Skip to Search





A Guide to the Gainesville Modern Archive

Finding aid created by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

March 2017



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Gainesville Modern, Inc. (Collector)
Title: Gainesville Modern Archive
Dates: 1932-1958
Abstract: Architectural drawings of significant Mid-Century Modern properties in Gainesville and Alachua County, Florida, which were collected and preserved by Gainesville Modern, Inc.
Extent: 4 Linear feet. 1 box.
Identification: MSS 0383
Language(s): English
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Gainesville Modern is a non-profit organization dedicated to documenting the location and history of architecturally significant modernist properties in Gainesville and Alachua County, Florida. Gainesville Modern is a natural outgrowth of Historic Gainesville, Inc. (HGI), founded in 1972 for the purpose of advancing historic preservation efforts in Gainesville. The organization was instrumental in the purchase and preservation of the Thomas Hotel and its repurposing into the Thomas Center. HGI also spearheaded the designation of five historic districts in the city, and worked with homeowners to get architecturally significant properties listed on the National Register of Historic Places. More than forty years later, through Gainesville Modern, HGI's scope has expanded to include architecturally significant properties of the Mid-Century Modern style, many of which now meet the National Register of Historic Places fifty year age threshold. In addition, the organization sees Gainesville's growing inventory of contemporary residential and commercial architecture, including many LEED-certified "green" buildings, as deserving of wider recognition.

Gainesville Modern occasionally collects architectural drawings, photographs and other historical materials relating to these properties. The Gainesville Modern Archive was established in 2016 as part of the Architecture Archives at the UF George A. Smathers Libraries in order to preserve these significant drawings and materials for education and research.


Scope and Content

The Gainesville Modern Archive is comprised of architectural drawings collected by Gainesville Modern. The collection includes sets of drawings for four residences, dating from 1932-1958. Some of the drawings are reproductions of original drawings, and all of the drawings have been digitized.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Additional drawings and other historical materials relating to architecture and design in Florida and the Caribbean are available online in the Architecture Archives digital collection.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

The items in this collection have been digitized and are available via the Gainesville Modern page in the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC).

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Gainesville Modern Archive, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

All materials are donated by Gainesville Modern, Inc., in 2016. Additional acquisitions are expected. Sources for the drawings are identified in the descriptions when known.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Architecture
Architecture, Modern
Florida--Alachua County
Florida--Gainesville




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page