Skip to Search



A Guide to the Cuban Sugar Workers and Sugar Mills Photographs

Finding aid created by Ana D. Rodríguez

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
November 2014


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Eagle, Arnold
Title: Cuban Sugar Workers and Sugar Mills Photographs
Dates: circa 1950-1960
Abstract: Group of 11 photographs, 5 negatives, and 6 prints taken by Arnold Eagle detailing views of sugar mills, workers and life in the countryside of Cuba.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder.
Identification: MS Group 26
Language(s): English
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/eagle_es.htm

Biographical/Historical Note

Arnold Eagle (1909-1992) was an American-Hungarian photographer. During the 1940s Eagle worked with Roy Striker in the Standard Oil Project, a visual document of life in New Jersey, where the company was headquartered, across the nation, and abroad, including Cuba.


Scope and Content

Group of 11 photographs, 5 negatives and 6 prints, detailing views of sugar mills, workers and life in the countryside of Cuba.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Collections related to the photographic production of Arnold Eagle: Standard Oil (New Jersey) Collection at the University of Louisville, and the Standard Oil Company (New Jersey) Photography Project Collection at The University of Texas at Austin.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/eagle_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Cuban Sugar Workers and Sugar Mills Photographs, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was purchased in 2004.


Contents List

Folder
1 3" x 4" negatives: Sugar field; Oxen and sugar mill; View of factory; Train; View of sugar mill.
1 Photos (several sizes): Three sugar cane workers; Oxen on a sugar cane field; Ox dragging a cart with pieces of wood and sugar canes; Lonely ox on a sugar cane field; Boy herding oxen; Traffic on a wooden bridge, Cuba, circa 1950s.
1 7" x 10" photos: Worker filling a sack of sugar; Peasant Cuban man talking on a phone; Peasant Cuban man talking on a phone; View of a sugar mill; Sugar cane workers, Cuba.
1 Double Prints: Sugar field and oxen and sugar mill; View of factory and workers cutting cane; Train and view of sugar mill.

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Sugar -- Manufacture and refining -- Cuba -- Pictorial works
Sugar factories -- Cuba
Sugar trade -- Cuba -- History



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page