Skip to Search





A Guide to the James S. Haskins Papers

Finding aid created by Steve Duckworth

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

August 2015



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Haskins, James, 1941-2005
Title: James S. Haskins Papers
Dates: 1920s-2006
Bulk dates: 1961-2004
Abstract: James Haskins (1941-2005) was a prolific author of more than 100 published books, mostly of African American nonfiction and biography for children and adolescent readers, though he is perhaps most known for his books The Cotton Club and Mr. Bojangles, which each served as inspiration for film adaptations. He was also a Professor of English at the University of Florida and maintained a busy schedule of speaking and lecturing engagements. The James S. Haskins Papers includes both professional and personal records from throughout Haskins's career, which is highlighted in this collection through his essays and speeches, the subject files on Lionel Hampton, the (sometimes still unpublished) works sent to him for help with writing and publishing, and in the treatment of Haskins by others as teacher, mentor, entrepreneur, and friend.
Extent: 31.88 Linear feet. 53 boxes, oversized folders, and framed images.
Identification: MSS 0327
Language(s): English
Access: Researchers should consult with Special Collections staff before using the collection because there are access restrictions. See the Access note for more information.
Location: IMPORTANT: Please note that this collection is partially housed in the Auxiliary Library Facility off campus and will require advance notice for timely retrieval. Please contact the Special and Area Studies Collections department prior to your visit.
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

James Stanley Haskins was born in Demopolis, Alabama on September 19, 1941. His parents, Henry and Julia Brown Haskins, fostered a love of books and reading in their children, a task made more difficult by a segregated South where African Americans were not even allowed in the local public library. Haskins left the area for high school, attending the prestigious Boston Latin School, but returned to Alabama after graduation to attend Alabama State College in Montgomery (now Alabama State University).

During this time, Haskins became involved in the Civil Rights Movement and anti-segregation protests, for which he was expelled from the conservative college. He then enrolled at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology in 1960. He returned to Alabama State, which had become more open to the Movement, to complete a Bachelor of Arts degree in History in 1962. This was followed by the completion of a Master's degree in Social Psychology in 1963 from the University of New Mexico (Albuquerque).

Haskins moved to New York City after graduating and worked at a variety of institutions trying to find his place (the New York Recorder, the Department of Welfare, New York Daily News, and a Wall Street brokerage house), but found them each dissatisfying. He began to teach, travelling among several schools teaching music, and eventually got a position in Special Education at Public School 92 in Harlem. He took notes about his thoughts and feelings, and detailing his innovative solutions for challenging students. Those notes were later published as his first book, Diary of a Harlem School Teacher (1969). After its success, he was asked to write books for children and, recalling his youth where he had nothing to read but the encyclopedias his mother got from the grocery store, Haskins chose to focus on nonfiction works that would speak to children and wrote Resistance: Profiles in Nonviolence (1970). It was the first of many works that would bring the stories of African American history to light for children.

Haskins wrote many biographies for children and adolescents, including ones about Rosa Parks, Langston Hughes, Ralph Bunche, Hank Aaron, Shirley Chisholm, Martin Luther King, Jr., Barbara Jordan, Katherine Dunham, Winnie Mandella, Bayard Rustin, Diana Ross, and many more. Likewise, Haskins also wrote works for adults, many of them also biographies, including those on Scott Joplin, Lena Horne, Bricktop, Dinah Washington, Lionel Hampton, Pinckney Benton Stewart Pinchback, Scatman Crothers, and others. Additionally, he wrote nonfiction that revealed more about black culture and experiences, as well as books on other cultures, in works focusing on black soldiers, explorers, and inventors; African American music, dance, and theater; hoodoo, witchcraft, and mysticism; war and protest; assorted language dictionaries and counting books; religions of the world; and more. He even wrote on subjects as varied as Snow Sculpture and Ice Carving, Teenage Alcoholism, people with disabilities and the Special Olympics, and Werewolves.

Haskins continued teaching throughout his writing career. He was a visiting lecturer at the New School for Social Research (New York City, 1970 to 1972), the State University of New York (New Paltz, 1970 to 1972), Indiana University - Purdue University (Indianapolis, 1973 to 1976), and Manhattanville College (Purchase, N.Y., 1972 to 1976), as well as an associate professor at Staten Island Community College (1970 to 1976). Haskins joined the University of Florida (UF) English Department in 1977 and taught there until his death.

Additionally, Haskins served as a consultant for the Smithsonian's travelling exhibit The Jazz Age in Paris as well as for various other projects. He wrote book reviews for many publications, including FlaVour magazine, the St. Pete Times, Florida Historical Quarterly, and the Gainesville Sun. And he served as a mentor to students and other authors (both aspiring and established), and to business entrepreneurs, especially those in the black community.

Haskins won numerous honors and awards for both writing and teaching, the most notable being the Coretta Scott King Award for The Story of Stevie Wonder (1977), multiple Carter G. Woodson Awards (1988, 1994, 1997, and 2009), and the ASCAP Deems Taylor Award for Scott Joplin: The Man Who Made Ragtime (1979). Two of his books also served as the basis for movie treatments: The Cotton Club and Mr. Bojangles.

Haskins split his time between New York and Florida during his entire tenure at UF. He was married to fellow author and museum specialist Kathleen Benson and had three children, Michael, Elisa Beth, and Margaret Emily (known as M. E.). Haskins died in Manhattan on July 6, 2005.

More information regarding the life and works of James Haskins is available in "Series I. Biographical materials" of this collection. Additionally, a recording of the UF Haskins memorial service is available in UFDC.


Scope and Content

The James S. Haskins Papers dates from the 1920s to 2006, with bulk dates of 1961 to 2004. The papers include both professional and personal papers from throughout Haskins's career as an author, speaker, and teacher. Though most of his book manuscript materials are housed at Boston University (an inventory of which can be found in "Subseries IIc: Correspondence") the highlights of this collection can be seen in Haskins's essays and speeches, the subject files on Lionel Hampton, the (sometimes still unpublished) works sent to Haskins for help with writing and publishing, and in the treatment of Haskins by others as teacher, mentor, entrepreneur, and friend. Additional scope notes are available for each series and subseries in the contents list below.


Arrangement

The collection is organized into four series: "I. Biographical information," "II. Professional papers," "III. Personal papers and correspondence," and "IV. Photographs and scrapbooks."


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Series "III. Personal papers and correspondence" is restricted until 2056 per the donor agreement. For questions regarding access to these papers, please consult with the Literary Collections Archivist.


Related or Separated Material

Much of Haskins's book manuscript material, original correspondence, and interview recordings are housed at Boston University's Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center. More information is available on their website.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the James S. Haskins Papers are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], James S. Haskins Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Processing Notes

A collection of files on assorted digital media have been put aside for later processing. Please consult with the Curator regarding interest in these records.


Contents List

I. Biographical material. 1959-2005 (bulk: 1970-2002)

Series "I. Biographical information" dates from 1959 to 2005, with bulk dates from 1970 to 2002. These records focus on the life and career of James Haskins and provide an overview of everything Haskins has accomplished in his work. The records here include interviews with Haskins (transcripts and published articles), autobiographies and sketches written by Haskins, book lists, curricula vitae, news clippings, and biographies by other authors. A program from the University of Florida memorial service in September of 2005 is filed here (a video recording of the service is available in UFDC). Additionally, high school and college diplomas are located here, along with information related to multiple high school reunions. The records of this series are filed chronologically.



Box Folder
11 U.S. Jones High School diploma. 1959 July
12 Alabama State College Bachelor of Science diploma. 1966 August
13 Employment record correspondence and biographical sketches. 1966-1975, 1981-1982, 1988
14 Assorted curricula vitae. 1970s
15 Assorted biographies, curriculum vitae, and articles on Haskins. 1972, 1988, 2001, undated
16 Interview transcripts. 1973
17 Curriculum vitae. 1975, circa 1992
18 Assorted news articles. 1977-1979
19 High school reunion materials. 1979, 1983, 1989, 1999, 2003
110 Gainesville news articles. 1982, undated
111 Article for "Something About the Author" series by Gale Research, with correspondence and agreement. 1986-1987
112 Biographical entries from Black Writers and Who's Who. 1989, 1993
113 Interview by James V. Hatch transcript (photocopy). circa 1991
114 Assorted biographies, articles, and book lists. 1992, 2000-2003
115 Assorted clippings, biographical items, and reviews. 1996-1997
116 Biographical sketch for Junior DISCovering Authors. 1997 January
117 Gainesville Sun article. 1998 December 2
118 "Conversations with Himself" from FlaVour magazine. 1999
119 Assorted articles, testimony, and book lists. 1999, undated
120 Clearings in the Thicket autobiographical essay manuscript and correspondence. 2000
121 Biographical sketch by Loretta Cobb, with correspondence. 2000-2001
122 Autobiographical sketches, including updates to "Something About the Author" entry. 2001-2004
123 Family birthday list. 2002 March
124 "Look for the obscure": Article in the Star-Banner (Ocala). 2002 June
125 "Meetings with Professor James Haskins" by Todd Turetsky. 2002
126 "Racism's Subtle Side" by Gary Kirkland from the Gainesville Sun. 2003 January 22
127 "A Celebration of the Life of James Haskins" program. 2005 September
128 Biographical notes and articles (photocopies). undated
129 Biographical sketch and references in Children and Books (photocopy). undated
130 Short writing regarding playing the trumpet as a teenager. undated



II. Professional papers. 1920s-2006 (bulk: 1961-2004)

Series "II. Professional papers" dates from the 1920s to 2006, with bulk dates from 1961 to 2004. These records focus on the professional career of Haskins and are arranged into six subseries: "IIa. Writings," "IIb. Royalty files," "IIc. Correspondence," "IId. Speeches and other engagements," "IIe. Subject files," and "IIf. Teaching files." Notably, a large part of the correspondence found in this series is one-sided, showing Haskins letters and responses, but frequently not including those of the other recipient. Additionally, the files relating to Haskins's books are lacking in substance, but the files documenting his essays and articles are more substantive.



IIa. Writings. 1965-2006 (bulk: 1970-2004)

Subseries "IIa. Writings" dates from 1965 to 2006, with bulk dates from 1970 to 2004. The records in this subseries stem from books, essays, articles, and other writings of Haskins. This includes proposals and outlines, drafts and manuscripts, related correspondence, notes, book cover and galley proofs, research files, permissions requests and forms, and book reviews. This subseries is arranged alphabetically by title of the work or subject of the folder contents.



