Skip to Search



A Guide to the Efraín Barradas Collection

Finding aid created by Ana D. Rodríguez

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
April 2016


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Barradas, Efraín, 1947-
Title: Efraín Barradas Collection
Dates: 1881-2015
Bulk dates: 1968-1999
Abstract: Efraín Barradas was born in Aguadilla, Puerto Rico in 1947. He is a professor of romance languages and Latin American and Hispanic studies, as well as a literary and art critic. This collection includes Barradas's correspondence, books with inscriptions from notable Latin American authors, artwork from Pedro Pietri, newsletters, and historic documents related to the town of Aguadilla.
Extent: 7.54 Linear feet. 13 Boxes.
Identification: MSS 0340
Language(s): Includes materials written in Spanish and English.
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/efrainbarradas_es.htm
Access: Researchers should consult with Special Collections staff before using the collection because there are access restrictions. See the Access note for more information.

Biographical/Historical Note

Efraín Barradas was born in Aguadilla, Puerto Rico, on January 6, 1947. In 1968, he earned a B.A. in Humanities from the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras (UPR), and later an M.A. (1973) and a Ph.D. (1977) in Romance Languages and Literature from Princeton University.

Barradas has forged a career as a literary and art critic, analyzing the works of Latin American writers and artists, in particular Puerto Rican writers such as Luis Rafael Sánchez and genres such as poetry, non-fiction, and essays. He has published six books dealing with the development of literature in Puerto Rico. During the 1980s, Barradas wrote critic's review columns in the Puerto Rican nationalist newspaper Claridad, discussing art exhibits, literary reviews, and the performing arts. He has also promoted LGBTQ themes through his work and the literary work of other authors.

Barradas has had an illustrious academic career teaching romance languages, and Latin American and Hispanic studies, with a twenty-year tenure at University of Massachusetts at Boston, and visiting scholar appointments at Harvard University, Universidad de Puerto Rico, and Universidad de Salamanca in Spain. Barradas is currently a University of Florida professor with dual appointments in the Center for Latin American Studies and the Department of Spanish and Portuguese Studies.


Scope and Content

The Efraín Barradas Collection dates from 1881 to 2015, with bulk dates from 1968 to 1999. The records include Barradas's personal correspondence, books signed by the author, memorabilia, publications, photographs, and material related to his hometown, Aguadilla. The correspondence series is the most significant of this collection, not only for its volume, but also for its context, for Barradas corresponded with major literary, academic, and art figures in Latin America from 1968 to 2015.

The Efraín Barradas Collection has intellectual value for studies of Latin American literature in the United States; history of literary movements in Puerto Rico during the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s; the network between Latin American academics in the United States; and the 1970s gay and lesbian intellectual generation. Barradas's literary work is part of a Puerto Rican literary group known as "Generación de los 60" (Generation of the 1960s). Among outstanding themes and events are his doctoral thesis work; efforts to publish his work in Puerto Rico and the United States; and relations with colleagues, writers, friends, and partners.


Arrangement

This collection is arranged into five series: "I. Correspondence," "II. Publications," "III. Ephemera," "IV. Photographs," and "V. Books." Each series is arranged in alphabetical order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Due to privacy concerns, Folder 32 in Box 12 has been restricted and closed until 2065. For more information, please speak with the Collection Curator or Archivist.


Related or Separated Material

A Guide to the Efraín Barradas Mexican and Cuban Film Poster Collection, http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/belknap/barradas.htm


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/efrainbarradas_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Efraín Barradas Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Dr. Efraín Barradas donated this collection between 2014 and 2016.


Contents List

Series I: Correspondence.

"Series I. Correspondence" is the lengthiest and most significant of the collection. It contains Barradas's correspondence from 1968 to 2015, including letters, notes, and postcards sent by family, friends, colleagues, and notable figures of Latin American literature.


