Skip to Search



A Guide to the Edward S. Deevey Papers

Finding aid created by Katie Walters

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
February 2008


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Deevey, Edward S. (Edward Smith), 1914-1988
Title: Edward S. Deevey Papers
Dates: 1924-1988
Abstract: Correspondence, field notes, publications, research proposals, and other papers of limnologist and educator, Edward S. Deevey.
Extent: 19 Linear feet. 37 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 239
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Edward S. Deevey was born in Albany, New York on December 3, 1914. He earned his Bachelor's (1934) and Ph.D. (1938) at Yale University. Deevey taught biology at the Rice Institute in Houston, Texas from 1939 to 1943. He worked as a research associate at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution until 1946 when he began teaching at Yale University. In 1953-1954 Deevey worked on a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Fulbright Research Award in Denmark. He became a full professor at Yale in 1957 and worked there until 1968. In 1964-1965 Deevey traveled to New Zealand on a National Science Foundation and Fulbright Travel Grant. In 1968 Deevey moved to Canada and began teaching biology at Dalhousie University. During his time at Dalhousie he also was a member of the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. In 1971 Deevey left Canada for Gainesville, Florida as the Graduate Research Curator of the Florida State Museum. He continued to receive various research grants, mostly for work in Guatemala, Florida, and China. He remained with the Florida State Museum until his death in 1988.

Deevey made substantial contributions in pollen analysis, limnology, paleolimnology, marine ecology, population biology, radiocarbon dating, low-temperature geochemistry, biogeography, and paleoanthropology. He wrote his thesis on paleolimnology under G.E. Hutchinson and introduced concepts that helped develop the field into a quantitative science. He established the standard pollen stratigraphy for Eastern North America. He pollen research was extremely influential, but his largest research project was the Historical Ecology of the Maya, in which he attempted to interpret environmental consequences of human activity in a changing climate.


Scope and Content

The Deevey Papers include correspondence (business and personal), research field notes, projects, publications, research proposals, associations, photographs and miscellaneous materials. The correspondence (1924-1988) primarily concerns Deevey's research projects, various people asking for his assistance, and letters concerning his journal articles. He remained in contact with his graduate professor G.E. Hutchinson throughout his career. Other names of interest in the collection are: Don and Pru Rice, Daniel Livingstone, Margaret Davis, Mark Brenner, and Mike Binford.

The field notes, projects, publications, and research proposals document Deevey's research interests and his contributions to limnology, paleolimnology, and other scientific fields. The research is centered in New England, Guatemala, Florida, and Yunnan, China. The field notes concern more of Deevey's early work with lakes in New England. Deevey's largest research project, the Historical Ecology of the Maya, is well documented in these groups.

The materials pertaining to his professional associations consist of notes and papers from various conferences and symposiums, as well as minutes from various organizations. Deevey was on five editorial boards, including Radiocarbon, American Journal of Science, Bioscience, Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics, and Human Ecology. He participated in eleven professional societies, including the Ecological Society of America (with a lifetime member award), American Society of Naturalists, and the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography.

The miscellaneous papers include lecture notes, mostly from Yale University, and biographical information. The photographs are mainly from research projects, and include numerous presentation slides and graphs. There are also photos of Edward Deevey and Georgiana Deevey, and one of Mark Brenner.

The correspondence is arranged chronologically, and the rest of the collection primarily is arranged alphabetically by folder title.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Edward S. Deevey Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Processing Notes

The majority of the folders in this collection were originally numbered using one of four distinct numbering schemes. During processing of the collection, these numbering schemes were abandoned in favor of the current chronological or alphabetical arrangement. However, the numbers from the old schemes were retained on the folders.


