Skip to Search





A Guide to the Marianne Hauser Papers

Finding aid created by Katherine Walters

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

September 2007



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Hauser, Marianne
Title: Marianne Hauser Papers
Dates: 1929-2005
Abstract: Edits, drafts, and manuscripts of Hauser's novels, short stories, and journal articles. Also includes related correspondence and research, as well as personal correspondence and photos from several trips.
Extent: 11.6 Linear feet. 20 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 230
Language(s): Materials are written in English and German.
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Marianne Hauser was born in Strasbourg, Alsace, on December 11, 1910. She graduated from the University of Berlin in 1931 and from Sorbonne in 1934. In 1937 Hauser moved to New York City, and she became a U.S. citizen in 1944. She was fluent in French, German, and English. She worked as a literary critic for the Saturday Review of Literature, the New Republic, the New York Times, the New York Herald Tribune, and the Sewanee Review. She also was a columnist for Swiss and French periodicals and newspapers, which allowed her to travel throughout North Africa, India, China, Japan, and Hawaii from 1931-1939. She taught at Queens College in New York City from 1966-1978 and at New York University in 1979.

She wrote several short stories that were published in various magazines, and put together a collection of her short stories titled A Lesson in Music (1964). Hauser also wrote several novels: Monique (1934), Shadow Play in India (1934), Dark Dominion (1947), The Choir Invisible (1958), Prince Ishmael (1963), The Talking Room (1976), The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley (1986), Me and My Mom (1993), and Shootout with Father (1998). Her last book was a children's book dedicated to her granddaughter Nell Charley titled Little Buttercup, the Happiest Bear in the World (2003). The main themes in her fiction concerned shifting realities and turning the familiar strange.

She was married to orchestra conductor Frederic Kirchberger and lived with him in Kirksville, Missouri. They had a son named Michael. The two divorced and Hauser returned to New York City. Affectionately known to her friends as "bear," Hauser kept close relationships even while she traveled throughout the world. She died at age 93, in June 2006.


Scope and Content

The collection spans from 1933 to 2005, but many of the manuscripts and drafts are undated. Edited typescripts of her short stories and novels make up the majority of the collection. Reviews and correspondence are grouped with the relative works. In addition, there are published copies of Little Buttercup and her published short stories that appeared in Harper's Bazaar and Mademoiselle. Among the unpublished works are three plays in their entirety and several short stories. Two published books have been removed from the collection and are stored with the University of Florida's Rare Books. They include Indisches Gaufelspiel by Marianne Hauser (written in German) published in 1937 and Kaspar Hauser by Herman Bies (written in German) published in 1925. The Kaspar Hauser book has been heavily annotated by Marianne Hauser in English and was signed and dated by her in 1929. Her notes reveal early ideas for her book Prince Ishmael.

Her personal correspondence mostly includes letters from other writers and is separated from her business correspondence. Hauser's unfinished works, fragments, notes, and news clippings are grouped together. Most are basic outlines of story ideas and are untitled. There are also some character sketches. The news clippings appear to be mostly for story ideas, but some were saved because they were of general interest to Hauser.

An interesting aspect of the collection is Hauser's travel photos. In the late 1930s she traveled as a journalist to North Africa, India, China, Japan, and Hawaii. Her photos and negatives, along with the articles she wrote (in German) are organized by location as much as possible. In the late 1960s she traveled to Mexico and the Yucatan, and those photos are also included.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Two books have been removed from the collection and are stored with the University of Florida's Rare Books. They include Indisches Gaufelspiel by Marianne Hauser (written in German) published in 1937 and Kaspar Hauser by Herman Bies (written in German with notes by Marianne Hauser in English) published in 1925.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Marianne Hauser Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The bulk of this collection was donated by Hauser's son, Michael Kirchberger in 2006 and 2017. Some material was donated in 2012 by Stanley Clifford, including presentation copies of some of her books.

Processing Notes

Additional accession added to the collection and finding aid updated in March 2018.


Contents List

Novels, Short Fiction, Drama, and Other Writings.