Box Folder
11 Ackley, Cliff. 1995-1997
12 Acosta Belén, Edna. 1979-1994
13 Agosín, Marjorie. 1982-1993
14 Alatorre, Antonio. 1973
15 Alardín de Garza, Carmen. 1982-1983
16 Albizu, Olga. 1987
17 Alcántara, José. 1982-2004
18 Alegría, Claribel. 1987
19 Alfonso, Vitalina. 1984
110 Algarín, Miguel. 1982-1989
111 Alvarez, Izaskun. 1999-2011
112 Alvarez Curbelo, Silvia. 1987
113 Alvarez Nazario, Manuel. 1984
114 Amar-Sánchez, Ana María. 2005
115 The Americas Review. 1989
116 Amy Moreno, Angel A.. 1993
117 Anderson Imbert, Enrique. 1976
118 Aparicio, Frances. 1981-1990
119 Aponte, Marta Iris. 1968-1993
120 Aponte, Samuel. 1980
121 Aponte Parés, Luis. 1997-1999
122 Aquino, Alexis. 1993
123 Arce de Vázquez, Margot. 1968
124 Arbona, Alejandro. 1987-2000
125 Arbona, Javier. 1984-2012
126 Arbona, Ramón. 1975-1999
127 Areito magazine. 1979-1980
128 Arenal, Electa. 1979-1992
129 Ariza, Miguel. 1975
130 Armand, Octavio. 1978
131 Arrigoitia, Luis de. 2015
132 Arrillaga, María. 1995
133 Arte Público Press. 1995
134 Ateneo Puertorriqueño. 1991
135 Avellaneda, Andrés. 1981-1983
136 Azize, Yamila. 1983-1995
137 Baeza Florez, Alberto. 1982
138 Balderston, Daniel. 1979-1990
139 Ballou, Eugenio. 1990-2006
140 Balseiro, Isabel. 1998
141 Barradas, Efraín, Sr.. 1985
142 Barradas, Isabel. undated
143 Barradas, Tata. 1985-1988
144 Barreto, Nestor. 1984
145 Bastos, María Luisa. 1980
146 Bejel, Emilio. 1981-1997
147 Benítez, Margarita. 1989
148 Bergstein, Gerry. 1994
149 Berroa, Rei. 1984-1988
150 Biblioteca Carnegie. 1997
151 Binder, Wolfgang. 1979-1993
152 Binder, Wolfgang. 1993-2009
153 Blanco, Mari Pili (María del Pilar). 1996
154 Blum, Ann. 1987-1996
155 Bogin, Magda. 1983-1994
21 Bonetti, David. 1981-1994
22 Bonetti, David. 1995-2013
23 Bisch, Andrés. 1971
24 Botero, Ebel. 1981
25 Brinnin, John Malcolm. 1976
26 Britain, Jan. 1995
27 Busó-García, Roberto. 2014
28 Cabanillas, Sonia. 1998
29 Cabranes, Leo. 1990-2015
210 Caribe (Matías Montes Huidobro). 1977-1980
211 Carrero, Jaime. 1979
212 Casa de las Américas. 1982-1984
213 Casid, Jill, and DeGuzmán, María. 1997
214 Castillo, Jorge. 1993-1996
215 Castro Ríos, Andrés. 1977
216 Catalá, Rafael. 1979-1990
217 Ceide, Alberto. 1999
218 Centro de Estudios Puertorriqueños. 1995
219 Chang Rodríguez, Raquel. 1992
220 Chauncey, George. 1998
221 Chiesa, Wilfredo. 1985
222 Cocco de Filipppis, Daisy. 1999
223 Coll, María de los Reyes. 1996-1999
224 Corbett, Kathryn. 1993-1994
225 Cosme, Luis. 1989-1997
226 Costa, Mari Thelma. 1988-1994
227 Creación Magazine. 1975-1977-1977
228 Cruz, Arnaldo. 1988-1999
229 Cruz, Jorge Luis. 1998
230 Dalmau de Sánchez, María Mercedes. 1973-1989
231 Dalmau de Sánchez, María Mercedes. 1990-2006
232 Dauster, Frank. 1972-1985
233 Dávila, Juan. 2000
234 Davis, Stephanie. 1974
235 De la Vega, Ernesto. 1985
236 Delgado-Costa, José. 1996
