Skip to Search



A Guide to the Dodd, Mead Contract Collection

Finding aid created by Steve Duckworth

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2015


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Dodd, Mead & Company
Title: Dodd, Mead Contract Collection
Dates: 1872-1984
Bulk dates: 1895-1960
Abstract: The publisher, Dodd, Mead, and Company, was founded by Moses W. Dodd and John S. Taylor in New York City in 1839 as the firm Taylor and Dodd. Over the years, the firm leadership changed and the name evolved along with it, becoming M. W. Dodd in 1840, Dodd and Mead in 1870, and, finally, Dodd, Mead and Company in 1876. The company ceased operations 1990. The collection consists of publishing contracts and similar agreements, as well as correspondence regarding publishing and negotiating reprints and new editions.
Extent: 0.83 Linear feet. 2 Document boxes.
Identification: MSS 0338
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

The publisher, Dodd, Mead, and Company, was begun in New York City in 1839 as the firm, Taylor and Dodd. Founded by Moses Woodruff Dodd and John S. Taylor, the firm originally published religious books. Dodd bought out his partner a year later and established the company as M. W. Dodd. Dodd's nephew Edward S. Mead took over the firm in 1870, changing the company name to Dodd and Mead. Mead was also a writer for the company and wrote a number of books under the pseudonym Richard Markham.

In 1876, Bleecker Van Wagenen became a partner and the name was changed to its final form, Dodd, Mead and Company. Dodd, Mead, and Company expanded publications to include a variety of British and American authors, publishing the works of many of the best-known modern writers in fiction, general literature, and art. The company suspended business operations in March 1989 pending the outcome of arbitration with its fulfillment house, Metro Services, Inc., and by the end of 1990 the company had ceased publications.


Scope and Content

The Dodd, Mead Contract Collection spans from 1872 to 1984, with the bulk of the records dating from 1895 to 1960. The vast majority of this collection consists of publishing contracts and similar agreements, but also includes some correspondence with authors, editors, illustrators, and other publishing houses regarding publishing activities and negotiating reprints and new editions. Some authors of note include Arna Bontemps, Joel Chandler Harris (estate), Hendrik Willem Van Loon, and Carolyn Wells.


Arrangement

The records of this collection are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name, or by a publisher's name when a single author was not discernable.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

The records of Dodd, Mead, and Company are spread across a number of archives and repositories. Links to some collections appear below.

"Dodd, Mead and Company Archive," University of Delaware: http://www.lib.udel.edu/ud/spec/findaids/doddmea1.htm

"Dodd, Mead and Company Papers," American Antiquarian Society: http://www.americanantiquarian.org/Findingaids/dodd_mead_company.pdf

"Dodd, Mead mss.," 1855-1992, Indiana University: http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/findingaids/view?doc.view=entire_text&docId=InU-Li-VAA8772


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Dodd, Mead Contract Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

No information is available regarding the history or acquisition of this collection.

Processing Notes

Physical processing of this collection was supported by processing assistant Kerry Elkins.