Box
1 Articles - "Literature of Our Times," "Alive S. Morris," and "What Does the Weasel Think?". 1970-2004
1 Autobiographical statement - Ford Foundation Program Application. 1963
1 Autobiography- First Draft and Notes.
1 Autobiography- Rough Draft and "Discarded Pages of Last Draft" Sent from New York. 1987
1 "Marianne Hauser: About My Life So Far"- Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series, Volume 11 - Final Article. 1990
1 "Marianne Hauser: About My Life So Far"- Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series, Volume 11 - Draft. 1989
1 Essay- Old Enough to Know Better, old version. 2002
1 Old Enough to Know Better. circa 2002
1 Old Enough to Know Better - Notes on Being Old. circa 2002
1 Oldness Demystified- First Draft of Chapter Submitted for a Book on Psychiatrists aging, edited by George Pollock, M. D.. 1989 December
1 Prose- In Praise of Dlo Ega (old age).
1 Big Fish (Prince Ishmael) Complete Manuscript.
1 Big Fish (Prince Ishmael) Fragments/Corrections.
1 Prince Ishmael- Advertisement in Michael Joseph Books. 1964
1 Prince Ishmael Book Jacket - Stein and Day Publishers.
1 Prince Ishmael- Correspondence about Renewing Copyright (Curtis Brown, Ltd.). 1991
1 Prince Ishmael Correspondence. 1964-1965, 1989
1 Prince Ishmael- Edited drafts and Fragments.
1 Darling of the Spirit World (Prince Ishmael) in Bazaar. 1952 December
1 Darling of the Spirit World (Prince Ishmael) in Bazaar- Typescript and Purchasing Agreement. 1952 June 9
1 Prince Ishmael- Foreign Interest. 1964-1965
1 Prince Ishmael- Fragments.
1 My Feathered Love (Prince Ishmael) in Bazaar. 1963 August
1 My Feathered Love typescript.
1 Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 1-100/ Prince Ishmael.
1 Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 101-200/ Prince Ishmael.
1 Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 201-300/ Prince Ishmael.
2 Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 301-400/ Prince Ishmael.
2 Manuscripts: The Big Fish, pp. 401-430/ Prince Ishmael.
2 The Big Fish/ Prince Ishmael- Edited Typescript (1 of 2).
2 The Big Fish/ Prince Ishmael- Edited Typescript (2 of 2).
2 Prince Ishmael- Edited Typescript (1 of 2).
2 Prince Ishmael- Edited Typescript (2 of 2).
2 Prince Ishmael- Edited Typescript - Second Draft (1 of 2).
2 Prince Ishmael- Edited Typescript - Second Draft (2 of 2).
3 Prince Ishmael (The Foundling)- Preliminary Notes.
3 Prince Ishmael- Notes (See Also Notes Written in Kaspar Hauser by Herman Bies - Housed with UF Rare Books) German and English. 1957-1985
3 Prince Ishmael- Publishing Agreement (Sun and Moon Press). 1984
3 Reviews of Prince Ishmael (Previously Titled Big Fish). 1963-1964
3 Prince Ishmael- Transcript.
3 The Wounded Rose (Prince Ishmael) in Bazaar. 1960 March
3 The Talking Room- Book Jacket (Fiction Collective, New York).
3 The Talking Room- Corrections.
3 The Talking Room- Correspondence. 1972-1976
3 The Crazy Flick (Princess)- Relates to The Talking Room.
3 The Talking Room- Cuts and Notes (Folder 1 of 2).
3 The Talking Room- Cuts and Notes (Folder 2 of 2).
3 The Talking Room- Draft.
3 The Talking Room- Excerpts.
3 The Talking Room- First Draft.
3 The Talking Room- Galleys.
3 The Talking Room- Galleys.
3 The Talking Room- Galleys.
4 The Talking Room- Notes/Ideas and Typescript.
4 The Talking Room- Reviews. 1974-1979
4 The Polish Rider- Typed Draft - "First Serious Attempt at a Story in English". circa 1938
4 Dark Dominion (Novel)- Edited Typescript (1 of 2).
4 Dark Dominion (Novel)- Edited Typescript (2 of 2).
4 Dark Dominion (Novel)- Reviews. 1946-1947
4 Dark Dominion (Novel)- Correspondence. 1946-1948
4 Dark Dominion (Novel)- Book Jacket.
4 Ashes: A Fragment from a Novel in the Making- Edited Manuscript (Folder 1 of 3), Published Title: The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley.
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley (Ashes)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 2 of 3).
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley (Ashes)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 3 of 3).
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Beginning Draft.
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Class Papers. 1989
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Correspondence. 1986