237 Dialogo - UPR newspaper. 1996-1999
238 Diego, Eliseo. 1979-1983
239 Díaz Quiñones, Arcadio. 1972-1997
240 Díaz Valcárcel, Emilio. 1987
241 Droz, Vanessa. 1998
242 Eberly, David. 1993
31 Echevarria, Arturo. 1980-1994
32 Ediciones Huracán. 2006
33 Ediciones Huracán (Carmín Rivera). 1978-1985
34 Editorial Cultural. 1980-1988
35 Editorial Origenes. 1980
36 Editorial UPR. 1996-1997
37 Eidelberg, Martin. 1973-1999
38 Eidelstein, Bruce. 1991-1995
39 Eisenbach, Arthur. 1974
310 Espada, Martín. 1983-1994
311 Esteves, Sandra María. 1978-1993
312 Estow, Clara. 1998
313 Exegesis Magazine. 1993
314 Feliciano, Pilín. undated
315 Fernández, Roberto. 2009
316 Fernández Cifuentes, Luis. 1973-1980
317 Fernández Cifuentes, Luis. 1981-1996
318 Fernández Fragoso, Víctor. 1974
319 Fernández Olmo, Margarita. 1979-1989
320 Fernández Zavala, Margarita. 1995
321 Ferré, Rosario. 1973-1982
322 Fiet, Lowell. 1996-1997
323 Figueroa, Alvin. 1989-1999
324 Figueroa, José Angel. 1982-1983
325 Figueroa, Leonor. 1992-1999
326 Figueroa, Orlando. 1986
327 Figueroa, Ramón. 1984-1990
328 Figueroa, Ramón. 1991-2012
329 Fine, Ralph. 1986-1990
330 Fiol, Liza. 1982-1986
331 Flax, Hjalmar. 1984
332 Flores, Juan. 1980-1983
333 Foa, Sandra. 1973
334 Fonstad, Carmenza. 1992-1999
335 Fornet, Ambrosio. 1982-1992
336 Foster, David William. 1996
337 Foster, Larry. 1986-1998
338 Fra-Molinero, Baltasar. 1995
339 Frank, Joseph. 1975
340 Friis-Hansen, Dana. 1988-1993
341 Fundación René Marqués. 1990
342 Fundación Biblioteca Ayacucho. 1986-1992
41 Gallego, Laura. 1977-1982
42 Gantos, Jack. 1991-1997
43 Gamboa, Carlos. 1999
44 Gambone, Philip. 1975-1998
45 García, Lucy. 1996
46 García-Calderón, Myrna. 1996-1999
47 García-Gutiérrez, Enrique. 1993-1998
48 García-Leighty, Martha. 1993
49 García Marruz, Fina. 1980
410 García Padilla, Maruca. 1988
411 García Padilla, Maruja. 1989-1995
412 García Ramis, Magali. 1981-2014
413 García Vega, Lorenzo. 1973
414 Garrels, Elizabeth. 1977-1994
415 Garrels, Gary. 1979-1998
416 Gascon-Vera, Elena. 1994-1995
417 Gautier, Manuel Salvador. 1994
418 Gelpí, Juan. 1978-1999
419 Gelsi-Castillo, Pablo. 1972-1973
420 George Mason University. 1992
421 Gestos Magazine. 1989
422 Gil, Carlos. 1996
423 Gold, Jan. 1999
424 Goldman, Judy. 1996-1998
425 Goldman, Shifra M.. 1989-1995
426 Gómez, Alexis. 1982-1996
427 Gonçalves, Rosemunde Virginie. 1984
428 González, Beatriz. 1986-1987
429 González, José Luis. 1977-1987
430 González, María Elena. 1999
431 González, Rubén. 1983-1986
432 González Echevarría, Roberto. 1982
433 González Pérez, Anibal. 1989
434 Gordils, Janice. 1983-1997
435 Granados, Manuel. 1995-1997
436 Guildaut, Serge. 1985
437 Gutiérrez del Arroyo, Isabel. 1968
438 Harvard University. 1989-1994
439 Hawley, John. 1991-1995
440 Helms, Allen. 1992
441 Hernández, Daniel del Valle. 1994
442 Hernández, David. 1979-1980
