054 "David Thundershield Queen". 2009
1055 "Slaves of the Past". 2008-2009
1056 "Hail Farewell" / "Mother of All Klanbusters". 2010
1057 "City Prohibits Anti-Klan Leaflets as 'Fire Hazard'". undated
1058 "Campers' Guide". undated
1059 "Moneybags and Scalawags" (USF). undated
1060 "Credo". undated
1061 "Florida Folklife and the WPA: An Introduction". undated
1062 "Mexican Consul Addresses League Commemorating Pan-American Day". undated
1063 "Nazism". undated
1064 "Negros Shall Never Have Much". undated
1065 "The Negro Unit". undated
1066 "A Neighborhood Remembered". undated
1067 "The Path which Led Me to the Writers Project". undated
1068 "A Primer on How to Uphold Democracy" (USF). undated
1069 "Some sayings that sank in". undated
1070 "Somethings our Best Friends won't Tell Us". undated
1071 "They Shall Never Change Me Any". undated
1072 "Tri-K Roundup". undated
1073 "Who Cares Who Killed Harry T. Moore". undated
1074 "World News in the Nude". undated


2d. Articles about Stetson Kennedy.


Box Folder
111 "Canned Florida Folk Songs Go To Washington". circa 1930s
112 "What Manner of Men and Women They Who Began...". circa 1930s
113 "P.R. For Lee High School WPA Concert". circa 1934
114 "Receives Honorable Mention". 1936
115 "Author Defies Threats of Klan, Continues Mission To Destroy It". circa 1940s
116 "Revenuers Permit KKK Ruse Concerning Taxes". circa 1940s
117 "Ex Klan Kleagle Wants to Testify on KKK Doings". circa 1940s
118 "Kennedy Named Consultant for Famed Radio Series". circa 1940s
119 "Mock Ku Klux Klan Would Guard Name". circa 1940s
1110 "New York Times Book Review: Books and Authors". 1940 June 30
1111 "Young Author to Write Book in New Series". 1941 July 13
1112 "Young Writer is Author of Florida Book". circa 1942
1113 "Jaxon's Stories Appear in Nationally Known Publications". 1942 April 30
1114 "Legend of State is Penned Interestingly by a Floridian". 1942 December
1115 "Bookfellows Hear Florida Folk Songs". 1942 December 31
1116 "With The Makers of Books". 1943 January 31
1117 "Kennedy Now at Work on Second Book". 1943 May 12-
1118 "All Florida Program". 1943 April 25-
1119 "Author Divides Time Between Work and Baby". 1943 April 25-
1120 "Young Sig Writes Book on Deep South". 1944 April-May-
1121 "CIO Director Sees Danger in Calloway Plan," "CIO's Gillman Questions Calloway Plan," "Calloway Plan Under Attack of CIO Leader". 1944 September 21
1122 Mention in Drew Pearson's "Merry Go Round". 1945 February 21
1123 "Klan Prepares to Go Underground". 1946 June 14
1124 "Southern Liberals Gather Strength". 1946 December 11
1125 "Author Defies Threats of Klan, Continues Mission To Destroy It". 1947
1126 "Klan-Klad Man Visits Congressmen". 1947
1127 "Robe and Salute of the Klan". 1947 January 22
1128 "Author Kennedy Spies 3 Years". 1947 January 23
1129 "Superman Broadcast Klan Secrets...". 1947 January 23
1130 "Georgia's Arnall Begins 48 State Tour with No Personal Ambitions for '48". 1947 January 30
1131 "Klan Sleuth Gives 'Superman' Secrets". 1947 February
1132 "Illinois Balks at Kennedy KKK". 1947 August 17
1133 "Caller in Klan Robes Visits Un-American Activity Probers". 1947 September 11
1134 "Stetson Kennedy Dons Robe". 1947 November 29
1135 "Communism vs. Fascism". 1947 December 1
1136 "New York, NY--United We Ooble". 1948 December 7
1137 "Controversial Reich Fair Opens". 1949 April 10
1138 "Jim Crow". 1949 October 31
1139 "French News Release on SK". circa 1950s
1140 "Reperes Biographiques et Chronologies...". circa 1950s
1141 "Artist's Wife to Be Guest". 1950s
1142 "Ex-Floridian Abandons Reds". 1950s
1143 "Ex-Klan Kleagle Wants to Testify on KKK Doings". 1950s
1144 "Freedom of the Air". 1950s
1145 "Takeoff on Klan is Planned by Kennedy Group". 1950s
1146 "KKK Drives to Defeat Pepper". 1950 February 27
1147 "Klan Foe in Florida Senate Race". 1950 August 13
1148 "Klansmen Ransack Home of Kennedy". 1951
1149 "To Run for Congress". 1951
1150 "Prober Swipes Evidence on Klan". 1951 January 29
1151 "Klan-Buster's Home Raided, Looted". 1951 May 10
1152 "No Day of Triumph". 1952 January 5
1153 "The KKK Wants His Blood". 1952 September
1154 "Beluthahatchee Place of Freedom". 1953
1155 "L'Envers Un Décon American". 1955 December 29
1156 "RassenhaB in USA (German)". 1956 January 19
1157 "France Set to Deport Local Man". 1957 March 14
1158 "The Joe Hollander Column". 1958
1159 "Un Journaliste American En France Est Frappé D'Expulsion". 1958
1160 "Being Forced Out of France, Newsman Says". 1958 October 31
1161 "Pappy Ponce was a Piker". circa 1960
1162 "Candidate for Senate Rejects Non-Red Oath". circa 1960s
1163 "Full Scale Inquiry Holds Up Financing For War On Poverty". 1960s
1164 "Hounds of the Pharaohs-In Florida". circa 1963
1165 "Youth Corps Program Ready". 1965
1166 "Neighborhood Youth Corps Program Launched". 1965 December 5
1167 "Kennedy to Run GJEO Project". 1969 March 3
1168 "Candidates to Run for GJEO Posts". 1969 September 28
1169 "Hound of the Pharaohs". 1970 April 25
1170 "Unidos Por El Dolor (Foreign Language)". 1970 October
1171 "GJEO Probe Begins". 1975 April 18
1172 "Search for Democracy Ends...". 1975 September 14
1173 "...30 Year Coverup". 1981
1174 "The Dogs Bark, But the Caravan Moves On". 1981
1175 "Stetson Kennedy: Journey of A Radical". 1981 December 27
1176 "KKK Opponents Plan 'Spring Offensive'". 1981 February 5
1177 "Humanity's Advocate". 1981 March 2
1178 "The KKK Wants His Blood". 1981 July 5
1179 "Stetson Kennedy: A Retired Activist Gets Restless". 1981 July 5
1180 "Infiltrator Concerned About Klan Resurgence". 1982 March 28
1181 "Stetson Kennedy Donates WPA Materials". 1982 October-November
1182 "Bid for Murder Tape Gets Cold Shoulder". 1983 November
1183 "Stetson Kennedy L'homme quidèfia le Ku-Klux-Klan". 1947
1184 "The Klan Exposed". 1984 April-June
1185 "Folk Culture". 1984 June 10