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Correspondence Concerning German Translation. 1989-1992
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- "First Attempt at Ashley".
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- German Reviews. 1992-1993
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Invitation to a Party Celebrating the Release of the Novel. 1986 November 16
4 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Newspaper Advertisements.
4 Manuscripts: Book Inserts (The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley).
4 Manuscripts: Correspondence (The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley). 1980-1981
5 The Memoirs of the Late Mr. Ashley- Reviews. 1986-1987
5 Bertram's Armory (Shootout with Father)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 1 of 4).
5 Bertram's Armory (Shootout with Father)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 2 of 4).
5 Bertram's Armory (Shootout with Father)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 3 of 4).
5 Bertram's Armory (Shootout with Father)- Edited Manuscript (Folder 4 of 4).
5 Certain Mysteries Concerning Father (Shootout With Father)- Edited Draft.
5 Certain Mysteries Concerning Father (Shootout With Father)- Excerpt From a Novel in the Works.
5 Shootout with Father- Corrected Manuscript.
5 Shootout with Father- Correspondence. 2005
5 Shootout with Father- Edited Draft.
5 Shootout with Father- Edited Draft (Illinois State University). 2002
5 Shootout with Father- Reviews. 2002-2003
5 Little Buttercup (Children's book) Published as: Little Buttercup, the Happiest Bear in the World.
5 Little Buttercup- Early Draft, not complete.
5 Little Buttercup- Early Version in Progress.
5 Little Buttercup- Old Version.
5 Little Buttercup- Original Version.
5 Little Buttercup- Original Version.
5 Little Buttercup- Revised Pages.
5 Little Buttercup- Proofs. circa 2003
5 Little Buttercup- Photos for Book. circa 2003
5 Little Buttercup, Two Published Copies. 2003
5 Me and My Mom- Correspondence.
6 Me and My Mom- Correspondence. 1993-1995
6 Me and My Mom- Draft for WordPerfect 5.1 (5.25" Floppy Disk).
6 Me and My Mom- Final Draft. 1992 March 18
6 Me and My Mom- First Draft.
6 Me and My Mom- First Draft.
6 Me and My Mom- Manuscript. 1992
6 Me and My Mom- Notes and Research (Newsclippings). 1991
6 Me and My Mom- Reviews. 1993-1994
6 Me and My Mom- Rough Draft.
6 Me and My Mom- Rough Draft.
6 Me and My Mom- Rough Draft.
6 Me and My Mom- Rough Draft. 1995
6 Me and My Mom- Sociology Class Papers (Richard Voorhees). 1994
6 The Cruel Brother in Mademoiselle. 1945 October
6 Allegro Moderato (A Lesson in Music), Published as A Lesson in Music in an Anthology of the Same Name.
6 A Lesson in Music- Edited Typescript.
6 A Lesson in Music- Galley Proofs.
6 A Lesson in Music- Galley Proofs.
7 A Lesson in Music- The Abduction- several drafts (also titled The Rescue and The Flight).
7 A Lesson in Music- "Allons Enfants"- Corrected Manuscript.
7 Allons Enfants in Bazaar. 1962 August
7 A Lesson in Music- "Allons Enfants"- Original Typescript.
7 A Lesson in Music- Book Jacket (University of Texas Press).
7 A Lesson in Music (Short Story Collection)- Correspondence. 1964
7 A Lesson in Music- Correspondence with Publishers. 1963-1964
7 A Lesson in Music- Correspondence with Publishers (Curtis and Texas). 1964
7 A Lesson in Music- Correspondence with University of Texas Press. 1963-1967
7 A Lesson in Music- Dreaming Poseidon- Edited Manuscript (Also Titled: Heaven 2, Pictures in an Exhibition).
7 A Lesson in Music- Dreaming Poseidon- Edited Manuscript (Also Titled: Heaven 2, Pictures in an Exhibition) Final Title: Dreaming Poseidon.
7 The Dreaming Poseidon in Bazaar. 1961 September
7 A Lesson in Music- Dreaming Poseidon, Outline/Notes.
7 A Lesson in Music- Drowning Poseidon- Fragments.
7 A Lesson in Music in Bazaar. 1946 May
7 A Lesson in Music- "The Island" (Kingdom Island).
7 A Lesson in Music (Kingdom Island)- Edited Draft.
7 My Friend the Greek (Play Based on "Sheep" a Short Story in a Lesson in Music- Edited Manuscript) (Folder 1 of 3).
7 My Friend the Greek (Play Based on "Sheep" a Short Story in a Lesson in Music- Edited Manuscript) (Folder 2 of 3).
7 My Friend the Greek (Play Based on "Sheep" a Short Story in a Lesson in Music- Edited Manuscript) (Folder 3 of 3).