Box Folder
131 Adam Clayton Powell: Correspondence regarding rights, agreements with "dick clark cinema productions". 1981-1983
132 Afar to Zulu: Correspondence, contract. 1992-1993, 1998
133 African American Culture and History: Correspondence. 2000
134 African American Entrepreneurs: Book jacket. circa 1998
135 African American Entrepreneurs: Draft chapter and research on William A. Leidesdorff. 1996
136 African American Military Heroes: Book cover proof. circa 1998
21 African American Military Heroes: Correspondence and research on William Goyens. 1997
22 African American music article for Scott Foresman, includes multiple drafts and correspondence. 1991
23 African and Afro-American Myths and Folktales About Women: Proposal and correspondence. 1987-1990
24 African Beginnings: Preview pamphlet and poster. 1998
25 African fairy tale manuscripts and correspondence. 1973-1975
26 African Heroes: Manuscript. 2003 November
27 African Heroes: Proofs, correspondence, and digital files. 2003-2004
28 African Heroes: Proofs, correspondence, and digital files. 2004-2005
29 African language dictionaries (Hippocrene): Correspondence. 1993-1997
210 African language dictionaries (Hippocrene): Correspondence. 2001
211 Africa: The Continent the Slaves Came From: Manuscript. circa 2001
212 Amazing Grace (John Newton): Correspondence. 1991
213 Andrew Young: Correspondence. 1985
214 Anthology of African American Plays for Young People: Proposal, works list, and correspondence. 2002-2003
215 Articles published in the Gainesville Sun. 1988-1989, undated
216 Artists' publicity packets and clippings (including Choo Choo Montgomery, The Trammps, Lady Flash, Marilyn McCoo and Billy Davis, Jr., and more). 1977
391 Assorted audio cassette tapes (1 of 2). 1970-2003, undated
392 Assorted audio cassette tapes (2 of 2). 1970-2003, undated
217 Assorted book award certificates including Creoles of Color and Black Dance in America. 1989-1991
218 Assorted digital manuscripts for Black Filmmakers, Blacks and the Westward Expansion, Blacks in the Plantation South, Forging a New Nation, and more, plus correspondence. 2002-2004
OSALF Assorted framed book covers, including Andrew Young, Gambling, and James Van DerZee. undated
OSALF Assorted framed book covers, including A Piece of the Power, Revolutionaries, and Jobs in Business. undated
OSALF Assorted framed book covers, including Stevie Wonder and The Life and Death of Martin Luther King, Jr..
OSALF Assorted framed book covers, including Who Are the Handicapped, Voodoo & Hoodoo, and Scott Joplin.
219 Assorted notes. 1999-2004, undated
220 A to Z Art: Correspondence. 2005
221 Author in the Kitchen: Correspondence and casserole recipe. 1978-1979
222 Babe Ruth and Hank Aaron: Correspondence and proposal. 1979
223 Barbara Jordan: Correspondence, and statement and outline. 1975, 1977
224 Barbara Jordan: Correspondence, movie proposal, and photocopy of autobiography. 1999, 2002
225 Barbara Jordan: Screenplay by John McGreevey. Includes correspondence. 2001-2002
31 Bayard Rustin: Correspondence mainly concerning edits and photographs. 1994-1998, 2003-2004
32 Bayard Rustin: Reviews and book jacket proof. 1996-1997
33 Big Mama Thornton article for Rolling Stone and correspondence. 1977, 1984
34 Bill Cosby: Correspondence. 1987, 2000
35 "The Black Americans" from Gallery minorities series. 1976, undated
36 Black Athlete's Hall of Fame Banquet writings, notes, clippings, and correspondence. 1977-1978
37 Black, Blue, and Gray: Correspondence, cancellation agreement. 1994-1999, 2004
38 Black Comedy in America: Proposal. 2001
39 Black Dance in America: Correspondence, copyright request, contract, book cover proof. 1989, 1991, 1998
310 Black Dance in America: Correspondence regarding permissions. 2004
311 Black Dance in America: Correspondence with Jolyn Walker. 2004
312 Black Eagles: Correspondence, photograph, and press release. 1991-1994, 1999
313 Black English: Proposal. 1973, undated
314 Black Enterprise Magazine: Articles on travel and business operations, with related correspondence. 1977
315 Black Film Stars in America: Proposal, clippings regarding blacks in film and television. 1988-1995
316 Black Inventors: Manuscript material, correspondence, and agreement. 2004-2005
317 Black Music in America: Correspondence, copyright requests, media release form, book cover proof. 1991, 1997, 2002
318 Black Music in America: Uncorrected proof. 1987
319 "Black Presence in the Era of the Reconstruction: An Overview". undated
320 "Blacks and the American Dream" and "Blacks in America's Bicentennial Year". circa 1976
321 "Blacks and the Statue of Liberty" (2000, photocopy). circa 2000
322 Blacks in America series: Correspondence, agreement, and proposals, mostly regarding Black Writers. 1988-1993
323 "Blacks in the American Theatre" proposal. undated
324 Black Stars in America: Correspondence. 1996-1997, 2001-2006
325 Black Stars of the Civil Rights Movement: First proof. 2002 September
326 Black Stars series: Correspondence and tables of contents. 1998-2005
41 "Black Studies": Essays and permissions form from 1971 (photocopy). undated
42 Black Theater in America: Permissions request. 2001
43 Black tourist guide research. 1974, 1988-1995
44 Bluford: Correspondence. 1983
45 Bob McAdoo, Superstar: Proposal, correspondence, and royalty records. 1977-1984
411 Bojangles (movie): Video recording. 2001
46 Book jacket proofs, assorted. 1992, 1994, undated
47 Book of Black Firsts: Proposal outline and clippings. 1983-1986, 2004, undated
48 Book reviews by Haskins, assorted. 1986, undated
49 Book reviews by Haskins, assorted. 2000-2002, undated
410 Book reviews by Haskins, assorted. 2003-2004, undated
411 Book reviews by Haskins, assorted, with related correspondence. 1971, 1978-1984, undated
412 Book reviews by Haskins, from the Gainesville Sun. 1985-1986, undated
413 Book reviews by Haskins, from the Gainesville Sun. 1990
414 Book reviews by Haskins, from the Gainesville Sun. 2000-2001, undated
415 Book reviews by Haskins, from the St. Petersburg Times, with correspondence. 2003-2005
416 Book reviews by Haskins, published in FlaVour. 2000-2004
417 Book reviews by Haskins, published in Florida Historical Quarterly. 1992, undated
418 Book reviews by Haskins, published in the New York Times (from 1970 to 1987). 2000, undated
419 Bound for America: Book proof. 1999
420 Bound for America: Book reviews. 1999
421 Bricktop: Ada Smith Duconge Papers, Schomburg accession sheet and inventory. 1986, 2002, 2004
422 Bricktop: Award, Books-Across-The-Sea of the English-Speaking Union of the United States. 1984 February 28
423 Bricktop: Correspondence and agreement between Jim Haskins and Bricktop. 1980-1982
424 Bricktop: Correspondence concerning contracts with Atheneum Publishers. 1982-1989
425 Bricktop: Correspondence concerning dramatic rights. 1997-2000
426 Bricktop: Correspondence concerning dramatic rights with David Susskind. 1983-1984
427 Bricktop: Correspondence concerning dramatic rights with Debbie Robins. 1984-1985
428 Bricktop: Correspondence concerning dramatic rights with Paul Lambert. 1986-1999
429 Bricktop: Correspondence concerning dramatic rights Patti Austin and Ron Weisner. 1983-1987
430 Bricktop: Correspondence concerning dramatic rights with Susan Steiger. 1995-1996
4A1 Bricktop: Correspondence, letters to Bricktop from Virginia Zamboni (Stuyvesant). 1957-1963
4A2 Bricktop: Correspondence, mostly letters to Bricktop; some manuscript material; and television treatment material. 1979-1984
4A3 Bricktop: Correspondence, permissions requests. 1995-2005
4A4 Bricktop: Correspondence, permissions requests. 2002-2005
4A5 Bricktop: Correspondence, photograph permissions. 1998-2004
4A6 Bricktop: Correspondence regarding photograph search. 1981-1982
4A7 Bricktop: Correspondence with Duncan Schiedt and Frank Driggs and lists concerning Bricktop photographs. 1984-1985
4A8 Bricktop: Documents regarding "Bricktop in Paris" stage play (musical), including legal papers, correspondence, and draft manuscript. 1976, 1978, 1982-1984
4A9 Bricktop: Funeral expenses. 1984-1985
4A10 Bricktop: Inquiries regarding Bricktop's papers and effects. 1984-1993
4A11 Bricktop: Legal case concerning Larry Segal's participation with the Bricktop property. 1988-1991
4A12 Bricktop: Letter from Sula Baye. 1980 January 6
4A13 Bricktop: Letter regarding royalties, notice regarding Macmillan bankruptcy. 1984, 1993
4A14 Bricktop: Outline, correspondence and agreements with Roslyn Targ and Franklin Watts, and "The Holy Hustler" by Bricktop. 1980-1983
4A15 Bricktop: Photocopies of Naomi Cohen's collection of Bricktop's letters from 1957 to 1980, includes some sheet music. undated
4A16 Bricktop: Photocopies of the Schomburg's collection of Bricktop's letters from 1964 to 1981. 1974, undated
4A17 Bricktop: Power of Attorney document for Ada Smith Duconge. 1983 September 24
4A18 Bricktop: Treatment for student film. 2002
4A19 Bricktop: Will for Ada Smith Duconge. 1984
4A20 Bubber Goes to Heaven (by Arna Bontemps) "Introduction": Manuscripts and correspondence. 1994, 1998, undated
4A21 Building the new Land: Letter and comments from Susan Pearson. 1999 January
51 Canada Lee: Proposal, clippings, and correspondence with Frances Lee Pearson. 1983-1986, 1990
52 Carter Woodson: Correspondence, permissions request, printer's negative. 1999-2001
53 Cecil Poole: Correspondence. 1999
54 Cecil Poole: Correspondence and agreement. 1999-2001
55 Cecil Poole: Correspondence with Bradley Williams. 1999-2001
56 Cecil Poole: Manuscripts. 2000
57 Cecil Poole: Notes and correspondence, manuscript on 3.5-inch diskette. 2001-2004
58 Cecil Poole: Uncorrected galley proof. 2002
59 Champion (Muhammad Ali): Correspondence. 1977, 2001-2005
510 Champion (Muhammad Ali): Correspondence and reviews. 2001-2003
511 "The changing social role of the itinerant black preacher": Articles and Florida Endowment for the Humanities grant documents. 1979, 1983
512 "Charles Drew" article. 1992
513 "Children Fathered Abroad by Black American Military Personnel": Study proposal, notes, and correspondence. 1982-1984, 1990
514 "Children of African American Expatriates in Europe after World War II": Proposal. circa 1998
515 Children's Encyclopedia of Christian Religions: Correspondence, agreements, chapter outlines. 1978-1984, 1988-1989
516 Christopher Columbus: Correspondence, jacket proof. 1988-1992