1186 "Political Firebrand Now A Mellow Radical". 1984 June 10
1187 "The Klan Exposed". 1984 July 4
1188 "The Klan Exposed: Man Infiltrating KKK and Tells About It". 1984 July 7
1189 "Author Recorded Voices of the Downtrodden". 1986 February 8
1190 "Conference Raises Questions About Hurston". 1986 April 10
1191 "If you can't afford waterfront, make your own". 1986 July 12
1192 "The WPA Guide to Florida". 1986 August-December
1193 "Southern Changes". 1987 December
1194 "Gourmet Specialist". 1987 December 16
1195 "Cultural Pluralism and Applied Folklore". 1988
1196 "Folklorist author has mellowed - a little". 1988 August 18
1197 "Author once had a price on his head". 1990
1198 "Miami blacks have quite a rich and tragic history". 1990 February 13
1199 "Florida's Disappearing Heritage". 1990 March 11
11100 "Undercover in the Klan". 1990 April 1
11101 "Human Rights are Concern of Crusader". 1990 April 3
11102 "Crusader for Human Rights". 1990 April 3
11103 "Return from Obscurity". 1990 April 8
11104 "New Georgia Encyclopedia entry about SK". 1990 May 11
11105 "Stetson Kennedy by Bill Martin". 1990 May-June
11106 "Klan (Incomplete)". 1990 June 3
11107 "Unmasked". 1990 June 17
11108 "50 Years Later, Klan-basher's Books Attract New Interest". 1990 June 18
11109 "Infiltrating the Klan". 1990 June 22
11110 "KKK Buster Still Champions War Against Racism". 1990 June 24
11111 "Human Rights Crusader Rediscovered". 1990 July 8
11112 "Words from the past ring true in the present". 1990 August 30
11113 "Civil Rights Activists to Study Hate Groups". 1990 November 16
11114 "'No.1 Klan Buster' Waged War on Racism". 1990 November 16
11115 "Crossing Up the Klan from Under the Hood". 1990 December 17
121 "'50s Klan Infiltrator Encourages Celebration of Cultural Difference". 1991
122 "Despite new FDLE investigation 40-year-old slayings still unsolved". 1991
123 "International Civil Rights Leader works from Fruit Cove". 1991
124 "Jacksonville author wins award". 1991
125 "Stetson Kennedy has fought against injustice...". 1991
126 "Florida Born Folklorist". 1991 January 4
127 "Stetson Kennedy A Southerner's Lifelong War Against Bigotry 1/1991". 1991 January
128 "Former Klan Infiltrator Tells His Tale". 1991 February 18
129 "The Ku Klux Klan: an Encyclopedia". 1991 April 17
1210 "3 Southerners are Honored for Showing Moral Courage". 1991 June
1211 "Klan Buster". 1991 July 7
1212 "Challenges The Klan Buster". 1991 August 18
1213 "Short Takes". 1991 August 23
1214 "Murder Won't Out". 1991 October 1
1215 "Former Klansman says police plotted in 1951 bomb killings". 1991 October 27
1216 "Friend wants agent to solve civil rights leader's death". 1991 October 27
1217 "Unmasking the Klan". 1991 July 7
1218 "Crusading for Human Rights". 1991 November-December
1219 "Stetson Kennedy: A Klandestine Man". 1991 December 11
1220 "Service to recall Civil Rights leader". 1991 December 19
1221 "A 40-year search for justice". 1991 December 25
1222 "Brother Stetson Kennedy". 1992
1223 "Stetson Kennedy A L'Honneur". 1992
1224 "In terms of Black & White". 1992 January 6
1225 "Santora Debate Can Yield Racial Progress, Author Says". 1992 January 9
1226 "Author: Furor On Judge May Cut Racism". 1992 January 10
1227 "Fiery Cross Fizzles". 1992 March
1228 "Klan Infiltrator Fears 'Insidious Racism". 1992 March 25
1229 "Southern Exposure: Unmasking the Klan". 1992 March-April
1230 "Unlikely Encounter". 1992 May-June
1231 "Sans Egalite Raciale Pas De Droit (Foreign Language)". 1992 November 5
1232 "Infiltrating the Klan". 1993
1233 "'Klan Buster' to become subject of motion picture". 1993
1234 "Lonely campaign against injustice...". 1993
1235 "Studs Terkel Coming of Age: The Story of Our Century by Those Who Lived It". 1993
1236 "Stetson Kennedy receives Juels Verne Medal". 1993 July
1237 "Beluthahatchee Bill". 1993 August 31
1238 "A rat in the Klavern". 1993 August 31
1239 "Unusually Special Relatives". 1993 November 4
1240 "Back to the Future-Atlanta in 1943". 1993 December 1
1241 "Trio plans movie on KKK critic". 1994 February 2
1242 "America's Schindler". 1994 March 20
1243 "Son of the Old South battled KKK". 1994 April 10
1244 "On Making Friends of the SGI". 1994 May 23
1245 "If It weren't for you...". 1994 August 5
1246 "Trying to Get Rid of 'Sleeze'". 1994 September 24
1247 "Finding Stetson Kennedy (draft)". 1994 October 10
1248 "Klan Buster still fighting racism". 1994 October 23
1249 "Stetson Kennedy Unmasked". 1994 November-December
1250 "Coming of Age: The Story of Our Century by Those Who've Lived It". 1995
1251 "Friends Erase Racism". 1995
1252 "Miami on Our Own Words: Stetson Kennedy". 1995
1253 "'Swamp Critters' are part of homeowners' displays". 1995
1254 "The honors finally accrue...". 1995 January 1
1255 "The Best of Times for American Culture?". 1995 February 6
1256 "Practice, Study Designed to Make Feasts Successful".
1257 "Native who infiltrates hate group...". 1995 May 7
1258 "Kennedy's works draw honor". 1995 May 7
1259 "'Klanbuster' To Become Subject of Motion Picture "Native Who Infiltrates Hate Groups Sees Bombing as History Repeated". 1995 June
1260 "70-plus Americans look back...". 1995 September 10
1261 "Stetson Kennedy's Wedding". circa 1996
1262 "A Masterful 'Coming of Age'". 1996
1263 "Twentieth Century Florida Authors". 1996
1264 "Stetson Kennedy". 1996
1265 "Author's Donation to USF Chronicles Fight For Rights". 1996 March 22
1266 "KKK Infiltrator Donates Collection to USF". 1996 April 5
1267 "Ixtlan Plans 'Klan' Pic". 1996 June 17
1268 "Confederates in Guerrilla Mode". 1996 August 10
1269 "The Long Shots". 1996 October 13
1270 "Library collection to become movie script". 1996 November-December
1271 "Bombing: NAACP gets FBI file". 1999 May 15
1272 "Touring Florida through the Federal Writers' Project". 1998
1273 "Undercover". circa 1998