Contents List

Business and Professional Correspondence


Box
1 Symposium on Early Man (includes news clippings). 1937
1 Miscellaneous. 1937-1940
1 Texas Academy of Science, ESD as Fellow. 1939-1942
1 Sediments of Lake Patzcuaro, Michoacan, Mexico. 1940, 1955-56
1 Responses to Researchers. 1941-1942
1 Rice College, Pattie,A. 1943-1944
1 Jos S. Wade, Thoreau. 1943-1944
1 Kenneth Mcleod Jr., Pollen Analysis. 1943-1944
1 Paul Sears, Yale Conservation Program. 1943-44. 1948-49, 1956
1 Wesley R. Coe, Scripps Institute of Oceanography. 1944
1 Dr. Fernando de Buen, Ignacio Mariscal. 1944
1 Francois E. Matthes. 1944
1 George A. Baitsell, Society of the Sigma XI. 1944
1 Irving Rouse, Yale University. 1944
1 Osorio Tafall, Guanos y Fertilizantes de Mexico. 1944
1 Frans Verdoorn, Chronica Botanica. 1944-1945
1 W. Armstrong Price, Geology. 1944-1945
1 Concerning Chironomids. 1944-1945. 1957
1 Henrich Meyer, Organic Gardening. 1944-1946
1 Dr. A. C. Chandler, The Rice Institute. 1944-1948
1 Concerning Oceanography Research. 1944-1948, 1958
1 Concerning Pollen Research. 1944-1948, 1958-1959
1 Louis Hutchins, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. 1944-1949
1 Miscellaneous. 1944-1949
1 Stanley W. Bromley, Bartlett Tree Research Laboratories. 1944-1949
1 Frederick Johnson, Robert S. Peabody Foundation (radiocarbon dating). 1944-1949, 1956-1958
1 University of California, Joel Hedgpeth. 1944-1950
1 Arthur Hasler, University of Wisconsin. 1944-1957
1 ES Barghoorn, Harvard University. 1944, 1951-1953
1 AD Henderson, Antioch College. 1945
1 Dr. de Terra, Coring Lakes in Mexico. 1945
1 C. Mclean Fraser, University of British Columbia. 1945
1 Miscellaneous. 1945-1946
1 Concerning Hydroids. 1945-1946, 1950-1958
1 Biological Abstracts. 1945-1949
1 McGraw Hill Book Company, Book on Animal Ecology. 1945-1949, 1958
1 Carl Hubbs, The American Naturalist. 1946
1 Cloroben Corporation, Aquatic Weed Control. 1946
1 Istituto Italiano di Idrobiologia, concerning Italian Publications. 1946
1 LR Wilson, Coe College. 1946
1 Robert T. Hatt, Cranbrook Institute of Science. 1946
1 Wilhelm Rodhe, Uppsala Universitets Institute. 1946
1 American Geographical Society (award for ES Deevey). 1946-1947
1 Fred Phleger, Amherst College. 1946-1947, 1931
1 ARV Arellano, Universidad Nacional de Mexico (carbon dating). 1946-1948
1 Charles M Weiss, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. 1946-1948
1 Thomas Park, University of Chicago. 1946-1948, 1957
1 Ruth Patrick, Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia. 1946-1948, 1957
1 WT Edmondson, Harvard University. 1946-1948, 1958-1959, 1985-188
1 Frank E. Eggleton, University of Michigan. 1946-1949
1 Donald Zinn, Woods Hole, University of Rhode Island. 1946-1958
1 Concerning Limnology. 1946-1948
1 Ira T. Wilson, Heidelberg College. 1947
1 Lyle M. Thorpe, State Board of Fisheries and Game. 1947
1 Dr. AJ Lotka, Metropolitan Life Insurance Company. 1947
1 Elmer Higgins, US Department of Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service. 1947
1 A. Shulov, Hebrew University, Palestine. 1947-1948
1 Thomas S. Austin, Division of Oceanography, US Navy. 1947-1948
1 American Society of Zoologists. 1947-1948
1 Miscellaneous. 1947-1948, 1957, 1968, 1985
1 University College of Wales, TA Stephenson. 1947-1949
1 Ernst Mayr, American Museum of Natural History. 1947-1949
1 International Review of Hydrobiology and Hydrography, Folder 1 of 2. 1947-1950
2 International Review of Hydrobiology and Hydrography, Folder 2 of 2. 1947-1950
2 Dr. AJ Huntsman, University of Toronto. 1948
2 David Lock, Department of Zoological Field Studies. 1948
2 Lorenz G. Straub, American Geophysical Union. 1948
2 Concerning Yale Zoology Department. 1948-1949
2 RC Murphy, American Museum of Natural History. 1948-1949
2 Pleistocene Biogeography. 1948-1949
2 Society of Systematic Zoology. 1948-1949, 1955
2 Douglas Byers, Robert S Peabody Foundation (archaeology). 1948-1950, 1958-1959
2 Raymond Paynter (from and concerning). 1948, 1956, 1959
2 Dennis Flanagan, Gerard Piel, CL Strong, Scientific American. 1948-1958
2 Miscellaneous, from one school year, Folder 1 of 2. 1949-1950
2 Miscellaneous, from one school year, Folder 2 of 2. 1949-1950
2 Fulbright Award for '52-'53. 1949-1953
2 Miscellaneous, Reprints, Research, and Support Requests. 1949-1984
2 Miscellaneous. c. 1950s
2 Jo Babcock, Department of State, German Affairs. 1950
2 Shirley A Macmillan, Applying for job at Osborn Lab. 1950
2 Dr. Adolfo Meyer-Abich, Instituto Tropical de Investigaciones Cientificas. 1950-1951
2 Henry K Svenson, American Museum of Natural History. 1950-1951
2 Miscellaneous. 1950-1951
2 American Institute of Biological Sciences. 1951
2 Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1951-1952
2 Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1951-1952
2 Society for the Study of Evolution. 1951-1955
2 Various Official Memos, Yale University. 1951-1957
2 Symposium of Climatic Change, Academy of Arts and Sciences. 1952
2 Miscellaneous. 1952-1953
2 Guggenheim Grant, Research in North Italy. 1953
2 European Trip. 1953-1954
2 Miscellaneous, ES Deevey in Denmark, Sweden, Italy. 1953-1954
3 Miscellaneous, Opper Thesis, Hydrology in Florida. 1953-1954
3 American Statistical Association (includes reports). 1953-1955
3 Fulbright Grant in Denmark. 1953-1957
3 Miscellaneous, ES Deevey working at Osborn Zoology Lab, Yale University. 1954
3 Yale, Saybrook College Counsels. 1954-1955
3 LIFE, includes review and research. 1954-1955, 1970
3 Estella Leopold, US Geological Survey. 1954-1959, 1973-1975
3 EF Dietz, Core Samples in Wisconsin. 1955
3 Miscellaneous and Recommendations. 1955
3 US Department of the Interior, Geological Survey. 1955
3 Clifford A. Kaye, concerning Block Island. 1955-1957
3 Miscellaneous, requests to ES Deevey. 1955-1957