517 Civil Rights Chronicle: Correspondence, agreements, drafts. 2002-2004
518 Civil Rights Chronicle: Correspondence, chiefly with Jacque Day; galley proof; agreement. 2002-2005
61 Civil Rights Chronicle: Correspondence with Jacque Day. 2002-2003
62 Colin Powell: Correspondence and agreement. 1991, 1995-1998
63 "Condensed History of Children's Literature" essay. undated
64 Conjure Times: Correspondence, outline, termination agreement. 1996-1999, 2003
65 Corazon Aquino: Correspondence. 1986-1987
66 The Cotton Club: Agreement, correspondence, and new preface for Hippocrene edition. 1993, 1998-1999
67 The Cotton Club: Agreement regarding production rights. 1980
68 The Cotton Club (album): Liner notes and correspondence. 1984
69 "The Cotton Club": Article for New York magazine with correspondence. 1978
610 The Cotton Club (Broadway musical): Treatment and clippings. 1980, 1988-1989
611 The Cotton Club: Clippings and press releases (mostly photocopies). 1978, undated
612 The Cotton Club: Correspondence and photocopied images regarding Cotton Club music covers. 1983-1984
613 The Cotton Club: Correspondence regarding movie tie-in reissue by New American Library, agreements. 1977, 1981-1986
614 The Cotton Club: Correspondence regarding personal marketing and picture usage. 1982-1985, 1997, 2000
615 The Cotton Club: Correspondence regarding research, publishing, images, and the opening of the new club. 1973-1978
616 The Cotton Club: Correspondence regarding reversion of rights. 1979-1981, 1984
617 The Cotton Club: Early correspondence regarding editing and research, including with Toni Morrison and Cab Calloway. 1973-1977
618 The Cotton Club: Memorabilia. undated
619 The Cotton Club: Memorabilia (ash tray). undated
620 The Cotton Club (movie): Article in New York magazine by Michael Daly. 1984 May
621 The Cotton Club (movie): Correspondence, agreements, clippings. 1978-1985
622 The Cotton Club (movie): Correspondence regarding rights payments and marketing. 1983-1987
623 The Cotton Club (movie): Screenplay, production proposal, and memoranda. 1981-1983
71 The Cotton Club (movie): Treatment, call sheet, and crew list (photocopies). circa 1983
412 The Cotton Club (movie): Video recording. 1984
72 The Cotton Club: Photograph and use permissions. 1987, 1989
73 The Cotton Club: Restaurant and movie memorabilia. 1984, undated
74 Count Your Way: Book Jacket and printer's sheets. 1996
75 Count Your Way: Correspondence and agreements. 2000-2005
76 Count Your Way: Correspondence and teaching guide. 2002-2003
77 Count Your Way: Correspondence, contract amendments. 2000-2004
78 Count Your Way: Correspondence, research, drafts. 1988-1997
79 Count Your Way (Middle East and African countries): Correspondence and drafts. 2003-2006
710 Count Your Way: Reviews. 1996
711 The Creoles of Color of New Orleans: Agreement and correspondence. 1972-1973
712 The Day Fort Sumpter was Fired On: Correspondence. 1992-1993
713 The Day Martin Luther King Was Shot: Correspondence. 1989-1991
714 Delivering Justice (W. W. Law): Correspondence, agreements, and drafts. 2003-2005
715 Delivering Justice (W. W. Law): Correspondence, research, and outlines. 2003-2004
716 Delivering Justice (W. W. Law): Galley proof. 2005
717 Diana Ross: Contract amendment and correspondence. 1979, 1982, 1989
401 Diary of a Harlem Schoolteacher: Audio recording. undated
718 Diary of a Harlem Schoolteacher: Uncorrected proof. circa 1970
719 Distinguished African American Political and Governmental Leaders: Correspondence, review, agreement, and press release. 1996-1999
720 Donna Summer: Correspondence regarding rights, photographs, and publishing. 1980-1983
81 Drama of African American History: Article agreements and correspondence. 2001-2004
82 Drama of African American History: Drafts, likely from Africa: A Look Back. undated
83 Ella Fitzgerald: Correspondence, agreements, book jacket. 1987-1993, 1997
84 Encyclopedia of African American Culture and history: Contributor agreement, draft article, correspondence. 2000
85 Ernie Banks: Autobiography outline, agreements, correspondence, and interview transcripts. 2003-2005
86 Freedom Rides: Book jacket proof. circa 1995
87 Freedom Rides: Correspondence, book jacket, and foreword edits. 1992-1994
88 "Free Frank McWorter (1777-1854)" draft essay. undated
89 Geography of Hope: Correspondence and agreement. 1996-1999
810 Geography of Hope: Correspondence and draft manuscript. 1999, undated
811 Get On Board: The Story of the Underground Railroad: Book jacket proof, manuscript, and letter. 1992, 1995, undated
812 Graduate school papers. 1960s
813 The Great American Crazies: Correspondence regarding rights transfer and royalties. 1977-1980
386 The Great American Crazies: Framed book cover. undated
814 The Great Migration: Manuscript and research on Joe Williams Jones. undated
815 Guide to Black new York: Correspondence and proposal. 1992-1993
816 Guide to the Historic Black South: Correspondence. 1991-1998
817 Hamp (Lionel Hampton): Correspondence, some page proofs, agreement, and outline and statement. 1984-1994, 2000-2005
818 Handbook of Craft Designs: Proposal, and correspondence and agreement with designer Bob Lee. 1973-1975
819 The Harlem Renaissance: Correspondence regarding permissions. 1994-1996
91 The Harlem Renaissance: Correspondence regarding publishing, galley proofs. 1993-1997
92 "The Harlem Renaissance" essay. undated
93 The Harlem Renaissance: Reviews and revised cover design proof. 1996-1997
94 "He will lift up his head": Report to the Developmental Disability Office on Native Americans with disabilities. circa 1999
95 The House the Jack Built (Hal Jackson): Book proof. 2000
96 The House the Jack Built (Hal Jackson): Correspondence. 1995-2004
97 "How Educational is Educational TV for Black People" essay. undated
98 "The Humanistic Black Heritage of Alabama": Essay for Auburn University's anthology Writing Our Lives. 2000
99 "The Humanistic Black Heritage of Alabama": Essay for The Remembered Gate and correspondence; also speech from "Fifth Anniversary Symposium". 2000-2003
910 I'm Feeling Terrific About Me: With Janice Namm, drafts. 1980-1981
911 I'm Feeling Terrific About Me: With Janice Namm, includes proposal and correspondence. 1980-1981
912 I Am Rosa Parks: Reviews and correspondence regarding Carter G. Woodson award. 1996-1998
913 I Have a Dream (Martin Luther King, Jr.): Correspondence and introduction. 1990-1993
914 I Have a Dream (Martin Luther King, Jr.): Correspondence regarding photograph and text permissions. 1991-1992
915 "Important Blacks of the Revolutionary Period" essay. undated
916 India Under Indira and Rajiv Gandhi: Correspondence. 1985-1988
917 Infinity Factory: Correspondence and skit outlines. 1975-1976
101 Infinity Factory: Publicity correspondence and press clippings. 1976
112 Infinity Factory: Series proposal, press kit, and correspondence. 1976
103 "Jabbo Smith": Proposal, correspondence, and photograph. 1985-1991
104 "James Baldwin": Manuscript and article. circa 2000
105 James Van DerZee: Correspondence regarding rights, royalties, and photographs; clippings; and proposal. 1975-1983, 1988-1990, 1993
106 The Jazz Age in Paris (Smithsonian exhibit): Correspondence, research notes, articles, and marketing materials. 1994-1997
107 The Jazz Age in Paris (Smithsonian exhibit): Exhibit correspondence. 1994-1995
108 The Jazz Age in Paris (Smithsonian exhibit): Invitation and program (Washington, D.C.). 1997 May
109 The Jazz Age in Paris (Smithsonian exhibit): Scripted inventory. 1996
1010 The Jazz Age in Paris (Smithsonian exhibit): Scripts and articles. 1995
413 The Jazz Age in Paris (Smithsonian exhibit): Video recording. 1998 March 23
1011 "Jimmy Owens": Article manuscript, research, and photographs. 1977, undated
1012 "John Lewis" biography: Correspondence, outlines, and agreement; also outline for "40 Acres and a Mule" from Gwen Strauss. 2004
1013 "Josephine Baker" entry for Notable American Women: Correspondence and manuscript. 1978-1979
1014 Katherine Dunham: Correspondence on permissions and article on "Black Dance in America". 1991, 1999
1015 Keeping the Faith: Correspondence and agreement with Maya Angelou regarding introduction. 1999-2002
1016 Keeping the Faith: Correspondence and draft manuscript. 1999-2005
111 Keeping the Faith: Correspondence mostly regarding marketing. 2002-2003
112 Keeping the Faith: Correspondence mostly regarding permissions and events. 2000-2002
113 Keeping the Faith: Correspondence with contributors. 1999-2003
114 Keeping the Faith: Manuscript (on diskette) and participant list. undated
115 Leaders of the Middle East: Correspondence and agreement. 2004
116 Lena: A Personal and Professional Biography of Lena Horne: Uncorrected proof and book jacket proof. 1984
117 The Life and Death of Martin Luther King, Jr.: Correspondence. 1986, 1990-1991
118 Lift Every Voice and Sing: Book proof and press release. 1992 November
119 Lift Every Voice and Sing: "Introduction" and press material. 1992-1993
1110 Lift Every Voice and Sing: Letter regarding new edition. 1999 July
1111 The Long Struggle: Correspondence and proposals regarding labor and unions in the U.S.. 1972-1981
1112 Louis Farrakhan: Correspondence, mostly regarding photographs, and reviews. 1994-1997
1113 "Louis Latimer": Correspondence, clippings, and pamphlets. 1972-1975
1114 Mabel Mercer: Correspondence, permissions. 1984-1991
1115 Malcolm X: Proposal outline and correspondence. 1989
1116 March on Washington: Correspondence, introduction manuscript, and agreements. 1989-1993, 1997-2002
1117 "Mary McLeod Bethune" article. circa 2000
1118 "The Melancholy Vision of Gordon Parks": Essay from The Vision of Gordon Parks. circa 1988
1119 Michael Jackson: Correspondence regarding agreement. 1984
1120 "More on Black English": Opinion piece in Teacher magazine with correspondence. 1975-1976
1121 Mr. Bojangles: Agreement and correspondence, mainly with Times Books and Random House, as well as other publishers. 1983-1986
1122 Mr. Bojangles: Agreement and correspondence with William Morrow and Company. 1986-1991
1123 Mr. Bojangles: Bojangles stage play script. 1983 June
121 Mr. Bojangles: Correspondence, agreements, reviews, royalty records, and rights inquiries (mostly regarding movie rights). 1987-2000
122 Mr. Bojangles: Correspondence and agreement with Norman R. Mitgang, permissions documentation. 1983-1988
123 Mr. Bojangles: Correspondence regarding production by A&E Biography. 1997-2000