1274 "Klanbuster Gets Award". 1998 July 31
1275 "Stetson Kennedy Unmasked". 1998 October
1276 "Breakfast with Stetson Kennedy". 1998 November-December
1277 "Aging author seeks triplet cloning...". 1999
1278 "NAACP Gets FBI File on Unsolved Bombing". 1999 May
1279 "Civil Rights Crusader Murdered In Florida Getting Recognition". 1999 May 13
1280 "NAACP Gets FBI File on Unsolved 1951 Slaying". 1999 may 15
1281 "Meet the Klan". 1999 November 9
1282 "Dream State - Florida Recounted". circa 2000
1283 "States' Writers". 2000 January 30
1284 "Worst Case Scenario". 2000 February 15
1285 "Death, death at the hands of a brother". 2000 May 3
1286 "CD release links author, lyricist again". 2000 July 13
1287 "Kennedy turns pages in his legacy...". 2000 October 6
1288 "Fence Injures Lecture". 2000 December 6
1289 "Audio File". 2001
1290 "PBS to Highlight Civil Rights Leader". 2001 January 14
1291 "Narratives of Ex-Florida Slaves Come To Life". 2001 January 25
1292 "The Original 'Angry Young Man'". 2001 August 19
1293 "Stetson Kennedy Still Finding Wrongs To Right". 2001 September 30
1294 "Stetson Kennedy to be honored on 85th birthday". 2001 September-October
1295 "Stetson Kennedy Earns Top Florida Peace Award". 2001 October
1296 "Kennedy". 2001 October
1297 "To All Gathered to Honor Stetson Kennedy". 2001 October 3
1298 "Living Legend Honored...". 2001 November 1
1299 "Audio File: Author and Activist Stetson Kennedy Gets Fresh Props for a 60-Year-Old Project". 2002
12100 "Fresh Ministries, Kennedy looking at new foundation". 2002
12101 "Kennedy: He put his life on the line". 2002
12102 "Singer Arlo Guthrie Presents Plaque to Fruit Cove Author Designing Home Literary Landmark". 2002
12103 "White voice for blacks tells of lonely struggle". 2002 January 10
12104 "Stories From The Sunshine State". 2002 April 21
12105 "Alice's old church-home converted...". 2002 May 26
12106 "About Stetson". 2002 June 27
12107 "Stetson and Jim Crow Laws". 2002 July 14
131 "Interview". circa 2003
132 "Excerpt from Civil Rights Chronicle (Pub. Intnl)". 2003
133 "Swamp Song". 2003 March 4
134 "Bouquets and Brickbats". 2003 March-September
135 "Landmark donated as writers' refuge". 2003 March 12
136 "This Land(mark) was Made For You and Me". 2003 March 12
137 "This Land is Woody's Land Too". 2003 March 12
138 "Concert to raise money to preserve Beluthahatchee". 2003 March 12
139 "Kennedy House a Landmark". 2003 March 13
1310 "Remembering an old friend...". 2003 March 14
1311 "Folk legend's path led to rustic Shangri-La". 2003 March 26
1312 "There Be A Man; There Be A Giant". 2003 April 5
1313 "The Po-Folkist". 2003 April 30
1314 "Florida Center for the Book Dedicates a Literary Landmark". 2003 June 3
1315 "This land was their land". 2003 June 3
1316 "Unmasking writers of the WPA". 2003 August 2
1317 "Florida Moments". 2003 August-November
1318 "Stetson Kennedy still 'Beluthahatchee Bill". 2003 Ocotber 23
1319 "Florida writers discuss works". 2004
1320 "Folklorist Stetson Kennedy Gives Voice to American History...". 2004
1321 "Kennedy: Writer wants house to be park, museum". 2004
1322 "This Independent Gent". 2004
1323 "Writer, activist coming to town". 2004
1324 "Writer Stetson Kennedy about to become Hall-of-Famer". 2004
1325 "Stetson Kennedy speaks at NSU". 2004 February 18
1326 "Identity, History, and Legacy...". 2004 March 2
1327 "The Ballad of Stetson Kennedy". 2004 March 7
1328 "Kennedy". 2004 April 7
1329 "Looking back on folk singer". 2004 April 16
1330 "Woody Guthrie's voice lives on". 2004 April 21
1331 "Stetson Kennedy on Racism". 2004 May
1332 "William Stetson Kennedy Sparkled at Annual Meeting". 2004 July
1333 "Yellow has grown to be a winning color". 2004 July 20
1334 "Stetson preserving memories of Woody Guthrie". 2004 July 23
1335 "Stetson Kennedy is a true American hero". 2004 August 21
1336 "Stetson Kennedy: Florida's Folklorist, Klan-Baiter...". 2004 August-November
1337 "Stetson Kennedy is Still Beluthahatchee Bill". 2004 October 22
1338 "The Biggest Mystery". circa 2005
1339 "Author Stetson Kennedy Unmasked and Honored". 2005
1340 "'Hope So'-A Visit With Stetson Kennedy". 2005
1341 "Kennedy". 2005
1342 "Stetson Kennedy: An American Hero". 2005
1343 "Stetson Kennedy here tonight". 2005
1344 "Famed Folklorist Stetson Kennedy to Appear at Heritage Village 1/20-26/2005". 2005 January 20-26
1345 "About Stetson". 2005 January 25
1346 "Up Front - Real Jacksonvillan". 2005 February
1347 "Artist visits mentor who inspired her". 2005 February 2
1348 "Stetson Kennedy Next Inductee Into Florida Artists Hall of Fame". 2005 March-May
1349 "Inspirational Exposure: House as park". 2005 March 26
1350 "Writer's Home to Be Preserved". 2005 March 26
1351 "Remembrances of Times Past". 2005 April
1352 "Florida Writer, Local Song Writer Linked By Song". 2005 April 1
1353 "Stetson Kennedy to be inducted into Florida Artists Hall of Fame". 2005 April 7
1354 "Civil Rights activist kicks-off desegregation series". 2005 April 23
1355 "Billectric Interviews Stetson Kennedy". 2005 May 28
1356 "Stetson Kennedy, 88, receives Florida Artists...". 2005 May-August
1357 "Sounds of Ybor's Cultural Heritage...". 2005 June 9
1358 "Oral Examination". 2005 June 14
1359 "Local Civil Rights activist helps reopen old murder case". 2005 August 19
1360 "Singing Along Back Roads". 2005 September-October
1361 "Stetson Kennedy's Dream Comes True". 2005 September 19
1362 "Stetson Kennedy turns 89". 2005 October
1363 "Kennedy: Wrote about infiltrating KKK". 2005 October 5
1364 "Activist and author...lived for 'fellow man and mother earth'". 2005 October 6
1365 "1 day 2 celebrations in the life of Stetson Kennedy". 2005 October 14
1366 "Give Kids the World' founded by local man". 2005 October 15
1367 "Morris Dees discusses justice for all at UNF". 2005 October 17
1368 "A Flash of the Pen, and Another Sketch Toward 10,000". 2005 October 26
