Skip to Search





A Guide to the Mark G. Hampton Papers

Finding aid created by Anzhelika Arbatskaya and John R. Hampton, Jr.

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

February 2017



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Hampton, Mark G., 1923-2015
Title: Mark G. Hampton Papers
Dates: 1923-2015
Bulk dates: 1950-2004
Abstract: Architectural drawings, photos, project files and other papers of architect Mark G. Hampton, who worked for approximately 60 years in Sarasota, Tampa, Miami, and other cities in Florida.
Extent: 16.5 Linear feet. 30 boxes and 137 Items.
Identification: MSS 0376
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Architect Mark Garrison Hampton, FAIA, was born in Tampa, Florida on July 17, 1923. He served as a Captain in the U.S. Army Infantry during World War II, and following the war he received a Bachelor of Architecture degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1949. After a brief period working in Atlanta, Hampton moved back to Florida in 1950 to become an employee of the influential Twitchell and Rudolph firm. When the firm disbanded in 1951, Hampton relocated to Tampa and started his own practice, which he operated for thirteen years. In 1966, he relocated to Miami and partnered with the firm of Herbert H. Johnson and Associates. He started his own firm in Coconut Grove in 1974.

Hampton was one of the Florida modernists who were collectively known as the Sarasota School of Architecture. He and the other Sarasota modernists were heavily influenced by the Bauhaus movement and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, and their designs were adapted to the climate, landscape and vernacular architecture of Florida. Hampton received multiple awards from the American Institute of Architects and the Florida AIA throughout his career was recognized as a Fellow of the AIA in 1967. Notable projects include Galloway's Furniture Showroom in Tampa, the Lannan Museum in Lake Worth, FL, two science buildings for the University of South Florida, and Wolfsonian Museum in Miami. His residential designs included the Horizon House in Tampa, which received a National Design Award, and the Jordan Residence in Lake Wales, FL, which received a Test of Time Award. He lived in Coconut Grove until his death on February 28, 2015.


Scope and Content

The Hampton Papers include architectural drawings, project files, project photos, and materials relating to Hampton's life and career such as news clippings, videos, and memorabilia. The collection spans 1923 to 2016, but the bulk of the materials relate to his professional career and date from 1950 to 2004. The project files, project photos and drawings are primarily arranged alphabetically, although the drawings are first grouped as residential and commercial projects. Many of Hampton's designs are documented comprehensively with plans, photos, publications and correspondence, but it should be noted that some projects lack full documentation. Also included in the collection are memorabilia from Hampton's childhood, his service during World War II, and his professional career. The collection also includes objects and publications used in an exhibition honoring Hampton, which was created by the University of Miami School of Architecture in 2010.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The University of Florida also holds John Howey's Sarasota School of Architecture Collection, which includes some materials pertaining to Hampton.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Mark G. Hampton Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The Hampton Papers were donated by the Estate of Mark G. Hampton in 2015. Acquisition of the collection was made possible through the efforts of Mark Hampton's niece, Sharon Blanchard, and his colleague, architect Suzanne Martinson.


Contents List

Project files.



