Skip to Search



A Guide to the Maria Adelaide Cust Journal

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Cust, Maria Adelaide
Title: Maria Adelaide Cust Journal
Dates: 1860-1864
Abstract: Journal kept by Maria Adelaide Cust describing her life in India, 1860-1864. Includes memos, newspaper clippings, illustration plates, calendar.
Extent: 0.2 Linear feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MS Group 134
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Daughter of the Rev. Hon. Henry Lewis Hobart, Dean of Windsor, she married Robert Needham Cust (1821-1909) and had four children, two sons and two daughters. Cust accompanied her husband to India with her three surviving children where she became ill and died in 1864.


Scope and Content

Locking diary, leaves, memos, newspaper clippings, illustration plates, calendar page. This diary begins July 1, 1860 and ends December 1863 except for entries added later by Robert Cust in 1864. Written mostly in Punjab and Dharmsala (written as Dhurumsala throughout), India, she chronicles her life, the books she reads every month, where she takes the children, and [Catholic] church meetings. Within the diary are leaves (brittle), messages sent to her husband that she and the children have arrived safely, a desk calendar sheet for October 18, 1860 with "Dhurumsala" written on it, 2 illustrations of buildings, and 4 illustration plates which were probably added by her husband after her death. There are pencil notes added by her husband (most dated 1864) as well as a postscript recording her death on January 17, 1864. Several newspaper clippings also can be found inside including a tiny notice April 18, [1862] of Robert Cust's promotion to the office of judicial commissioner.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Maria Adelaide Cust Journal, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert Thompson.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Cust, Robert Needham, 1821-1909.
Dharmsala (India) -- Description and travel.
India -- Social life and customs -- 19th century -- Sources.
Punjab (India) -- Description and travel.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page