1369 "The Sweet Hereafter". 2005 November 1
1370 "Historical Marker Unveiled at Beluthahatchee". 2005 November 4
1371 "Memoirs of a Klansman". circa 2006
1372 "New PBS documentary finds fresh voices...". circa 2006
1373 "What's more important, the story or the story teller?". circa 2006
1374 "Wikipedia entry". circa 2006
1375 "Civil Rights activist appears at Exploris". 2006
1376 "Kennedy among honored by St. Johns Vision". 2006
1377 "'Klan Buster' still active at 90". 2006
1378 "Klan Buster Still Crusading at 90". 2006
1379 "Retelling of KKK and Nazi hate stuns youth". 2006
1380 Excerpt "Sharing the Dream". 2006
1381 "Stetson's 'Cup runneth over'". 2006
1382 "Ways of the Klan shown to character builders group". 2006
1383 "Hoodwinked?". 2006 January 7
1384 "Kennedy". 2006 January 22
1385 "Kennedy, Parks wed in weekend ceremony". 2006 January 28
1386 "KKK book truth but not whole truth". 2006 January 29
1387 "New printing made him into a legend". 2006 January 29
1388 "Civil Rights fighter celebrated on stage". 2006 January 31
1389 "Coming out fighting". 2006 January-February
1390 "Stetson Kennedy Honored". 2006 February 3
1391 "Stetson Kennedy's life immortalized in music". 2006 February 17
1392 "Stetson Kennedy - An Icon of Freedom". 2006 March-April
1393 "A Holocaust Survivor and an Activist Stress Tolerance at West Nassau High School". 2006 April 22
1394 "Kennedy to receive honor for his life time work". 2006 May 7
1395 "Stetson Kennedy revisited, literally". 2006 May 15
1396 "Un-learning hate". 2006 May 30
1397 "A Klan Infiltrator and a Holocaust Survivor Team up to Teach High School Students the Price of Racism". 2006 May 30
1398 "Icon: Stetson Kennedy". 2006 July
1399 "Stetson Kennedy (floridatrend.com)". 2006 July 1
13100 "Super-Homem x Racismo (Foreign Language)". 2006 July 16
13101 "In Radical Non Agenarians". 2006 November 1
13102 "Unmasking the Klan". 2006 November-December
141 "Florida's 'Coming of Age'". 2007
142 "Florida Communities Trust partners with St. Johns County...". 2007 January 5
143 "'Klan Buster' still works still gets threats". 2007 February 12
144 "A Living Legend of the Left". 2007 July 27
145 "Stetson Kennedy to be honored at Friday event". 2007 October 2
146 "Author & Activist Stetson Kennedy to donate Library to CMC". 2007 October 18
147 "Being There". 2008
148 "Stetson Kennedy Foundation Honored". 2008
149 "Stetson was there". 2008
1410 "The People's Advocate: Stetson Kennedy". 2008 January
1411 "For the Love of Peace". 2008 March
1412 "Kennedy part of New Deal celebration". 2008 March 23
1413 "Stetson Kennedy's American memory". 2008 April 14
1414 "Undercover Klansman". 2008 June 17
1415 "Banquet honors three Florida authors". 2008 July 20
1416 "Freakonomics to Speak at UNF". 2008 September 25
1417 "In a town apart...". 2008 September 28
1418 "Local Authors". 2008 November 30
1419 "Admirers celebrate writer's 93rd birthday". 2009
1420 "Civil Rights legend challenges water management district". 2009
1421 "Stetson Kennedy". 2009
1422 "Stetson Kennedy's Books-St. Augustine Record". 2009
1423 "Stetson Kennedy reflects on change". 2009 January
1424 "Obama bound". 2009 January 17
1425 "Activist describes feelings". 2009 January 18
1426 "Sense of community growing event from Plaza". 2009 February 1
1427 "Stetson Kennedy goes to Washington". 2009 February 5
1428 "Grand Re-Opening". 2009 February 23
1429 "Fest Showcases Southern Style". 2009 March 29
1430 "Stetson Donates Library". 2009 March-April
1431 "Florida Star's 58th Birthday". 2009 April
1432 "Stetson Kennedy: Grits, Grunts, and Polk County". 2009 April
1433 "Being There". 2009 May 12-19
1434 "Crusader's Latest Cause: Saving the St. Johns". 2009 June 22
1435 "Question of the Month-Superman Busts the KKK". 2009 July
1436 "Stetson Files Suit Against Water Management District". 2009 July 4
1437 "FHS From the Executive Director". 2009 September-November
1438 "Melanie Celebrates 30 Years of Helping Wildlife". 2009 September-November
1439 "Witness for the People". 2009 November 30
1440 "Walk for Farm Worker Justice". 2009 December 4
1441 "Person of the Year: Stetson Kennedy". 2009 December 29
1442 "Busting Up the Klan and Sticking it to the Man". 2010
1443 "Klan Documents Exposed". 2010
1444 "Remembering Ax Handle". 2010
1445 "Solares Hill". 2010
1446 "Stetson and The Sea Hydro". 2010
1447 "Stetson Kennedy Planned Citizen's Arrest". 2010
1448 "Southern Exposure Festival". 2010 March 5
1449 "A River Runs Through Us". 2010 June
1450 "Civil Rights Pioneer Plans Citizen Arrest During Quran Burning". 2010 September 8
1451 "93 Year Old Stetson Kennedy Vows to Arrest Qur'an Burner". 2010 September 8
1452 "Kennedy Marks 94th Birthday". 2010 October 2
1453 "Yes, Stetson is Still Alive...". 2011 March 28
1454 "Busting Up the Klan and Sticking it to the Man". 2010 April
1455 "Stetson Kennedy Welcomes Nancy and Scott McLucas". 2011 May 1
1456 "Stetson and Woody". 2011 May 15
1457 "Stetson Kennedy Addresses Historical Group". 2011 May 28
1458 "Stetson Kennedy Said Near Death". 2011 August 26
1459 "A Man as Unique as State He Loved". 2011 August 28
1460 "Florida Writer, Known for Infiltrating Klan, dies". 2011 August 28
1461 "Stetson Kennedy, 94, Infiltrated the Klan and Exposed it". 2011 August 30
1462 "Milestones" "Died-Stetson Kennedy". 2011 September 12
1463 "Florida Klan Robes Go To Smithsonian". 2011 November 25
1464 "A Legend and His Legacy". 2012 March-May
1465 "Naming Rights". 2012 April 17
1466 "What We Don't Yet See". 2015 July 15-21
1467 "Civil Rights Chronicle-African American Struggle for Freedom". undated
1468 "Conman". undated
1469 "A Pair of Honored Crusaders Continue to Spread Message". undated
1470 "Romantic River Songs Compiled in Volume". undated
1471 "The Spirit of Sigma Chi". undated
1472 "Writers Project". undated