7 A Lesson in Music- "One Last Drop for Poor Abu" Manuscript.
7 A Lesson in Music- One Last Drop for Poor Abu (Final Title) First Drafts- The Night the World Came to an End, Again.
7 A Lesson in Music (Short Story Collection)- Reviews. 1964
7 A Lesson in Music- "The Sheep" Manuscript.
7 The Sheep in Bazaar. 1945 May
7 A Lesson in Music- Synopses, Jacket Blurb, Analysis. 1963, 1975
7 Alien but not Alienated- Typescript.
7 Anais Nin: Myth and Reality. 1968
7 Art Adventure in Yugoslavia in Clipper. 1965 July-August
7 Attachment in Greece- Notes and Manuscript. 1953
7 Birthday Party for a Dog- Edited Typescript.
7 Book Review by Hauser- The Time of Our Lives: Women Write on Sex After 40 - Edited by Dena Taylor and Amber Coverdale Sumrall - Typed Draft and Newspaper.
8 Book Reviews by Hauser (New York Times, Tribune, New Republic). 1940-1944
8 Book Review in Sewanne Review, Spring 1946. 1946
8 The Colonel's Daughter - The Tiger's Eye. 1948 March
8 A Commencement Speech Which Was Never Finished.
8 Clippings of Hauser's Work in German Newspapers (originally organized in scrapbooks). 1933-1939
8 Clippings of Hauser's Work in German Newspapers (originally organized in scrapbooks). 1934-1936
8 Clippings of Hauser's Work in German Newspapers (originally organized in scrapbooks). 1936-1937
8 Dad and His Dog- Notes and Typescript.
8 Dancing Through the Abstract.
8 Das Glück des Schauspielers Lin Yuan-Ning- Story/Article in Fortsetzung (in German).
8 The Doctor is Out- One Act Play- First Draft.
8 Draft of Stories with Miss Violet Character- eventually titled Conflict of Legalities.
8 Dream of the Dead- Edited Draft and Material Related to Ruth Stephan.
8 Dream of the Dead- Short Story Fragments.
8 The Dry Lake- Short Story Typescript.
8 Early Stories about the Late 1930's (and Hauser's travels). circa 1940s
8 The Feathered Wing- Play Typescript.
8 German Manuscripts- Aegeisches Wunder and Ein Kind aus Brindisi.
8 German Manuscript- Hauser's Article or Short Story in Magazine.
8 German Manuscripts- Several Shorts Stories or Articles Grouped Together.
8 German Manuscript- Untitled Novel, Published by Curtis Brown Ltd.
8 Here Mirabeau Stammered- Edited Manuscript/Notes.
8 The Indomitable Spirit of Alsace- Magazine Article, Travel Section.
8 Jack in the Clouds- Short Story Typescript.
8 Laurel Speer Poems- Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series.
8 The Lion- Play Typescript.
8 Literary Reflections- "New Charity" and Cruise ships.
8 Literary Snapshots.
8 Lizelle- Short Story Typescript.
9 Magnum Opus- Short Story/Snapshot Typescript.
9 Man and Dog- Fragments.
9 Medieval Frescoes from Yugoslavia Take to the Road- Original Version.
9 New York ist ganz anders- (New York is Very Different" - Typescript Draft (written in German).
9 A Successful Small Home that Suits its Environment- Magazine Article in Arts and Decoration.
9 Lin Yhan Ning- Story/Article in Schweizer (in German) (nr. 47).
9 Literary Cross Dressing in AWP Chronicle (volume 22, number 5). 1990 March-April
9 Literary Cross Dressing - Typed Draft. 1989
9 The Long and the Short- A Fable- Completed Typescript.
9 The Long and the Short- A Fable- Edited Typescript Draft. 1992
9 Marrakesh: Descent into Spring in Bazaar. 1966 May
9 Mentioned in The Nation - Heaven 2. 1987
9 Mimoun of the Mellah in Bazaar. 1966 December
9 Nicola- A Novel, Typescript and Notes on Plot and Characters.
9 Poetry by Hauser.
9 The Province Between- Novel- Notes and Typescript for Part II.
9 The Rape of Mimi - Draft, Poem, Correspondence, and other material. 1983, 1988
9 Recollections of Dreams (Journal Pages). 1970
9 Recollections of Dreams, Some Short Pieces about Dreams. 1967-1985
9 Reise- Nachdenklichkeiten- Article for Sie Und Er (in German). 1936
9 Reisende ohne Gepück by Barbara Basting (German Article with Picture of Marianne Hauser) in du. 1944 April
9 The Rubber Doll in Mademoiselle. 1951 June
9 Ruth As I See Her - Article and Other Material Concerning Artist Ruth Vollmer.
9 The Seersucker Suite- Short Story Typescript.
9 The Separatist in German Magazine du with English Translation. 1996 December
9 The Separatist- Edited Manuscript.
9 The Separatist- Edited Manuscript.
9 Story Outlines/Notes. circa 1981
9 Street Scenes- Short Snapshots.