3 Visiting Scientists and ES Deevey's Visits. 1955-1958
3 Davis Frey, Indiana University. 1955-1958, 1960, 1980, 1987
3 Various Publishers. 1955-1959, 1970-1971
3 Allison R. Palmer (Pete), US Geological Survey. 1956
3 Graham Dushane, editor, Science. 1956
3 Paul Martin (mostly)_. 1956-1957, 1970, 1986-1987
3 Harry Godwin, Botany School, Cambridge University. 1956-1958
3 Miscellaneous. 1956-1958
3 Symposium on Population Problems and book, The Population Ahead. 1956-1958
3 Bill Niering, Connecticut College, Red Maple Swamp. 1956-1960
4 Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2 (includes requests for Hare and the Haruspex). 1956-1960
4 Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2 (includes requests for Hare and the Haruspex). 1956-1960
4 Conference on Archaeological Identification. 1957
4 Ecological Society of America, Animal Behavior. 1957
4 Geological Society of America (Deevey as Fellow). 1957
4 George Sprugel Jr., National Science Foundation (Deevey's research in Spain). 1957
4 Horton H. Hobbs Jr., Mountain Lake Biological Station, VA. 1957
4 Jane Teramsmae, Geological Survey of Canada. 1957
4 Kabi, concerning Pollen Samples. 1957
4 Laura Fermi, Physical Science Study Committee, Monograph Project - The Age of Things. 1957
4 National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council Division of Biology and Agriculture. 1957
4 Research Trip to France. 1957
4 AL Washburn, Dartmouth College. 1957-1958
4 Frederick Turner, Life Tables. 1957-1958
4 Ida Langman, concerning Mexican Ethnobotany. 1957-1958
4 Norman Newell, American Museum of Natural History. 1957-1958
4 Ecological Society of America Editors. 1957-1960
4 Margaret Davis. 1957-1960
4 Radiocarbon Dating Punch Card System. 1957-1961
4 Jack Bresler, Boston University, Brown University. 1957-1967
4 Miscellaneous, some unpublished papers. 1957-1971
4 Gerald Richmond, US Geological Survey. 1958
4 Hal Turner, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute. 1958
4 University of New Mexico Publications, concerning Dr. JC Russell's Manuscript Introduction to Medieval Climate. 1958
4 William Niering, Connecticut College. 1958
4 Bethany Bog. 1958-1959
4 Borers, other laboratories. 1958-1959
4 George and Ursula Cowgill, Harvard University. 1958-1959
4 John King, Jackson Memorial Laboratories. 1958-1959
4 Miscellaneous. 1958-1959
4 "Crackpots". 1958-1959, 1963, 1968
4 Miscellaneous. 1958-1959, 1966-1967
4 National Science Foundation, Miscellaneous. 1958-1959
4 Peter Klopfer, concerning Clethrionomys/Research. 1958-1959
4 Concerning Populations and Geochemistry. 1958-1959
4 Shoji Horie, Kyoto University. 1958-1960, 1972
4 Jane Sewall, Goucher College. 1958-1965
4 Alan Graham, University of Michigan. 1959
5 Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1959-1961
5 Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1959-1961
5 JG Ogden, Dalhousie University and Ohio Wesleyan University. 1959-1988
5 Herb Wright (from and concerning), Limnological Research Center. 1959,1969, 1972, 1988
5 Roger Anderson (from and concerning work of). 1960-1961
5 Sierra Club, concerning Deevey's Review of This is the American Earth. 1960-1961
5 Various Requests for the Hare and the Haruspex. 1960-1961
5 Miscellaneous, C14 dating, Core Samples, Folder 1 of 3. 1960-62
5 Miscellaneous, C14 dating, Core Samples, Folder 2 of 3. 1960-62
5 Miscellaneous, C14 dating, Core Samples, Folder 3 of 3. 1960-62
5 Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1960-1963
5 Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1960-1963
5 Matsuo Tsukada, University of Washington. 1980-1983
6 Miscellaneous (requests). 1961
6 Maya Area Trip Information. 1961-1977
6 concerning Dr. Minze Stuiver's Appointment. 1962
6 New Haven Water Company, Lidia Hill Pond (land to Yale University). 1962-1963
6 Paul Colinvaux, reference letters, work and students. 1962-1988
6 Miscellaneous, April - December. 1963
6 Miscellaneous, mostly requests and research questions, Folder 1 of 2. 1963
6 Miscellaneous, mostly requests and research questions, Folder 2 of 2. 1963
6 Nobuyuki Nakai, Nagoya University, Japan, sulfur isotopes. 1963
6 University of Washington, concerning Linsley Pond. 1963
6 Miscellaneous. 1963-1965
6 Matsuo Tsukada, NSF Research Associate. 1963-1966
6 Woods Hole/ Oyster Pond, Massachusetts. 1963-1966
6 Dr. Harry Everhardt's criticisms of Brooks and Deevey's contributions to book Limnology in North America. 1964
6 Margaret Davis and Science, concerning joint article on Pollen. 1964
6 Miscellaneous, January-September, Folder 1 of 2. 1964
6 Miscellaneous, January-September, Folder 2 of 2. 1964
6 Columbia University Seminar, Ecological Systems and Cultural Evolution. 1964-1965
6 Miscellaneous, May '64- August '65. 1964-1965
6 Miscellaneous, from New Zealand (ES Deevey on sabbatical). 1964-1965
6 Miscellaneous. 1964-1965
7 W. Waldren, concerning Myotragus Balearicus excavation site in Baleares, Spain. 1964-1965
7 Department of Navy, Office of Naval Research. 1964-1966
7 Concerning Green Lakes, New York. 1964-1966
7 Activities in Australia. 1965
7 G. Evelyn Hutchinson, Yale University. 1965
7 Received while in New Zealand. 1965
7 Vida Stout, University of Canterbury. 1965
7 concerning Volumes on Quaternary Palynology and Paleoecology. 1965
7 Charles Taylor, provost, Yale University. 1965-1966
7 Edward Callender, University of North Dakota (C14 carbon dating). 1965-1966
7 Miscellaneous, Yale, various committees, requests, Folder 1 of 2. 1965-1966
7 Miscellaneous, Yale, various committees, requests, Folder 2 of 2. 1965-1966
7 Ronald Davis, University of Maine. 1965-1967, 1980
7 Renee Kra (mostly), Radiocarbon, American Journal of Science. 1965-1971
7 Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1966
7 Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1966