124 Mr. Bojangles: Reviews of Bojangles movie. circa 2000
125 My Specialty is People: With Nancy J. Young, includes proposal, correspondence, and drafts. 1973-1977
126 Nat King Cole: Correspondence, rights inquiries. 1992-1994, 1998-2001, 2004
127 "Nat King Cole": Essay for Pierian's Book of Days manuscript and correspondence. 1985-1988
128 Nat King Cole: Permissions request. 2002
129 Negro spirituals: Proposals and scripts for seminars, documentaries, and performances. 1992, undated
1210 Neil Armstrong book proposal. undated
1211 New Americans series: Agreement, outline, and correspondence for Cuban and Vietnamese "boat people" editions. 1979-1981
1212 "New Black Images in the Mass Media": Article for Freedomways journal, with correspondence. 1974-1975
1213 New Book of Knowledge: Articles and correspondence. 1992-1996
1214 "A New Kind of Joy": Article on the Special Olympics. 1976
387 A New Kind of Joy: Framed book cover. undated
1215 "Nonfiction 1950-1975" essay. circa 1976
1216 "Non-fiction books and the Junior and Senior High Schooler …" essay. 1976
1217 Now Magazine: Articles, research, and photographs (1 of 2). 1976-1977
1218 Now Magazine: Articles, research, and photographs (2 of 2). 1976-1977
1219 One More River to Cross and Profiles in Black Courage: Correspondence and notes. 1989-1994
12A1 A Piece of the Power: Four Black Mayors: Correspondence and proposal. 1971-1975, 1983
4213 Posters for The Cotton Club (movie), Delivering Justice, and African Beginnings. 1983, 1998, undated
12A2 The Power of Pride: Correspondence regarding permissions. 1998
12A3 Power to the People (Black Panthers): Correspondence, permissions requests. 1994-1997
12A4 Power to the People (Black Panthers): Correspondence regarding photograph permissions. 1996-1997
12A5 Profiles in Black Power: Chapters and digital files. undated
12A6 "The Proper School for the Proper Negro?" essay. undated
12A7 Proposal review and editorial entries. 2001, undated
12A8 "Psychology and the Blues": Article for Psychology Today with correspondence. 1978
12A9 The Psychology of the Black Language: Correspondence regarding revised editions. 1991
12A10 The Psychology of the Black Language: Revision suggestions and related correspondence. 1983-1985
421 Queen of the Blues (Dinah Washington): Book cover proof. circa 1987
12A11 Queen of the Blues (Dinah Washington): Correspondence, proposal, and revision notes. 1979, 1983-1989
12A12 Queen of the Blues (Dinah Washington): Correspondence regarding film option. 1987-1991, 2003-2004
12A13 Queen of the Blues (Dinah Washington): Correspondence regarding photograph permissions and printer's negative. 1985-1987
12A14 Queen of the Blues (Dinah Washington): Correspondence with interviewees. 1973, 1984-1986
12A15 Quiet Revolution: Contract amendment. 1979
12A16 "Racial Quotas in Pro Basketball": Article manuscript and drafts, with correspondence. 1980-1983
12A17 Ralph Bunche: Correspondence regarding permissions. 2004
12A18 "Ralph Bunche": Essay for Scholastic Quest series manuscript, correspondence, and agreement. 1986
12A19 Ralph Bunche: Galley proof. circa 1974
131 "Rap Music" proposal. undated
132 Religions: Correspondence and agreements. 1990-1994
133 Reviews of Gordon Parks writings and biographical information (photocopies). undated
134 Reviews of Haskins's works, assorted. 1991-1992
135 Reviews of Haskins's works, assorted. 1999-2000
136 Reviews of Haskins's works, assorted, with public relations materials and clippings. 1990-1992
137 Reviews of Haskins's works, assorted, with public relations materials and clippings. 1992-1993
138 Reviews of Haskins's works, assorted, with public relations materials and clippings. 1993-1994
139 Reviews of Haskins's works, assorted, with public relations materials and clippings. 1994-1995
1310 Reviews of Haskins's works, from Lerner Publishing. 2002
1311 Richard Pryor: Correspondence regarding permissions. 2002
1312 Richard Pryor: Draft of book. 1984
1313 "The Role of Nonviolence in the Negro's Struggle for Equality" outline. circa 1965
1314 Rolling Stone: Proposal regarding the Cotton Club and obituary for Bricktop, with correspondence. 1984
1315 Rosa Parks: Book cover for Mother of a Movement. 1992
141 Rosa Parks: Correspondence. 1989-1991, 1993
142 Rosa Parks: Correspondence regarding rights, editions, and more for various nooks (I Am Rosa Parks, Rosa Parks: My Story, an "Easy-to-Read" edition), photocopied galley proofs; memorial program; and more. 1991-2005
143 Rosa Parks: Correspondence regarding rights, editions, events, and more; draft text for My Story and Mother of a Movement. 1988-2002
51 Rosa Parks: Interview audio cassettes (14 tapes). 1980, 1988
144 Rosa Parks: Publicity packet. 1992, undated
145 Santana: Carlos Santana autobiography correspondence and proposal. 1988
146 Scatman (Sherman Crothers): Correspondence regarding rights, permissions, and proposals; letter and poem by Clora Bryant; agreements and contracts. 1985, 1988-1991, 1994-1995
147 Scatman (Sherman Crothers): Correspondence, some with Scatman; extensive recordings documentation; proposal with edits by Scatman; sheet music for "Bronco Billy" (photocopy). 1984-1998
OSALF Scott Joplin: ASCAP-Deems Taylor Award from the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (plaque). 1979 May 8
148 Scott Joplin: Assorted correspondence. 1980
149 Scott Joplin: Correspondence on research and publishing (1 of 2). 1975-1981
1410 Scott Joplin: Correspondence on research and publishing (2 of 2). 1975-1981
1411 Scott Joplin: Correspondence on research, editing, and publishing; and proposal (1 of 2). 1975-1983, 1988-1991
1412 Scott Joplin: Correspondence on research, editing, and publishing; and proposal (2 of 2). 1975-1983, 1988-1991
1413 Scott Joplin: Correspondence regarding reprint permissions. 1986, 1991-1994
1414 Scott Joplin: Uncorrected proof. 1978
151 Scottsboro Boys: Correspondence, research, and manuscript materials. 1992-1994, 1997
152 Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives: Article on Charles "Honi" Coles, correspondence, and agreement. 2000
153 Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives: Article on Clarence Norris (by Kathleen Benson), correspondence, and agreement. 1997-1998
154 Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives: Article on John Bubbles, correspondence, and agreement. 1997-1998
155 Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives: Article on Lionel Hampton, correspondence, and agreement. 2003
156 Separate But Not Equal: Book jacket. 1965
157 Separate But Not Equal: Correspondence. 1994-1997
158 "Sesame Street: Where the Pre-School Revolution is Happening" essay (1970, photocopy). undated
159 "Sexual Sectionalism" and others: Proposals for Gallery magazine with correspondence. 1977
1510 Shirley Temple Black: Proposal for Viking Penguin Women of Our Time series, and correspondence. 1986-1988
1511 Sixties Reader: Correspondence and agreement. 1983-1988
1512 Sixties Reader: Permissions requests and agreements. 1983-1988
1513 "Snow and Ice Sculpture" essay and "Winter Sculpture" article. circa 1977
1514 "South Carolina's Sea Islands … Where Poverty is Total": Article (photocopy) and related manuscript. undated
1515 Spike Lee: Correspondence, proofs, and outline. 1991-1997
1516 "The Statue of Liberty: An All-American Vision" article in The Morning Sun. 1994 July
1517 Statue of Liberty: Articles, drafts, and related correspondence. 1984-1987
1518 Statue of Liberty: Centennial correspondence and article. 1984-1986
OSALF Statue of Liberty: Framed article. circa 1985
1519 Statue of Liberty: Research materials and correspondence. 1998-2001
OSALF Stevie Wonder: Coretta Scott King Award (plaque). 1977 June 21
1520 Stevie Wonder Scrapbook: Correspondence and legal files, includes some royalty information (1 of 2). 1977-1986, 2000-2002
1521 Stevie Wonder Scrapbook: Correspondence and legal files, includes some royalty information (2 of 2). 1977-1986, 2000-2002
161 "Street Gangs are not New in New York": Article for the New York Kid's Catalog with correspondence. 1977-1978
4210 Street Gangs: Book cover. undated
162 Street Gangs: Manuscript (photocopy). undated
163 Sugar Ray Leonard: Correspondence and agreement with Robson Books. 1983, 1988-1991
164 "Teachers' Guides to Television": Correspondence. 1978 October
165 "Teachers in Desegregated Schools": Pamphlet kit proposal and correspondence. 1973
166 Teenage Alcoholism: Correspondence and proposal. 1974-1978, 1982
167 Thurgood Marshall: Correspondence and agreement. 1988-1992
168 "Timely Leader": Essay in Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Civil Rights Movement, with correspondence, drafts, and agreement. 1993-1994
169 Toni Morrison: Draft text, notes, and correspondence. 1999-2002
1610 Toni Morrison: Notes and correspondence. 2002
1611 Transforming Anthropology: Correspondence. 2002 February
1612 Treasury of African American Literature: Description, contents list, and correspondence. 2002, undated
1613 "A Tribute to Blackness": Proposal with Ellsworth Ausby on totenism, includes correspondence. 1972
1614 "Triumph of the Spirit in Nonfiction for Black Children": Essay (multiple versions) and correspondence. 1985-1990
1615 Twentieth Century Culture series: Samples and correspondence. 1992-1995
1616 "Unity": Essay on Kwanzaa. 1999
1617 The War and the Protest: Vietnam: Correspondence. 1979, 1984, 1987
1618 Welfare Mother: With Barbara Fuca, includes proposal and correspondence. 1977, undated
1619 "Werewolves": Outline notes. undated
1620 "We, the People: The Constitution in White and Black": Article proposal and correspondence. 1986-1988
1621 Winnie Mandela: Notes and outline, correspondence, mainly regarding photographs. 1986-1988
1622 Who Are the Handicapped: Correspondence with publisher and permissions granting agencies. 1974-1981
1623 "Writing Sports Biographies for Young Readers" essay. undated
1624 WUFT "Critic's Corner": Book review scripts and agreement. 1977-1978
1625 Young Reader's Companion to American History: Articles and correspondence, includes articles on Colin Powell, Jesse Jackson, Ralph Bunche, Shirley Chisholm, and more. 1992-1994
1626 The Youth Gangs of the South Bronx: Manuscript material and correspondence. 1973-1974
1627 Zora Neale Hurston coloring book text. 2003 May
1628 "Zora Neale Hurston: Queen of the Nigerati" essay. circa 1985