Box Folder
11 Adams Jr. High (John Quincy Adams Junior High School) - Tampa, Florida. undated
12 Bal Harbour Shops Expansion - Bal Harbour, Florida. 1981-1991
13 Bal Harbour Shops Landscape Enhancements - Bal Harbour, Florida. 1982-1983, 2000
201 Bal Harbour Shops Landscape Enhancements - Bal Harbour, Florida. 1982-1983, 2000
14 Bal Harbour Shops Parking Garage - Bal Harbour, Florida. 2000-2001
202 Bal Harbour Shops Parking Garage - Bal Harbour, Florida. 2000-2001
15 Bal Harbour Shops - Bal Harbour, Florida. 2001-2015
203 Bal Harbour Shops - Bal Harbour, Florida (evolution). 2001-2015
16 Bal Harbour Hotel Proposal - Bal Harbour, Florida. 2002
17 Blanchard Residence - Dade City, Florida (Little Everglades Ranch). 1999-2009
204 Blanchard Residence - Dade City, Florida (Little Everglades Ranch). 1999-2009
18 Blanchard Residence - Tampa, Florida. 2000-2001
19 Blanchard Steeplechase Tower - Dade City, Florida (Little Everglades Ranch). 2002-2003
110 Brabson Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1983-1985
21 Brabson Residence - Elk River, North Carolina. 1992-1997
22 Chastain Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1956
23 Competition Projects (Folder 1 of 2). Circa 1949
205 Competition Projects (Folder 2 of 2). Circa 1949
24 Crystal River High School - Crystal River, Florida. 1965
25 Danielson Residence - Coconut Grove, Florida. 1984-1985, 2011-2012
26 Danielson Residence (Suzanne Martinson Architects) - Coconut Grove, Florida. 2007
27 Eau Gallie High School - Eau Gallie, Florida. 1964
206 Eau Gallie High School - Eau Gallie, Florida. 1964
28 Florida State Fair Fine Arts Exhibition - Tampa Florida. 1962-1969
29 Galloway's Furniture Showroom - Tampa, Florida. 1958
210 Mark Hampton Residence - Coconut Grove, Florida. undated
211 Harig Residence. 1951, 1983
212 Horizon House - Tampa, Florida. 1963, 2008
207 Horizon House - Tampa, Florida (Renovation and Addition). 2005
213 Jordan Residence - Lake Wales, Florida. 1955-1986
214 Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity House, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida. 1961
31 Lannan Residence and Lannan Ocean Pavilion - Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
32 Lannan Museum (Lannan Foundation) - Lake Worth, Florida. 1980
208 Lannan Museum (Lannan Foundation) - Lake Worth, Florida. 1980
33 Lannan Museum (Lannan Foundation) - Exhibitions, object lists and descriptions (Folder 1 of 2). 1983-1984
34 Lannan Museum (Lannan Foundation) - Exhibitions, object lists and descriptions (Folder 2 of 2). 1983-1984
35 Lazenby Residence. 2006
36 Lopez-Cambil Residence - Coconut Grove, Florida. 1992
37 Luyk Residence - Coral Gables, Florida. 2002
209 Luyk Residence - Coral Gables, Florida. 2002
38 McBath Residence, St. Petersburg, Florida. 1955
39 McIntosh Middle School - Sarasota, Florida. 1962
2010 Medical Art Building-Alterations to the home and office of Dr. George Morrison. 1983
310 Medical Office Building - Tampa, Florida. 1958
311 Palm Bay Towers - Miami, Florida. undated
312 Peninsula Motor Club (AAA) - Lakeland, Florida. 1961-1965
313 Perry Residence - Lakeland, Florida. 1958-1959
2011 Pisaris Residence. 2001
314 Rice (Bart) Residence (Blanchard - Little Everglades Ranch) - Dade City, Florida. 2009
315 Rodieck Residence - Clearwater, Florida. 1959
316 Ruwitch Apartment - Coral Gables, Florida. 2001-2003
317 Smith Residence. undated
318 St. Mary's Episcopal Church and Parish Hall - Tampa, Florida. 1959
2012 St. Mary's Episcopal Church and Parish Hall - Tampa, Florida. 1959
319 Subotnick Residence - Palm Beach, Florida. 1997
2013 Subotnick Residence - Palm Beach, Florida (Folder 1 of 2). 1997
2014 Subotnick Residence - Palm Beach, Florida (Folder 2 of 2). 1997
320 Tangelwood Gulf and Country Club - Tampa, Florida. undated
321 University of South Florida Chemistry Building - Tampa, Florida. 1960
322 University of South Florida Life Science Building - Tampa, Florida. 1961
2015 University of South Florida Life Science Building - Tampa, Florida. 1961
323 Venice Junior High School - Venice, Florida. 1958
324 Weaving (Andrew) and Thomasson (Ian) Residence. undated
325 Weis Residence - Savannah, Georgia. 1960
2016 Weis Residence - Savannah, Georgia. 1960
326 Weyerhaeuser Community Art Center. 1966
327 Whitman Residence - Miami, Florida. 1987-2007
328 Williamson Residence - Lake Wales, Florida. 1957
41 Wolfe Residence - Miami, Florida (Folder 1 of 3). 1981