Contents List

Box Folder
11 Abbott, Willis J.; agreements, copyright notices, and correspondence regarding multiple titles.
12 Ames, Winthrop; agreement and correspondence with Samuel French regarding Snow White. 1924-1926, 1939
13 Ames, Winthrop; agreement and letter regarding Snow White rights sold to Walt Disney Productions. 1936 November
14 Ames, Winthrop; agreement regarding Snow White. 1913 November 26
15 Assorted correspondence. 1897, 1940, 1989
16 Barber, Elisabeth; correspondence regarding My Fair Lady juvenile novelization. 1965
17 Barbour, Ralph Henry; agreements and correspondence regarding multiple works.
18 Barnes, Burt; agreements and correspondence regarding Scissor books.
19 Bigham, Madge and Edwin Grover; agreements for The Wishing Fairies. 1916 February 21
110 Bilby, Julian W.; agreement for Nanook of the North. 1926 March 15
111 Bontemps, Arna; agreement and correspondence regarding Famous Negro Athletes. 1960, 1969
112 Bontemps, Arna; agreement and correspondence regarding Free at Last: The Life of Frederick Douglas.
113 Bontemps, Arna; proposal and agreement for Young Booker: Booker T. Washington's Early Days. 1972 January
114 Bosschère, Jean de; correspondence regarding multiple works.
115 Champney, Elizabeth W.; agreement and copyright notices regarding Margarita: A Legend of the Fight for the Great River. 1902 August
116 Chapin, Anna Alice; agreement and correspondence regarding Humpty Dumpty. 1905, 1915, 1936-1937
117 Chapin, Anna Alice; agreement and correspondence regarding The Nowadays Fairy Book. 1911
118 Chapin, Anna Alice; copyright notice and correspondence regarding The Everyday Fairy Book. 1915
119 Chapin, Anna Alice; copyright notice for Topsy Turvy Fairy Book. 1913 June 16
120 Clark, Dick; agreement for The Dick Clark Good Grooming Book. 1984 September 24
121 Collins, A. Frederick; correspondence regarding The Boys' Book of Knowledge. 1917, 1919
122 Compton, Margaret; copyright notices and correspondence regarding Snow Bird and the Water Tiger and Other American Indian Tales. 1895, 1934
123 Crump, Irving; agreement and correspondence regarding Making the School newspaper. 1933, 1941
124 Crump, Irving; correspondence regarding Boys' Life competition.
125 Cust, Robert Hobart and James Dougherty (illustrator); agreement and correspondence regarding The Memoirs of Benvenuto Cellini. 1931
126 Dearmer, Mabel; agreement and letter regarding Child's Life of Christ. 1900, 1906
127 Douglas, Amanda M.; agreements and letter regarding Little Girl series.
128 Drummond, Henry; copyright notices for The Monkey That Would Not Kill. 1897
129 English, James W.; agreement and correspondence regarding The Rin Tin Tin Story. 1948-1949, 1955-1956
130 Farrar, F. W. (Frederic William); agreements and correspondence regarding Texts Explained and The Life of Lives. 1898-1899, 1909, 1914
131 Farrow, G. E.; copyright notices and correspondence regarding The Wallypug of Why and The Missing Prince.
132 Fenn, George Manville; agreement and copyright notices regarding multiple works.
133 Ford, Lauren; agreement and correspondence regarding The Ageless Story. 1936, 1946-1947
134 Fuller, J. F. C.; agreement for The Life of Ulysses S. Grant for Young Americans. 1930 June 4
135 Fyleman, Rose ( S. W. Partridge and Company); agreement and correspondence regarding The Mulberry Bush. 1927, 1965
136 Gates, Josephine Scribner; agreement for The Story of the Mince Pie. 1916 April 5
137 George G. Harrap and Company; correspondence regarding multiple works. 1917, 1923-1932
138 Gerson, Virginia; agreements, copyright notices, and correspondence regarding The Happy Heart Family. 1904, 1907, 1931, 1939
139 Gordon, Elizabeth (Mrs. Charles W.); agreement and correspondence regarding Two Brown Bears in Toyland.
140 G. P. Putnam's Sons; correspondence regarding works of James Fenimore Cooper.
141 Grover, Eulalie O. (and estate); agreements and correspondence regarding Robert Louis Stevenson and Benjamin Franklin. 1939-1949, 1958-1961
142 Hale, Edward Everett; agreement for To-day. 1903 March 26
143 Hall, Minerva J.; agreement, copyright notice, and correspondence regarding Scoodle-Do stories. 1927, 1936
144 Hammerton, John Alexander; agreement and letter regarding J. M. Barrie. 1927, 1929
145 Harboe, Paul; copyright notice for A Child's Story of Hans Christian Andersen. 1907 September 13
146 Harris, Joel Chandler (estate); agreement for Uncle Remus material. 1909 April 26
147 Harris, Joel Chandler (estate); correspondence regarding Uncle Remus and the Little Boy reprintings. 1926-1928, 1938, 1942-1946