7 Peter Tyler, University of Tasmania. 1966
7 Roy Rappaport, concerning carrying capacity figures. 1966
7 concerning a Volume on Pleistocene Extinction. 1966
7 John Bradbury, University of New Mexico. 1966-1969
7 Donald Walker, Australian National University, Pollen Research. 1966-1988
7 Dr. RC Lewontin, The American Naturalist (Journal of American Society of Naturalists). 1967
7 concerning Green Lakes Conference. 1967
7 Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1967
7 Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1967
7 Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1967
8 Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1967
8 Monica Evans, Nature Center Incorporated. 1967
8 Yale University Press, New York Review concerning Pleistocene Extinctions. 1967
8 Central American Program Discussions. 1968
8 Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1968
8 Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1968
8 Miscellaneous, September-December. 1968
8 Ohio State University, Midwest Wildlife Conference. 1968
8 JG Mordue, Logos Press. 1968, 1970
8 Limnology and Oceanography Incorporated. 1968-1970
8 American Institute of Biological Sciences, Bioscience. 1968-1971
8 concerning move from Canada - Washington DC - and UF. 1968-1973
8 AAAS Climate and Man, Boston. 1969
8 Canadian Society of Wildlife and Fishery Biologists Symposium. 1969
8 GE Hutchinson's Festschrift, planning. 1969
8 Miscellaneous, January-June, Folder 1 of 2. 1969
8 Miscellaneous, January-June, Folder 2 of 2. 1969
8 Miscellaneous, July-December, Folder 1 of 2. 1969
8 Miscellaneous, July-December, Folder 2 of 2. 1969
8 Organization for Tropical Studies, course in Tropical Limnology. 1969
8 Philip S. Thayer, PhD, Arthur D Little Incorporated. 1969
8 Harper and Row Publishers. 1969-1970
8 International Biological Programme Symposium, Poland. 1969-1970
8 John Cooley, University of Toronto. 1969-1970
9 Science Council of Canada, Fisheries and Wildlife Research. 1969-1970
9 Miscellaneous (ES Deevey at Dalhousie University). 1969-1971
9 Ecological Society of America. 1969-1972
9 Quaternary Research, an Interdisciplinary Journal. 1969-1973
9 Miscellaneous. c. 1970s
9 The American Species of Eubosmina Seligo. 1970
9 Canadian Public Health Association Conference, Kentville. 1970
9 Dalhousie University, concerning Cameron Killam Package. 1970
9 Donald Wohlschlag, University of Texas. 1970
9 Dennis Flanagan, Scientific American. 1970
9 Haven H. Spencer, Houghton Mifflin Company. 1970
9 John Stahl, Southern Illinois University. 1970
9 Journal of Human Ecology. 1970-1972
9 Juan Enrique Vinatea, Universidad Nacional Agraria. 1970
9 Miscellaneous, January-June. 1970
9 Miscellaneous. 1970
9 M. Winpe, Research Assistant at Dalhousie University. 1970
9 National Geographic. 1970
9 Smithsonian Institution, David Challinor. 1970
9 Symposium on Ecology of Cladocera, Indiana University. 1970
9 Yale Scientific. 1970
9 GE Hutchinson's Festschrift. 1970-1971
9 Job Nomination Requests. 1970-1971
9 Reprint Requests, Information/Interview Requests. 1970-1971
9 Salmonoid Communities Symposium. 1970-1971
9 Symposia, meetings (Not Dalhousie University). 1970-1971
9 Visiting Staff and Graduate Students. 1970-1971
9 Concerning Deevey's Move to Gainesville, Florida (UF). 1970-1972
9 University of Washington, Quaternary Seminar. 1970-1974
9 Alan Covich, recommendations. 1970-1975
9 concerning Florida State Museum Activites, Personnel, and Tenure. 1970-1976
9 Habib Yezdani, State College of Victoria at Melbourne. 1970-1986
10 Dalhousie University. 1971
10 Donald Strong, University of Oregon. 1971
10 Miscellaneous, ES Deevey leaving Dalhousie University. 1971
10 Miscellaneous, insurance, move to Florida. 1971
10 Miscellaneous, January-June. 1971
10 Robert H Stavn, Hunter College, New York. 1971
10 Russell E Train, Council on Environmental Quality. 1971
10 GM Woodwell, Brookhaven Symposium, Carbon and the Biosphere. 1971-1972
10 Miscellaneous. 1971-1972
10 Copies of Miscellaneous Letters sent by ES Deevey. 1971-1973
10 Miscellaneous, Bosmina Samples. 1971-1974
10 Dian Hitchcock, Arthur D. Little, Incorporated. 1971-1975
10 Ecology/Biology Department at Yale. 1971-1975
10 "From Desk," Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1971-1978
10 "From Desk," Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1971-1978
10 Benchmark Series books, Ecology. 1972
10 Bruce Manny, NSF, Atmospheric Nitrogen. 1972
10 concerning Chairman, Department of Natural Science Position Search. 1972. 1974
10 Dick Dickinson (from and concerning), Navy. 1972
10 Margaret Davis, University of Minnesota, reference. 1972, 1982
10 Letter to Science. 1972
10 University of Wisconsin, Northern Lakes Data. 1972, 1986
10 GB 32150, Grant for Guatemala Research. 1972-1973
10 Little Salt Spring Symposium. 1972-1973
10 Nicholas Hellmuth, Foundation for Latin America Anthropological Research, director of Yaxha Project. 1972-1973
10 Guatemala Trip (mostly logistics). 1972-1974
10 Miscellaneous. 1972-1974
11 William Hart, Dalhousie University. 1972-1975
11 Robert C. Dorion, Guatemala. 1972-1976
11 Jack Vallentyne, Fisheries Research Board of Canada. 1973
11 Leigh Van Valen, Evolutionary Theory Journal. 1973
11 (Pete) Ogden, Dalhousie University, concerning pollution in Nova Scotia. 1973
11 Recommendations for John Cooley. 1973
11 Science Applications, Incorporated, concerning Holography. 1973
11 Societas Internationalis Limnologiae. 1973-1974, 1987-1988
11 Suzi (Secretary) also some forwarded memos, summer. 1973
11 Journal of Human Ecology. 1973-1978
11 Miscellaneous, Summer. 1974
11 Activity Reports (Includes wife, Georgiana). 1974-1975, 1986-1987
11 ASLO Conference. 1974-1975
11 Don and Pru Rice, Guatemala Research. 1974-1975
11 Educational Expeditions International, TV Program, Peopleing the New World. 1974-1975