443 Hernández, Jesús Manuel. 1989-2009
444 Hernández, Orlando José. 1978-1979
445 Hernández Cruz, Víctor. undated
446 Hernández Matos, Gilberto. 1991
447 Hernández-Pinzón Jiménez, Francisco. 1976
448 Hilerio Acevedo, Félix. 1969
449 Homar, Laura. 1989
450 Restricted materials. 1969-1972
451 Restricted materials. 1973-1974
452 Restricted materials. 1975
453 Restricted materials. 1976-1979
51 Restricted materials. 1980-1981
52 Restricted materials. 1982-1983
53 Restricted materials. 1984-1985
54 Restricted materials. 1986-1987
55 Restricted materials. 1988-1989
56 Restricted materials. 1990-1991
57 Restricted materials. 1992-1993
58 Restricted materials. 1994-1995
59 Restricted materials. 1996-1997
510 Restricted materials. 1998-2009
511 Hurley, Andrew. 1999
512 Institute of Contemporary Art (ICA). 1992-1994
513 Instituto de Cultura Puertorriqueña (ICP). 1986-1994
514 Ibánez, Jorge. 1980-1992
515 Irby, James E.. 1982
516 Jaffe, Daniel. 1993-1996
517 James, Norberto. 1984-1993
518 Janney, Frank. 1981-1992
61 Jiménez, Gladys. 1994-1995
62 Jiménez, Olga. 1983-1999
63 Johnson, Lemuel. 1977
64 Jusino Campos, Edgardo. 1981-1987
65 Kanellos, Nicolás. 1995
66 Kirkpatrick, Gwen. 1972-1999
67 Koch, Dolores. 1993
68 La Fountain, Larry. 1995-1996
69 Laguerre, Enrique. 1979
610 Lebrón, Lolita. 1979
611 Levins, Richard. undated
612 Levins Morales, Aurora. 1989-1993
613 Lezama Alvarez, Eloísa. 1974
614 Lezama Lima, José. 1974
615 Logía Sol Naciente. 1990
616 Loperena, Fr. William. 1962-1979
617 López-Baralt, Luce. 1977-1999
618 López-Baralt, Mercedes. 1971-1989
619 López Ramírez, Tomás. 1980-1983
620 López-Tosado, Víctor. 1977-1995
621 Lower, Anne. 1997
622 Ludmer, Josefine. 1989
623 Lugo, Agnes. 1995
624 Lugo, Carmen. 1993
625 Lugo Filippi, Carmen. 1982-1984
626 Lugo de Marichal, Flavia. 2006
627 Lundstom, Richard. 1988-1997
628 Lluch, Amelia. 1997-1999
629 Maciello, Francine. undated
630 Maíz, Malena. 1997
631 Maldonado Denis, Manuel. 1974-1980
632 Manatee Community College. 1992-1993
633 La Mano Mágica. 1993
634 Manrique, Jaime. 1997
635 Marey, Juan. 1978
636 Marín, Lupe. 2004
637 Márquez, Roberto. 1979-1991
638 Márquez, Rosa Luisa. 1992
639 Marshall, Dorothy. 1977-1983
640 Martell-Morales, Jaime L.. 1996
641 Martínez, Lourdes. 1993-1996
642 Martínez Capó, Juan. 1977-1985
643 Martínez Maldonado, Manuel. 1989
644 Martínez Masdeu, Edgar. 1992
645 Martínez San Miguel, Yolanda. 2006
646 Martorell, Antonio. 1992
647 Marxuarch, Cuqui. 1997-1998
648 Marzán, Julio. 1987
649 Matienzo, Francisco. 1979-1980
650 Matos Paoli, Francisco. 1977-1981
651 Matos-Rodríguez, Félix. 1997
652 Maxwell, Kenneth. 1974
653 McCaffrey, Mark. 1985-1986
654 McGregor, Gordon. 1975-1986
655 Medina, Ramón Felipe. 1985-1991
656 Mejías López, William. 1992
657 Meléndez, José Ramón. 1976-1978
658 Méndez, Humberto. 2015
