Skip to Search





A Guide to the Bess de Farber Collection on the Bilingual-Bicultural Program at Coral Way Elementary

Finding aid created by Pía Molina.

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

November 2018 (Updated February 2020)



Descriptive Summary

Creator: de Farber, Bess G., 1956-
Title: Bess de Farber Collection on the Bilingual-Bicultural Program at Coral Way Elementary
Dates: 1960-2008
Bulk dates: 1963-1971
Abstract: Photographs, progress reports, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and other documents collected by Bess de Farber, a student at the Coral Way Elementary School in Miami-Dade County during the 1960s. Coral Way was the nation's first public school with a program for both English and Spanish speakers.
Extent: .42 Linear Feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MSS 0491
Language(s): Includes materials written in English and Spanish.
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/farber-bilingual_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

In the sixties, the dramatic shift in immigration from Cuba to Florida called for a shift in education practices that would address the needs of students. As a result, a dual language instruction curriculum was instituted in Coral Way Elementary school. The program was the nation's first public school with a program for both English and Spanish speakers.

Shortly after the introduction of the first class in Coral Way Elementary, the Bilingual Education Act of 1968 was passed. The bill was the first federal legislation offering for Spanish-speakers to maintain their culture during their stay in the United States. Despite the program's historic implications, very little is known about the school's curriculum and organization under this program.

As a young child, Bess de Farber was (1956- ) one of the first children to experience the Bilingual-Bicultural education program established in Miami Dade County. She received her Bachelor of Music from the University of Southern California and her Master of Nonprofit Management from Florida Atlantic University.

Since 2008, de Farber has been the Grants Manager at the University of Florida. She also previously served in the same position for the University of Arizona Libraries. De Farber has provided grantsmanship instruction to hundreds of nonprofit and academic professionals, artists, and university students in the past 27 years, and has led efforts to secure millions in grant funding for nonprofits and academic libraries. She is also a professional clarinetist. One of her most renowned performances is Composing A Heart and other Jewish Immigrant Stories, a program that combines original music and stories about her parents' emigration to Florida from Argentina and Poland, plus stories form the UF Price library of Judaica Collection.

She is the author of Collaborative Grant-Seeking: A Practical Guide for Librarians (2016), and co-author of Collaborating with Strangers: Facilitating Workshops in Libraries, Classes, and Nonprofits (2017).


Scope and Content

The collection includes photographs, progress reports, correspondence, newspaper clippings, mementos, and other documents collected by Bess de Farber, a student at the Coral Way Elementary School in Miami-Dade County during the 1960s. Coral Way was the nation's first public school with a program for both English and Spanish speakers.

It also includes group photos of students in the program, as well as individual photographs of De Farber's friends, De Farber's school progress reports from 1961-1971, school mementos such as certificates and picture books, project proposals and planning documents for the implementation of the Bilingual program, and letters and newspaper clippings noting the reception of the program amongst school's parents and community.

Later additions to the collection were acquired as part of a transfer from the University of Arizona in 2019; these materials include the Tina Piñero photograph album, two newspaper clippings, and six letters.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The University of Arizona, Coral Way Bilingual Elementary School Collection