IIb. Royalty files. 1969-2004

Subseries "IIb. Royalty files" dates from 1969 to 2004. This subseries includes royalty payment reports and related correspondence with publishers. This subseries is arranged alphabetically by title of the book (with publisher names in parentheses) or name of the publisher (for folders with multiple titles represented).



Box Folder
171 ABC series (Concordia). 1982-1989
172 Adam Clayton Powell (Dutton/Dial). 1972-1983
173 Always Movin' On and Consumer Movement (Franklin Watts). 1976-1982
174 Andrew Young and others (William Morrow/Lothrop). 1979-1986
175 Babe Ruth and Hank Aaron (Lothrop). 1975-1982
176 Bill Cosby (Walker). 1988
177 Black, Blue, and Gray and Power to the People (Simon & Schuster). 1996-2004
178 Black Manifesto for Education (William Morrow). 1973-1982
179 Bricktop and Mr. Bojangles (Welcome Rain). 2000-2002
1710 Bricktop (Macmillan/Atheneum). 1983-1988
1711 Child Abuse Help Book (Harper & Row/Addison-Wesley). 1982-1989
1712 The Cotton Club and other assorted royalty correspondence, calendars, and spreadsheets. 1984-1991, 1997, 1999
1713 The Cotton Club (Random House/New American Library/Robson). 1977-1981, 1987-1993
1714 Count Your Way series and Space Challenger (Lerner/Harcourt/Carolrhoda). 1985-2003
1715 The Creoles of Color of New Orleans (Crowell). 1975-1985
1716 Deep Like the Rivers (Holt). 1973-1989
1717 Diary of a Harlem Schoolteacher, includes correspondence (Grove). 1969-1981, 1986-1987
1718 Disney/Hyperion (Bayard Rustin, Freedom Rides, and more). 1997-2004
1719 Distinguished African American Political and Governmental Leaders (Oryx/Greenwald). 1997-2003
1720 Doctor J (Doubleday). 1975-1981
1721 Donna Summer (Little, Brown). 1983-1991
1722 Doubleday/Dell (Witchcraft, Mysticism, and Magic in the Black World; Jokes from Black Folks; and more) includes reprint agreement and correspondence. 1974-1983
1723 Doubleday (Resistance, Profiles in Black Power, The War and the Protest, and Witchcraft ...) includes contract. 1970-1975
1724 Doubleday (Who Are the Handicapped, Pele, and Doctor J). 1979-1985
1725 Enslow (Corazon Aquino, Double Dutch, Michael Jackson, and Magic Johnson). 1980-1988
1726 Enslow (Jesse Jackson, Magic Johnson, Leaders of the Middle East, and more). 1987-2005
1727 Enslow (Leaders of the Middle East, Guardian Angels, and New Americans). 1981-1988
1728 Fighting Shirley Chisholm (Dial). 1973-1983
1729 Foreign editions, assorted titles and publishers. 1984, 1987, 2002-2006
1730 From Lew Alcindor to Kareem Abdul Jabbar, includes agreement (William Morrow/Lothrop). 1971-1986
1731 Gambling (Franklin Watts). 1979-1985
1732 George McGinnis and Street Gangs (Hastings). 1974-1988
1733 Great Journeys (Cavendish). 2000-2004
1734 Hamp (Warner/Amistad). 1991-1996
1735 Harper & Row (Black Theater in American, Black Music in America, and Quiet Revolution). 1982-1989
1736 Harper Collins and Harper & Row publishers, covering a larger number of books (1 of 2). 1990-2004
1737 Harper Collins and Harper & Row publishers, covering a larger number of books (2 of 2). 1990-2004
1738 Hippocrene (Psychology of the Black Language, Cotton Club, assorted language dictionaries, Religions of the World, and more). 1992-2004
1739 I'm Gonna Make You Love Me and Barbara Jordon (Dutton/Dial). 1977-1987
1740 James Van DerZee (Dodd). 1979-1986
181 Jobs in Business and Office (William Morrow/Lothrop). 1974-1984
182 Jokes from Black Folks (Doubleday). 1973-1978
183 The Long Struggle (Westminster). 1976-1993
184 Mabel Mercer (Macmillan). 1990-1991
185 Mr. Bojangles, Queen of the Blues, Sugar Ray Leonard, The Life and Death of Martin Luther King, Jr., and Stevie Wonder (William Morrow/Lothrop/Dell). 1976-1989
186 A New Kind of Joy (Doubleday). 1976-1981
187 Picture Life of Malcolm X and The Consumer Movement (Franklin Watts). 1975-1982
188 A Piece of the Power (Dutton). 1972-1983
189 Pinckney Benton Stewart Pinchback (Macmillan). 1973-1985
1810 The Psychology of Black Language, includes agreement (Harper & Row/Littlefield Adams). 1971-1986
1811 Putnam/Coward (Lena Horne, Katherine Dunham, and Winnie Mandela). 1982-1992
1812 Ralph Bunche, includes correspondence regarding rights (Riverside/Hawthorn). 1972-1978, 2004
1813 Real Estate Career (Franklin Watts. 1978-1984
1814 Religions and Revolutionaries (Harper & Row/Lippincott). 1973-1987
1815 Revolutionaries: Agents of Change (Harper & Row/Lippincott). 1971-1980
1816 Richard Pryor (Beaufort). 1984-1988
1817 Rosa Parks books (Viking Penguin). 1992-2004
1818 Scarborough (Diary of a Harlem Schoolteacher, Voodoo and Hoodoo, Lena, Nat King Cole, and Scott Joplin). 1989-1995
1819 Scholastic (The Day Martin Luther King, Jr. Was Shot, Colin Powell, Underground Railroad, and numerous others) (1 of 2). 1992-2004
1820 Scholastic (The Day Martin Luther King, Jr. Was Shot, Colin Powell, Underground Railroad, and numerous others) (2 of 2). 1992-2004
1821 Scott Joplin, includes agreement and some correspondence (Doubleday/Grove). 1976-1983, 1987-1988
1822 Snow Sculpture and Ice Carving (Macmillan). 1974-1985
1823 Statue of Liberty and Break Dancing (Lerner). 1985-1987
1824 Stein & Day (Nat King Cole, Scott Joplin, Diary of a Harlem Schoolteacher, and Voodoo & Hoodoo). 1978-1985
1825 Sugar Ray Leonard and Nat King Cole (Robson). 1990, 1999-2003
1826 Teenage Alcoholism (Dutton/Hawthorn). 1976-1984
1827 Thurgood Marshall and Scottsborough Boys (Holt). 1992-2004
1828 Viking Penguin (Sixties Reader, Shirley Temple Black, and Diana Ross). 1983-1999
1829 Voodoo & Hoodoo, Nat King Cole, Scott Joplin, and others, along with correspondence with Cooper Square Press and Leslie Grouse (Rowman & Littlefield/Scarborough/Stein & Day). 2002-2005
1830 Walker (Champion, Louis Farrakhan, Afar to Zulu, Conjure Times, and more). 1989-2005
1831 Werewolves (Franklin Watts). 1981-1987
1832 Wiley & Sons (Harlem Renaissance, African American Women Writers, Heroes and Civil Rights series, and more). 1998-2004
1833 William Morrow (Life and Death of Martin Luther King, Jr., Sugar Ray Leonard, Scatman, and others). 1989-1999
1834 Your Rights: Past and Present (Hawthorn). 1975-1980


IIc. Correspondence. 1970-2006

Subseries "IIc. Correspondence" dates from 1970 to 2006. This subseries includes correspondence of various sorts as well as clippings, publishing and consulting agreements, and employment inquiries. Of note here are a number of manuscripts from associates of Haskins, often sent to him for advice, editing, or just to get his opinion; documents relating to "Jim Haskins Associates," Haskins's own literary agency and business venture; and the correspondence and inventory lists regarding the transfer of much of Haskins's papers and manuscripts to Boston University. This subseries is arranged alphabetically by correspondent's name or subject of the folder contents.