9 Swan Song of the Middle Ages- Magazine Article in Jones Farley.
9 Swiss Afternoon- Poem- Several Drafts.
9 Taxi Drivers in New York are Often Kind- Short Story Typescript.
9 The Title- Several Beginning Drafts.
9 Thoughts on the Diary of Anais Nin - Journal of the Otto Rank Association. 1970 June
9 "To Be or Not: 4 Opinions on Henry Miller's 'The Smile at the Foot of the Ladder'" - The Tiger's Eye. 1948 October
9 The Top of the Heap and Interview with Myself (Personal Musings).
9 The Traveling Yew- Short Story Typescript, also unnamed manuscript that may be related.
9 Two Wives- Short Story Typescript.
9 Unnamed Piece about Travels, Journal-Style.
9 Unnamed Short Story. 1968
10 My Uncle's Magic Tube (machine) (Short Story).
10 My Uncle's Magic Machine (Short Story).
10 Vanishing Lake Typescript.
10 Vanishing Lake- Short Story Typescript- also Clippings and Notes.
10 View of a French Villa- Short Snapshot.
10 Waxen Apples- Beginning, First Drafts.
10 Weeds- Short Story Typescript.
10 Why Did They Shoot Daddy?- Typescript.
10 Widower- Short Story Typescript.
10 The Windows of St. Vulgis- Notes and Materials. 1953
10 Wisdom's House (The Living Shall Praise Thee, Choir Invisible) in Bazaar.
10 With Apologies to Andrea Dworkin- Poem.
10 Work Project in Creative Writing.
10 The Writer in America Today- Short Piece (Possible Speech).
10 The Living Shall Praise Thee (Choir Invisible) in Bazaar. 1955 February
10 The Living Shall Praise Thee (Choir Invisible)- Uncorrected. 1956
10 The Choir Invisible (McDowell/Obolensky)/ The Living Shall Praise Thee (Gollancz) Book Jackets.
10 The Choir Invisible- Copyright Materials. 1984
10 The Choir Invisible/ The Living Shall Praise Thee- Edited Typescript (1 of 2).
10 The Choir Invisible/ The Living Shall Praise Thee- Edited Typescript (2 of 2).
10 The Choir Invisible/ The Living Shall Praise Thee- Edited Typescript (1 of 2).
10 The Choir Invisible/ The Living Shall Praise Thee- Edited Typescript (2 of 2).
11 The Choir Invisible/ The Living Shall Praise Thee- Correspondence. 1957
11 The Choir Invisible (and Dark Dominion)- Correspondence About Swedish Interest. 1964
11 The Choir Invisible/ The Living Shall Praise Thee- Reviews. 1957-1958
11 Gertrude Recycled- Attempts and Notes (Face in the Mirror).
11 Gertrude Recycled- First Attempts (I Paint My Life Across the Mirror, Portrait of An Ageless Lady).
11 Manuscripts: Related to "I Paint My Life Across the Mirror"/ Gertrude Recycled.
11 Gertrude Recycled- Typescripts and Corrections.
11 Gertrude Recycled- Typescripts and Corrections.
11 Gertrude Recycled- Typescripts (I Paint My Face Across a Mirror).
11 Gertrude Recycled- Typescripts and Corrections (I Paint My Face Across a Mirror).
11 Dog and Governor (Birthday Party to a Dog)- Notes and First Attempts (Written same time as Gertrude Recycled).
11 It Isn't So Bad that it Couldn't Be Worse (Short, Galley) (Written same time as Gertrude Recycled).
11 Heartlands- Final Copies.
11 Heartlands- First Drafts.
11 A Multiple View of Toledo (Heartlands).
11 The Missing Page- Draft/Ideas.
11 The Missing Page- Folder 1 (Drafts).
11 The Missing Page, Folder 2 (Typescript).
11 The Missing Page, Folder 3 (Typescript).
11 Nanine- Fragments/ Excerpts (The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief).
11 Nanine- Pages 1-100, Folder 1, (The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief).
11 Nanine- Pages 101-102, Folder 2, (The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief).
11 Nanine- "Reflections on a Story and Why I Should Get it Done" (The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief- Alternate Title).
11 Nanine- Various Manuscript/ Edits (also called The Secret Was a Mended Handkerchief).
12 Enclosed Book- Green Apples for Hermes- A Comedy by Marianne Hauser.
12 Green Apples for Hermes (Play)- Complete Typescript.
12 Green Apples for Hermes (Play)- Scenes 1 and 2.
12 Green Apples for Hermes (Play)- Scenes 3 and 4.
12 Untitled/Unidentified Manuscript.
12 Untitled/Unidentified Play, Act 1.
12 Untitled/Unidentified Play, Act 2.
12 Untitled/Unidentified Play, Act 3.
12 The Waiting Room- Drafts.
12 The Waiting Room- Drafts.
12 The Waiting Room- Drafts.
12 The Waiting Room- Final.
13 The Waiting Room- Manuscript.
13 The Waiting Room- Typescript.
13 Nine 5.25 inch Floppy Disks - FB Full BU C: Volumes 1-9.