42 Wolfe Residence - Miami, Florida (Folder 2 of 3). 1981
43 Wolfe Residence - Miami, Florida (Folder 3 of 3). 1978-1991
44 Wolfson Apartment #3D - West 57th, New York. 2011
45 Wolfson Apartment #14B - 77 Park Ave., New York. 2002
2017 Wolfson Apartment #14B - 77 Park Ave., New York. 2002
46 Wolfson Apartment #15H - 77 Park Ave., New York. 1998
2018 Wolfson Apartment #15H - 77 Park Ave., New York. 1998
47 Wolfson Apartment in Via Scurreria - Genoa, Italy. 1986-1987
48 Wolfson Castle - Castello Mackenzie-Wolfson - Genoa, Italy (Folder 1 of 2). 1987
49 Wolfson Castle - Castello Mackenzie-Wolfson - Genoa, Italy (Folder 2 of 2). 1993
211 Wolfson Castle - Castello Mackenzie-Wolfson - Genoa, Italy. 1991
51 Wolfson Castle - Castello Mackenzie-Wolfson - Preliminary drawings and existing conditions. 1989-1990
52 Wolfson Castle - A1. Site Drawings. 1989
53 Wolfson Castle - B1. Architectural Drawings. 1989
54 Wolfson Castle - B1. Architectural Drawings (2 of 2). 1989
55 Wolfson Castle - B2. Structural Drawings. 1989
56 Wolfson Castle - B3. Electrical Drawings. 1990
57 Wolfson Castle - B4. Auxiliary Mechanical Drawings. 1990
58 Wolfson Castle - B4. Auxiliary Drawings. 1991
61 Wolfson Castle - B5. HVAC Drawings. 1990
62 Wolfson Castle - B6. HVAC/Mechanical Drawings. 1990
63 Wolfson Castle - Ventilation and Heating. 1991
64 Wolfson Castle - Ventilation. 1991
65 Wolfson Castle - B1. Architectural Drawings (1 of 2). 1991
66 Wolfson Castle - B1. Architectural Drawings (2 of 2). 1991
71 Wolfson Castle - B3. Electrical Drawings. 1991
72 Wolfson Castle - Correspondence. 1990-1991
73 Wolfson Castle - Miscellaneous Drawings. 1991
74 Wolfson Castle - Underground, Phase 2. 1991
212 Wolfson Castle - Architectural Drawings - Old Set 10.1.90. 1990
213 Wolfson Castle - Architectural Drawings - Marked Up Set. 1990-1991
214 Wolfson Castle - Architectural Drawings - Phase 1. 1991
215 Wolfson Castle - Architectural Drawings - Underground, Phase 2. 1992
75 Wolfson Office - 8th and 9th Floor Renovation - Miami, Florida. 2000, 2007
216 Wolfson Office - 9th Floor Renovation - Miami, Florida. 2000
76 Wolfsonian Museum - Miami, Florida (Folder 1 of 2). 1995
77 Wolfsonian Museum - Miami, Florida (Folder 2 of 2). 1995
78 Wolfsonian Museum - Dynamo Café. 2004
217 Wolfsonian Museum - Dynamo Café. 2004
218 Wolfsonian Museum - First Phase Expansion Proposal. 1999
219 Wolfsonian Museum. 1995
81 Wolfsonian Offices. 2002-2004
2110 Wolfsonian Offices. 2002-2004
82 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Correspondence (Folder 1 of 3). 1985-1988
83 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Correspondence (Folder 2 of 3). 1987-1991
84 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Correspondence (Folder 3 of 3). 1989-1995
85 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Cabinets. 1992
86 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Cabinets (Folder 1 of 2). 1992
87 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Cabinets (Folder 2 of 2). 1992
88 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Florida Glass and Mirror. 1989
89 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Pivot Windows, American Skylite. 1989-1991
810 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - J. M. Glass. 1991-1992
2111 Wolkowsky Residence - Miami, Florida. undated
91 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Elevators, cabinet doors, bathroom hardware. 1990-1991
92 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Herox, stairs. 1988
93 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Bilt-Rite Elevator. 1988
94 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Miami Elevator, Dixie Metal stairs, Dover Elevator. 1988-1991
95 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Bond Plumbing Supply, Rightway Plumbing. 1992
96 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Steel Fabrications. 1991
97 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - ACME Hardware, Allied Steel Products. 1988-1992
101 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Falcon Fire Protection (Folder 1 of 3). 1988-1991
102 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Falcon Fire Protection (Folder 2 of 3). 1988-1989
103 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - Falcon Fire Protection (Folder 3 of 3). 1988-1989
104 Wolfsonian/Washington Storage - Contractors Drawings - ESI Electrical Supplies, Lightning Protection. 1990-1991