Box Folder
191 Adams, Carole; regarding artwork inspired by The Cotton Club, includes slides. 1983
192 African World Press regarding books on James Van DerZee, Adam Clayton Powell, Malcolm X, and Langston Hughes. 1990-1993, 2005
193 Alabama Historical Association regarding call for papers. 2002-2003
194 American Civil Liberties Union regarding banning of Voodoo & Hoodoo, includes correspondence, clippings, court documents, and a speech by Haskins. 1992-1995
195 American Legacy magazine regarding Bricktop quotations. 1999
196 American National Biography regarding Bricktop entry. 1994-1995
197 American Revolution Bicentennial Commission, includes writings. 1973
198 American Way magazine. 1977
199 Ashby, Irving; includes photocopy of "23 days on the Road with Lionel Hampton" and photographs. 1984
1910 Assembly of Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English [ALAN], includes newsletters. 1975
1911 Association for the Study of Afro-American Life and History (ASALH) conference correspondence. 1983
1912 Assorted correspondence. 1972-1988
1913 Assorted correspondence. 1990-2005
1914 Assorted correspondence. 1998-2002
1915 Assorted correspondence. 2000-2004
1916 Assorted correspondence and itineraries regarding interviews, engagements, and other events. 1976-1978
1917 Assorted correspondence (found within calendars). 2004-2005
1918 Assorted correspondence regarding articles and publishing. 1975-1981
1919 Assorted emails regarding book projects, teaching, and more. 1999-2000
1920 Assorted letters, mostly from Haskins. 1999
1921 Assorted letters regarding "black theater". 2003
1922 Assorted letters sent by Haskins. 2001-2002
201 Assorted letters sent by Haskins. 2002
202 Bader, Philip; regarding the Cyclopedia of Young Adult Authors. 2004
203 Banks, Cullen W.; regarding scholarships. 2002-2003
204 Banks, Kathleen; proposal for Flip Wilson story. undated
205 Barkas, Janet. 1974-1976
206 Bell, Jim; regarding "Leikeze" screen adaptation. 1977, undated
207 Bennett-Speed, Carolyn; includes personal photographs and photocopies of letters to lawmakers and famous personalities. 1990-1996
208 Black Music White Business consulting agreement. 2000 June
209 Blagowidow, George; regarding Hurston folk tales book and historical travel guide. 1991-1992
2010 Bland, Walter; "Quizzle" screenplay. circa 1988
2011 Bolt, Jeannette; manuscripts with correspondence and proposal. 1976
2012 Boston University, includes inventory of Haskins Collection. 2002-2003
2013 Brademas, Jim. 1999
2014 Branton, Leo; regarding Blue Klux Klan by Bobby Marshall. 1993-1994
2015 Bricktop's papers donation to the Schomburg Center correspondence and agreement, includes funeral attendees list. 1984-1986
2016 Brisker, E. J. (Emanuel James), Jr.; along with correspondence with Leroy Wilson, Jr.. 1977-1979
2017 Brisker, E. J. (Emanuel James), Jr.; includes proposals. 1977
2018 Brooks, Christopher; regarding promotion review. 2004
2019 Buffkins, Archie; regarding Kennedy Center National Commission of Blacks in the Performing Arts. 1979, 1981
2020 Burns, Khephra and William Miles: Black Stars in Orbit: NASA's African American Astronauts review copy. 1994
2021 Cech, John. 1988, 1992, undated
2022 Cech, John; regarding Recess website. 2002-2003
2023 Chen, Wayne; correspondence and writings, including digital copies (1 of 2). 1988-1992
2024 Chen, Wayne; correspondence and writings, including digital copies (2 of 2). 1988-1992
211 Children's Book Review Service and Ann Kalkhoff: Correspondence, article, and "condensed history" of the review service. 1972-1983
212 Children's Book Review Service: Correspondence and publication sampling (1 of 2). 1971-1986, 1996, 2000-2001
213 Children's Book Review Service: Correspondence and publication sampling (2 of 2). 1971-1986, 1996, 2000-2001
214 Children's Literature Association, mostly with Anne Jordan, includes conference programs and newsletters. 1973-1976
215 Children's literature conferences, assorted. 1975
216 City University of New York, includes report of the "Seek Counseling Study". 1978-1980
217 CIVITAS Framework Development Committee correspondence and meeting materials. 1989
218 Coleman, Clarence. 1979
219 Colquitt, Leroy. 1977-1978
2110 Contis, Alex of New Wings magazine, includes magazine editions and pamphlets. 1979-1982
2111 Cooper, David and Lynn Bynum, includes clippings. 1973-1976
2112 Copyright Clearance Center. 2002-2004
2113 Cuban Baseball, includes proposal from Rudy Mendoza. 2004-2005
2114 Cummins, Jim. 1977-1979
2115 Dehn, Mura and others regarding The Spirit Moves. 1977
2116 Demon, Peggy; regarding biography of son Ronald Demon. 2000
2117 Department of Health, Education, and Welfare regarding Native Americans with Disabilities project. 1976-1979
2118 Driggs, Frank; regarding photographs. 1992
2119 Duke Ellington Smithsonian Exhibit and Cobblestone magazine issue, regarding photograph usage, includes negative. 1992-1993
2120 Edkins, Diana; regarding Bricktop photograph. 1998
2121 Eko, Ebele; correspondence and invitations, photocopy of chapter on "Nobel Prize Winners" by Haskins. 1985-1988, 1994
221 Employment inquiries. 1976-1977
222 Employment inquiries. 1978-1979, 1982
223 Employment inquiries. 1992-1995
224 Employment inquiries: Carter/Mondale administration. 1976-1977
225 Evans, Stephanie (personal assistant) note and calendar appointments. 2004-2005
226 "Fan mail". 2004-2006
227 Farrar, Eleanor. 1979
228 Farver, Janine; regarding Harlem Renaissance proposal. 2004
229 Films on black artists memorandum. undated
2210 Fionia, Michael; regarding interview with Ken Kesey. 2001
2211 Florida Department of State regarding Literature Grants Review Panel. 1988 April
2212 Florie, Christine; regarding Literary Masters. 2003
2213 Flynt, Wayne; regarding online Encyclopedia of Alabama. 2003-2004
2214 Frazier, James; regarding Frank Wilson's play Pa Williams' Gal. 2004-2005
2215 Ford Foundation regarding consulting work on day care manuscript. 1978-1980
2216 Fuller-Shindler, E. A.: "Will & Testament" fictional account focusing on multiracial communities and women. undated
2217 Gabay, Karen and others regarding BBC interview. 2004
2218 Gill, Glenda. 1990 October
2219 Giovanni, Nikki. 2000, 2002
2220 G. K. Hall and Company, Twayne Publishers, Sylvia Bowman, and Susan Freeman; regarding Ralph Ellison book. 1974-1979
2221 Goldstein, Neil; regarding People Centered Television project. 1978
2222 Grabar, Lynne. 2005
2223 Graham, Bob (Governor). 1985
2224 Grant inquiries. 2001
2225 Grossman, Larry of the Urban Life Center. 1973
2226 Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship. 2003-2004
2227 Hamilton, Lynn. 1981-1986
2228 Harper Collins, regarding From African Beginnings and Blacks in the Plantation South. 2002
2229 Harris, Jessica. 1977
2230 Harris, Joan. 1977
2231 Haskins Collection donation to University of Florida (UF), with Robert Shaddy and Bruce Chappell, includes book lists (1 of 2). 2003-2005
2232 Haskins Collection donation to University of Florida (UF), with Robert Shaddy and Bruce Chappell, includes book lists (2 of 2). 2003-2005
2233 Haskins versus Grosset and Dunlap case file. 1981
2234 Haskins Visiting Scholar Fellowship. 2003-2005
2235 Hobbs, H. Ronald; regarding business proposals. 1975-1976
231 Hobson, Charles and Barbara Meister regarding "Harlem in Montmartre". 2003-2004
232 Holloway House Publishing Company. 1982-1983
233 Howell, Melanie Moore. 1988, 1996, 2003-2005
234 Hudson, Wade of Just Us Books. 2002-2003
235 Indianapolis business ventures and proposals. 1973-1976
236 Ingrum, Adrienne of Putnam Publishing regarding Richard Pryor biography. 1982-1983
237 Institute for the Advancement of Urban Education, includes list of "black names in education". 1971-1972
238 Jenkins, Frank and Lynn Hamilton: Driving While Black in Beverly Hills script and clippings. 2001
239 Jerome, Paul; regarding FlaVour magazine, includes business plan. 1999-2000, 2005
2310 Jim Haskins Associates: Correspondence and proposal regarding "Bicentennial Lectures". 1975-1981
2311 Jim Haskins Associates: Correspondence and proposal regarding Indianapolis talk show. 1975
2312 Jim Haskins Associates: Correspondence and proposal regarding reading materials for travel-related companies. 1973-1975
2313 Jim Haskins Associates, Literary Agency; includes press releases and clippings. 1973-1977, 1980
2314 Jones, Brenda. 2004
2315 Jones, Quincy; includes clippings. 1976-1977
2316 Jordan, Anne Devereaux; letter and Jubilee! manuscript. 2004 February
2317 "Josephine Baker Memorial Album" correspondence and agreement. 1981, undated
2318 King, Debra Walker; regarding The Cleansing. 2000
2319 King, Woodie; with agreements and proposals regarding black theater, Jimmy Tate, the musical The Prodigal Sister, and more. 1974-1985
2320 Kramer, Jay; regarding options and agreements. 1999
2321 Lambert, Paul; regarding Keeping the Faith. 2002
2322 Lane, Pinkie Gordon; includes cards and promotional material. 1996-1999, 2005
2323 Lee, Bernard; correspondence and interview transcript. 1973-1975
2324 Linforth, Kate. 1983-1992
2325 Lucas, Victoria; regarding public relations campaign. 1979
2326 Marshall Cavendish: Correspondence, agreement, and proposal for assorted works, includes Out of the Darkness, untitled work on the Underground Railroad, and the A to Z art book series. 1999-2001
2327 McClain, "Diamond Teeth" Mary Smith; includes clippings. 1985, undated
2328 McClaurin, Irma; includes writings on Zora Neale Hurston 2001-2005
2329 McClendon, Ernestine 1977, 1984
2330 McCracken, Sam; regarding Authorcards, includes agreement 1994-1997, 2001
2331 McCray, Cheryl: Faucets multi-media dance drama 2003 December
2332 Metzger, Sheri of Gale Publishing 2002
2333 Michelson, Philip; regarding "Rhythm and Blues" project 2002
241 Millbrook Press, mostly concerning bankruptcy and some royalty statements. 2003-2005
242 Mitchell, Arthur; regarding MacArthur Fellowship. 1994-1995
243 Morning, John. 1990-1991
244 Morrison, Anita of JAM Communications. 2003
245 National Book Awards, includes program (1 of 3). 2004-2005
246 National Book Awards, includes program (2 of 3). 2004-2005
247 National Book Awards, includes program (3 of 3). 2004-2005
248 National Research Council Committee on Minorities in Engineering, includes report by Haskins. 1979
249 Naughton-Richardson, Jennifer; regarding organizing records and other topics. 2004-2005
2410 Neville, Morgan. undated
2411 New African Visions, includes agreement. 1991
2412 New Federal Theatre, includes board minutes. 1996
2413 "New York Amsterdam News". 1971
2414 Nexus Creative Alliance, includes "Black on Broadway" proposal. 1993-1994
2415 Nunn, Kate. 2004
2416 Omega Software Group. 1997 November
2417 Opportunity Journal, includes writings. 1999-2000
2418 Paterson, Judith. 2002-2003
2419 Pearson, Susan. 1997 August
2420 Plant, Patricia. 1991-1995
2421 Proposals to various publications regarding successful black athletes' support of community. 1983
2422 Pulley, Bernice Cosey. 2003-2005
2423 Questia Media, regarding digital library. 2000-2001
2424 Rehabilitation Services Administration regarding Independent Living grant program. 1980
2425 Requests for review books. 2001-2004
2426 Rhone, Bob. 1986, 1988
2427 Rice, Bill. 1991
2428 Richardson, Jennifer; regarding James Haskins Visiting Scholar Fellowship. 2004
2429 Rideau, Wilbert; regarding his biography. 1992
251 Roberti, William V.. 2004
252 Robson Books, regarding editions of Scott Joplin, Lena Horne, Nat King Cole, and more. 1985-1991
253 Ronald Hobbs Literary Agency. 1970-1973, 1983
254 Rosen, Barbara and Children's Literature Association. 1992
255 Rose, Tony of Amber Communications Group. 2002-2003
256 Scholastic Library Services. 2002
257 Sides, Barry; regarding album notes. 2002
258 Simmons, Jeffrey; regarding international agreements and royalties (1 of 2). 1986-2002
259 Simmons, Jeffrey; regarding international agreements and royalties (2 of 2). 1986-2002
2510 Simon & Schuster regarding marketing. 1999
2511 "Southern Magazine". 1986-1987
2512 Spicer, Lauren; regarding Cinnamon Browne book. 2001
2513 Sportis, Helene; regarding "Jazz Hot" interview. 2003
2514 Stein & Day regarding bankruptcy, rights, and royalties. 1980-1989
2515 Stifle, J. M. and Concordia, regarding ABC religious books where Haskins served as agent. 1979-1982
2516 Tatum, Elinor; regarding book reviews in the Amsterdam News. 2003-2004
2517 Teach for America. 1990
2518 Termite Art Productions regarding Street Gangs in America History Channel broadcast. 2000
2519 Timbers, Mary-Ellen; regarding "Disney" book. 1981-1982
2520 Tomasello, Heather; regarding Write Outside the Lines. 2003
2521 Turner, Doris; regarding biography, includes clippings. 2000, undated
2522 Turner, Ted (Robert Edward). 1979
2523 Walter, Earl, Jr.. 1996
2524 Washington, Alfred. 1977-1979
2525 Watkins, Mel; regarding African American book list. 2002
2526 Watson, Martha; includes "The Royal Shrimp" short story. 1980-1981
2527 Welcome Rain publishers. 1998-2002, undated
2528 Whaley, Charles Edward. 1984
2529 White, Anthony; regarding "Calming the Man" play and investment proposal. 2000
261 White, Anthony; regarding Keeping the Faith screenplay. 1999
262 White, James; regarding "Black Spirits and Ghosts" project. 2002-2003
263 White, Slappy; letters and screenplay. 1984, undated
264 Whittaker, Juliette. 1982-1984
265 Williams, Beatrice; includes proposal and agreements. 1983-1988
266 Williams, John A.; regarding Phillis Wheatley Award remarks. 2002
267 Woodruff, Hale (with and regarding). 1978-1979
268 Young, Nancy J., attorney; includes last will and testament. 1972-1980


IId. Speeches and other engagements. 1968-2005 (bulk: 1974-2004)

Subseries "IId. Speeches and other engagements" dates from 1968 to 2005, with bulk dates from 1974 to 2004). This subseries documents Haskins's speaking career along with awards, book signings, interviews, and other engagements. These records include correspondence, speeches and remarks (both draft and final versions), programs and itineraries, and some audio and video recordings. These files highlight the popularity Haskins held as a speaker throughout his career as a writer. This subseries is arranged chronologically.