2e. Fragments and Undated Writing.


Box Folder
151 On Clarence Thomas. 1991
152 On Litigating for Civil Rights. 1992
153 On Contract with America. 1994
154 On Exploited and Exploiters.
155 On Whites writing for the Black Press.
156 On Crass Commercialism.
157 On Nationalism.
158 On Folk traditions.
159 On the Role of Segregation.
1510 On Dixiecrats.
1511 Fragment on Terror in the Night by Jack Nelson.
1512 Fragment on early development and influences.
1513 Fragment on Girl Watching.
1514 Fragment of Benefit Piece, Black Voter Registration. circa 1960s
1515 Fragment for Book About Lynching. circa 2000s



Series 3. Correspondence.



3a. Early Correspondence.


Box Folder
1516 circa 1925-1940.
1522 Botkin, B.A..
1523 Caldwell, Erskine.
1524 SK to Hart, Gerald. 1950s
1525 Wright, Richard.


3b. Correspondence To and From Stetson Kennedy By Name.


Box Folder
161 Able, Elizabeth.
162 Able, James.
163 Allen, James.
164 Audet, David.
165 Ayala, Gabrielle.
166 Beich, Paul.
167 Beluthahatchee Lake Dweller Assoc..
168 Bernard, Russell.
169 Beyer, William.
1610 Bienes Center for Literary Arts.
1611 Bigbee, Ivy.
1612 Black, David.
1613 Black, Stephanie.
1614 Bond, Julian.
1615 Bowen, Jill.
1616 Brandenburg, Susan.
1617 Brodsky, Françoise.
1618 Buck, Pearl S..
1619 Bulger, Peggy.
1620 Cannon, Shirley.
1621 Carr, Madeleine.
1622 Cherel, Rene.
1623 Cooper Family.
1624 Dittus, Erick.
171 Evins, Barri.
172 Fairchild Tropical Garden.
173 Ferris, William.
174 Fish, Holly.
175 Fitzgerald, Jean and Carol.
176 Florida Coalition for Peace and Justice.
177 Florida Historical Society.
178 Foster, Charles.
179 Foster, David C..
1710 Gabel, Joseph.
1711 Geiger Family.
1712 Glass, Horace and Judy, Part 1.
1713 Glass, Horace and Judy, Part 2.
1714 Guthrie Foundation.
1715 Harmon, Gary.
1716 Henderson, Ann.
1717 Hines, Dwight.
1718 Hoffman, Bernice.
1719 Hutchins, Walter.
181 Jacques, Diane.
182 Jessie Ball Dupont Foundation.
183 Johnston, George.
184 Jones, Kathy.
185 Kalin, Andrea.
186 Kauffman, Dan.
187 King, Martin Luther.
188 Knowles, Lois.
189 Kwazu, Pam.
1810 "Letters to the Editor".
1811 Levitas, Dan.
1812 Library of Congress.
1813 Lipke, Alan.
1814 Lomax, Alan.
1815 with Yuji Maekawa, Yoshio Taketomi and Seiichiro Shimono. Re: Japanese Edition of Klan.
1816 Marshall, John Arthur.
1817 Martin, Roger.
1818 McGuire, William.
1819 McIntire, Peg.
1820 Mohl, Raymond.
1821 Mormino, Gary.
1822 Moylan, Lynn.
1823 Mulrain, Joanelle.
1824 Newton, Michael.
191 Patterson, Gordon.
192 Perras, Bill and Eli.
193 Pinapple Press.
194 Popper, Jill.
195 Pulera, Dominic.
196 Raynaud, Claudine.
197 Rich, Evelyn.
198 Ruffner, Frederick.
199 Salmond, John.
1910 Salmone, Lou.
1911 Scandura, Jani.
1912 Seeger, Pete.
1913 Sismilich, Liz.
1914 Southern Labor Archives.
1915 Southern Regional Council.
1916 Speisman, Barbara.
1917 Star, Kim.
1918 Stein, Al.
1919 Stevralia, Russ.
1920 Taylor, David.
1921 Thundershield Queen, David.
1922 Thompson, Cooper.
1923 Tohickon Glass Eyes "Swamp Critters".
1924 Trebbi, Jean.
1925 Vasquez, Ana Maria.
1926 University Press of Florida. 1982-1990
1927 University Press of Florida. 1991-2002
1928 Wade Wynn.
1929 Williams, Randall.
1930 Wilson, Peggy.
1931 Winfrey, Oprah.
1932 Wormser, Richard.


3c. Correspondence To Stetson Kennedy: Miscellaneous.


Box Folder
201 A.
202 B-BL.
203 BO-BU.
204 C.
205 D-E.
206 F.
207 G.
208 H.
209 I-J.
2010 K.
211 L.
212 MA.
213 MC.
214 ME-MY.
215 N-O.
216 P.
217 Q-R.
218 SA-SL.
219 SM-SZ.
2110 T-V.
2111 W-Z.


3d. Correspondence From Stetson Kennedy: Miscellaneous.


Box Folder
221 A.
222 B.
223 C.
224 D.
225 E-F.
226 G-H.
227 I-K.
228 L-M.
229 N-R.
2210 S.
2211 T-Z.


3e. Family Correspondence and Miscellaneous Correspondence.


Box Folder
231 Gamil, Kathy.
232 Kennedy, Edith.
233 Kennedy, Joyce Ann.
234 Kennedy, Loren and Barbara.
235 Kennedy, Sean.
236 Parks, Sandra.
237 Roumilliat, Karen.
238 Other Family.
239 Scott, Michael M./UBA/etc.-Correspondence concerning TV/Movie Projects.
2310 Correspondence Concerning Proposed Publications.
2311 USF Collection Correspondence.
2312 Correspondence with the Southern Labor Archives.
2313 Birthday Wishes-85th Birthday.
2314 "A Question of Image".
2315 Letter Fragments.
2316 Not to or from Stetson Kennedy (A-H).
2317 Not to or from Stetson Kennedy (J-Y).
2318 Incomplete or Undated Letters Folder I.
2319 Incomplete or Undated Letters Folder II.
2320 Incomplete or Undated Letters Folder III.


3f. Birthday Cards.


Box Folder
241 Birthday Cards Folder I.
242 Birthday Cards Folder II.
243 Anniversary Cards.
244 Christmas Cards Folder I.
245 Christmas Cards Folder II.
246 Christmas Cards Folder III.


3g. Cards and Form Letters.


Box Folder
251 Mothers and Fathers Day Cards/Sympathy Cards/Get Well Cards/Congratulations Cards.
252 Thank You Notes/Postcards/Invitations.
253 Miscellaneous Cards.
254 Promotional Letters on Stetson Kennedy.
255 Guestbook Messages from the Stetson Kennedy Website.



Series 4. Talks and Appearances.



4a. Talks and Appearances.