659 Méndez-Clark, Ronald. 1974-1985
660 Mestas, Juan. 1971
661 Mestey, Oscar. 1985-1996
662 Millán, Alida. 1992
663 Millán, Nestor. 1995-1996
664 Miller, Jeannette. 1984-1994
665 Miller, Joseph. 1974-1995
666 Miscellaneous postcards: Carmen Puigdollers, Carlos Piera, Raquel Weitzman, Ivette López, Claire Fox, Concha de Sena, Joan Cook, Gilda Navarra, Miguel Rubio, Esther Disch, Henri Simon Blanc, Jessica Ferguson, Edward Strug, Rita Schnider, Geoffrey Rogers, María Luisa Osoria, Pilar Vázquez de Barradas, Antonio S. López and Claudia Costagliola, Carlos Barradas, Dolores González-Ripoll, Robert Ames, Bruce Sevansey, Elsa Tió, Ronnie Torres, Ana María Zubieta, Roland Jeffery, Robert Ames, KOM, Angeles Mateo del Pino, John R. Schwartz. 1980-2009
667 Modern Language Association (MLA). 1990
668 Mohr, Nicholasa. 1980
669 Molley, Sylvia. 1976-1978-1978
670 Montero, Oscar. 1984-1992
671 Mora, Gabriela. 1986-1990
71 Morales, Germán. 1994-1999
72 Morales, Rosario. 1982-1994
73 Morejón, Nancy. 1981-2007
74 Morell, Hortensia (catalog). 1998
75 Mount Holyoke College Art Museum. 1993
76 Muñoz, Elías Miguel. 1985-1988
77 Muñoz, Margarita. 1996
78 Muñoz-Jiménez, Gladys. 1999
79 Museum of Fine Arts (MFA) in Boston. 1985-2002
710 Museum of Fine Arts (MFA) in Boston. 2006
711 Museum of Our National Heritage. 1998
712 National Research Council-Ford Foundation. 1988-1989
713 Nava, Guillermo. c.1990s
714 New England Council of Latin American Studies (NECLAS). 1997
715 Nieves, Edgardo. 1983
716 Nolla, Olga. 1973-1991
717 El Nuevo Día. 1993
718 Núñez Miranda, Armindo. 1968
719 Núñez Miranda, Armindo. 1969-1973
720 Núñez Miranda, Armindo. 1974-1980
721 Núñez Miranda, Armindo. 1981-1999
722 O'Neil, María de Mater. 1994
723 Ojeda, Félix. 1982-1983
724 Olander, Philip. 1984-1999
725 Olmo, José. 1979-1993
726 Orlandi, Karisa. 1968-1975
727 Orlandi, Karisa. 1976
728 Orlandi, Karisa. 1977
729 Orlandi, Karisa. 1978
730 Orlandi, Karisa. 1979
731 Orlandi, Karisa. 1980-1981
732 Orlandi, Karisa. 1982-1996
733 Osorio, Nelson. 1986-1988
734 Oviedo, José Miguel. 1983
735 Pagés, Roxana. 1988-1998
736 Paiewonsky-Conde, Edgar. 1984
737 Palau de Nemes, Graciela. 1984
738 Palés, Ginette. 1994
739 Pasternack, Anne. 1987-1990
740 Pastoriza, Benito. 1993-1994
81 Pastoriza, Benito. 1995-2005
82 Pérez, Carmen Ivette. 1998
83 Pérez, Esteban. 1971-1973
84 Pérez de Salazar, Carmen. 1974
85 Pérez-Marchand, Lilliane. 1992
86 Pérez-Stable, Marifeli. 1980-1990
87 Perivolaris, John. 1994-1997
88 Phaf, Ineke. 1994
89 Pintado, Maribel. 1978-1981
810 Piñera, Humberto. 1974-1975
811 Polisar, Patti. 1982-1988
812 Postcards from Barradas to his parents. Undated-1979
813 Postcards from Barradas to his parents. 1980-1989
814 Postcards from Barradas to his parents. 1990-1999
815 Postcards from Barradas to his parents. 2000-2007
816 Postcards from Barradas to his parents. 2008-2010