Box Folder
414 Master reviews, video recording. 1968
402 "Haskins - Indianapolis" show on WLWI-TV audio recording. 1969 December 10
269 "Relevant Books for the Urban Youth" speech at Long Beach Public Library. 1970 April
2610 Assumption College Black Studies Conference speech. 1972 March
2611 Correspondence regarding speaking engagements. 1972-1976
393 Assorted audio cassette tapes. 1972-2003, undated
2612 "Need for Political Books for Young America" speech at Brooklyn Public Library. 1973 May
2613 "Education for What?" speech at St. Thomas Reading Council education conference. 1974 March
2614 Literature for the Adolescent Reader seminar (Kean College). 1974 July
2615 "Nonfiction in Children's Literature" guest lecture. 1974 October
2616 Awards, honors, and recognition correspondence. 1974-1998, 2005
2617 Finkelstein Memorial Library speech. 1975 January
2618 Green County (Alabama) Board of Education speech. 1975 January
2619 "Nonfiction Children's Literature, 1950-1975" presented at the Children's Literature Association conference. 1975 March
2620 "Racism and Sexism in Children's Nonfiction" lecture at University of Connecticut. 1975-1976, 1994
2621 Correspondence regarding assorted events and engagements. 1976-1999
2622 Coretta Scott King Awards program. 1977 July
403 "Norm Nathan with Jim Haskins" audio recording. 1977 November 10
404 "Sherman Kaplan / Jim Haskins, WBBM Chicago" audio recording. 1977 November 17
405 "Interview regarding The Cotton Club" audio recording. 1977 November
422 "Interview regarding The Cotton Club" audio recording. 1977 November
406 Assorted interviews, video recordings. 1977, undated
2623 "Childhood in American Life" conference program. 1978
2624 Introduction for Toni Morrison and Florida Writers' Conference program. 1978
2625 "Response to 'Children of Vaudeville'" delivered at the "Childhood in American Life" conference. circa 1978
271 Assorted engagement correspondence. 1978-1981
415 Voodoo & Hoodoo interview, video recording. 1979 July
272 Scott Joplin Festival speech (Trenton, new Jersey). 1981 February
273 "Psychology and the Blues" speech and correspondence. 1982-1986
274 "The Humanistic Black heritage of Alabama" speech and correspondence (Auburn University). 1983
275 Coretta Scott King Award Honorable Mention certificate (for Lena Horne). 1984 June 26
276 Cotton Club speeches. 1984, 1990
277 Assorted lectures correspondence, including University of Connecticut, Columbia College Chicago, Auburn University, the Cleveland (Ohio) Urban League, and more. 1984-1986
278 Minority Recognition Program (University of Florida) speech. 1985 March
279 "Zora Neale Hurston: Queen of the Nigerati" (Gainesville, Florida). 1985
2710 Assorted biographical articles and speaking engagement announcements. 1985-1995
2711 Assorted event and engagement correspondence and programs. 1986-1993
2712 "Triumph of the Spirit" speech from Indianapolis Public Library and other locations. 1987-1990
2713 McKetty retirement party remarks. 1988 March
2714 Frankie Hall funeral remarks. 1988 April
381 Carter G. Woodson Book Award plaque for Black Music in America. 1988 November 19
2715 Carter G. Woodson award acceptance speech. 1988 November
2716 Assorted notes on daily activities. 1988
2717 Letter from Judge Thomas Elwell regarding speech at Alachua library. 1989 March
2718 "Young Authors Conference" program (University of Montevallo). 1989, 1993
2719 Assorted speaking engagement correspondence. 1989-1990
2720 Night of Literary Feasts (Jacksonville Public Libraries) letter. 1990 November 6
2721 "Cotton Club - The Book, The Film" speech in Radford, Virginia. 1990
2722 Gary (Indiana) Public Library scholarship benefit correspondence and clipping. 1990
2723 Introduction for Maya Angelou. 1990-1991
2724 Coretta Scott King Award acceptance speech. 1991
2725 Invitations to speak. 1991
2726 Assorted promotional items. 1991-1996, undated
2727 "The Humanistic Black Heritage of Alabama" (Demopolis Public Library) speech and correspondence. 1993 March
2728 "A Brief History of African American Music" (Annapolis, Maryland). 1993 July
2729 Langston Hughes Lecture Series (Annapolis, Maryland) program and correspondence. 1993
2730 American Library Association conference correspondence and programs. 1993-1998
2731 Association of Black School Board Members speech. 1994 April
2732 "Conversations with Myself" program. 1994 August
382 Carter G. Woodson Book Award plaque for The March on Washington. 1994 November 17
2733 Children's Book Guild of Washington D.C. Book Week Luncheon correspondence, program, and awards speech. 1994 November
2734 Joy Anderson Memorial remarks. 1994 December
2735 "BookFest! Of the Palm Beaches" program, clippings, and correspondence. 1994
2736 International Conference on African Literature and the English Language (Nigeria) correspondence. 1994
2737 "Racism and Sexism in Children's Nonfiction" lecture at Atlanta University. 1994
416 Assorted speeches and events, video recordings (1 of 2). 1994, undated
417 Assorted speeches and events, video recordings (2 of 2). 1994, undated
2738 Assorted speaking engagements, conferences, and honors correspondence. 1994-1995
281 Assorted events and engagements correspondence. 1994-2002
282 Night of Literary Feasts and Day of Literary Lectures (Broward Public Library) correspondence and program. 1995
283 Children's Book Conference (Philadelphia) programs and correspondence. 1995-1996
284 Charlemae Hill Rollins Colloquium speech, program, and correspondence. 1996 April
383 Carter G. Woodson Book Award plaque for The Harlem Renaissance. 1997 November 22
285 "Writing the Region" workshop program and correspondence. 1997-1998
286 City of Gainesville Proclamation for Professor Jim Haskins Day. 1998 November 23
287 Alachua County Proclamation for Jim Haskins Day. 1998 December 8
288 Education Management Group's "Author's Desk" program correspondence and agreement. 1998
289 The Jazz Age in Paris (Smithsonian exhibit): Miami opening correspondence. 1998
2810 "An Afternoon with Jim Haskins" program, notes, and correspondence. 1998-1999
2811 The Jazz Age in Paris (Smithsonian exhibit) at Museum of Texas Tech University correspondence, program, and speech. 1998-2000
2812 Ninth Circuit Judicial Conference speech. 1999
2813 Southern Kentucky Festival of Books program, flyer, and correspondence. 1999
2814 "Visions of the Promised Land" speaker series (Central Florida Community College) correspondence. 1999
2815 "Finding the Jazz Age in Paris" speech and brochure. circa 1999
2816 Multicultural Affairs Cabinet (UF) Recognition Award Ceremony speech. 2000 April
2817 "Dr. Joe Taylor: In Memoriam," Indianapolis, Indiana. 2000
2818 Assorted notes on daily activities. 2001 October
2819 "The Jazz Age in Paris" for Perspectives series at Marietta College correspondence and speech. 2001
2820 "Alabama's Family Reading Calendar" and related correspondence. 2001-2002
2821 Alabama Writers Symposium speech and correspondence. 2001-2002
2822 Awards and nominations, assorted correspondence. 2001-2002
2823 "Biography and Creativity" conference sponsored by the John F. Kennedy Library and Museum program and correspondence. 2001-2002
418 "Biography as a Creative Process" panel discussion video recording. 2002 March 11
2824 Assorted notes on daily activities. 2002
2825 "Keeping the Faith: African American Sermons of Liberation" (Atlanta) correspondence, invitation, and program. 2002
2826 "Recess!" compact disc with brief talk by Haskins from 2002 on Rosa Parks, includes transcript. 2002, 2015, undated
2827 Contemporary Writers Series (Kean University) correspondence, speech, and flyer. 2002-2003
2828 Trinity United Church of Christ (Chicago) letter and Trumpet magazine. 2002-2003
2829 "Writing Today" conference (Birmingham Southern College) correspondence and program. 2002-2003
2830 Space Coast Writers' Guild conference program, correspondence, and speech. 2003
2831 35th Georgia Children's Literature Conference speech, correspondence, and program. 2003-2004
291 Invitations to assorted engagements. 2003-2004
384 James Haskins Visiting Scholar Award establishment plaque. 2004 February 25
394 35th Georgia Children's Literature Conference lecture audio recording. 2004 April 23
292 Conference on children's literature speech. 2004 April
293 "Alabama Bound 2005" correspondence with Ellen Lawrence. 2004
294 Bayard Rustin lecture at Ohio University correspondence. 2004
295 Beatty Award for Cecil Poole correspondence. 2004
296 Cassie Doria correspondence regarding Sigma Lambda Gamma. 2004
297 DuSable Museum open house correspondence. 2004
298 Institute for Learning in Retirement Jazz Seminar correspondence. 2004
299 PBS [Public Broadcasting Service] Demopolis project correspondence. 2004
2910 Correspondence regarding assorted speaking engagements. 2004-2005, undated
2911 Southern Kentucky Book Festival correspondence. 2005
2912 "Blacks in the Reconstruction Period" from Lectures in Black History series. undated
2913 Grove Press employees organizing speech. undated
2914 List of guest appearances from 1969 to 1978. undated
419 Perspectives video recording. undated
2915 Speech notes, Athens, Georgia. undated


IIe. Subject files. 1920s-2005 (bulk: 1961-1990)

Subseries "IIe. Subject files" dates from the 1920s to 2005, with bulk dates from 1961 to 1990. The records here include research files compiled on assorted people and subjects consisting of clippings, recordings, correspondence, sheet music, and transcripts. Of particular interest is a substantive collection of photographs and press clippings on Lionel Hampton from the early to mid-20th century. It is unclear of the origin of this collection of documents as it does not fit with the general structure of other research files from Haskins. This subseries is arranged alphabetically by name or subject.



Box Folder
2916 African American inventors, includes clippings. 1989-1990
407 "American Race Crisis" audio recordings. 1964
4211 Black dancers, photographs. undated
408 "Black History, Ed Robinson" audio recording. undated
2917 Black photographers, clippings. 2003, undated
409 "Black Teacher in Harlem" audio recording. undated
385 Café Metropole video recording of "trims and out takes". 1996
2918 Civil rights and constitutional concerns, assorted articles (not authored by Haskins). 1985-1987, undated
2919 Civil War, notes on PBS series. undated
2920 Desegregation ("busing") in Indianapolis clippings. 1973
4010 "The Dialect of the Black American" audio recording. undated
4015 Education voucher conference [Institute for the Advancement of Urban Education] audio recordings. 1971 December
4011 "Eldridge Cleaver" audio recording. 1968 July 3
2921 Hampton, Lionel: Agreement with World Broadcasting System. 1944 February 24
2922 Hampton, Lionel: Biographical information. undated
2923 Hampton, Lionel: Clipping. 1963
2924 Hampton, Lionel: Clippings (1 of 3). 1961
2925 Hampton, Lionel: Clippings (2 of 3). 1961
2926 Hampton, Lionel: Clippings (3 of 3). 1961
2927 Hampton, Lionel: Clippings from French and German language papers and one photograph (from scrapbook). 1953
29A1 Hampton, Lionel: Clippings (some in Spanish) and photograph. 1960-1961, undated
29A2 Hampton, Lionel: JVC Jazz Festival Stagebill. 1988 June
29A3 Hampton, Lionel: Memorial service pamphlet and obituary from the New York Times. 2002
429 Hampton, Lionel: Photograph of Gertrude Whitfield (mother). 1920s
4212 Hampton, Lionel: Photograph of Glady's Hampton (wife) on the cover of Newspic. 1945 July
29A4 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs. undated
29A5 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs. undated
29A6 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs and clippings, including photographs of Louis Armstrong, Dexter Gordon, and more. 1949, 1968, undated
29A7 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs and programs. 1949, 1957, undated
29A8 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs from 1943 and 1960 (reprints). undated
29A9 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs receiving honorary degree, family members, and with wife Gladys Riddle. undated
29A10 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs with Benny Goodmen, Louis Armstrong, and other musicians. 1956, undated
29A11 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs with fans. 1969, undated
29A12 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs with George Bush, Richard Nixon, Jackie Robinson, and more; program for 1949 Inaugural Ball. 1949, circa 1985, undated
29A13 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs with Jackie Robinson, Nelson Rockefeller, Richard Nixon, Louis Armstrong, and others. 1987, undated
29A14 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs with Louis Armstrong. 1941, 1964, undated
29A15 Hampton, Lionel: Photographs with relatives and parents. 1951, undated
301 Hampton, Lionel: Photograph signed for his brother Sam. 1937 June 21
423 "Harlem: A Sketchbook Report" comic by Robert Crumb in Help! magazine (1964, reproduction). undated
4012 "H. Rap Brown" audio recording. undated
302 Institute for the Advancement of Urban Education proposals and conference programs regarding education vouchers and school desegregation. 1971
4013 "Julian Bond" audio recording. undated
303 McCollum, Ruby: Includes writings by William Bradford Huie, correspondence with Martha Huie and the Film Commission of Real Florida, materials regarding the play "Wave Me Goodbye," and more. 2002
304 Minstrelry and Silas Green, includes clippings and correspondence (1 of 2). 1973, 1982, undated
424 Minstrelry and Silas Green, includes clippings and correspondence (2 of 2). 1973, 1982, undated
305 A Negro League Scrapbook by Carole Weatherford, proof. 2005
4014 "Negro Writers Vision of America #1, James Baldwin - keynote" audio recording. 1965 April 29
306 Nicholas Brothers clippings and correspondence. 1983-1984, 1988
307 "Obsolete Labels from the Archives of Louisiana Trade Labels" postcards. undated
308 Ramapough Mountain Indians ("Jackson Whites") clippings. undated
309 "Rap on Race" transcripts, featuring interviews with Stokley Carmichael, Eldridge Cleaver, and more (used for book proposal). 1971
3010 Sheet music from "Cotton Club" series and similar. 1924, 1934
3011 Theatre and music clippings. 1993
3012 Vallis, Vincent: Letter regarding Lorraine Lester. 1961 January 9
3013 Voodoo and hoodoo implements, including "goofer dust" from the grave of Zora Neale Hurston. undated
3014 "Watershed Essays" (author unknown). circa 2003
3015 Williams, Frances: Correspondence, research, interview transcript. 1983-1995
3016 Zora Neale Hurston, interview with Robert Hemmingway and Mildred Hill-Luben. undated


IIf. Teaching files. 1966-2005 (bulk: 1973-2004)

Subseries "IIf. Teaching files" dates from 1966 to 2005, with bulk dates from 1973 to 2004. These records cover Haskins's teaching career from Public School 92 in Harlem to the University of Florida in Gainesville. These files contain correspondence and memoranda, teaching certificates, course syllabi and reading lists, lecture recordings and transcripts, appointment notices and contracts, and annual activity reports. These annual activities reports often contain press clippings, award and publication announcements, flyers for programs, book reviews, and more, highlighting the year's accomplishments. This subseries is arranged chronologically.