Correspondence.



Box
13 Correspondence-Business- Raymond Federman, Alice S. Morris, Gene Baro, friends, Universities and Magazines, Folder 1 of 2. 1960-1987
13 Correspondence-Business- Raymond Federman, Alice S. Morris, Gene Baro, friends, Universities and Magazines, Folder 2 of 2. 1960-1987
13 Correspondence-Business- Curtis Brown, Ltd.. 1963-1967, 1996
13 Correspondence-Business- Ed Cardoni-Hallwalls. 1985-1986
13 Correspondence-Personal - Eva Persaki (Painter). 1947-1972
13 Correspondence-Business- Federman Casebook. 1996
13 Correspondence-Business- Gorelink-City Magazine.
13 Correspondence-Business- Invitations/Pamphlets. 1994-1995
13 Correspondence-Business- National Endowment for the Arts. 1977
13 Correspondence-Business- New York Times Bestseller and Queens College, Folder 1 of 2. 1940-1973
13 Correspondence-Business- New York Times Bestseller and Queens College, Folder 2 of 2. 1940-1973
14 Correspondence-Business- Publishers, Magazines, Agents, Universities. 1945-1970
14 Correspondence-Business- Requested Interviews. 1992, 2004
14 Correspondence-Business- The Harvard Advocate. 1972
14 Correspondence-Business- William Kienbusch, friends, Publishers, Magazines, Agents, and Universities, Folder 1 of 4. 1941-1991
14 Correspondence-Business- William Kienbusch, friends, Publishers, Magazines, Agents, and Universities, Folder 2 of 4. 1941-1991
14 Correspondence-Business- William Kienbusch, friends, Publishers, Magazines, Agents, and Universities, Folder 3 of 4. 1941-1991
14 Correspondence-Business- William Kienbusch, friends, Publishers, Magazines, Agents, and Universities, Folder 4 of 4. 1941-1991
14 Correspondence-Business- Works/Reprints. 1993
14 Christmas letter from Marrianne Hauser with Postcards. 1994 December
14 German Correspondence- Zinnen Berlag, February 1937. 1937
14 Letter from Marianne Hauser to The Nation concerning her views on a possible Hillary Rodham Clinton/Al Gore ticket. 1996 November 10
14 The Fiction Collective- Reviews, Information, Correspondence. 1983-2002
14 Writers Conferences- Writers Upheaval and Writing Festival. 1976-1978
14 Correspondence-Personal. undated
14 Correspondence-Personal, Folder 1 of 2. 1944-1988
15 Correspondence-Personal, Folder 2 of 2. 1944-1988
15 Correspondence-Personal. 1958-1986
15 Correspondence-Personal. 1993-1999
15 Correspondence-Personal, Folder 1 of 2. 2000-2004
15 Correspondence-Personal, Folder 2 of 2. 2000-2004
15 Correspondence- Personal- Anais Nin. 1963-1975
15 Correspondence-Personal- Artist friends. 1942-1976
15 Correspondence-Personal- Marguerite Young, Folder 1 of 3. 1938-1965
16 Correspondence-Personal- Marguerite Young, Folder 2 of 3. 1938-1965
16 Correspondence-Personal- Marguerite Young, Folder 3 of 3. 1938-1965
16 Correspondence-Personal- Medical. 1966, 1994-2005
16 Correspondence-Personal- Stanley Clifford [Gift of addressee]. 1980-1981
16 Correspondence-Personal- Frederic Kirchberger (husband) to Marianne Hauser, Folder 1 of 3. 1942-1956
16 Correspondence-Personal- Frederic Kirchberger (husband) to Marianne Hauser, Folder 2 of 3. 1942-1956
16 Correspondence-Personal- Frederic Kirchberger (husband) to Marianne Hauser, Folder 3 of 3. 1942-1956
16 Correspondence-Personal- To Frederic Kirchberger (husband) and Marianne Hauser (from friends and family). 1944-1969
16 Correspondence-Personal- Frederic Kirchberger (husband). 1953
17 Correspondence-Personal- Marianne Hauser to Frederic Kirchenberger (husband), Folder 1 of 2. 1941-1948
17 Correspondence-Personal- Marianne Hauser to Frederic Kirchenberger (husband), Folder 2 of 2. 1941-1948
17 Correspondence-Personal- Rachel (close friend).
17 Correspondence-Personal- Ruth Stephan, Mari Sandoz, Eudora Welty, and Friends. 1940-1975
17 Correspondence-Personal- Raymond Federman (friend, fellow writer). circa 1996-1997
17 Correspondence-Personal- William Kienbusch, Folder 1 of 3. 1952-1979
17 Correspondence-Personal- William Kienbusch, Folder 2 of 3. 1952-1979
18 Correspondence-Personal- William Kienbusch, Folder 3 of 3. 1952-1979
18 Personal- Poetry- Lee Vassel/Leo Tallawah (students at Queens College). circa 1973



