Skip to Search





A Guide to the Irgang-Entenberg-Kushner Family Collection

Finding aid created by Katalin Franciska Rac

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

October 2016



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Kushner, Molly, 1948-
Title: Irgang-Entenberg-Kushner Family Collection
Dates: 1926-1969
Abstract: This collection contains the Irgang family's documents dated prior to their immigration to the U.S., documents that record their desire for naturalization, and other correspondence testifying to their efforts to gain ownership and compensation for property left behind in their native Jaroslaw, Poland.
Extent: .21 Linear feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MSS 0370
Language(s): Includes materials written in English, Polish, Yiddish, Hebrew
Access: Researchers should consult with Special Collections staff before using the collection because there are access restrictions. See the Access note for more information.

Biographical/Historical Note

Hersh Wolf Irgang (Americanized as Bill Irgang) and Sura (née Entenberg) Irgang (Americanized as Sally Irgang) lived in Jaroslaw, Poland before World War II. Bill was a butcher. In 1940 they were deported to the Soviet Union for forced labor and were released in 1946. Their son Modke was born in the Soviet Union in 1944. After their release, Bill - and probably Sally and Modke - registered as stateless persons in DP Camp Hirshberg. From there they transferred to DP Camp Wels in 1947. Molly Kushner (nee Malka Irgang) was born there in 1948. They remained in Camp Wels until 1951 when they were permitted to immigrate to the United States. Sura's sister Ida, and her other family member Josef Entenberg also immigrated to the U.S. after the War. Family members awaited them in the U.S.

After the Claim Agreement between the U.S. and Poland was signed (1960), Bill, Sally, and Ida filed a claim for their lost property in Jaroslaw. Although they could not convincingly prove ownership to some of their property, they learned that they still had land to their names that they could sell. Ida died while the claim was being processed.


Scope and Content

This collection contains personal papers, documents, a photograph of Bill Irgang, and correspondence. Included are identificaiton documents, a passport, a license for a butcher shop, official certifications from Jaroslaw, Poland issued to Wolf Irgang, his family, and Sura Entenberg; records from DP Camp Wels, their Declaration of Intention to immigrate to the U.S. by Bill Irgang, Sally Irgang, and Ida Entenberg, and correspondence with the Foreign Claims Settlement Commission of the United States and lawyer Irwin Heimowitz about the Irgangs' property claim. Attached are also a letter from Jaroslaw and copy of a municipal registry entry from the Polish State Archive. Finally, there is a letter from the Rabbi Lubavitch to Ceil Kushner.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged in chronological order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Due to possible privacy concerns with this collection, researchers should consult with Dr. Rebecca Jefferson, Head of the Price Library of Judaica (352-273-2650), to access the records. The collection includes one envelop with restricted material.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Irgang-Entenberg-Kushner Family Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection is a donation of Molly Kushner, daughter of the late Bill and Sally Irgang.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Official documents (IDs, passport), photograph of Wolf (Bill) Irgang, license and other official documents issued in Poland Jaroslaw, reports from DP Camp Wels, Austria, declaration of intention to US authorities, correspondence about reclaiming lost property, letter to the Rabbi Lubavitch, copies of official documents and registry in Polish National Archive 1926, 1929, 1936-1937, 1943, 1945-1946, 1951-1952, 1964, 1966, 1969, undated
12 Restricted material 1946, undated
13 Prayer book undated

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Holocaust survivors
Jews, Polish
Jews--Migrations
Poland--Jaroslaw
Property insurance claims




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page