Skip to Search





A Guide to the Dominican War of Independence Collection

Finding aid created by Katiana M. Bagué

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

February 2017



Descriptive Summary

Title: Dominican War of Independence Collection
Dates: 1844 February 28-August 3
Abstract: An archive of seven Spanish manuscripts and one printed pamphlet by a Dominican rebel concerning the independence of the Dominican Republic from the nation of Haiti.
Extent: .01 Linear feet. 1 folder (8 items).
Identification: MSS 0372
Language(s): Spanish
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/dominicanwar_es.htm

Biographical/Historical Note

The Dominican Republic was part of the Spanish territory from 1496 to 1821. It was referred to as the colony of Santo Domingo at the time. In 1821, it declared its independence from Spain. This independent status lasted only a few months. Haiti, under French rule, desired a unification of the island of Hispaniola and annexed the eastern part of the island, i.e. the Dominican Republic. Haitian rule was met by much resistance from the Dominican nation, beginning a series of revolutionary efforts towards independence. The documents from this collection are significant because they describe the aftermath of the Dominican Republic's battle for independence. The first document, signed by Spanish colonial officials, is dated February 28, 1844, a day after Dominican rebel forces had taken control of the capital's main fort, and officially declared independence.


Scope and Content

This collection provides the reader with both the Spanish and the revolutionary perspectives regarding the Dominican Republic's independence. The first part of the collection consists of seven manuscripts from Spanish colonial officials in Puerto Rico. The documents include important information on the Dominican Republic's transition as an independent nation. Some of the documents also describe Spanish relations with the French as seen in the translation of the capitulation of the Haitian troops negotiated through the French Consul. The capitulation's articles stated that any property owned by French troops and families in the Spanish part of the island would be protected during the nation's transition. The second part of the collection contains a pamphlet by a Dominican rebel: "El Eco Dominicano." It is the first printed periodical in the Dominican Republic, and it highlights certain details of the Dominican-Haitian War. The pamphlet declares the willingness of the Dominicans to fight and protect their territory.


Arrangement

The documents are arranged in chronological order.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/dominicanwar_es.htm.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Dominican War of Independence Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was purchased in 2016.


Contents List

A Translation of the Capitulation of the Haitian Troops. 1844 Febuary 28
Statement by "La Junta Gubernativa Provisional de la República Dominicana" on the protection of French people's property. 1844 Febuary 29
Notification from Santiago Mendez de Vigo declaring that the political situation of the Dominican Republic is evolving towards independence. 1844 March 14
Document signed by Santiago Mendez de Vigo describing the protection needed by Spaniards living in the Dominican Republic. 1844 March 22
A Letter to the Captain General of Havana signed by Santiago Mendez de Vigo regarding the political situation of Santo Domingo. 1844 March 28
Reports on English schooners mainly from Venezuela entering the Dominican Republic. 1844 May 24
Reports on the verified vessel "Leonora" not posing threats to the island. 1844 August 3
"El Eco Dominicano" pamphlet written by a Dominican rebel to refute Haitian propaganda. 1844 April 25

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Dominican Republic
Haiti
Latin America
Wars of Independence (Latin America : 1806-1830)




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page