11 Guatemala Trip, mostly Nicholas Hellmuth. 1974-1975
11 Miscellaneous, Folder 1 of 2. 1974-1975
11 Miscellaneous, Folder 2 of 2. 1974-1975
11 Miscellaneous, requests for reprints, information. 1974-1975
11 Robert C. Dorion, Guatemala. 1974-1975
11 William M Hamner, University of California at Davis. 1974-1976
11 Annual Review, Ecology and Syst. 1974-1977
11 Florida State Museum Memos, Folder 1 of 2. 1974-1980
12 Florida State Museum Memos, Folder 2 of 2. 1974-1980
12 Various Universities on programs in Tropical Studies. 1974, 1985, 1988
12 William Watts, University of Dublin. 1974-1984
12 Dian Hitchcock, Reference Letter. 1975
12 Florida Green Plan Inventory Form. 1975
12 Miscellaneous, Summer. 1975
12 Miscellaneous, Summer. 1975
12 Senator Lawton Chiles, HR 4723. 1975
12 Wolff, job recommendations. 1975
12 Miscellaneous, mostly Summer 1976. 1975-1976
12 John Painter, WH Freeman and Company. 1975-1977
12 Gregory J Marlowe, concerning Radiocarbon Dating. 1976
12 concerning Research done in Mexico and Guatemala. 1976
12 concerning Guatemala/ Maya Research. 1976-1977
12 Lake Yaxha and Related Papers. 1976-1977
12 Mark Brenner, Reference Letters. 1976, 1983, 1986-1987
12 Miscellaneous, requests for references. 1976-1977
12 Miscellaneous, "From Desk". 1976-1977
12 Florida State Museum Support from Bobby Dorian (Guatemala). 1976--1980
12 Arthur Bloom, Cornell University. 1976-1985
12 concerning Florida State Museum Reports, activities. 1976-1986
12 Miscellaneous, Summer. 1977
12 NSF Maya Proposal, Don Rice. 1977
12 Postdoctoral Research Asst. for Florida State Museum. 1977
12 Society for American Archaeology, Maya Ecology Symposium. 1977-1978
12 concerning Guatemala Work. 1977-1979
12 James Coleman, Deevey's Graduate Student. 1977-1979
13 Miscellaneous. 1977-1979
13 Paleomagnetism. 1977-1979
13 Samuel Garrett Jones, post doc. 1977-1981
13 Alan Covich, University of Oklahoma. 1978
13 Miscellaneous, Summer. 1978
13 Hague Vaughan, Pollen. 1978-1979
13 Miscellaneous, January-June. 1979
13 Remote Sensing Analysts Project (early man). 1979
13 concerning Visiting Fellowship at Australian National University 1980. 1979
13 Mary Pohl, Florida State University. 1979-1980, 1984
13 Miscellaneous. 1979-1980
13 Paper: Lakes Yaxha and Sacnab. 1979-1980
13 International Botanical Congress Symposium, Australia. 1979-1981
13 Mike Binford, Deevey's PhD Student. 1979-1986
13 Miscellaneous. c. 1980s
13 Dr. Virginia Steen-McIntyre (mostly), Volcanic ash and Datign. 1980
13 M Gordon Wolman, John Hopkins University. 1980
13 Miscellaneous, Summer. 1980
13 Personnel of US Geological Survey. 1980, 1987
13 Rice/Turner, concerning a paper published in Science. 1980
13 Coba/Orono Research Trip. 1980-1981
13 Gordon Riley, on volume honoring Riley's work. 1980-1981
13 Simon and Schuster, Publishing. 1980-1981
13 concerning Paper for Winifred Pennington. 1980-1982
13 Miscellaneous Inquiries. 1980-1984
13 Dr. Barbara Leyden, reference. 1980-1986
13 BL Turner II, Clark University. 1980-1988
13 Mass Spectrometer. 1981
14 Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics. 1981-1982
14 Mary Conway, Life Sciences Editor. 1981-1982
14 Third International Symposium on Paleolimnology. 1981-1982
14 Salary Information. 1981-1987
14 Karl Butzer- University of Chicago. 1982
14 National Academy of Sciences. 1982
14 UF Botany Department. 1982, 1987-1988
14 Faculty Sabatical Program. 1982-1983
14 Matsuo Tsukada, Paper on Pollen. 1982-1983
14 Ordway Preserve. 1983
14 Sydney T Brinson, Florida Natural Areas Inventory. 1983
14 Barbara Leyden, University of South Florida. 1983-1984
14 Peter Rich, University of Connecticut. 1983-1986
14 Miscellaneous "70s and 80s". 1983-1988, 1973
14 concerning Barbara Leyden. 1984
14 Bernard Dussart, Institut Universitaire de biologie marine. 1984
14 Canadian Government Publishing Centre. 1984
14 Carl S. Swisher Endowed Chair (UF). 1984
14 Emily Hahn, The New Yorker, GE Hutchinson. 1984
14 Frank Oldfield, University of Liverpool. 1984
14 HT Odum (to and concerning). 1984
14 Institute of Ecology. 1984
14 Invertebrate Paleontology Chair Search. 1984
14 Michael Gannon, National Endowment for the humanities conference at UF. 1984
14 National Academy of Sciences, Deevey as review monitor. 1984
14 Symposium for ES Deevey's 70th Birthday. 1984
14 World Population. 1984
14 Peter Rich, Lindeman Symposium. 1984-1986
14 Shoji Horie, Lake Biwa. 1984-1986
14 Trip to Yunnan (China). 1984-1985
14 Assistant at Florida State Museum. 1984-1987
14 Georgie B Deevey's Materials. 1984-1988
14 Jim Coleman, Cape Canaveral. 1984-1988
14 Prospective Graduate Students under Deevey. 1984-1988
14 Charles B Reif, Wilkes College. 1985
14 DA Livingstone, Sigmoid Growth Paper. 1985
14 Jo Doherty, ESA Archives at University of Georgia. 1985
14 Dr. Kerry Kelts, London Conference on Lacustrine Source Sediments. 1985
14 Raymond G. Stross, SUNY/Albany. 1985
14 Vera Markgraf. 1985
14 Research Development Award. 1985-1986
14 Special Collections, University of Georgia, ESA Archives. 1985-1986
14 Deevey as visiting scholar in China. 1985-1987
14 Barbara Leyden, MS on Guatemala. 1986
14 Charles Hall. 1986
14 Leonard Duhl, University of California, Berkeley. 1986
14 Mariusz Rybak, Brock University. 1986
14 UF Zoology, Marshall Endowed Chair. 1986
14 Yunnan Research Trip. 1986
14 Bosmina, Koronek, Karnaugh. 1986-1987
14 International Conference, Association of Theoretical and Applied Limnology. 1986-1987
14 Lecture and Study in China. 1986-1987
14 Division of Sponsored Research (UF). 1986-1988
14a China Trips (4 folders). 1984-1987
14a Latin America Trips - Notebooks. 1967-1975
14a Queechy Lake "Management". 1961-1981
15 Song Xueliang, Yunnan Geological Institute. 1986-1988
15 Florida State Museum, July. 1988
15 Journal of Paliolimnology. 1988


