Skip to Search



A Guide to the Marquis G. Eaton Papers

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2008


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Eaton, Marquis G.
Title: Marquis G. Eaton Papers
Dates: 1949-1957
Abstract: Records of Marquis Eaton's activities with the American Institute of Accountants, the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants and other organizations; as well as speeches and correspondence.
Extent: 6.25 Linear feet. 15 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 110-9
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Accountant. President of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and of the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants. Member of the Accounting Hall of Fame.


Scope and Content

Speeches, records and correspondence of Marquis G. Eaton covering his tenure as president of the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants and as president of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA). Also, correspondence and other articles and information dealing with committees or problems dealt with by Mr. Eaton while he served on various committees of the AICPA.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Accounting Collection, which was established in 1971 through gifts made and solicited by Dr. Williard E. Stone, Professor of Accounting, and Chair of the Department of Accounting.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Marquis G. Eaton Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box Folder
1 1 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
1 2 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
1 3 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
1 4 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
1 5 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
1 6 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
2 7 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
2 8 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
2 9 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
2 10 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
2 11 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
3 12 American Institute of Accountants Council - Sept 1949 to Dec 1953
3 13 American Institute of Accountants Council - Jan 1954 to June 1956
3 14 American Institute of Accountants Correspondence
3 15 American Institute of Accountants Correspondence
3 16 American Institute of Accountants Correspondence
3 17 American Institute of Accountants - Michigan Society of CPAs, Detroit - April 22, 1957 Speech
3 18 American Institute of Accountants - Cleveland Chapter "Economics and Accountancy" 12/3/1956 Speech
3 19 American Institute of Accountants - Louisiana Society of CPAs, Lafayette - May 24, 1957 Speech
3 20 American Institute of Accountants - Ohio State University, Columbus - May 16-17, 1957 Speech
3 21 American Institute of Accountants - Management Speech, AIA Convention Journal Article 1955
4 22 American Institute of Accountants Executive Committee 11/1949 to 10/1952
4 23 American Institute of Accountants Executive Committee 9/1955 to 1/1956
4 24 American Institute of Accountants Executive Committee 2/1955 to 10/1956
4 25 American Institute of Accountants Executive Committee 1/1958 forward
5 26 American Institute of Accountants Executive Committee 9/1954 to 9/1955
5 27 American Institute of CPAs Executive Committee 6/1956 to 12/1957
5 28 American Institute of CPAs Executive Committee 11/1956 to 5/1957
5 29 American Institute of CPAs Annual Meeting Program 1/1958
5 30 American Institute of Accountants Detroit Economic Club Meeting April 22, 1957
5 31 American Institute of Accountants 8th International Congress of Accountants
5 32 American Institute of Accountants Annual Report, New Orleans
5 33 American Institute of Accountants Chicago Committee Meeting Days
6 34 American Institute of Accountants Statement of Principles
6 35 American Institute of Accountants Statement of Principles
6 36 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Relations with Bar
6 37 American Institute of Accountants National Society of Public Accountants Meeting 7/9
7 38 American Institute of Accountants Executive Committee Sub-committee on tax practice
7 39 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Tax Accounting Practices
7 40 Texas Society of CPAs, Tyler Chapter
7 41 Eaton and Huddle Management Department
7 42 IRS CPA Liaison
7 43 Texas Society of CPAs - Committee on Relations with Bar
7 44 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Management Services by CPAs
7 45 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Auditing Procedures
7 46 Texas Society of CPAs, Austin February 25, 1957
7 47 Texas Society of CPAs Correspondence
7 48 Texas Society of CPAs San Antonio Speech 6/1/1953
7 49 Texas Society of CPAs Miscellaneous Correspondence
7 50 Texas Society of CPAs Miscellaneous Correspondence
7 51 Texas Society of CPAs Committee on Assistant to State and Legislative Officials
7 52 Texas Society of CPAs Tax Accounting Practice Committee - Correspondence of Federal Tax Commission
7 53 Texas Society of CPAs Executive Directors Applications
8 54 American Institute of Accountants - Economics of Accountancy
8 55 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Publications (to June 26, 1947)
8 56 Applications of Employment 1949-1954
8 57 Applications of Employment 1949-1954
8 58 Applications of Employment 1949-1954
8 59 1950 Excess Profits Tax Law
9 60 American Institute of Accountants
9 61 Eaton and Huddle Services Available
9 62 Texas Society of CPAs - Committee on Tax Accounting Practices
9 63 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Foreign Affairs
9 64 American Institute of Accountants - Accountants Education
9 65 Speaking Notes (Eaton)
9 66 Texas Society of CPAs - Board of Directors
9 67 Texas Society of CPAs - Committee on Relations with Bar
10 68 Management Services - Various Correspondence
10 69 American Institute of Accountants Project
10 70 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Long Range Objectives
10 71 American Institute of Accountants Speech Material
10 72 American Institute of CPAs Article on Union Funds
10 73 American Institute of Accountants Material
10 74 American Institute of CPAs - Committee to Study New Approach to Accounting Research
10 75 American Institute of Accountants - Personal Papers
10 76 American Institute of Accountants - Administrative Practitioners Bill
10 77 American Institute of Accountants - Big Firm Question
11 78 American Institute of Accountants - Spacek Committee
11 79 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Local Governments Accounting
11 80 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Cooperation with Internal Revenue Service
11 81 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Bank Auditing
11 82 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Accounting Procedures
11 83 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on State Legislation
11 84 American Institute of Accountants - Interstate Commerce Committee
11 85 American Institute of Accountants - Letter ratifying change of name
11 86 American Institute of CPAs - Thank you letters to 1956-57 committee members
11 87 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Management Services
12 88 CPA Handbook "Consulting and Advisory Services to Clients"
12 89 Texas Society of CPAs - Committee charges
12 90 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Cooperation with Surety Company
12 91 American Institute of Accountants - Committee on Insurance Accounting
13 92 Marquis G. Eaton Speeches
13 93 Marquis G. Eaton Speeches
13 94 Marquis G. Eaton Speeches
13 95 Marquis G. Eaton Speeches
13 96 Marquis G. Eaton Speeches
13 97 Marquis G. Eaton Speeches
14 98 William Dwight
14 99 Articles on Income Taxation of Trusts and Estates
14 100 Management Material
15 101 Correspondence January 1956 to May 1958
15 102 Eaton and Huddle, CPAs, San Antonio, Procedure Manuals

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Accounting
American Institute of Accountants
Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page