Notes, News Clippings and Writing Fragments.



Box
18 Art of Petlorie- Unfinished.
18 Essays/Articles not written by Hauser.
18 Fragments and Notes for a piece based in Alsace.
18 Fragments and Notes on story about bag ladies.
18 Fragments and Notes on Character Development, Plots.
18 Fragments and Notes on a piece, possibly titled Milova.
18 Fragments and Notes on Stories. circa 1989-1990
18 Fragments and Snapshots, Various Topics.
18 Fragment from a bombed novel while in Kirksville, MO.
18 Hauser's Resume, List of Publications.
18 Homan Boman- Unfinished.
18 Illustrations, drawings, images.
18 Interview with Hauser for Dreamworks, November 4, 1982. 1982
18 Invitations and Pamphlets. 1994-1995
18 Journal/diary and writing fragments. 1968-1975
18 Memoirs - In envelope from Theodore Harris, Attorney (not written by Hauser). 1979
18 Newsclippings- the Caribbean. 1973, 1976
18 Newsclippings- Dogs. 1973
18 Newsclippings- mostly feminism, civil rights, worker's rights. 1982-1995
18 Newsclippings- Genetics and Science. circa 1971
18 Newsclippings- various, grouped together by Hauser. 1977-1980
18 Newsclippings, various, possible story ideas. 1938-1996
18 Newsclippings- World War II. 1940-1941
19 Notes and Dreams grouped together by Hauset. 1974-1976
19 Notes, Ideas, some fragments (German and English).
19 Notes, possible story ideas.
19 Notes/Snapshots, Various Topics.
19 Outline for Untitled Film Script.
19 Outstanding Writers of the 20th Century - Personal Biography Questionnaire. 2000 April 28
19 Poems and other writing fragments by Marianne Hauser.
19 Review- The Two-Fold Vibration. 2000
19 Sun/Willow Dance for Mari Sandoz - Poem by Michael Kirchberger. 1967
19 Untitled, pieces about being old. circa 2003
19 Unfinished Stories about Eight Journalists.