Project photos.



Box Folder
111 Adams Jr. High (John Quincy Adams Junior High School) - Tampa, Florida. undated
221 Adams Jr. High (John Quincy Adams Junior High School) - Tampa, Florida. undated
112 Amaryllis Park Primary School - Sarasota, Florida. 1960
113 Bal Harbour Shops - Bal Harbour, Florida. 1971-1983
114 Bal Harbour Hotel Proposal - Bal Harbour, Florida. 2002
115 Blanchard Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1989
116 Blanchard Residence - Dade City, Florida (Little Everglades Ranch). 1999-2002
117 Blanchard Steeplechase Tower - Dade City, Florida (Little Everglades Ranch). 2002-2003
118 Brabson Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1985
119 Brabson Residence - Elk River, North Carolina. Circa 1992-1997
1110 Chastain Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1956
1111 Eastern Airlines Office Building - Miami, Florida. 1967
1112 Eau Gallie High School - Eau Gallie, Florida. 1963
1113 First Federal of Lake Wales (Fedhaven Nalcrest) - Lake Wales, Florida. Circa 1973
1114 First Federal of Lake Wales (Southside) - Lake Wales, Florida. 1973
222 First Federal of Lake Wales (Southside) - Lake Wales, Florida. 1973
223 First Federal of Lake Wales (Winter Haven) - Winter Haven, Florida. Circa 1973
1115 First Federal of Lake Wales (Winter Haven) - Winter Haven, Florida. Circa 1973
1116 First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Sarasota - Sarasota, Florida. 1973
1117 First Industrial Savings Bank of Tampa - Tampa, Florida. undated
224 First Industrial Savings Bank of Tampa - Tampa, Florida. undated
1118 Florida State Fair Fine Arts Exhibition - Tampa, Florida. 1962-1969
1119 Galloway's Furniture Showroom - Tampa, Florida. 1957
225 Galloway's Furniture Showroom - Tampa, Florida. 1957
1120 Gulf Life Insurance Company - Tampa, Florida. undated
121 Hampton Office - Tampa, Florida. 1953
226 Hampton Office - Tampa, Florida. 1953
122 Hampton (Mark) Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1953
123 Hampton (Laura) Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1953
124 Horizon House -Tampa, Florida. 1963
227 Horizon House -Tampa, Florida. 1963
125 Jordan Residence, Crooked Lake (Lake Wales) (Folder 1 of 2). 1956
126 Jordan Residence, Crooked Lake (Lake Wales) (Folder 2 of 2). 1956
127 Jordan Residence - Lake Wales, Florida (Folder 1 of 3). 1956
128 Jordan Residence - Lake Wales, Florida (Folder 2 of 3). 1956
129 Jordan Residence - Lake Wales, Florida (Folder 3 of 3). 1956
228 Jordan Residence - Lake Wales, Florida. 1956
131 Lannan Residence. Circa 1969
132 Lannan Foundation (Residence) - Palm Beach, Florida. Circa 1969
133 Lannan Foundation (Museum) - Lake Worth, Florida. 1986
229 Lannan Foundation (Museum) - Lake Worth, Florida. 1980
134 McBath Residence - St. Petersburg, Florida. 1955
135 McIntosh Junior High School - Sarasota, Florida. 1962-1963
2210 McIntosh Junior High School - Sarasota, Florida. 1962-1963
136 Medical Office Building - Tampa, Florida. 1958
2211 Medical Office Building - Tampa, Florida. 1958
137 Midolo Residence. undated
138 G.W. Morrison Dentists Offices - Tampa, Florida. 1959
139 Ormond Beach Church - Ormond Beach, Florida. 1967
1310 Peninsula Motor Club "AAA" - Bradenton, Florida. 1960-1969
1311 Perry Residence - Lakeland, Florida. 1957
1312 Potter Residence - Lutz, Florida. 1958
2212 Potter Residence - Lutz, Florida. 1958
1313 Rodieck Residence - Sarasota, Florida. 1956
1314 Sears Department Store - St. Petersburg, Florida. 1967
1315 Smith Residence. undated
231 Smith Residence. undated
1316 Spessard L. Holland Elementary School - Satellite Beach, Florida. undated
1317 St. Mary's Episcopal Church - Tampa, Florida. 1958
1318 St. Mary's Episcopal Church Parish Hall- Tampa, Florida. 1959
232 St. Mary's Episcopal Church Parish Hall- Tampa, Florida. 1959
1319 Tanglewood Golf and Country Club - Tampa, Florida. undated
141 United National Bank of Dadeland. undated
142 University of South Florida Chemistry Building - Tampa, Florida. 1960
233 University of South Florida Chemistry Building - Tampa, Florida. 1960
234 University of South Florida Life Science Building - Tampa, Florida. 1961
143 University of South Florida Life Science Building - Tampa, Florida. 1961
144 University of South Florida Picasso Art Building (Art Center proposal) - Tampa, Florida. 1970
145 Venice Junior High School - Venice Florida. Circa 1958
146 Webb Residence - Tampa, Florida. undated
147 Weis Residence - Savannah, Georgia. 1959
235 Weis Residence - Savannah, Georgia (Folder 1 of 2). 1959
236 Weis Residence - Savannah, Georgia (Folder 2 of 2). 1959
148 Weyerhaeuser Community Art Center -. 1966
149 Whitman Residence - Miami, Florida. undated
1410 Williamson Residence - Lake Wales, Florida. 1957
1411 Wolfe Residence - Miami, Florida. 1980
1412 Wolfson Apartment 14B - 77 Park Ave., NY. 2002
1413 Wolfson Apartment 15H - 77 Park Ave., NY. Circa 1998
1414 Wolfson Castle - Castello Mackenzie-Wolfson - Genoa, Italy. 1991
1415 Wolfsonian Museum - Miami, Florida. 1995
1416 Wolfsonian Museum - Dynamo Café - Miami, Florida. 2004