Personal Correspondence


Box
15 Family Correspondence, Folder 1 of 6. 1924-1934
15 Family Correspondence, Folder 2 of 6. 1934-1936
15 Family Correspondence, Folder 3 of 6. 1937-1939
15 Family Correspondence, Folder 4 of 6. 1939-1942
15 Family Correspondence, Folder 5 of 6. 1942-1945
15 Family Correspondence, Folder 6 of 6. 1950-1954
15 Dan Livingstone- includes some business. 1952-1955
16 Statement concerning ES Deevey's Mugging in LA Hotel. 1976-1977
16 Travel Plans and Sabbatical. 1981, 1983, 1988


Projects


Box
16 Archeology Studies, Rice, Yaxha/Sacnab. 1979-1985
16 Australia Trip- Lecture Notes. 1965
16 Biological Sciences, Specific Diversity, Research and Correspondence. 1965-1967
16 Biostratonomy of Arctic Lakes, Progress report. 1951
16 China- Kunming Trip. 1987
16 China- Lecture and Research Tour Report. 1987
16 China Research, some proposal notes, correspondence (Deevey died partway through research grant from NSF). 1987-1988
16 China-US Cooperative Research, Japan-China Cooperation, Lake Tai and Biwa. 1986-1988
16 Conservation of Peatlands in Northern Regions- Project TELMA. 1967
16 CT State Board of Fisheries and Game- Biological Survey, Deevey and Bishop. 1938-1939
16 Continuing Education Course- Water Resources Engineering Educational Series on Freshwater Lakes and their Management. 1970
16 Dorion- Shark Project- Florida State Museum. 1972-1973
16 Economics and Ecology, news clippings, correspondence, Folder 1 of 2. 1971-1973
16 Economics and Ecology, news clippings, correspondence, Folder 2 of 2. 1971-1973
16 Ecological Principles of Natural History. 1949
16 Environment- Conservation Foundation. 1963-1966
16 Environment- Ad Hoc Committee on Environmental Quality. 1968-1969
16 Energy Exhibit, Florida State Museum. 1971
17 European Trip. 1953-1954
17 Exibicion Florida, Yaxha Project. 1972-1973
17 Exibicion Florida, Yaxha Project, Grant. 1972-1973
17 Exibicion Florida, Yaxha Project. 1973
17 Exibicion Florida, Yaxha Project, invoices, certifications. 1973-1976
17 Festschrift for GE Hutchinson. 1971-1973
17 Festschrift for GE Hutchinson, Miscellaneous. 1970-1971
17 Florida State Museum Annual Activity Report. 1987-1988
17 Florida State Museum Exhibit Plans. 1973
17 Florida Museum Films, Conclusion Theater (scripts). 1976
17 Florida Museum Films, Conclusion Theater (story boards). 1976
17 Foundation for the Study of Cycles, awards. 1944
17 Glacier Bay Fossils. 1953-1956
17 Guatemala trip, Predeparture. 1949-1950
17 Guatemala, Salvador, data on plankton and bottom fauna. 1950
17 Guatemala, Travel Information. 1950-1951
17 Guatemala, correspondence, research data. 1950-1970
17 Guatemala Correlations, Yale Computer Center. 1965
17 Guatemala, Miscellaneous. 1971-1972
17 Guatemala, Receipts/ Reimbursements. 1972
17 Guatemala Research, National Science Foundation Grants. 1972-1974
18 Guatemala- Equipment Lists/Shipping Bills. 1973
18 Guatemala, Insurance. 1973
18 Guatemala, Receipts/Travel Information. 1973
18 Guatemala, Proposed Workshop. 1976
18 Guatemala, Receipts, Invoices. 1980
18 Guatemala, Research Notes, Correspondence. 1980
18 KPFA (FM) Broadcast on Animal Populations. 1961
18 Peten Limnology Information- Brenner, Binford. 1980
18 Lake Peten District, Guatemala, Final Report to NSF. 1982-1985
18 Lake Peten, Pinelo, Raul. not dated
18 Lindeman's work on Pollen, ES Deevey's contribution. not dated
18 Limnology in France. 1957
18 Maya Lords, DS Rice. 1983
18 Mexican History- Notes, Bibliography. 1956
18 Mexico Research, Correspondence, some data. 1975-1977
18 Mineralogy- analyzed and plotted data (Burford and Brenner). 19,781,980
18 National Academy of Sciences- Climatic Impact Assessment Program. 1974
18 National Research Council Committee on Interrelations of Pleistocene Research. 1947
18 National Science Foundation, Postdoctoral Grant- Australia. 1963-1965
18 NSF Grant, Budgeting. 1972-1974
18 New Zealand, Core Samples. 1948-1952
18 Organization for Tropical Studies. 1966-1972
19 Organization for Tropical Studies, Folder 1 of 2. 1968-1971
19 Organization for Tropical Studies, Folder 2 of 2. 1968-1971
19 Paleolimnalogical Record of the Maya Occupation. 1978
19 Plankton and Fishes in Lake Yaxha- correspondence, notes, unpublished paper. 1975-1978
19 Pollen Analysis Table, New Technique. not dated
19 Pollen Methods. 1956-1963
19 Productivity and Mineral Cycling. not dated
19 Pyramid Valley, Moas. 1965
19 Quirigua Reports. 1977-1979
19 Problems of Radiocarbon Dating. c. 1951
19 Radiocarbon Dating- Miscellaneous Note and Lectures. 1957-1958
19 Radiocarbon (Journal) Carbon Dating notes and correspondence, Folder 1 of 2. 1959-1965
19 Radiocarbon (Journal) Carbon Dating notes and correspondence, Folder 2 of 2. 1959-1965
19 Report on Research in Alaska, Yale University and Office of Naval Research. 1955-1956
19 Report on Field Trip to China- CSCPRC. 1987-1988
19 Report on Mosquito Control Work in Pine Orchard, CT. 1942
19 Report to National Science Foundation on work in Peten, Guatemala. 1976-1977
19 Report- Proyecto Lacustre, Funded by NSF. 1979-1981
19 Report on Radiocarbon Dating- Office of Naval Research. 1958
19 Research Award- US Educational Foundation in Denmark. 1953
19 Results of National Science Foundation Grants. c. 1972-1986
19 Sampling/Testing Methods in Limnology. c. 1955
19 Sedimentary Records of accelerated nutrient loading in Florida Lakes. not dated
19 The Sediments- Preliminary Report- research on Lakes in France. c. 1959
20 Speeches- Chemistry of Wealth and Specific Diversity in Fossil Assemblages. 19,691,971
20 Statement Before the House Committee on Science and Astronautics. 1968
20 "Totoket, etc"- Pollen Stratigraphy, Folder 1 of 2. not dated
20 "Totoket, etc"- Pollen Stratigraphy, Folder 2 of 2. not dated
20 Yale University Committee on Biometeorology- Interdisciplinary Environmental Program. 1965-1966
20 Water Resources Research at Dalhousie University. 1969


Field Notes


Box
20 Barnacle Populations- Hatton. c. 1943-1946
20 Bottom Fauna- Linsley Pond, Canada Lake, and others. 1937-38
20 Bottom Fauna- Various Lakes. 1937-39
20 Brookhaven National Laboratory. 1973
20 Clones- Doran Bosmina, Folder 1 of 2. 1969-1970
20 Clones- Doran Bosmina, Folder 2 of 2. 1969-1970
21 Core Samples- Treatment and Results, various locations. c. 1954
21 Core Chemistry- Various Locations. 1978
21 Daphnia Rosea- Clone I. 1969-1970
21 Daphnia Rosea- Clone I. 1969-1970
21 Daphnia Clones 2-6, 20-25; Bosmina Clones 7-19, 29. not dated
21 European Limnology- Spain and Italy. not dated
21 Field Op. Funding- Accounts and Worksheets. 1974
21 Florida Paleolimnology. 1980-1988
21 Florida Precipitation/Evaporation Measurements. c.1942-1984
21 Florida Sediment Data- Brenner and Binford. 1983-1985
21 Florida Surface Sediments. 1984-1985
21 Fossil Data from Core Samples (source unknown). 1940-1942
21 Geochemistry- Linsley Pond and others. 1961-1963
21 Guatemalan, Mexican Samples. 1961
21 Honey-soaked Limnological Chem. Data. 1977-1979
21 Hydrology including Meteorology and Peten Limnology. 1975-1977
21 Isotopes- Linsley Pond and others. 1963-1964
21 Limnology- J. King. 1960-1961
21 Linsley Pond Data. 1961-1962
21 Regional Limnology- Linsley and connected lakes. 1935-1937
22 Linsley Pond- Pollen Research (possible graduate work, PhD research by ESD). not dated, early work
22 Magnolia and Santa Rosa Lakes. 1973
22 Marivan Vanzeist Information. c. 1960
22 Maya Project Equipment Lists. 1973
22 Mexico Expedition. 1951
22 Field Data- New Zealand Lakes, Pollen. 1965
22 Oana and Deevey c13, c14 (lakes). 1958-1959
22 Oyster pond- Microfossils. 1947
22 Peten- Meteorology Data. 1967-1973
22 Peten Meteorology. 1973-74
22 Peten Morphometry, Limnology. 1978
22 Peten Temperature, Oxygen, Productivity (some correspondence). 1977-1978
22 (Research Sample Information Sheets) Peten Water, Soil, Mud. 1977-1978
22 "Photostats"- graphs, Walden Pond, copies of drawings. not dated
22 Pollen and C14 Dating Research. not dated
22 Modern Pollen Lists. not dated
22 Pollen, Mexico. not dated
22 Pyramid Valley Swamp. c. 1949-1950
22 Queechy Lake, Folder 1 of 4. 1960-1963
23 Queechy Lake, Folder 2 of 4. 1960-1963
23 Queechy Lake, Folder 3 of 4. 1960-1963
23 Queechy Lake, Folder 4 of 4. 1960-1963
23 Quexil and Macanche- Core Samples. 1978
23 Rogers Lake Bosmina - lists of SA and J. da Costa's samples. 1964-1968
23 Rogers Lake, Folder 1 of 2. c. 1960s
23 Rogers Lake, Folder 2 of 2. c. 1960s
23 Rogers Lake, Counts, Folder 1 of 3. 1960-1964
23 Rogers Lake, Counts, Folder 2 of 3. 1960-1964
23 Rogers Lake, Counts, Folder 3 of 3. 1960-1964
23 Rogers Lake. 1962-1966
23 Rogers Lake. 1967
23 Rogers Lake. 1983
23 Sacnab and Yaxha- Peten Data. 1973
24 Sacnab and Yaxha- Core Samples. 1977
24 Surface Palynology. 1975-1977
24 Urbanism Model. 1978
24 Yaxha- Hydrology and Limnology. 1979-1980
24 Yunnan Lakes- China. 1987