817 Prendwitz, Gina. 1994
818 Prida, Dolores. 1986
819 Puebla, Manuel de la. 1982-1985
820 Pupo-Walker, Enrique. 1988-1994
821 Quiñones, Magaly. 1974-1981
822 Quiñones, Magaly. 1982-1989
823 Quiñones, Magaly. 1990-1996
824 Ramírez, Mari Carmen. 1985-1993
825 Ramos, Ernesto. 1971-1976
826 Ramos, Juan Antonio. 1978-1983
827 Ramos, Julio. 1989-1990
828 Ramos-Collado, Lilliana. 1978-1989
829 Ramos Escobar, José Luis. 1986
830 Ramos-Perea, Roberto. 1990
831 Revista Iberoaméricana. 1975-1981
832 Revista Nacional de Cultura. 1978-1980
833 Rexach Leon, Rosario. 1990
834 Reyes Ayala, Rafael. 1999
835 Reyes Rivera, Louis. 1982
836 Rezende, Renato. 1989-1996
837 Ríos-Avila, Rubén. 1981-1998
838 Risoli, Louis. 1986-1994
839 Rivas, Mercedes. 1988-1999
840 Rivera, Nelson. 2007
841 Rivera de Alvarez, Joséfina. 1984
91 Rivera de Torres, Sylvia. 1972-1978
92 Rivera de Torres, Sylvia. 1979-1984
93 Rivera de Torres, Sylvia. 1985-1998
94 Rivera Izcoa, Carmin. 1979-1982
95 Rivera-Martínez, Mildred. 1995
96 Rivero, Eliana. 1981-1993
97 Rivero, Rosanna. 1992-1996
98 Rodeño, Iñaki. 2002-2012
99 Rodón, Francisco. 1984
910 Rodríguez, Carlos. 1981-1996
911 Rodríguez, Emilio Jorge. 1983-1992
912 Rodríguez, Ileana. undated
913 Rodríguez, Pilarín. 1996
914 Rodríguez Castro, María Elena. 1986
915 Rodríguez Feo, José. 1974-1991
916 Rodríguez Frese, Marcos. 1977-1987
917 Rodríguez-Luis, Julio. 1977-1996
918 Rodríguez Martinó, Graciela. 1986
919 Rodríguez Torres, Carmelo. 1981
920 Román Arocho, Elba. 1997
921 Romero, Soledad. 1983-1996
922 Ruiz, Noemí. 1986
923 Ruiz, Roberto. 1977
924 Ruscalleda Bercedóniz, Jorge María. 1981
925 Rutgers University (New Jersey). 1980-1990
926 Saéz Burgos, Juan. 1988-1989
927 Salgado, César Augusto. 1992-1996
928 Salzman, George. 1997
929 Sanabria Santaliz, Edgardo. 1981-1985
930 Sanabria Santaliz, Edgardo. 1986-1989
931 Sanabria Santaliz, Edgardo. 1990-2005
932 Sánchez, Elba. 1978-1982
933 Sánchez, Luis Rafael. 1974-1979
934 Sánchez, Luis Rafael. 1980-1989
935 Sánchez, Luis Rafael. 1990-1999
936 Sánchez, Luis Rafael. 2000-2014
937 Sandoval, Alberto. 1987-1993
938 Sandoval, Alberto. 1994-1998
939 Sandoval, Alberto. 1998-2005
940 Santaliz, Pedro. 1973-1976
101 Santí, Enrico-Mario. 1976-1982
102 Santiago de Curet, Annie. 1985
103 Santos Febres, Mayra. 1995-1996
104 Santos Silva, Lorena. 1984
105 Sárraga, Raquel. 1973-1982
106 Sárraga, Raquel. 1983-1989
107 Sárraga, Raquel. 1990-1995
108 Saumell, Rafael. 1993-1999
109 Schneider, Susan. 1970s, 1987
1010 Schultz, Jim. 1974-1975
1011 Schultz, Jim. 1975-1976
1012 Schultz, Jim. 1976-1977
1013 Schultz, Jim. 1978
1014 Schultz, Jim. 1979
1015 Schultz, Jim. 1980
1016 Schultz, Jim. 1981
1017 Schultz, Jim. 1982-1989
1018 Schultz, Jim. 1990-1999
1019 Schultz Family. 1978-1989
1020 Schultz Family. 1990-1995
1021 Schultz Family. 1996-2001