Project slides.



Box Folder
241 Amaryllis Park Primary School, Bal Harbour, Bell Telephone Building Annex, Blanchard Residence, Brabson Residence, Bronfman Residence, Chastain Residence, Concrete Idea Center, Crystal River High School, Doss Residence, Eastern Airlines, Eau Gallie High School, Evans Residence, First Federal of Lake Wales. 1953-2004; undated
242 First Federal of Lake Wales, First Federal of Sarasota, Galloway's Furniture Showroom, Gulf Life, Laura Hampton Residence, Hampton Key Biscayne Apartments, Hampton Office Tampa, Hinterkopf Residence, Holland Elementary. 1953-2004; undated
243 Hollywood Hills Country Club, Horizon House, John Quincy Adams School, Jordan Residence. 1953-2004; undated
244 Kotler, Lakeland AAA, Lannan Residence, Lannan Museum, Living House, Mark Hampton Residence (Coconut Grove), McBath Residence, McIntosh Middle School, Medical Office Building, Mer Mac Office, Morrison Clinic, Moody Residence, Neiman Marcus (Bal Harbour), Ormond Beach Church. 1953-2004; undated
245 Perry Residence, Pope Clinic, Potter Residence, Prentiss Residence, Roderick Residence, Sears (St. Petersburg), Smith Residence, St. Mary's Parish Hall, Subotnik Residence, United National Bank of Dadeland, University of South Florida, Venice Junior High School, Webb Residence, Weis Residence. 1953-2004; undated
246 Weyerhaueser Community Art Center, Williamson Residence, Wise Residence, Wolfe Residence, Wolfson Castle (Castello Mackenzie), Wolfsonian. 1953-2004; undated



Project publicity and news articles.



