Skip to Search





A Guide to the Amy Schlagel Federman and Joseph Federman Collection on Tourism in Israel

Finding aid created by Hope Scheff and Katalin Franciska Rac

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

March 2018



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Federman, Amy Schlagel (col)
Title: Amy Schlagel Federman and Joseph Federman Collection on Tourism in Israel
Dates: 1951-2012
Bulk dates: 1974-1978
Abstract: The collection includes various materials that relate to tourism in Israel in general and specifically pertain to the Federman family's travels in Israel in the 1970s and another visit to Israel in 2012.
Extent: .58 Linear Feet. 2 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0420
Language(s): Includes materials written in English, Spanish, Hebrew, French, German, Arabic, Russian, Yiddish, and Italian.

Biographical/Historical Note

The collection was compiled over years mainly through the Federman family's travels to Israel. The Federmans, Bernard, Norma, Charles, and Joseph, whose future wife, Amy, donated the collection to the Price Library, first visited in Israel from July 16, 1974 until August 1, 1974. They returned to Israel again for a trip between May 11 and 29, 1978, which was organized by the American Jewish Congress. However, there are items in the collection, dating from before the Federman's Israel tours, which, along with various items from the seventies that relate to the history and cultures of Israel, suggest that the family had a broader interest in Israel's history.

The tours were assumedly a pleasant social experience as well, illustrated by a humorous poem and personal letter from friends addressed to the Federmans.

The collection is dedicated to the memories of the Schlagel and Federman families.


Scope and Content

The majority of the items in the collection, brochures, travel guides, tourist maps, museum guides, and magazines, pertains to Jewish sites and Israeli history, culture, and geography. They were mainly produced by or in association with the Israeli Ministry of Tourism and local municipalities. Only a small segment relates to Christian and Muslim sites in Israel. In addition, a smaller portion of the items in the collection is specific to the Federmans' travels from 1974 and 1978: Federman family travel documents, itineraries, photographs, handwritten notes, correspondence, and hotel receipts. Many of the non-personal documents in the collection have handwritten notes, presumably from the Federmans. A humorous poem reveals that shopping was an important part of the tourist group's experience: aside from Saturday, when the tour was halted, they had a very tight schedule, which allowed them little time to buy souvenirs. Lastly, there are items that pertain to tourist-oriented locations and franchises throughout Israel, such as a postcard collection and a Dan Hotels stationary collection. They relate directly to the collection's theme of tourism in Israel.

The documents span from the year 1951 to 2012, however a majority of the documents are from the period of 1970 to 1978, which includes the years when the Federmans toured Israel.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged topically and in chronological order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Amy Schlagel Federman and Joseph Federman Collection on Tourism in Israel, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated by Amy Schlagel Federman in December 2016.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Maps of Jerusalem. 1964-1976
12 Maps of Israel. 1965-1999
13 Guides, brochures, and pamphlets. 1968-2007
14 Religious maps. 1970-1972
15 Maps of Tel Aviv. 1972
16 Maps of Haifa, Nazareth, Bethlehem, and Netanya. 1972-1976
17 1974 Tour of Israel. 1974
18 1978 Tour of Israel. 1977-1978
21 Miscellaneous. 1951-2012
22 2012 Tour of Israel. 2012
23 Postcards and Dan Hotel Stationary. undated

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Israel
Jews
Tourism




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page