Reprints


Box
24 Paper, Post Mankato Glacial Sequence II in the Glacier Bay Region, SE Alaska. not dated
24 Paper, Browning, Tennyson and Music: A Socratic Conversation. not dated
24 Paper, The Problems of Lacustrine Endemism (Chapter, unpublished). not dated
24 Chapter 22 from unknown, Productivity and the Biogeochemical Dynamics of Lakes. not dated
24 Papers (3) unpublished on pollen, lakes, and climate. not dated
24 Papers (2) Limnological excursions in Texas and Mexico, Limnology of La Sal Vieja, unpublished. not dated
24 Wetlands: Interagency Coordination and National Policy. not dated
24 Yale Natural Radiocarbon Measurements III, paper. not dated
24 Review of (2) Books, The Forest and the Sea and The Firmament of Time. not dated
24 Paper on Montana Lakes, notes and data. c. 1937
24 Reprints, Folder 1 of 2. c. 1940
24 Reprints, Folder 2 of 2. c. 1940
24 Pleistocene Research, Biogeography of the Pleistocene. 1949
24 Reprints, Folder 1 of 3. c. 1950
24 Reprints, Folder 2 of 3. c. 1950
25 Reprints, Folder 3 of 3. c. 1950
25 Marine and Pond Life, children's book. 1956-1958
25 Review (controversial) of Sierra Club Publication. 1960
25 Reprints, Folder 1 of 2. c. 1960
25 Reprints, Folder 2 of 2. c. 1960
25 Reviews by Deevey for various journal contributions. 1970-1988
25 Productivity, Man and the Ecosphere. 1972-1974
25 Classic Maya Impact on a Lacustrine Environment. 1978
25 Review of Environmental Protection Agency Research. 1985
25 Review of A Eutrophic Lake. 1986
25 Reprints - Miscellaneous (2 folders).
26 Review of Regional Case Studies Project. 1988
26 Paleoclimatology Workshop Paper. 1988
26 Miscellaneous Printout, schedule, paper titled Lakes. 1988


Proposals


Box
26 American Philosophical Society- Impact of Mayan Urbanism on Two Peten Lakes. 1973-1974
26 American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund- Burial of Organic Carbon and Reduced Sulfur. 1985-1987
26 Department of Energy, Mines, and Resources. 1969-1970
26 Florida Department of Environmental Regulation- Limnology of Florida Lakes (Georgiana Deevey involved). 1976-1978
26 Florida Water Resources- Study of Nitrogen Cycles in Natural Waters (Florida State Museum). 1972
26 Jesse Smith Noyes Foundation- Model Lacustrine Ecosystems as Model Landfills. 1987
26 National Research Council of Canada- Equipment Grants. 1969-1970
26 NASA Global Biology Program- Effects of Past and Present Human Disturbance on Nutrient Cycling. 1984-1987
26 National Science Foundation- Paleolimnology. 1961-1964
26 National Science Foundation- Yale University- Electron microscopic Studies, Paleolimnology. 1963-1967
26 (mostly) National Science Foundation- Paleolimnology, Pollen. 1964
26 National Science Foundation- Yale University- Zooplankton and related problems of paleolimnology. 1966
26 National Science Foundation- Historical Ecology of Maya Area (renewal). 1974
26 National Science Foundation- Proposal Rating, University of California. 1974
26 National Science Foundation- Lacustrine Maya Populations. 1975-1980
26 National Science Foundation- Guatemala Research. 1976-1977
26 National Science Foundation- Historical Ecology of Maya Area (renewal and reports). 1976-1977
26 National Science Foundation- Pleistocene Vegetation and Climate of the Maya Area. 1976-1979
27 National Science Foundation- Late Pleistocene Sedimentology of the Peten Lake District, Guatemala. 1979
27 National Science Foundation- Resilience of Small Watershed Ecosystems in the Florida Lake District. 1979
27 National Science Foundation- Historical Ecology of the Maya Area (funding advances and Phase II). 1980
27 National Science Foundation- Historical Ecology of the Maya Area (PhD research support for Mark Brenner). 1980
27 National Science Foundation- Research in Guatemala (reports). 1980-1982
27 National Science Foundation- Vulnerability of Florida Watersheds to Riparian Disturbance. 1982
27 National Science Foundation- Florida Phase II, Final Report. 1983-1985
27 National Science Foundation- Paleoenvironmental Studies in the Eastern Maya Lowlands. 1984
27 National Science Foundation- Guatemala Proposal. 1984-1985
27 National Science Foundation- Human Disturbances on Lacustrine Environments (extending Guatemala research to Florida Lakes). 1985
27 National Science Foundation- Paleoenvironmental Studies in the Eastern Maya Lowlands (final report). 1985-1987
27 National Science Foundation- Paleohydrologic Studies of the Karst Lake Districts of Guatemala and Florida. 1987
27 National Science Foundation- Research in China, Holocene Environmental History. 1987
27 PEW Charitable Trusts- Training in Subtropical and Ecosystem Conservation. 1986
27 Rockefeller Brothers Fund- China Research (never sent). 1987
27 US Atomic Energy Commission- Nitrogen Cycle. 1972-1973
27 US Geological Survey- (2) Proposals on Florida Lakes. 1986
27 US Geological Survey- Effect of Leakage from Florida Seepage Lakes on Long Term Solute Budgets and Movement to Aquifers. 1986
27 US Geological Survey- Effect of Leakage through Florida Lake Sediments on Aquifer Contamination. 1988
27 Various Institutions- Paleolimnology and Geochronometric Studies. 1953-1963
27 Various Institutions- Historical Ecology of American Tropics. 1972-1974
28 Whitehall Foundation- Recent Perturbations of Lacustrine Biotic Communities. 1988
28 Yale University- National Science Foundation- Interdisciplinary Class, Money for Lab, Recognition/Resources to Isotopic Geology. 1955-1960
28 Yale University and US Atomic Energy Commission- Radiosulfur. 1962-1965