Box Folder
151 Adams Jr. High (John Quincy Adams Junior High School) - Tampa, Florida. 1958
152 Amaryllis Primary School - Sarasota, Florida. 1959-1960
153 Bal Harbour Shops - Bal Harbour, Florida. 1988-2013
154 Blanchard Residence - Dade City, Florida (Little Everglades Ranch). 2006-2008
155 Blanchard Steeplechase - Dade City, Florida. 2006-2008
156 Brabson Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1986-2003
157 Chastain Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1956-1963
158 Eau Gallie High School - Eau Gallie, Florida. 1962-1964
159 First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Sarasota - Sarasota, Florida. 1973
1510 First Industrial Savings Bank of Tampa - Tampa, Florida. undated
1511 Florida State Fair Fine Arts Exhibition - Tampa, Florida. 1960-1964
1512 Galloway's Furniture Showroom - Tampa, Florida. 1958
1513 Gulf Life Insurance Company - Tampa, Florida. undated
1514 Hampton (Laura) Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1954-1962
1515 Horizon House - Tampa, Florida. 1963-1964, 2011
1516 Jordan Residence - Lake Wales, Florida. 1956-2006
1517 Lannan Foundation (Residence) - Palm Beach, Florida. 1969
1518 Lannan Foundation (Museum) - Lake Worth, Florida (Folder 1 of 2). 1986-1987
1519 Lannan Foundation (Museum) - Lake Worth, Florida; Los Angeles, California (Folder 2 of 2). Circa 1950-2000
161 McBath Residence - St. Petersburg, Florida. 1955/1960
162 Midolo Residence - Miami, Florida. 1978-1980
163 McIntosh Junior High School - Sarasota, Florida. 1961-1964
164 Medical Office Building - Tampa, Florida. 1958-1959
165 Moody Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1952
166 G.W. Morrison Dentists Offices - Tampa, Florida. 1957-1959
167 Peninsula Motor Club "AAA" - Lakeland, Florida. 1967
168 Perry Residence - Lakeland, Florida. 1958-2003
169 Potter Residence - Lutz, Florida. 1957-1963
1610 Prentisses Residence - St. Petersburg. 1957
1611 Rodieck Residence - Sarasota, Florida. 1957
1612 Smith Residence. 1958
1613 St. Mary's Episcopal Church Parish Hall- Tampa, Florida. 1959
1614 St. Mary's Episcopal Church, Rectory - Tampa, Florida. 1957
1615 Tampa Electrical House For Young Home Makers - Tampa, Florida. 1957-1958
1616 Tanglewood Golf and Country Club - Tampa, Florida. 1961
1617 University of South Florida Chemistry Building - Tampa, Florida. 1960-1962
1618 University of South Florida Life Science Building - Tampa, Florida. 1959-1962
1619 University of South Florida Picasso Art Building (Art Center proposal) - Tampa, Florida. 1971
1620 Venice Junior High School - Venice Florida. 1959
1621 Webb Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1968-1987
1622 Weis Residence - Savannah, Georgia. 1960
1623 Whitaker Residence - Tampa, Florida. 1952
1624 Williamson Residence - Lake Wales, Florida (Folder 1 of 2). 1957
1625 Williamson Residence - Lake Wales, Florida (Folder 2 of 2). 1957-1960
1626 Wolfe Residence - Miami, Florida. 1987-2000
1627 Wolfson Apartment - New York. 2000
1628 Wolfson Apartment - Palm Bay, Florida. 1999
1629 Wolfson Residence - Miami, Florida. 1988
1630 Wolfson Castle - Castello Mackenzie-Wolfson - Genoa, Italy. 1991-2005
1631 Wolfsonian Museum - Dynamo Café - Miami, Florida. 2006
1632 Wolfsonian Museum - Miami, Florida. 1996-2013



Correspondence.