Box Folder
261 American League Bureau, Inc. New York, N.Y., Speaking Engagement Contracts. 1947
262 Belleville Community Forum, "Southern Exposure". 1947
263 The Southern Conference for Human Welfare, Guest Speaker: "A Report from the South". 1947
264 Progressive Citizens of America "Protest of the Committee on Un-American Activities Hearings on Hollywood". 1947
265 Negro Freedom Rally, Madison Square Garden, Guest Speaker. 1947
266 Progressive Citizens of America-Toledo Chapter, "Expose of KKK". 1947
267 National Conference for Protection of Foreign Born, Opening Session Speaker. 1947
268 Civil Rights Congress of New York, New York Answers the Witch Hunters, "Hate in America". 1947
269 University of Ohio, "Fascism Made in the USA". 1947
2610 Manhattan Jewish Conference, "The Hidden Story Behind the Florida Bombings". circa 1948
2611 The Group Club House, "Is There A Fascist Threat in the South?". circa 1948
2612 Mooreland Branch YMCA, "Inside the Invisible Empire". 1948
2613 Teacher's Union of Philadelphia, Local 556, 3rd Annual Conference: Our Schools-Safeguards of Freedom, Speaker: "To Bigotry, No Sanction". 1948
2614 GAD Lodge No. 11, Free Sons of Israel "KKK, The Columbians, and How They Suppress Civil Rights". 1948
2615 NY Friends of Stetson Kennedy, Let Stet Speak Committee Speaker. 1950
2616 Greater Jacksonville Economic Opportunity, Inc., Noon Day Inspirations in Memory of MLK Jr. Speaker: "Reflections". 1977
2617 Stetson University- Religion and Moral Development, "Racism and the Revival of the Ku Klux Klan". 1982
2618 Jacksonville Museum of Arts and Sciences: Basement to Attic: Cultural Foundations and the Collection of Folklore, "Ethics and the Collector". 1986
2619 Student Activities Program Committee, Division of Social Sciences and Humanities, "Apartheid-The American Prototype". 1986
2620 Florida's Division of Cultural Affairs and Florida A&M University, Department of Languages and Lit: Zora Neale Hurston: Florida's Novelist, Folklorist, and Anthropologist "Zora as Florida Folk Collector". 1986
2621 Key West Literary Festival Writer's Seminar: "Key West Observed". 1987
2622 Old Capital Historical Society, Georgia Day Dinner, Featured Speaker. 1987
2623 Florida Folklore Society; A Symposium on Folklore Collecting By the WPA Florida Writer's Project Speaker: "The Florida Writers Project I Knew". 1989
2624 Southern Conference for Human Welfare; Southern Organizing Committee, Opening Session Speaker. 1989
2625 Southeastern Conference on English in the Two Year College "Florida Authors, Florida Stories II". 1990
2626 Florida Historical Society, Banquet Keynote. 1990
2627 American Studies Association Meeting, "The Florida Federal Writers' Project I Knew". 1990
2628 Democracy vs. Racism and Bigotry, Special Guest Speaker. 1990
2629 Heritage Park and Museum, Largo, FL, "A Conversation with Stetson Kennedy". 1991
2630 University of Florida (Student Groups), "Combating Racism". 1991
2631 St. Augustine NAACP, Guest Speaker: "The Final Nail in Jim Crow's Coffin". 1991
2632 The Book Mark, Atlantic Beach, FL, Book Talk. 1991
2633 University of North Florida, Infusion of Multicultural Content in the School Curriculum, Course Speaker: "Oral History and Culture". 1991
2634 Montana Human Rights Network, Celebrate Diversity-Confront Bigotry, "A Half-Century of Anti-Racist Activism". 1991
2635 Southeast College Bookstore Association: Book and Author Breakfast, "Florida Folklore". 1991
2636 USF St. Petersburg Lecture Series, "An Evening with Stetson Kennedy". 1991
2637 Southside Businessmen's Club Speaker: "An Activist's Life". 1991
2638 Florida Humanities Council, Lecture Series: Making Florida Home Speaker: "Palmetto Country". 1992
2639 Liberty Center for the Homeless, Inc. Jacksonville, FL; Spiritual Enrichment Hour: A Salute to MLK Jr. Guest Speaker: "The Civil Rights Movement Before and After MLK". 1992
2640 African-American History and Brotherhood Month, "Color to Color: Race Relations in Florida". 1992
2641 Loxahatchee Historical Society, Inc. Speaker: "A Look at Diverse Cultures of Florida From 1937-1942". 1992
2642 Friends of Port Charlotte Library, "Color to Color: Race Relations in Florida". 1992
2643 Lake Wales Public Library National Library Week Speaker. 1992
2644 Seminole County Branch NAACP; Annual Freedom Fund Awards Banquet, Guest Speaker. 1992
2645 Florida Humanities Council, Summer Teachers' Institute Speaker: "Palmetto Country". 1992
2646 Earth, You, and the 21st Century, Guest Lecturer. 1992
2647 CDR Conference on Bigotry and Racism, Guest Speaker. 1992
2648 The Florida Law Related Education Association, Multicultural Institute, "Cultural Equity: Under Law and In Society". 1992
2649 University of Nantes, France, Speaker. 1992
2650 Faculté des Lettres Amphi A, "Infiltrating the Ku Klux Klan". 1992
2651 Southern Comparative Literature Assoc., Florida in Literature and History, "Once Upon a Time: Folktale and Song as Oral History". 1993
2652 Southern Labor History Studies Conference, Panelist: "The WPA and the Labor Movement: Documenting Chicago Industrial Folklore". 1993
2653 Stephen Foster State Folk Culture Center; Songs of Florida in the Park, "Folklore in Florida". 1993
2654 Florida Humanities Council: Making Florida Home, Author Series-Spoke on Florida Folklore. 1994
2655 Mandarin Community Museum and Historical Society, Speaker with Joyce Ann Kennedy, "Mandarin: Past, Present, and Future". 1994
2656 University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, "From Racist Terrorism to Ethnic Fusion". 1994
2657 Sonoma State University; Lecture Series: New Voices from the South Speaker: Florida History. 1995
2658 Southern American Studies Conference, Clearwater, FL, Panelist: Photography. 1995
2659 Western High School, Ft. Lauderdale; Novel Day for Students-Broward Library, Featured Author. 1995
2660 Youngstown State University; Working Class Lives/Working Class Studies Conference, Guest Speaker: "Forced Labor and Folksy Organizer". 1995
2661 Florida Humanities Council Board Retreat, "Folklore of the Swannee River". 1995
2662 Florida State Department; Rural Folklife Days and the Florida Folk Festival. 1996
2663 USF Lecture Series "Breakfast with Stetson Kennedy". 1997
2664 Writing the Region: Honoring Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings "Making A Life of Regional Writing". 1997
2665 Museum of Florida History, "Exploring Florida" Series Speaker. 1997
2666 The Florida Literacy Heritage Grant Program and the CFCC Foundation Office, "Stetson Kennedy: A Florida Legend". 1997
2667 Museum of Florida History, "Exploring Florida" Series "Our Florida Heritage: Tend it or Lose it". 1997
2668 Oral History Association Conference, "The Studs Terkel Oral History Archives". 1997
2669 Talk at Florida Southern College Discussion on Klan Infiltration. 1997
2670 Florida Department of State: Exploring Folklife in Your Community Workshop, "A View from the Field". 1997
2671 The Wolfsonian-Florida International University, New Deal and the WPA, "Mirror Over Miami: As WPA Writers Saw it in the 1930's". 1998
2672 National Park Service-Kingsley Heritage Celebration, "Slavery and Race Relations". 1998
2673 Florida Folklore Society; Keynote Speaker for Annual Meeting. 1999
2674 Sigma Chi Fraternity, Jacksonville Alumni Chapter Meeting, Guest Speaker. 1999
2675 San Jose Elementary School, St. Augustine, FL, Speaker: Cultural Arts Week, Writing Center. 2000
2676 15th Annual Martin Luther King Breakfast, Jacksonville, FL Keynote Speaker. 2002
2677 University of Florida Speaker Series, Speaker: "Racist Terrorism on the Homefront". 2002
2678 SAA Annual Meeting Program, Participant: "Identity, History, and Legacy: Amassing the Stetson Kennedy Archives". 2002
271 Boca Grande Historical Society "Meet Stetson Kennedy". 2003
272 Unitarian Universalist Fellowship Speaker: "Fellow Man and Mother Earth:What Got Into Stet?". 2004
273 University of North Florida Black History Proclamation Speaker: "100th Anniversary of the Niagra Movement". 2004
274 Nova Southeastern University; Forever Free Abraham Lincoln's Journey to Emancipation Speaker: "Emancipation Deferred-The Long Century". 2004
275 St. John's County Friends of the Library; Annual Dinner Meeting Speaker. 2004
276 St. Lucie County Cultural Affairs Council; Zora Neale Hurston Festival: Zorafest: A Homecoming, Speaker: "Zora Neale Hurston and the WPA Writers Project". 2004
277 San Jose Elementary School; Dedication of the Kennedy Building, In Memory of Joyce B. Kennedy, Speaker. 2004
278 Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida, Guest Speaker: "On Civil Rights: Being There!". 2005
279 American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress; Benjamin Botkin Folklife Lecture Series, Speaker: "Building Democracy in America". 2005
2710 Charlotte County and Desoto County Program Series Speaker: "Turning Pages: Living Through School Desegregation". 2005
2711 Zora Fest, Fort Pierce, FL Featured Speaker: "ZNH and Klan Experiences". 2005
2712 St. Lucie County Cultural Affairs Council Department; Inaugural Zora Fest in Ft. Pierce, FL Speaker. 2005
2713 Beluthahatchee Historical Marker Unveiling; St. Johns County and FL Dept. of State, Speaker. 2005
2714 Stetson Kennedy Foundation, "An Evening With Stetson Kennedy". 2006
2715 Annual Paul Harris Dinner-'Its Mardi Gras Time', Featured Speaker: "Service Above Self". 2006
2716 West Nassau High School Appearance Speaker: "Racial Tolerance". 2006
2717 Florida Trust for Historic Preservation Annual Conference, St. Augustine, FL, Keynote Speaker. 2006
2718 Defense Logistics Agency, Black History Month: "From Slavery to Freedom: The Story of Africans in the Americas", Guest Speaker. 2007
2719 XX Annual Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Conference, Speaker: "Marjorie Rawlings As I Knew Her, Before and After Cross Creek". 2007
2720 Stetson University Speaker: "A Conversation with Stetson Kennedy". 2007
2721 Lavilla Museum, Jacksonville, FL Speaker: "Tea and Talk at the Ritz". 2007
2722 South Anastasia Community Association Meeting, Speaker: "An Evening with Stetson Kennedy". 2007
2723 Memorial Service for Studs Terkel, Speaker: Eulogy. 2008
2724 XXII Annual Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Conference, Speaker: "Memories of Marjorie: A Conversation with Stetson Kennedy". 2009
2725 The Florida Historical Society, "An Evening with Stetson Kennedy". 2009
2726 Tarpon Springs Historical Society Speaker: "An Evening with Stetson Kennedy," 2010. 2010
2727 St. Petersburg Museum of History, Florida Folk Concert Series Speaker: "Cracker Chroniclers of Florida Folk". 2010
2728 Southeastern Branch Library, St. Augustine, FL, Speaker: Screening-"Soul of a People; Writing America's Story". 2010
2729 Stetson University Talk, Speaker: "Florida Segregation and Slavery as a Living Memory". 2011
2730 Zora Neale Hurston: A Commemorative Birthday Celebration; Kalliope: A Journal of Women's Art, Speaker: "Working with Zora".
2731 Bellamy Road Cultural Center, Speaker: "The Florida That Was, Is, and May Be".
2732 Stetson Kennedy Foundation Event, Speaker: "A Conversation with Stetson Kennedy and Bill Belleville".
2733 St. Cyprian's Episcopal Church; Black History Month Event: Jazz Vespers, Speaker: "Fellow Man and Mother Earth Award".
2734 Central Florida Community College, Speaker: "Where From Here? An Open Discussion with Stetson Kennedy-Author, Lecturer, Civil Rights Champion.
2735 Florida Southern History Conference, Speaker: "Why Write?".
2736 The Chaplains' Center; Bigotry: It's History and Destiny, Guest Speaker.
2737 Voltaire Books, Key West, FL, Speaker: Question and Answer with Stetson Kennedy.
2738 Tarpon Springs Historical Society Event "An Evening With Stetson Kennedy".
2739 Seminole County Historical Museum, "Folklore of Florida".
2740 Chicago JACL at Hull House, "Fighting Subversive Elements in America".
2741 The Bookmark, Atlantic Beach, FL, Book Signing.
2742 Friends of the Alachua County Library District Speaker.
2743 Bellamy Road Fine Arts, Literature, and Film, Speaker: "Stetson Kennedy and Al Burt--Two Old Timers Swap Tales on the Florida that Was".
2744 Letters of Invitation to Speak.
2745 Exhibit/Book Signing/Radio & TV Talks.
2746 Lists of Talks/ Speaking Topics.