Associations


Box
28 Botanical Society Symposium- New Jersey Pollen Sequences as seen from New England. not dated
28 Ecological Society of America- minutes, constitution, correspondence. 1948-1959
28 New Jersey Field Meeting- travel information, Georgiana Deevey. 1949
28 American Society of Limnology and Oceanography- update to members. 1949-1951
28 American Statistical Association Annual Meeting- programs. 1952
28 Conferences- Ila, Cambridge; Inqua, Rome; Zoology Copenhagen. 1953
28 International Conference on Quaternary Vegetational History at Copenhagen- talks on Pollen analysis and Radiocarbon dating. 1953
28 AIBS Meeting- Society in Space and Time. 1954
28 Pallanza Conferences on Deep Waters of Lakes and the Profundal Zone. 1954
28 Symposium- Vertebrate Speciation, Austin, Texas- Recent Advances in Pleistocene Stratigraphy and Biogeography. 1958-1959
28 Conference- New York Academy of Sciences- Climatic Implications of Paleolimnology. 1961
28 Symposium on Radioecology- Use of Light Nuclides in Limnology. 1961
28 Conference on Palynology- Tucson, Arizona. 1962
28 Ford Foundation Conference. 1964
28 (proposed) Symposium on The Ecology of Societal Dialogue. 1966
28 Talks/Addresses given at Various Conferences. 1969
28 Symposium on Canadian Environmental Law- Science and Education. 1969-1970
28 Ecological Society of America- Ethics Committee. 1969-1972
28 Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics- minutes and correspondence. 1970
28 Conference- Mount Holyoke Club, Halifax- The Chemistry of Wealth. 1970-1971
28 Symposium- WREES, San Francisco- Biogeochemistry of Lakes and Sediments and History of Lakes. 1971
28 Paleolimnology and Climate- ICAAS Seminar. 1976
28 Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics- notes from meetings. 1976
28 International Society of Tropical Ecology Conference, Maya. 1977
29 Freshwater Zooplankton Communities Symposium- Dartmouth College. 1977-1978
29 Election to National Academy of Science (correspondence). 1981
29 International Symposium on Paleolimnology, Finland. 1981-1982
29 AMQUA Conference in Seattle. 1982
29 Ecological Society of America- ES Deevey lifetime member. 1982-1983
29 North American Paleontological Convention- Boulder, CO. 1986


Miscellaneous


Box
29 Biographical Information.
29 Notebooks. not dated
29 Notebooks. not dated
29 Notebooks. not dated
29 Creative- poems, stories. c. 1943
29 Lecture on Marine Fouling. pre 1946
29 Seminars and Lectures. 1949-1953
29 Yale Appointments. 1955-1966
29 Culture and Behavior- Yale University (exam questions, correspondence). 1953-1958
29 Culture and Behavior- Yale University (class notes, assignments). 1955
29 Culture and Behavior- Yale University (class notes, assignments). 1956-1957
29 Culture and Behavior- Yale University (exam questions, lecture notes). 1958-1964
30 Press Releases and Coverage of ES Deevey. 1970-1987
30 Notes for Class Lectures- Seminar in Paleolimnology. 1979
30 Stress, Strain, and Stability of Lacustrine Ecosystems- Seminars at Yale and University of Florida. 1982-1984
30 Oosting Memorial Lecture in Ecology- The Uses of the Past, Folder 1 of 2. 1988
30 Oosting Memorial Lecture in Ecology- The Uses of the Past, Folder 2 of 2. 1988


Photographs


Box
30 Album with Lake Yaxha, Tikal, Tortugas, El Salvador, Kenya, etc. 1973-1974
30 Biological Station- St Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada. 1968-1969
30 Buoy Fouling (project while in Navy).
30 China, possibly Yunnan. 1985/1987
30 ES Deevey. not dated
30 Ecological Society of America Meeting. 1982
30 Euryapteryx (extinct New Zealand Moa). 1966
30 Florida ERTS. not dated
30 Limnology Studies in Middle America. 1957
30 Maps and photos- Guatemala. c. 1977-1979
31 Mayan Hieroglyphic Writing Photos. not dated
31 Mayan Site Slides. not dated
31 Miscellaneous.
31 Miscellaneous Slides, Folder 1 of 2. not dated
31 Miscellaneous Slides, Folder 2 of 2. not dated
31 People- Georgiana Deevey (First Wife). not dated
31 People- Mark Brenner (researcher/ student of ES Deevey). not dated
31 People- Third International Symposium on Paleolimnology, Finland. 1981
31 Peten Area, Satellite Imagery. 1974-1976
31 Photos, Post Cards, Memorabilia "from all over".
31 Posters and Exhibits at Meeting or Conference. Circa 1988
31 Publications/Presentations. not dated
31 Research- Bogs. 1954
31 Research- Carbon 14 samples, Fouling Panels, Ithaca. 1945,1949-1950
31 Research- Fouling Panels. 1949
31 Research- Fouling Panels, April and May. 1949
31 Research- Fouling Panels, June. 1949
31 Research- Fouling Panels, Series IV, October. 1949
31 Research- Fouling Panels, Series IV. 1949
31 Research- Fouling Panels, Series V. 1949
32 Research- Fouling Panels, Series VI. 1949
32 Research- Fouling Panels, Series VII. 1949
32 Research- Fouling Panels, Series VIII. 1949
32 Research- Fouling Panels, Series IX. 1949
32 Research- Fouling Panels, Series X. 1949
32 Research- Fouling Panels, Series XI. 1949
32 Research- Fouling Panels, Series XVI. 1949
32 Research- Glacial Lake Albany (AMQUA). 1988
32 Research- Lakes, unidentified. not dated
32 Research- Pond Bogs, miscellaneous. 1949
32 Research- Sarasota Paper Slides. 1978
32 Slides/Negatives, various. 1949
32 Snapshot for Limnology Gallery. not dated
32 Various Bogs. not dated
33 Slides - Miscellaneous Personal, Family, Travel (include captions).
34 Slides - Miscellaneous Personal, Family, Travel (include captions).
35 Slides - Glass Negatives (Fragile) - Miscellaneous.
36 Slides - Glass Negatives (Fragile) - Miscellaneous.
37 Slides - Glass Negatives (Fragile) - Miscellaneous.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Human ecology -- History.
Lake ecology -- Florida.
Limnologists.
Limnology.
Marine ecology.
Pollen.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page