Box Folder
171 American Institute of Architects (AIA). 1978-1992
172 Architectural Record. 1962-1968
173 Atomic Egg and Darts Club. 1957-1980
174 Hampton Fellowship Nomination, AIA. 1966-1994
175 Homes for Better Living Awards - Juror. 1964-1971
176 House and Home. 1963-1967
177 Personal and Business (Folder 1 of 2). 1949-2011
178 Personal and Business (Folder 2 of 2). 1948-2011
179 Progressive Architecture and Fortune. 1962-1965
1710 Public Relations. 1962-1979



Materials relating to personal and professional life.



Box Folder
1711 Articles about Mark Hampton. 1958-2006
237 Awards, Certificates, Diplomas, etc. (oversize items are stored separately in flat file). 1941-2000
1712 Baby Book. 1923-1950
181 Biographical Information and Miscellaneous Memorabilia.
182 Bradenton Exhibition (photos of exhibition featuring designs by Hampton).
183 Exhibitions and Lectures.
184 Hampton Genealogy.
238 Hampton Studio Portraits.
185 Hampton's School Yearbook. 1940
186 Hampton's School Yearbook. 1941
187 Hampton's Watercolor Sketchbook.
188 Herbert H. Johnson Associates (Brochure).
189 Lists of Projects - Project Information.
239 Mangham Country Home floor plan and elevation on trace paper (M/M John W. Mangham Jr.).
1810 "Mark Hampton Coconut Grove" - Book of Photos of Hampton Residence (Steven Brooke).
191 Mark Hampton's Paintings - Watercolor.
192 Medal of Honor brochure, AIA Florida Central Chapter (signed by all medal recipients). 1974
193 Military books (two) - 42nd Rainbow Infantry Division.
194 Personal Photos.
195 Various Articles (Project Articles).
196 Album with biographical information, project list, and awards and photos for various projects.
197 Military Service photos (two) - Company C, 7th, Fort McClellan, Alabama (stored separate in flat file). Circa 1943-1946


Box
25 Calendars and Appointment Books. 1991-2013
26 Bachelor of the Year cup from the Spinsters. 1952
26 Drafting supplies (two cases, compasses, pencils, etc.).
26 First Honor Award - FAA AIA (box). 1953
26 Medal - American Institute of Architects (AIA).
26 Medal - American Institute of Architects Florida. 1987
26 Medal - American Legion School Award.
26 Military helmet - World War II.



Digital video and images.



Box
26 Mark Hampton Exhibition, University of Miami - Steven Brooke photos (four CDs). 2010
26 Horizon House (CD).
26 Horizon House, Tampa, Florida - Steven Brooke photos (CD).
26 Albert Weis Home, Savannah, GA - Alexandre George photos (CD).
26 Webb Residence, Tampa, Florida - Ezra Stoller photos (CD).
26 Brabson Residence, Tampa, Florida - George Cott photos (two CDs).
26 Hampton House Garden. 2006
26 Dynamo Café, Wolfsonian Museum, Miami, Florida - Steven Brooke photos (CD).
26 Laura B. Hampton Residence - Rudi Rada photos (CD).
26 Mark Hampton slides (CD).
26 Mark Hampton - Georgia Tech Alumni Living History Program (two DVDs). 2004
26 Hampton Genealogy (CD).



Drawings - residential.