Photographs and Travel Memorabilia.



Box
19 Photos- Chapelle Saint Vulgis A Mosloy.
19 Photos- From Art Exhibit (labeled in German). circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Grouped Together (captions in German).
19 Photos- Headshot of Hindi, Punjab Male Student in United States.
19 Photos- Honolulu, Hawaii. circa 1936
19 Photos- Labeled by Hauser- Hangtochou. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Labeled by Hauser- Tai-sham. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Labeled by Hauser- Various (separated by city/country). circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Park Hotel- Shanghai. 1936
19 Photos- People (South America and Southwestern United States).
19 Photos- Tarolsu. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- China, Folder 1 of 3. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- China, Folder 2 of 3. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- China, Folder 3 of 3. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- Egypt. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- India. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- India, also postcards. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- "Insel Elephanta". circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- Japan. circa late 1930s
19 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- People (headshots, Middle East and Asia). circa late 1930s
20 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- Various Unidentified Scenes (Middle East and Asia) Folder 1 of 2. circa late 1930s
20 Photos- Trip, late 1930s- Various Unidentified Scenes (Middle East and Asia) Folder 2 of 2. circa late 1930s
20 Photos- Unlabeled, Various Eastern Countries. circa late 1930s
20 Photos- Trip Memorabilia - Japan. circa late 1930s
20 Travel Memorabilia- Postcards. circa late 1930s
20 Travel Article for Sie Und Er- America (Hawaii) (in German). 1936
20 Travel Article for Sie Und Er- America (Native Americans) (in German). 1936
20 Travel Article- China (in German).
20 Travel Article for Sie Und Er- China (in German). 1936
20 Travel Article for Sie Und Er Egypt (in German). 1936
20 Travel Article- Hinterindien (in German). 1936
20 Travel Article- India (in German). 1936
20 Travel Article for Sie Und Er- Japan (in German). 1936
20 Travel Article- Formosa (in German).
20 Travel Article- "Schneizer Gaftlichkeit in Aller Welt" (in German).
20 Travel- Notes on Yucatan. circa 1968
20 Photos- Negatives- America (possibly from late 1930s trip).
20 Photos- Negatives- Paris.
20 Photos- Negatives- Trip, late 1930s, Folder 1 of 2. circa late 1930s
20 Photos- Negatives- Trip, late 1930s, Folder 2 of 2. circa late 1930s
20 Photos- Negatives- Unlabeled (possibly from late 1930s trip).
20 Travel Correspondence- Holiday Cards. 1961-1962
20 Travel Correspondence- Pan American Airways. 1964
20 Travel Memorabilia- Mexico, Zagreb, Yugoslavia, Texas, Elsass. circa 1960-1964
20 Travel Memorabilia- Prints- London, Paris, Egypt, Venezia.
20 Travel Memorabilia- Playbills (New York). circa 1961
20 Photos- Hauser for Aina Balgavis (headshots).
20 Photos- Hauser for Writers Upheaval at College of William and Mary. circa 1978
20 Photos- Nell Charley (Hauser's Granddaughter).



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Women authors, American -- 20th century -- Correspondence.
Women authors, American -- 20th century -- Fiction.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page