Skip to Search





A Guide to the Cunningham Funeral Home Records

Finding aid created by Matt Kruse

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

March 2020



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Cunningham Funeral Home.
Title: Cunningham Funeral Home Records
Dates: 1950-1994
Abstract: Burial records, photographs, cemetery maps, funeral service programs, and minutes from the Florida Morticians Association Inc.
Extent: 6 Linear Feet. 21 boxes.
Identification: MSS 0563
Language(s): English
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

The Cunningham Funeral Home Records in Ocala document the largest minority-owned business in Marion County, Florida. Brothers Albert and James Cunningham founded the company in 1955.

James Cunningham, who died in 1985, served as the first black city commissioner in Marion County for ten years. The James Cunningham Highway in Ocala was named in his honor.


Scope and Content

The Cunningham Funeral Home Records include funeral home burial records organized in bound volumes by number. These have all been digitized and can be found online via the University of Florida's digital collections. Besides burial records, the collection contains photographs, cemetery maps, funeral service programs, and minutes from the Florida Morticians Association Inc. - all of which form the legacy of the Cunningham Funeral Home Collection.

Part of the collection's significance is due to the fact that, until the 1970s, the only comprehensive listing of African-American communities in any Florida county is found in morticians' records. For instance, if a researcher wants to know where African-American churches and schools were located, that information can be found in the records. Morticians have been - and continue to be - the means of knowing what was happening in the community: they knew everyone, and they could give directions to houses in obscure locations. They were truly the heart of the community.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the Cunningham Funeral Home Records are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Cunningham Funeral Home Records, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Funeral Records. 1950s-1970s



Box
1 1-217.
2 213-507.
3 508-683.
4 669-857.
5 858-1072.
6 1073-1100.
7 1101-1217.
8 1217-1700.
9 1701-2108.
10 2109-3072.
11 3073-3261.
12 3262-4245.
13 4246-4678.
14 4679-5093 1/2.
15 5093-5320.
16 5321-5620.
17 5621-6021.
18 6023-6613.
19 6614-7125.
20 Index.



Miscellaneous. 1964-1994



Box Folder
211 Florida Morticians Association, Inc. - Minutes. 1964 June 16-19
212 Florida Morticians Association, Inc. - Minutes. 1973 June 18-21
213 Funeral Service Programs. 1972-1994
214 Photographs of the Funeral Home. undated



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

African Americans.
Cunningham Funeral Home.
Florida -- Ocala.
Funeral homes.
Registers of births, etc.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page