4b. Talk Notes.


Box Folder
281 "Lists of Lectures", "See Also Found Volumes", "Talks", "Also Calendars".
282 "Historians"/Oral History, See Also ASA (New Orleans).
283 "KKK etc., Cultural Equity".
284 "Sorbonne 11/12/92", "Nantes 11/5/92", "Nantes 11/6/92". 1992 November 5-12
285 "Key West".
286 "After Appomattox".
287 "Black Shanks, In Foggy Bottoms" Bealesville, FL. U. Miss Video.
288 "Labor".
289 "Harry Moore".
2810 "Nature and Culture".
2811 "Nick of Time" Miami Ft. Lauderdale, 'Hist/Oral Hist' Packet for N. Orleans American Studies Conference, WPA/FWP Palmetto Country.
2812 "U. Colorado".
2813 "Culture".
2814 "Palmetto Country and Fla. Home".
2815 "Author" Jax and Ft. Lauderdale Authors.
2816 Doc. Photog. ASA, Clearwater, FL, USF. 1995 March 31
2817 "Quincentenial (Columbus), St. Augustine" FHC, "Hist. Celebrate What? 1988".
2818 "S.O.C. B'Ham", 50th Anniversary of S.C.H.W.. 1989 December
2819 "Autobio and Misc".
2820 "Bigotry".
2821 Various Subjects.
2822 Uncategorized.



Series 5. Awards and Honors.