1022 Schuster, Cindy. 1980-1998
1023 Seijo, Miñi. 1977-1990
1024 Sena, Concha de la. 1993-2012
1025 Sepúlveda, Arnaldo. 1981
1026 Shively, Charley. 1988-1996
1027 Shumway, Nicolás. 1979
111 Silén, Iván. 1977-1982
112 Sievert, Heather R.. 1983
113 Soberón Torchía, Edgar. 1972
114 Solá, María. 1980-2012
115 Sommer, Doris. 1979-1998
116 Somoza, María E.. 1986-1996
117 Sonowski, Saúl. 1982-1997
118 Soto, Pedro Juan. 1987-1990
119 Soto Vélez, Klemente. 1981
1110 Suárez-Galbán Guerra, Eugenio (Editorial Origenes). 1980-1984
1111 Tiernan, Victor. 1999
1112 Toro Vargas, Cirilo. 1980
1113 Torrego, Esperanza. 1986-1996
1114 Torrego, Esther. 1979-2007
1115 Torres, Daniel. 1990-2003
1116 Torres, Lureida. 1976-1978
1117 Torres, Simia J.. undated
1118 Torres, Víctor. 1994-1998
1119 Torres, Yvette. 1975-1976
1120 Torres Rivera, Sahra Inés. 1978-1979
1121 Torres-Saillant, Silvio. 1998
1122 Torruella Leval, Susana. 1995-1997
1123 Trelles, Carmen Dolores. undated
1124 Ulloa, Luis Martín. undated
1125 Umpierre, Luz María. 1979-2014
1126 Unión de Escritores y Artistas de Cuba (UNEAC). 1984
1127 Universidad Interaméricana de Puerto Rico- Guayama Campus. 1997
1128 University of Florida. 1999
1129 University of Massachusetts- Boston. 1999
1130 University of Puerto Rico- Rio Piedras. 1987-1992
1131 Uriarte, Miren. 1986
1132 Vale, Idalia. 1975
1133 Valerio, Fernando. 1983
1134 Valle, Carmen. 1978-1983
1135 Valle, Enid. 1990
1136 Valle, Norma. 1982
1137 Van der Laan, Irene. 1993-1998
1138 Van Patten, Bill. 1989
1139 Varo, Carlos. 1973-1990
1140 Vassallo, Ruth. 1986-1990
1141 Vázquez, Lourdes. 1987-1999
1142 Vázquez, María de los Reyes. 1993
1143 Vázquez Arce, Carmen. 1968-1995
1144 Vega, Ana Lydia. 1967-1970
1145 Vega, Ana Lydia. 1974-1984
1146 Vega, Ana Lydia. 1985-1997
1147 Vega, Irene. 1980-1981
1148 Vega, José Luis. 1974-1991
121 Vega, Luis. 1975-1996
122 Vélez, Amanda. 1984
123 Vélez, Américo. 1978-1979
124 Vélez, Diana. 1985-1991
125 Vélez Maggiolo, Marcio. 1982
126 Venegas, Haydée. 1987
127 Vicioso, Chiqui. 1982-1992
128 Vidal, Luis Fernando. 1984-1989
129 Vidal, Teodoro. 2007-2010
1210 Vientós Gastón, Nilita. 1970-1973
1211 Viera, Silvia. 1977-1998
1212 Villanueva, Alfredo. 1978-1979
1213 Villanueva, Salvador. 1975
1214 Villanueva, Tino. 1984-1986
1215 Vitier, Cintio. 1978-1984
1216 Wagenheim, Kal. 2010
1217 Waldman, Gloria. 1976-1986
1218 Walia, Adorna. 1996
1219 Weinberger, Deborah. 1973
1220 West, Alan. 1995-1996
1221 Wineberg, Ellen. 1979-1998
1222 Yáñez, Mirta. 1985-1988
1223 Young, Allen. 1983-1984
1224 Yúdice, George. 1974-1978
1225 Zafran, Eric. 1993-1999
1226 Zardoya, Concha. 1977-1983
1227 Zavala, Iris M.. 1980-1991
1228 Zavala-Martínez, Iris. 1988
1229 Zenón Cruz, Isabelo. 1996
1230 Zervigón, Pedro. 1989
1231 Zugazagoitia, Julián. 1996
1232 Restricted materials. 2002-2003