The Sara Gaíl de Farber and Bess de Farber Papers


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Bess de Farber Collection on the Bilingual-Bicultural Program at Coral Way Elementary are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/farber-bilingual_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Bess de Farber Collection on the Bilingual-Bicultural Program at Coral Way Elementary, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Bess de Farber donated the collection in 2018. Later additions to the collection were acquired from the University of Arizona as a transfer in 2019.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Group Photos. 1963-1965
11 Spanish/First Language Students, Second or Third Grade Class. 1963-1964
11 Class Photo. 1964
11 English/First Language Students, Second Grade Class. 1963-1964
11 Class Photo. 1963-1965
11 English/First Language Students, First Grade Class. 1964
11 English/First Language Students, Second Grade Class. 1964
11 English/First Language Students, Second Grade Class. 1964
11 English/First Language Students, Third or Fourth Grade Class. 1964-1965
11 Spanish/First Language Students, Class Photo. 1963-1964
11 Spanish/First Language Students, Second or Third Grade Class. 1963-1964
11 Spanish/First Language Students, Second or Third Grade Class. 1963-1964
11 Individual Photos. undated
11 Small Photo: Dorothy. undated
11 Small Photo: Mary T. undated
11 Small Photo: David De. undated
11 Small Photo: Linda. undated
11 Small Photo: Summer. undated
12 Tina Piñero Photograph Album.
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960's. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960's Getting Ready to Have Class Photo Taken. 1963-1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960's. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960's. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960's. 1964
12 Student in the Snow. undated
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960's. 1964-1965
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960's. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Tita Piñero. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Female Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Female Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Female Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Female Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Female Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Small Photo: Male Student. 1964
12 Tita Piñero with a Spanish / First Language Class. 1965
12 Typical Classroom. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. circa 1963
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s During a Reading Session. 1964
12 Inside a Classroom During a Typical Lesson. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. circa 1963
12 Small Boy in the Snow. undated
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. 1964
12 Typical Classroom Wall Display. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. circa 1963
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. circa 1963
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. circa 1963
12 Typical First Grade Classroom Display. 1964
12 Classroom Display Featuring English Handwriting Examples. 1964
12 Typical First Grade Classroom. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. 1964
12 Female Student. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Female Student. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Spanish Speaking Teacher. 1964
12 Female Student. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Students in Classroom. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. 1963-1965
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. 1963-1964
12 Classroom Display With a Spanish Language Football Theme. 1964
12 Female Student. 1964
12 Female Student. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. 1964
12 Tita Piñero with a Spanish / First Language Class. 1965
12 Charts on Classroom Wall. 1964
12 February Wall Art. 1964
12 Students in Classroom. 1964
12 Bilingual Class in the 1960s. 1964
12 Female Student. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Mickey Mouse on Classroom Wall. 1964
12 Train Art on Classroom Wall. 1964
12 Christmas Scene on Classroom Wall. 1964
12 Male in a Wrestling Ring. undated
12 Christmas Scene on Classroom Wall. undated
12 Students in Classroom. 1964
12 Students in Classroom. 1964
12 Students in Classroom. 1964
12 Students in Classroom. 1964
12 Students in Classroom. 1964
12 Students in Classroom. 1964
12 Students in Classroom. 1964
12 Charts on Classroom Wall. 1964
12 Charts on Classroom Wall. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Male Student. 1964
12 Teresa Brito. 1964
12 Tita Piñero. 1964
12 Tita Piñero. 1964
13 Progress Reports. 1961-1971
13 Singer's Private School Progress Report: Bessie Gail de Farber. 1961-1962
13 Coral Way Bilingual Elementary School: Bessie De Farber. 1962-1963
13 Coral Way Bilingual Elementary School: Bessie De Farber. 1963-1964
13 Coral Way Bilingual Elementary School: Bessie De Farber. 1964-1965
13 Coral Way Bilingual Elementary School: Bessie De Farber. 1965-1966
13 Coral Way Bilingual Elementary School: Bessie De Farber. 1966-1967
13 Coral Way Bilingual Elementary School: Bessie De Farber. 1967-1968
13 Beth David Religious School: Bessie Farber. 1966-1967
13 Beth David Religious School: Bessie Farber. 1967-1968
13 Beth David Religious School: Bessie Farber. 1968-1969
13 Beth David Religious School: Bessie Farber. 1968-1969
13 Beth David Religious School: Bessie Farber. 1969-1970
13 Junior High School Pupil Progress Report: Bessie Farber. 1968-1969
13 Junior High School Pupil Progress Report: Bessie Farber. 1969-1970
13 Junior High School Pupil Progress Report: Bessie Farber. 1970-1971
14 School Mementos. 1965-1967
14 Best Wishes Greeting Card. undated
14 Red Cross Certificates. 1965-1967
14 School Days Record and Memoirs Book. undated
14 Dramatic Art Certificate. 1965
15 Coral Way Bilingual Elementary School Planning. 1964-1967
