Skip to Search



A Guide to the Marilyn Staton Hapsis-Hugo Design Collection

Finding aid created by Thomas Minton

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
July 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Hapsis-Hugo, Marilyn Staton
Title: Marilyn Staton Hapsis-Hugo Design Collection
Dates: 1956-2009
Bulk dates: 1956-1986
Abstract: Designs and a small number of photographs documenting the design work of Marilyn Staton Hapsis-Hugo.
Extent: 10.5 Linear feet. 5 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 286
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Interior designer Marilyn Staton Hapsis-Hugo received her Bachelor of Design degree (with honors) from the University of Florida in 1958. After graduation she moved to Jacksonville, Florida, and worked as a freelance designer, completing interior and exterior renderings, scale models for architects, murals and art work. In 1965 she joined the interior design firm of Albert Hugo Associates as an interior designer. She is the wife of the late Edward E. Hugo, son of the founder, Albert Hugo, who started the business in 1921. In addition to the design studio, Hugo's includes a showroom, upholstery shop, frame shop, and drapery department. She currently serves as Vice President of Design for Hugo's Fine Furniture and Interiors. Selected commercial projects include the Breakers Hotel and Everglades Club in Palm Beach, the Delray Beach Club, Flagler College in St. Augustine, St. John's River Bank in Jacksonville, Florida National Bank in Orlando, San Jose Country Club in Jacksonville, and RingPower Corp. offices in St. Augustine and Orlando. She has completed designs for numerous residences in North Florida, Virginia, Vermont and Texas.

More information is available in a resume created by Hapsis-Hugo.


Scope and Content

The collection is comprised of designs and a small number of photographs documenting the design work of Marilyn Staton Hapsis-Hugo from 1956 to 2009. The drawings primarily are mounted renderings, although a small number are not mounted. The drawings are organized into three parts: Projects Completed at Hugo's, Freelance Projects, and Student Projects. The Hugo's Projects series includes designs completed for Albert Hugo Associates and Hugo's Fine Furniture and Interiors. The Freelance Projects consist of professional designs not completed for Hugo's, primarily between 1958 and 1965. Students Projects are those designs completed while she was a student at the University of Florida College of Architecture and Allied Arts in the mid-1950s. The collection also includes a small group of photographs of design work completed in the Jacksonville area.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Marilyn Staton Hapsis-Hugo Design Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Marilyn Staton Hapsis-Hugo in 2009.

Processing Notes

Prior to donating the collection, Marilyn Staton Hapsis-Hugo arranged, numbered and described many of the drawings. During processing, some numbers were changed to bring related projects together.


Contents List

Projects Completed at Hugo's


Box
1 1. "Waiting Area" - St. John's River Bank, Gulf Life Tower, Jacksonville, Florida. 1967
1 2. "Customer Lounge" - St. John's River Bank, Gulf Life Tower, Jacksonville, Florida. 1967
1 3. "Officer's Platform" - St. John's River Bank, Gulf Life Tower, Jacksonville, Florida. 1967
1 4. "Bali Bar" - Everglades Club, Palm Beach, Florida. 1971
1 5. "Cocktail Lounge" - Everglades Club, Palm Beach, Florida. 1971
1 6. "Entry and Foyer" - Everglades Club, Palm Beach, Florida. 1971
1 7. "Dining Room" - Everglades Club, Palm Beach, Florida. 1971
1 8. "Employee's Lounge" - Blue Cross Blue Shield Building, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
1 9. "Board Room" - Blue Cross Blue Shield Building, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
1 10. "Executive Offices" - Blue Cross Blue Shield Building, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972

Folder
F1 11. "Lobby #1" - Blue Cross Blue Shield Building, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972

Box
1 12. "Surf Club Dining Room" - Rendering, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Not dated
1 13. "Upper Patio, Room Number 51" - Rendering, The Inn, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Not dated
1 14. "Lobby" - Rendering, Surf Club, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Not dated
1 15-16. "The Sea Horse Lounge" - Renderings, Surf Club, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida (on two boards). 1965
1 17. "The Inn" - Rendering (not built), Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Not dated
1 18. "Executive Suite" - Rendering, Sand Dollar Motel, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Not dated
1 19A. "The Court" Ocean Front Suite - Rendering, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1977
1 19B. "The Court" Typical Room Type B - Rendering, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1977
1 20. "The Sand Dollar" Typical Room - Rendering, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1986
1 21. "The Sea Gull" Typical Room - Rendering, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1980
1 22. "Golf Club Villas" Living/ Dining Room - Rendering, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1975
1 23. "Golf Club Villas" Bedroom #1 - Rendering, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1975
1 24. "Elevation of Dining Room" - San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). 1964
1 25. "Window Elevation" (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). Not dated
1 26. "Lobby" - Launch Operations Center, Kennedy Space Center, Merritt Island, Florida. 1963
1 27. "President Schroder's Office" - Prudential Life Insurance Building, Jacksonville, Florida. Not dated
1 28. "8th Floor Reception Area" - Prudential Life Insurance Building, Jacksonville, Florida. Not dated
1 29. "Lounge" - First Federal Savings and Loan Association, Jacksonville, Florida. Not dated
1 30. "Reception" - Duval Federal Savings, Jacksonville, Florida. 1964