Series II: Publications.

"Series II. Publications" is formed by recent material written by Barradas and published in two University of Florida newsletters: Noticias, from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and The Latinamericanist, from the Center for Latin American Studies. One article of note within this series explains the connection between Gabriel García Márquez and Barradas.


Box Folder
1233 "From your victim, Gabriel": Remembering Gabriel García Márquez (1927-2014), Noticias, Spanish and Portuguese Studies, University of Florida, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. 2014
1233 "From your victim, Gabriel": Remembering Gabriel García Márquez (1927-2014), The Latinamericanist, Center for Latin American Studies, Volume 45, Number 1. 2014


Series III: Ephemera.

"Series III. Ephemera" includes material from Aguadilla, Barradas's hometown in Puerto Rico; news clippings; and artwork by Nuyorican poet Pedro Pietri from his series Telephone Booth. Related to the 1980s' AIDS epidemic, Pietri's work consists of two small manila envelopes containing a condom and a poem written on the front. This series also includes a special edition book made of artistic postcards from Antonio Martorell's exhibit White Christmas Revisited.


Box Folder
1234 Aguadilla: Dr. Agustin Stahl to Dr. Ernesto Echevarria. 1907
1234 Aguadilla: El Labaro, Hoja Católica, Número especial. 1933
1234 Aguadilla: Isabel to her friends Angelina and Rosarito. 1961
1234 Aguadilla: Jesús de Echevarría to Angelina de Echevarría (siblings). undated
1234 Aguadilla: Love poem to Rosa. 1881
1234 Aguadilla: Monografía histórica sobre la fundación de Aguadilla y su desarrollo urbano. 1905
1234 Aguadilla: Oración a la Santa Rosa de Jerico. circa 1940s
1234 Aguadilla: Sheet music containing the Romanza, "Non E Ver", written by Italian composer Tito Mattei. undated
1235 Art: Antonio Martorell, White Christmas Revisited, special edition book made of artistic postcards, Liga de Arte de san Juan. Book has inscription by Martorell: Para el amigo Efraín, con el cariño de siempre, Toño Martorell. 2015
1235 Art: Telephone Booth Number 505, poem written by Pedro Pietri on a small manila envelope that contains a condom. Envelope is part of a series associated with the AIDS epidemic. circa 1987
1235 Art: Telephone Booth Number 747, poem written by Pedro Pietri on a small manila envelope that contains a condom. Envelope is part of a series associated with the AIDS epidemic. circa 1987
1236 Clippings: Burial of Puerto Rican writer René Marqués, The San Juan Star. 1979
1236 Clippings: Espiritismo boricua o recuerdos de una calurosa tarde en Aguadilla, 80grados.net. 2015


Series IV: Photographs.

"Series IV. Photographs" includes photographs of family and notable Latin American literary figures.


Box Folder
1237 L--R: Nancy Morejón, Ana Lydia Vega, and Norberto James; Wellesly College. 1995
1237 Lola M. Reguero, aunt of Efraín Barradas, 1939. This photograph is related to his article, Espiritismo boricua o recuerdos de una calurosa tarde en Aguadilla. 1939
1237 Nanette Rosas, Efraín Barradas, and Nereida García; La Habana, Parque Central. 1984
1237 Efraín Barradas, Nancy Morejón; Las Coloradas de Niquero, Cuba. 1983
1237 Efraín Barradas, Senel Paz; Las Ruinas, La Habana. 1983


Series V: Books.

"Series V. Books" includes a group of books inscribed by notable Latin American authors such as Gabriel García Márquez, Nicolás Guillén, Pedro Juan Soto, Luis Rafael Sánchez, Juan Bosch, Carlos Piera, and Roberto Sosa.


Box Folder
131 De lo que viene como si se fuera, Piera, Carlos (1942-). 1990
132 El coronel no tiene quien le escriba: novela; García Márquez, Gabriel (1927-2014). 1974
133 El oro y la paz, Bosch, Juan (1909-). 1991
134 La guagua aérea, Sánchez, Luis Rafael. 1994
135 Poemas Manuables, Guillén, Nicolás (1902-1989). 1975
136 Spiks, Soto, Pedro Juan. 1967
137 The return of the river, Sosa, Roberto (1930-2011). 2002


Selected Bibliography

Barradas, Efraín. 1998. Partes de un todo: ensayos y notas sobre literatura puertorriqueña en los Estados Unidos. San Juan, P.R.: Editorial de la Universidad de Puerto Rico. (PS153.P83 B37 1998)
Barradas, Efraín. 1981. Para leer en puertorriqueño: acercamiento a la obra de Luis Rafael Sánchez. Río Piedras, P.R.: Editorial Cultural. (PQ7440.S235 Z59 1981)
Barradas, Efraín. 2007. Mente, mirada, mano: visiones y revisiones de la obra de Lorenzo Homar. San Juan, P.R.: Ediciones Huracán. (N6614.H66 M46 2007)
Barradas, Efraín, and Rita de Maeseneer. 2006. Para romper con el insularismo: letras puertorriqueñas en comparación. Amsterdam: Rodopi. (PQ7423 .P37 2006)
Barradas, Efraín, Rafael Rodríguez, and Carmen Lilianne Marín. 1980. Herejes y mitificadores: muestra de poesía puertorriqueña en los Estados Unidos. Río Piedras, P.R.: Ediciones Huracán. (PQ7434.Z5 E3 1980)


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Authors, Latin American
Barradas, Efraín, 1947-
correspondence
García Márquez, Gabriel, 1927-2014
Latin American literature
mail art
Puerto Rico--Aguadilla



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page