Box Folder
311 Teaching certificates and related correspondence. 1966-1974
312 New York Board of Education notice of appointment. 1968
313 Psychological tests and instructions, administered by Haskins. 1969
314 Course syllabi and reading lists from Indiana University, Staten Island Community College, Manhattanville College, and the New School for Social Research. 1969-1976, undated
315 Psi Systems program on "Black Studies". circa 1970
395 Assorted audio cassette tapes. 1970, 2002-2003, undated
316 Assorted course descriptions and proposals. 1971-1975, 1985
317 Indianapolis Weekend College correspondence, proposal, and essay. 1973
318 Indianapolis Weekend College lecture transcripts (1 of 3). 1973
319 Indianapolis Weekend College lecture transcripts (2 of 3). 1973
3110 Indianapolis Weekend College lecture transcripts (3 of 3). 1973
3111 Lecture transcripts, assorted. circa 1975
3112 Assorted reading lists. 1975-1976, undated
3113 College of New Rochelle (New York) teaching agreement. 1977 January
3114 College of New Rochelle (New York) teaching agreement. 1977-1979
3115 Annual activities reports and supporting documents. 1977-1984
3116 UF notices of appointment and contracts. 1977-2002
3117 Assorted UF correspondence, hiring and scheduling documents, and conference notes. 1978-1979, 1983, 1987-1990, 1999-2003
3118 Assorted course proposals and syllabi. 1979-1994
3119 UF tenure and promotion correspondence. 1980-1981
3120 Assorted UF correspondence and scheduling documents. 1980-1984
3121 Merit Pay Committee memoranda. 1982
3122 Sabbatical correspondence and applications. 1982-1996
3123 "The Psychology of Black Language" course proposal and grant application. 1985
3124 Annual activities reports and correspondence. 1985-1990
3125 Proposal for Florida Institute for the Study of Children's Literature. 1986
3126 Assorted UF English department correspondence and memoranda. 1986-1989
3127 LIT 4331 and 4332 "Children's Literature" syllabi. 1987-1990, 1993
3128 Awards and recognitions. 1988-1990, 1998
3129 Letters of appreciation from students. 1988-1991, 2000, 2004, undated
3130 General Education Committee memoranda. 1989-1992
3131 LIT 4930 "Nobel and Pulitzer Prize Winners" syllabi. 1990-1994, undated
3132 Faculty newsletter announcements (1 of 2). 1990-2005
3133 Faculty newsletter announcements (2 of 2). 1990-2005
3134 Student correspondence (1 of 2). 1990-2005
3135 Student correspondence (2 of 2). 1990-2005
3136 Annual activity reports. 1991-1995
321 Correspondence regarding faculty recommendations. 1992, 2001-2002
322 Assorted UF English department correspondence and syllabi. 1992-2000
323 Chair search, Department of English, correspondence, minutes, and memoranda. 1993-1994
324 Student complaint correspondence. 1993-1994, 2000
325 Departmental planning memoranda. 1994-1998
326 Annual activities report and supporting records. 1995-1996
327 English Department correspondence and semester reports. 1996, 2000-2003
328 Annual activities report and supporting documents. 1997-1999
329 Assorted course syllabi, including LIT 4331, 4333, 4930, and ENC 3310; with correspondence regarding changes. 1998, undated
3210 University mentor program correspondence. 1998-1999
3211 LIT 4331 "Children's Literature" syllabi and readings. 1998-2004
3212 LIT 4333 "Literature for Adolescents" syllabi and correspondence. 1998-2004, undated
3213 Faculty assignment reports. 1998-2005
3214 Faculty teaching award correspondence. 1999
4110 LIT 4930 "Writing Biographical Literature" video recordings. 1999
3215 Annual activity reports and supporting records. 1999-2001
3216 Annual activities report and evaluation with supporting documents. 2000-2001
3217 Multicultural course ideas correspondence. 2000-2001
3218 Salary adjustment review application. 2000-2001
3219 LIT 4930 "Literature and the Law" assorted correspondence. 2000-2002
3220 LIT 4930 "Writing Biographical Literature" syllabus, correspondence, and readings. 2000-2003, undated
3221 LIT 4930 "Literature and the Law" course material. 2001
3222 LIT 4930 "Nobel and Pulitzer Prize Winners" syllabus and readings. 2001
3223 LIT 4930 "Philosophy of Literature" and "Nobel and Pulitzer Prize Winners" syllabi and correspondence. 2001, 2004
3224 Annual activities report documentation. 2001-2003
3225 English Department letters and emails "sent". 2001-2004
3226 LIT 4930 "Literature and the Law" correspondence with Joseph Little, proposal, syllabi. 2001-2004
3227 English Department letters and emails "received". 2001-2005
3228 Sabbatical correspondence and proposal, includes curriculum vitae. 2001-2005
3229 Annual activities reports with related correspondence. 2002-2004
3230 Correspondence with Jack Perlette regarding course scheduling. 2003
3231 Faculty teaching award application materials. 2003
3232 Salary adjustment review application. 2003-2004
3233 Paris Research Center The Jazz Age in Paris proposal correspondence. 2004
3234 Annual activity report and supporting documentation and correspondence. 2004-2005
3235 Draft evaluation letter and annual activities report. 2005 April



III. Personal papers and correspondence [RESTRICTED until 2056]. 1972-2005

Series "III. Personal papers and correspondence" dates from 1972 to 2005. The records of this series are restricted until 2056. Included in this series is personal and family correspondence (some professional correspondence interfiled among the personal), investment proposals and correspondence, condolence letters, legal documents, and papers regarding Haskins's community assorted involvement activities. This series is arranged alphabetically by correspondent's name or subject of the folder contents.




IV. Photographs and scrapbooks. circa 1960-2004 (bulk: 1970-1990)

Series "IV. Photographs and scrapbooks" dates from circa 1960 to 2004, with bulk dates from 1970 to 1990. Most of this series consists of photographs, the bulk of which are reproductions used for publication within Haskins's books. Of particular interest here are the scrapbooks created by Kathleen Benson that trace the life and work of Haskins (a more detailed list of scrapbook contents is available from the curator). Volumes 1 to 6 focus on his books. These albums contain book covers, event flyers, book reviews, clippings, letters, and press releases. Volume 7 contains articles and book reviews by Haskins, news clippings on Haskins (biographical), letters, event and teaching materials, and photographs. Volume 8 focuses on The Cotton Club and Bricktop and contains news clippings, book and movie reviews, obituaries, promotional items and memorabilia, and book covers. Photographs of Lionel Hampton are located in the "IIe. Subject files" subseries. This series is arranged alphabetically by subject of the photographs or the title of a book.



Box Folder
351 Andrew Young: Man with a Mission. 1978, undated
352 Armstrong, Louis at the Cotton Club. undated
353 Assorted: Aretha Franklin, Ethel Waters, Quincy Jones, William Grant Still, Mahalia Jackson, Wynton Marsalis, Leontyne Price (likely compiled for a book on jazz). circa 1960, undated
354 Assorted astronauts, explorers, and ancient symbols. undated
425 Assorted, including Mabel Mercer, Bob McAdoo. Tess Gardella, P. B. S. Pinchback, and more. undated
355 Assorted, including Sammy Davis, Jr.. undated
356 Assorted: James Haskins, Bille Holiday, Count Basie, Harold Arlen. 1970s, undated
357 Assorted photographs from "Haskins's collection" with related correspondence, includes Bo Jangles, Michael Jackson, Jesse Jackson, and more. 1985, 1992, undated
358 Assorted photographs, including James Baldwin, Ann Southern, and more. undated
359 Babe Ruth and Hank Aaron. 1974, undated
3510 Big Mama Thornton. circa 1984
3511 Bill Cosby, from late 1950s to 1988 (reprints). undated
3512 Black, Blue, and Gray. undated
3513 "Black dance". undated
3514 Black theater. undated
3515 Bricktop, from Haskins to Rolling Stone for her obituary. circa 1984
3516 Carter G. Woodson. undated
3517 Charleston and the Sea Islands, South Carolina, by the United Methodist Missions (1 of 2). circa 1967
3518 Charleston and the Sea Islands, South Carolina, by the United Methodist Missions (2 of 2). circa 1967
3519 Conjure Times, with some correspondence. 1998-1999, undated
3520 Conrad, Barbara; includes clippings and note. 1983, undated
3521 The Cotton Club. 1978, undated
3522 The Cotton Club: Black and white photographic negative prints. undated
361 The Cotton Club photographic reproductions from New York Public Library, the Museum of the City of New York, and more; related correspondence. 1977, 1984, 1991, undated
362 Cotton Club photographs and negatives. undated
363 Cotton Pickers Orchestra, Bobby Lee. undated
364 Dunham, Katherine; from 1935 to 1951, includes correspondence. 2000, undated
365 Ellington, Duke; includes reprint of 1934 photograph. undated
366 "Extract from the Reconstructed Constitution of the State of Louisiana" and other related reproductions. undated
367 Farrakhan, Louis; also includes Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Spike Lee, and more (from "AP/Wide World Photos"). 1996
368 Fitzgerald, Ella; 1940s through the 1970s (reprints). undated
369 From Lew Alcindor to Kareem Abdul Jabbar. undated
3610 Hamilton, Lynn (autographed). 1981 July
426 Haskins, James. early 1970s
3611 Haskins, James. 1970s-1980s
3612 Haskins, James. 1991, 2000, 2004
3613 Haskins, James. 2003
3614 Haskins, James; for Recess website. 2002
3615 Haskins, James (on compact disc). 2004 October
3616 Haskins, James; reception proof sheet. 1998 December
427 Haskins, James; regarding The Jazz Age in Paris exhibition. 1999
3617 Haskins, James; with Maya Angelou, Pinkie Gordon Lane, Verta Mae Grosvenor, Rosa Parks, and Elaine Steel. undated
3618 Haskins, James; with Nikki Giovanni and Willie Browne, and at Lillian's Music Store. 1984, 1998, 2000
3619 Horne, Lena; from 1941 to 1982 (reprints). undated
3620 Irving, Julius (many by Jim Cummins). undated
428 Jazz band. undated
3621 Jobs in Business and Office (Exploring Careers series). 1972, undated
3622 Joplin, Scott; with negatives of other ragtime musicians and composers. undated
3623 Lee, Spike; photographs by David Lee. 1996, undated
3624 Malcolm X. undated
3625 McGinnis, George; includes clipping and negative. undated
3626 Mercer, Mabel. undated
3627 New Americans: Cuban Boat People. undated
371 Queen of the Blues (Dinah Washington). undated
372 Quiet Revolution. undated
373 Rangel, Charles, Davis Pinkins, and others. undated
374 "Received with review books," includes Bo Jangles, Duke Ellington, Billie Holiday, Jo Baker, and more (some by Austin Hansen). undated
375 Richard Pryor. undated
43 Scrapbook: Volume 1 - Book jackets, event flyers, reviews, and more. 1970-1973, 1982
44 Scrapbook: Volume 2 - Book jackets, event flyers, reviews, and more. 1973-1975, 1986
45 Scrapbook: Volume 3 - Book jackets, event flyers, reviews, and more. 1975-1979
46 Scrapbook: Volume 4 - Book jackets, event flyers, reviews, and more. 1978-1983, 1989
47 Scrapbook: Volume 5 - Book jackets, event flyers, reviews, and more. 1982-1987
48 Scrapbook: Volume 6 - Book jackets, event flyers, reviews, and more. 1986-1990
49 Scrapbook: Volume 7 - Articles, reviews, photographs, and clippings. 1969-1983
50 Scrapbook: Volume 8 - The Cotton Club and Bricktop. 1977-1990
376 Snow Sculpture and Ice Carving. undated
377 Stevie Wonder, includes photographs with Ella Fitzgerald and the Rolling Stones. 1972, 1980, undated
378 Summer, Donna. 1982
379 Voodoo & Hoodoo: Pictures, negatives, and correspondence regarding the Dixie Drug Store. 1993, undated
3710 Who Are the Handicapped?. undated



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

African Americans
Biography
Bricktop, 1894-1984
Children's literature
Cotton Club
History
Joplin, Scott, 1868-1917




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page