Skip to Search



A Guide to the Post Cards of Ethiopian Royalty and Clergy

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2013


Descriptive Summary

Title: Post Cards of Ethiopian Royalty and Clergy
Dates: Circa 1930
Abstract: Post cards (23) showing members of the royalty and clergy in Ethiopia.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder.
Identification: MS Group 112 3/3
Language(s): Includes French and amh languages.
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

This small collection includes 23 post cards depicting members of the royalty and clergy in Ethiopia. The post cards include captions which are written in both French and Amharic. The images primarily are photographic studio portraits or reproductions of painted portraits of the various emperors, kings, governors, military leaders, etc. The names of the individuals, as written in French on the cards, are: Abouna Petros, Fitawrari Habte Guiorguis [Giorgis], Negus Wolde Guiorguis [Giorgis], Negus Mikael, Menelik II Empereur d'Ethiopie, S.A. Ras Makonnen, S.M. Negus Teferi Mekonnen [Haile Selassie I], S.M. Imperatrice Zaouditou, Itegue Taitou, Ate Theodros Empereur d'Ethiopie, Ate Yohannesse Empereur d'Ethiopie, Dedjazmatche Tessenima Dargue, Dedjazmatche Machacha Worke, Sahle Sellasse Roi de Choa, Balambaras Tekla Markos, S.E. Ras Hailou, S.A. Ras Kassa, S.A. Menene, Afanougous Estifanos, Abouna Matheos, Ate Hailou Malakot, S.E. Ras Dargue, and Afanougous Telahoun. Each post card includes this imprint information on the verso: "Imp. de S. M. Negus Taffari Makonnen - Addis Abeba."


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Post Cards of Ethiopian Royalty and Clergy, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased in 2012.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Ethiopia -- History
Ethiopia -- Pictorial works



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page