148 Herman, Reinhold L. and Walter Satterlee; agreements, copyright notice, and correspondence regarding Cradle Song of Many Nations. 1882, 1885
149 Herr, Charlotte B.; agreement, copyright notice, and letter regarding The Brownie Robinson Crusoe. 1920, 1924, 1928
150 Hosking, Arthur N.; agreement and letter regarding The Night Before Christmas. 1934 March
151 Irwin, Wallace; agreement for The Nautical Lays of a Landsman. 1904 March 24
152 Isaacs, Lewis M.; agreement for Hansel and Gretel. 1913 December 11
21 Jackson, Charlotte; agreements and correspondence regarding multiple titles, includes agreements with illustrators Kurt Wiese and Leonard Weisgard. 1939-1948, 1960
22 J. M. Dent and Company; correspondence, possibly regarding Edgenorth. 1893
23 John Martin's House, Incorporated; agreements and correspondence regarding multiple works. 1910, 1913, 1921-1933, 1952
24 Kilvert, B. Cory; agreement for The Kite Book. 1909 April 23
25 Knapp, George L.; agreement for The Boys' Book of Journalism. 1931 December 28
26 Knipe, E. B. and A. A.; agreements for The Life of George Washington. 1930
27 LeBlanc, Georgette; agreements and correspondence regarding "Maeterlinck's" The Children's Blue Bird. 1912-1913, 1919, 1939-1941
28 Marshall, Archibald; agreement for Wooden. 1920 January 30
29 Mayhew, Ralph; agreements, copyright notices, and correspondence regarding Bubble books. 1929-1930, 1936, 1941
210 Melcher, Daniel; agreement and letter regarding Publishing Career Book for Boys. 1939
211 Rae, John; agreement for The Big Family. 1916
212 Rae, John; agreement for The Why Book. 1910 July 18
213 Schaeffer, Mead; correspondence regarding illustrations for multiple works.
214 Selwyn, Margaret Mayo; agreement and correspondence regarding Polly of the Circus. 1908, 1912
215 Singleton, Esther; copyright notices for Fairy books.
216 Smith, Gertrude; copyright notice for The Wonderful Stories of Jane and John. 1906 February 6
217 Sohn, Monte; copyright notice for Elsie the Cow. 1942 April 24
218 Stretton, Hesba; agreement and correspondence regarding The Highway of Sorrows. 1872, 1895
219 Sutro, Alfred; agreements and correspondence regarding The Children's Life of the Bee. 1919, 1925, 1929
220 Terhune, Mary Virginia; agreements and correspondence regarding multiple works. 1888-1900, 1907, 1915
221 Vance, Marguerite and Valenti Angelo; agreements and correspondence regarding Paula series.
222 Van Loon, Hendrik Willem (and estate); agreements and correspondence regarding multiple works. 1942-1948, 1953, 1972
223 Van Loon, Hendrik Willem (and estate); copyright notices and correspondence regarding multiple works. 1943-1946, 1959-1960
224 Wells, Carolyn; agreement for Idle Idyls. 1900 July 26
225 Wells, Carolyn; agreement for Jingle Bells (Baubles). 1916 December 18
226 Wells, Carolyn; agreement for Rubaiyat of the Automobile. 1905 December 18
227 Wells, Carolyn; agreements for Dick and Dolly series.
228 Wells, Carolyn; agreements for Marjorie series. 1907-1912, 1919
229 Wells, Carolyn; agreements for Patty series.
230 Wells, Carolyn; agreements for Two Little Women series.
231 Wells, Carolyn; copyright notices for Little Mother Goose books. 1913
232 Wells, Carolyn; correspondence regarding Two Little Women and Dick and Dolly series. 1919 September
233 Wells, Carolyn; letter regarding use permissions for For the Flag and the Girl Back Home. 1918 January 31
234 Whitcomb, Ida P.; correspondence regarding Young People's Story of American Literature. 1912
235 Wiese, Kurt (and estate); agreements and correspondence regarding multiple works. 1945-1950, 1961, 1974
236 Wister, Owen Johnson; agreement and correspondence regarding multiple works. 1907, 1910, 1927, 1946
237 Wood, Robert Williams (and estate); agreements and correspondence regarding How to Tell the Birds from the Flowers. 1916, 1931, 1938, 1955-1956
238 Zimm, Louise Hasbrouck; copyright notice for Moby Dick (junior edition). 1923 January 1

Sources consulted:

"Dodd, Mead and Company Archive." University of Delaware Library. Last modified January 19, 2011. http://www.lib.udel.edu/ud/spec/findaids/doddmea1.htm.
"Dodd, Moses Woodruff." The New International Encyclopædia. Last modified on July 1, 2010. https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/The_New_International_Encyclop%C3%A6dia/Dodd,_Moses_Woodruff.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Authors and publishers
Contracts
Dodd, Mead & Company
Publishers and publishing



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page