Box Folder
291 Eugene Field Society Honorary Membership. 1943
292 Negro Freedom Rally People's Award. 1947
293 International Institute of Arts & Letters Life Fellow. 1962
294 University of Paris honorary doctorate. 1969
295 Florida Folk Heritage Award. 1988
296 Council for Florida Libraries. 1990
297 Cavallo Prize. 1991
298 Giraffe Society commendation. 1991
299 Martin Luther King, Jr. Cultural Arts Group certificate of appreciation. 1992
2910 International Platform Association. 1992
2911 Jules Verne Medal of Honor. 1992
2912 Saint Martin de Porres Assoc. Peace and Unity Award. 1993
2913 University of North Florida honorary degree. 1994
2914 Reconcile Jacksonville Humanitarian Award. 1995
2915 Emancipation Proclamation Assoc. Award for Service. 1996
2916 Florida Folk Festival certificate of recognition. 1996
2917 Office of the Governor Heartland Award. 1998
2918 Sigma Chi, Jacksonville Chapter, Significant Sig Award. 1999
2919 Justice Peace & Social Harmony Award. 1999
2920 Dr. Spock Peacemaker Award. 2001
2921 Baha'i Community of Jacksonville Unity in Diversity Award. 2002
301 Florida Literary Landmark for Beluthahatchee (Woody Guthrie). 2003
302 Society of Professional Jounalists, Fellow. 2003
303 Jacksonville Urban League Clanzel T. Brown Award. 2003
304 South Florida Folk Festival Historic Floridian Award. 2004
305 Will McLean Music Festival honoree. 2004
306 St. Johns County Library, Friend of the Year. 2004
307 University of North Florida honoree. 2005
308 Florida Artists Hall of Fame. 2005
309 Stetson Kennedy Day, St. Johns County. 2005
3010 Jacksonville Public Library Lifetime Achievement. 2006
3011 Gandi, King, Ikeda Award. 2006
3012 National New Deal Preservation Assoc., certificate of appreciation. 2006
3013 People of Vision Award. 2006
3014 Character Builder Award. 2007
3015 Florida Heritage Book Festival, Literary Legend honoree. 2008
3016 Florida Historical Society Charlton Tebeau Award. 2009
3017 Alfred J. Hanna Award. 2010
3018 Citizen Service above Self Award. 2010
3019 Florida Historical Society Dorothy Dodd Lifetime Achievement Award. 2010
3020 Oral History Association Vox Populi Award. 2010-2012
3021 Fellow Man and Mother Earth Awards.
3022 Award Nominations.
3023 Photographs.



Series 6. Events.



Box Folder
311 Big Party at the Lincoln's. 1947
312 Pine Castle Center of the Arts. 1984
313 Florida Endowment for the Humanities. 1985
314 Rediscovering the WPA and Federal Writers' Project. 1986
315 Southern Historical Association. 1986
316 Southern Regional Conference of State Humanities Councils. 1987
317 Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society. 1989
318 Zora in Florida Conference. 1989
319 Zora Neale Hurston Festival. 1990
3110 Florida Community College at Jacksonville. 1990
3111 Florida Historical Society. 1990
3112 Tri-State Historical Societies Meeting. 1990
3113 Zora Neale Hurston Festival. 1991
3114 Florida Folklore Society. 1991
3115 Florida A&M University. 1991
3116 American Folklore Society. 1992
3117 University of Miami, Freedom Fighters. 1992
3118 University of North Florida, English Graduate Org.. 1993
3119 Jacksonville Public Library. 1993
3120 Miami Book Fair. 1993
3121 North Brevard Public Library. 1994
3122 Southern American Studies Assoc.. 1994
3123 Florida Historical Society. 1994
3124 Library of Congress. 1994
3125 Florida First Coast Writers Festival. 1995
3126 Southern Festival of Books. 1995
3127 Miami Book Fair. 1995
321 Art Deco Festival. 1996
322 Riverside Readers and Writers Festival. 1996
323 Miami Book Fair. 1996
324 Writers for Wallace. 1998
325 Florida Oral History Assoc.. 1998
326 A New Southern Agenda. 1998
327 Florida Folk Festival. 1999
328 International Folk Alliance Conference. 2002
329 Florida Coalition for Peace and Justice. 2002
3210 Florida Theater Beluthahatchee Celebration. 2003
3211 Society of Professional Journalism. 2003
3212 South Florida Folk Festival. 2004
3213 Bartram Trail High School. 2004
3214 Will McLean Music Festival. 2004
3215 Florida Literary Association Historical Marker, Beluthahatchee. 2004
3216 University of South Florida Civil Rights Conference. 2004
3217 88th Birthday Celebration. 2004
3218 Fellow Man and Mother Earth Festival. 2004
3219 Pinellas Folk Festival. 2005
3220 Port St. Lucie African American Literary Group. 2005
3221 American Folklife Center, Library of Congress. 2005
3222 Civic Media Center and Matheson Museum, 89th Birthday. 2005
3223 Stetson Kennedy Foundation. 2006
3224 Much Ado About Books. 2006
3225 Tallahassee Museum of History, Bus Boycott Anniversary. 2006
3226 Oral History Assoc.. 2006
3227 North Carolina Museum of History. 2006
3228 Friends of the Yulee Branch Library. 2007
3229 University of North Florida Peace Awareness Week. 2007
3230 91st Birthday Celebration. 2007
3231 National League of American Pen Women. 2007
331 Coming Together, St. Augustine. 2008
332 Marjorie Kinnan Rawling Commemorative Stamp. 2008
333 Moore Heritage Festival of the Arts. 2008
334 Library of Congress. 2008
335 National New Deal Preservation Assoc.. 2008
336 Rollins College. 2008
337 Florida Center for Teachers. 2008
338 Florida Heritage Book Festival. 2008
339 Oral History Assoc.. 2008
3310 Miami Book Fair. 2008
3311 Florida Humanities Council. 2008
3312 St. Lucie Cultural Affairs Council. 2009
3313 Florida Historical Society. 2009
3314 Florida Heritage Book Festival. 2009
3315 Civic Media Center, 93rd Birthday. 2009
3316 St. Augustine Beach. 2009
3317 Northwest Arts Advocacy, St. Johns Co.. 2009
3318 Southern Exposure Music and Heritage Festival. 2010
3319 Romanza. 2010
3320 Southeastern Branch Library, St. Augustine. 2010
3321 Florida Historical Society. 2010
3322 Jacksonville NAACP. 2010
3323 Florida Heritage Book Festival. 2010
3324 Civic Media Center, Soul of a People. 2010
3325 Oral History Assoc.. 2010
3326 Miami Book Fair. 2010
3327 Flagler College, Soul of a People. 2010
3328 Amelia Island Book Festival. 2011
3329 Florida Historical Society. 2011
3330 Florida Heritage Book Festival. 2011
3331 Southern Labor Studies Conference. 2011
3332 Grandparents for Peace.
3333 Civil Rights Movement in Florida.
3334 Other events.
341 1940s.
342 1970s-1980s.
343 1990s.
344 2000-2003.
345 2004.
346 2005-2006.
347 2007.
348 2008-2009.
349 2009.
3410 2010.
3411 2011.
3412 Events, Related to.
3413 Undated events.



Series 7. Major and Minor Works.



Box
35 The Florida Slave.
36 The Florida Slave.
37 Grits and Grunts.
38 Grits and Grunts.
39 Grits and Grunts.



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

African Americans -- Civil rights.
Authors, American.
Civil rights movements.
Florida.
Folklore
Kennedy, Stetson, 1916-2011.
Ku Klux Klan (1915-)




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page