Skip to Search





A Guide to the Bruce and Stacey Goldring Collection

Finding aid created by Katalin Franciska Rac

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

March 2017



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Goldring, Bruce, 1963-
Creator: Goldring, Stacey, 1964-
Title: Bruce and Stacey Goldring Collection
Dates: 1923-2011
Bulk dates: 1970s-1990s
Abstract: This collection reflects Jewish life in Jacksonville during the twentieth century. Included in the collection are postcards, newsletters, photographs, flyers, and vinyl disks highlighting institutions and individuals who contributed to the lives of the Jewish residents of Jacksonville.
Extent: .71 Linear feet. 2 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0382
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Stacey and Bruce Goldring live in Jacksonville Florida and are active in the Jacksonville Jewish community. Stacey Goldring worked as a journalist and she is the author of On Wooden Wheels: the Memoir of Carla Nathans Schipper, an account of Schipper's survival during the Holocaust based on Goldring's research and interview with Schipper. Goldring facilitates book clubs, creative writing workshops, and hosts an NPR WJCT 89.9 FM literary discussion. She was also involved in the creation of the Rev. Benjamin Safer Collection. Bruce Goldring is a commercial pilot; the materials in the collection include items from both of their extended families and acquaintances.


Scope and Content

The materials in this collection relay Jewish life in Jacksonville throughout the twentieth century. Some families, such as the Wolfsons have been long-time residents. Their photographs and a photograph album are included in the collection. Postcards and newspaper clippings tell about Jewish entrepreneurs and entertainment in the city and in the River Garden Hebrew Home for retirees. A separate folder holds program brochures of the regularly organized shows there along with photocopied pictures and other items related to the home. A separate folder holds items about the different Jewish organizations active in the city along with the newsletters and other documents of two congregations, Congregation Ahavath Chesed - The Temple and Beth Shalom Congregation, separated into different folders. Recipe collections, family event-related items, social event flyers and invitations are also included. The Miscellaneous folder contains a shopping list, a three-year calendar, and a historical narrative of the Cohen Brothers' Building - depicted on postcards enclosed in the collection. The book The Miracle Years: A biography of Alexander Brest as related to Deborah Simpson and a list of items showcased at the exhibition "Jewish Jacksonville" at the University of Florida are also enclosed. A vinyl disk by the cantor Berele Chagy is housed in a separate box.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged topically and in chronological order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Bruce and Stacey Goldring Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Bruce and Stacey Goldring.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Postcards from Jacksonville. 1917, 1938, undated
12 Family photographs. 1923, undated
13 Jewish organizations in Jacksonville and beyond. 1926, 1956, 1966, 1973, 1974, 1976, 1979, 1980, 1982, 1983, 1987
14 River Garden Hebrew Home. 1961, 1969, 1971, 1973,
16 Family events. 1961, 1962, 1986, 1988, undated
17 Newspaper Clippings. 1968, 1973, 1975, 1978, 1978, 1988
18 Recipe collections. 1972, undated
19 Beth Shalom Congregation. 1972, 1976, 1977
111 Social Events - flyers and invitations. 1982, 1983, undated
112 Congregation Ahavath Chesed - The Temple. 1982, 1988, 1989, 2011
113 Miscellaneous. 1991, undated
Box
2 "Hebrew Liturgy" by Berele Chagy (vinyl disk) undated

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cookbooks
Florida--Jacksonville
Jews
Judaism




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page