Folder
F2 31. "Lounge and Card Room" - Ponce de Leon Motor Lodge, St. Augustine, Florida. 1968
F2 32. "Bar and Cocktail Lounge" - Ponce de Leon Motor Lodge, St. Augustine, Florida. 1968
F2 33. "Lobby" - Ponce de Leon Motor Lodge, St. Augustine, Florida. 1968

Box
2 34. "Cocktail Lounge" - Ponce de Leon Motor Lodge, St. Augustine, Florida. 1976
2 35. "President's Office" - Ring Power Corporation, Jacksonville, Florida. 1965
2 36. "Marine Lounge" - Royal Palm Yacht and Country Club, Boca Raton, Florida. 1982
2 37. "Dining Room" - Royal Palm Yacht and Country Club, Boca Raton, Florida. 1982
2 38. "Cocktail Lounge" - The Delray Beach Club, Delray Beach, Florida. 1978
2 39. "North View of Dining Room" - The Delray Beach Club, Delray Beach, Florida. 1978
2 40. "Dining Room Lounge" - The Delray Beach Club, Delray Beach, Florida. 1978
2 41. "Entry" - San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
2 42. "Foyer" - San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
2 43. "Dining Room, Looking North" - San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
2 44. "Dining Room, Looking South" - San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
2 45. "Private Dining Room" - San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
2 46. "Meeting Room" - San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
2 47. "Cocktail Lounge" - San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
2 48. "The Vista Room" - San Jose Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida. 1972
2 49. "Starlight Lounge" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
2 50. "Living Room Dining Room, Tower Suite (North)" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
2 51. "Typical Room (Scheme A)" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
2 52. "Living Room (Scheme 1)" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
2 53. "Starlight Party Room" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
2 54. "Starlight Bar" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
2 55. "Casino Dining" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. 1970
2 56. "Chandeliers for Ballroom Addition" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
2 57. "Flagler Board Room" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida [Note: retained by Marilyn]. 1969
2 58. "Door Elevation Starlight Lounge" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
2 59. "Main Dining Windows" - The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida [Note: retained by Marilyn]. 1969
2 60. "Lobby" - Springfield Atlantic Bank, Jacksonville, Florida. 1969

Folder
F3 61. "Main Banking Lobby" - Florida First National Bank of Orlando, Florida. Not dated

Box
2 62. "Office of the President - Mr. J.B. Lumpkin" - The State Bank (Prudential Building), Jacksonville, Florida. 1963
- 63. "Dining Room Windows" - Gulf Stream Golf Club, Gulf Stream, Florida [Note: held by Marilyn Hapsis Hugo].
- 64. "Dining Room Alternate" - Gulf Stream Golf Club, Gulf Stream, Florida [Note: held by Marilyn Hapsis Hugo].
3 65. "Main Dining Room" Window Elevation - The Inn, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1968
3 66. "The Sand Dune" Suite Living Room - Rendering, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1976
3 67. "Lobby" - Aetna Insurance Company, Jacksonville, Florida. 1971
3 68A-B. "Lobby" - Aetna Insurance Company, Jacksonville, Florida (collage with attached samples, on two boards). 1971
3 69. "Dining Room Wine Rack/Display Cabinet" - The Delray Beach Club, Delray Beach, Florida (Rendering with pencil tracing and one photocopy). 1978
3 70. "The Gates" (Doors to Bar) - Ponce De Leon Motor Lodge, St. Augustine, Florida. 1976
3 71. "Elevation of Bar Front" - Surf Club, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1970s
3 72. "Doors to Cocktail Lounge" - Elevation, The Inn, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1970s
3 73. "Wine Cabinet" - The Inn, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Not dated
3 74. "Window Treatment" - Golf Club Dining Room, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Not dated
3 75. "Partial Elevation of Window" - Lagoon Lounge, Ponte Vedra Inn, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Not dated
3 76. "Bar Canopy, Cornice and Draperies" - Lagoon Lounge, Ponte Vedra Inn, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Not dated
3 77. "The Surf Club Waiting Area" - Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1968
3 78. "Dining Room Window Treatment" - Lewis Residence, Richmond, Virginia. 1969
3 79A-D. Miscellaneous Window Treatments (4 items). 1969
3 80. "Customer Lounge" - St. John's River Bank, Gulf Life Tower, Jacksonville, Florida. 1967