Box Folder
MC15 Bechard Residence.
MC15 Blanchard residence - Little Everglades Ranch, Dade City.
MC15 Blanchard residence renovation - Tampa.
MC15 Blanchard residence - St. Nicolas St..
MC15 Blanchard residence - Villa Rosa.
MC15 Bomberger Residence.
MC15 Brabson Residence.
MC15 Brabson Residence, Elk River.
MC15 Bromfman Residence.
MC15 Chastain Residence.
MC15 Cohen Apartments - Grove Isle.
MC15 Cohen Residence.
MC15 Danielson Residence.
MC15 Doss Residence.
MC15 Evans Residence.
MC15 Ferre's Residence - Miami.
MC15 Franzblau Residence, Tampa.
MC15 Hampton Residence.
MC15 Hampton (Reale) Residence - Tampa, Beach Way.
MC15 Hampton (Reale) Residence - Tampa, Idlewood St..
MC15 Hampton (Scott) Residence.
MC15 Hampton (Laura) Residence.
MC15 Harig Residence.
MC15 Horizon House.
MC14 Jordan Residence.
MC14 Kotler Residence.
MC14 Lannan Residence.
MC14 Lazenby Residence.
MC14 Lopez-Cambil Residence.
MC14 McBath Residence.
MC14 McDowell Residence.
MC14 Midolo Residence.
MC14 Moody, Ashby Residence.
MC14 Paul Residence.
MC14 Perry Residence.
MC14 Pisaris Residence.
MC14 Potter Residence.
MC14 Prentiss Residence.
MC14 Rodieck Residence.
MC14 Ruwitch Master Bath Renovation.
MC14 Smith Residence.
MC14 Stewart Residence (Alterations and Additions; Stewart - McAmis).
MC14 Tampa Electrical House For Young Home-makers.
MC14 Webb Residence.
MC14 Weis Residence.
MC14 Whitakee Residence (Architect- John W. Biggar).
MC14 Williamson Residence.
MC14 Wise Residence.
MC14 Wolfe residence.
MC13 Wolfson Genoa apartments.
MC14 Wolfson residence, Miami.
MC14 Zilahy residence.
MC14 Hampton Roads (private office car).



Drawings - commercial, public, municipal, et cetera.



Box Folder
MC13 AAA Peninsula Motor Club.
MC11 Amaryllis Park primary school.
MC13 Autowash for Walter Young.
MC13 Bal Harbour Executive offices.
MC13 Bal Harbour Shops.
MC13 Bal Harbour Shops - Garden.
MC13 Concrete Ideas Center.
MC11 Eau Gallie High School.
MC13 First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Lake Wales.
MC13 First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Lake Wales (Fedhaven Nalcrest).
MC13 First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Lake Wales (Southside Branch).
MC13 First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Lake Wales (Winter Haven Branch).
MC13 First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Lake Wales Proposed Building.
MC11 Gocio Road elementary school (proposed).
MC12 Gulf Life Insurance Company.
MC12 Lannan Foundation.
MC11 Lannan Foundation - Los Angeles.
MC12 Medical Office Building.
MC11 McIntosh Junior High School.
MC12 Clinic and Residence for Dr George Morrison.
MC12 Ormond Beach Presbyterian Church.
MC12 Clinic for Dr. Reeves Pope.
MC12 Sears (proposed store).
MC12 St. Mary's Episcopal Church - Parish Hall and Rectory.
MC11 University of South Florida - Chemistry Building.
MC11 University of South Florida - Life Science Building.
MC12 Washington storage company/ Southern Bell.
MC11 Weyerhaeuser.
MC12 Wolfson Apartments #145, Palm Bay.
MC12 Wolfson Offices.
MC12 Wolfsonian Foundation/Washington Storage.



Drawings - rolled working drawings and presentation drawings.



Box
27 Danielson Residence (1 roll).
27 Lannan Residence (1 roll).
27 Midolo Residence (1 roll).
28 Wolfe residence (1 roll).
28 Wolfsonian Foundation/Washington Storage (1 roll).
29 Wolfson Castle - Castello Mackenzie-Wolfson - Genoa, Italy (9 rolls).
30 Wolfson Castle - Castello Mackenzie-Wolfson - Genoa, Italy (5 rolls).



Exhibition objects.



Box Folder
OS1 Exhibition text and image panels (40) for "Mark Hampton FAIA" (University of Miami School of Architecture and Steven Brooke).
OS2 Model for the Jordan Residence.
OS3 Model for the Wolfe Residence.



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Architecture
Architecture, Modern
Florida--Miami
Florida--Sarasota
Florida--Tampa
Hampton, Mark G., 1923-2015




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page