15 A Study of Certain Aspects of the Achievement of Coral Way Elementary Pupils in the Bilingual Program. 1964
15 Daily schedules for grades 1-6. 1964-1967
15 List of the Faculty of the bilingual school at Coral Way Elementary School. 1964-1965
15 Grade one- Schedule time distribution. undated
15 Letter to all parents of first,second, and third grade pupils. 1963
15 Biographies of two participants in the 1966 International Visitor Program of the United States Department of Tate - Luis Morales Chua, City Editor of Prensa Libre of Guatemala City, Guatemala, and Manuel Eduardo Rodriguez, City Editor of El Imparcial of Guatemala City, Guatemala. 1966
15 Calendar of meetings, report card distribution dates and parent-teacher conferences for the school year. 1963-1964
15 Program for Coral Way Bilingual K-8 Center International Spanish Academies Seminar. 2005
15 Coral Way curriculum workshop June 17-July 26, 1963, outlining general objectives, source materials and textbooks, and committee participation. 1963
15 Coral Way Elementary: a Bilingual School, a paper by Connie L. Loveland. 1966
15 Coral Way: A Blingual School, a speech by J.L Logan. undated
15 Daily schedules for Aides one, two, and three. Resource teacher for grades 3-4, students in grades 1 and 2, 1965-66, students in grade 3, tentative lunch schedule 1963-1964, and channel 2 elementary in-school TV schedule 1963-64. 1963-1966
15 Excerpts from Minutes of the Board of Public Instruction of Dade County. 1963
15 Memorandum to Lois Taylor. 1964
15 Plan for Development of Introduction. 1965-1966
15 Progress Report on Ford Foundation Projects. 1963
15 Progress Report. 1963 May 16
15 Final report of the Bilingual Workshop. 1964-1965
15 Sample daily schedules for first, second, and third grades. undated
15 Student requests for transfer from Coral Way to Silver Bluff Elementary School. 1965-1966
15 Testing patterns for pupils. 1965-1967
15 The Bilingual School Sequence XIII. undated
15 Time distribution for grades one,two, and three. undated
16 Documents related to Coral Way School. 1963-2008
16 15 Teacher Applications. 1963
16 Thank you letter - Mrs. Julia Perez. 1965 December 7
16 Thank you letter - Mrs. Carmen Sete. 1965 December 3
16 Thank you letter - Mrs. Owen Colliflower. 1965 December 2
16 Thank you letter - Mrs. I.W. Porter. 1965 December 2
16 Thank you letter - Mr. and Mrs. Raymond W. Butler Jr.. 1965 December 7
16 Letter from Mr. and Mrs. Raymond W. Butler Jr.. 1965 December 3
16 Letter from Mrs. I.W. Porter. 1965 November 29
16 Letter from Mrs. Owen Colliflower. 1965 November 30
16 Letter from Mrs. I.W.Porter to Mayor of Miami. 1965 November 29
16 Letter to Mrs. Jacqueline Sharkey and others from Dade County Public Schoosl Administration Offices. 1965 November 22
16 Bilingual School Project. 1964-1965
16 Coral Way Bilingual School Project. 1965-1966
16 Daily Schedule Grade One Weeks 5-12 incl.. 1964-1965
16 Memorandum Subject: Meeting concerning future of bilingual school. 1968 September 18
16 Memorandum Tema: Programa en Educacion Bilingue to Mrs. Verna Knight. 1963 September 23
16 Memorandum Tema: Programa en Educacion Bilingue To: Miss Edith Chase and Miss Eloise Hatfield. 1963 September 6
16 Personnel List Coral Way Elementary School. 1964-1965
16 These children are not recommended for the bi-lingual program. undated
16 List of pupils in Mrs. Richerdson's Room. undated
16 Dick Butler, Clark Baker. undated
16 Editorial "News en Espanol". 1965 June 5
16 News en Espanol Editorial WTVJ. 1965 June 5
16 Letter to Dr. Joseph Hall published in the Miami Herald. 1965 November 28
16 Board Caught in Middle of Parents' School Battle. undated
16 Parents Group Fights Bilingual School Plan. 1965 November 10
16 First Bilingual School to Open. undated
16 Coral Way Elementary Bilingual History Program Contact List. 2007 December 7
16 An Oral and Documentary History of the Coral Way Elementary School Bilingual Education Program. 2008 March 3
17 Newspaper Clippings. circa 1960, 1966
17 "Moms' Tempers Flare Over Bilingual Plan" - Article discussing the complaints brought on by mothers who felt their children were not treated adequately at Coral Way since they were not part of the bilingual program. The article recounts the events that occurred at a school board meeting in which the mothers complaining were present. 1966 January 6
17 "Miami Schools - A New Life for Cubans" - A magazine article describing details on the importance of Coral Way Elementary during the 1960's. The article includes pictures and captions on the classrooms, teachers and other general topics on Cubans at the time. circa 1960
18 Correspondence. 1964-1967
18 Letter from Lyle E. Siverson to Betty Adams. 1964 April 20
18 Letter from Rose L. Schwab to J.L. Logan. 1964 December 7
18 Letter from Rose L. Schwab to Betty Adams. 1964 December 7
18 Letter from R.C. Miller to J.L. Logan. 1964 February 13
18 Letter from J.L. Logan to Mr. W.W. Matthews, Center District Superintendent. 1964 February 14
18 Letter from Margaret H. Mosley to J.L. Logan. 1964 March 13
18 Letter from Paul A. Kolers to Joe Hall. 1964 November 16
18 Unsigned letter to Paul A. Kolers. 1964 November 19
18 Letter from Blanche Persky to J.L. Logan. 1964 November 6
18 Letter from Annelies Hope to J.L. Logan. 1965 April 2
18 Letter from Oreielle Aftrath to J.L. Logan. 1965 April 27
18 Letter from Earl Martin to J.L. Logan. 1965 May 10
18 Letter from Annelies Hoppe to J.L. Logan. 1965 May 31
18 Letter from Antoinette P. Weed to J.L. Logan. 1965 May 9
18 Letter from Joseph G. Fandino to J.L. Logan. 1966 February 11
18 Letter from Frances Klein to J.L. Logan. 1966 January 17
18 Letter from Mildred Sprague to J.L. Logan. 1966 March 15
18 Letter from Cecilio Contreras Caraballo to J.L. Logan. 1967 April 26

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Children of immigrants.
Cuba.
de Farber, Bess G., 1956-
Early childhood education -- Curricula.
Education -- Demographic aspects.
Education, Bilingual.
Emigration and immigration.
Florida.
Language and languages -- Study and teaching -- Bilingual method.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page