Folder
F4 81. "The Great Lounge" - Furniture plan, The Inn, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. 1968
F5 82. "Floor Plan" - St. John's River Bank, Gulf Life Tower, Jacksonville, Florida. 1968

Box
3 83. "The Paradise Lounge" - Floor plan, The Inn, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida (Note indicates this was Marilyn's first drawing after being employed by Hugo Associates 8/6/1965). 1965


Freelance Projects


Box
4 FL1. "Executive Office" - Atlantic Coastline Building, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). Circa 1960-1965
4 FL2. "Executive Office" - Atlantic Coastline Building, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). Circa 1960-1965
4 FL3. "Executive Office" - Atlantic Coastline Building, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). Circa 1960-1965
4 FL4. "Officer's Lounge" - Naval Air Station, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Groff Designs) (note: this was first rendering completed for pay). 1958
4 FL5. "Officer's Lounge" - Naval Air Station, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Groff Designs) (note: this was first rendering completed for pay). 1958
4 FL6. "Typical Room for Holiday Inn" - Maxwell Company, Atlanta, Georgia. 1962
4 FL7. "Living Room - View 1" - Residence, Jacksonville, Florida. 1958
4 FL8. "Living Room - View 2" - Residence, Jacksonville, Florida. 1958
4 FL9. "Typical Room" - Rendering, Ponte Vedra Club, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida (Designer: Edward Hugo, AID). Circa 1960-1965
4 FL10. "Modern Desk" - Jacksonville, Florida (To be custom built). 1963
4 FL11. "Executive Lounge" - Atlantic Coastline Building, Executive Floor, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). 1962
4 FL12. "Employee Lounge" - Atlantic Coastline Building, Jacksonville, Florida. Not dated
4 FL13. "Lobby" - Fidelity Federal Savings Bank, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). 1958
4 FL14. "Executive Boardroom" - Atlantic Coastline Building, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). 1962
4 FL15. "President's Office" - Atlantic Coastline Building, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). 1962
4 FL16. "President's Office" - Atlantic Coastline Building, Executive Floor, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). 1963
4 FL17. "Executive Dining" - Atlantic Coastline Building, Executive Floor, Jacksonville, Florida (Designer: Ben Jones, Inc.). 1963


Student Projects


Box
4 S1-3. "A Mountain Lodge" - Renderings of an interior spaces, elevations and attached samples (on three boards). 1956
4 S4-5. "Interior Design Studio" - Floor plan, rendering, elevations and attached samples (on two boards). 1956
4 S6. "A Record Shop" - Rendering, elevation, floor plan, sections, and attached samples (Winner of Florida Architecture Merit Award). 1957
4 S7-9. "A Textile Showroom" - Renderings, sections, and attached samples (on three boards). 1957

Folder
F6 S10-12. "Settings for the Theatre for Verdi's Opera Aida" - Renderings and plans (on three boards). 1957

Box
5 S13-14. "A Breakfast Room" - Elevations, plans, sections with attached samples (on two boards). 1956
5 S15-17. "A Sleeping Porch for Florida" - Elevations, details, renderings, plans, with attached samples (on three boards). 1956
5 S18. "A Bedroom in the Style of: Duncan Phyfe" - Rendering, elevations and attached samples. 1956
5 S19-21. "A Studio in the Chinese Style of Chippendale" - Elevations, plans and renderings (on three boards). 1956
5 S22. "Dinette Table: Folding Type" - Plan and detail with two elevations. 1956
5 S23. "A Vanity for a Woman's Bedroom" - Plan and renderings. 1956
5 S24-25. "A Motel" - Renderings, plans with attached samples (on two boards). 1956
5 S26-27. "A Service Room" - Renderings, elevations, plans with attached samples (on two boards). 1957

Folder
F7 S28-29. "Preliminary Interior Studies, Florida Union" - Renderings of V.I.P. bedroom suite, small meeting room, meeting lounge and a long gallery (on two boards). Not dated

Box
5 S30-31. "Reception Areas in Residence of U.S. Ambassador" - Renderings, elevations and plan (on two boards). 1957


Photographs


Box
5 P1. "Lobby at Parking Garage" - IBM Building, Jacksonville, Florida (Chuck Davis, Aesthetic Photography). 1972
5 P2. "Lobby"- Aetna Insurance Company, Jacksonville, Florida (Chuck Davis, Aesthetic Photography) (Note: The 8x8 painting in the photograph was also painted by Marilyn Hapsis-Hugo). 1971
5 P3. "Lobby" - Blue Cross Blue Shield Building, Jacksonville, Florida (Chuck Davis, Aesthetic Photography). Not dated


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Interior decoration -- Florida



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page