 |
Library Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Remote Logon | Search |
| Library > Special & Area Studies Collections > General Manuscripts > Finding Aids | |
Cuban Miscellanea at the University of Florida
Cuban Miscellanea is comprised of a variety of materials from or on the study of Cuba. These materials have been acquired from various sources over a period of many years, and are grouped together because each acquisition consists of a small number of items (e.g., a single letter, manuscript, or photograph album). Note that UF holds several other archival collections relating to Cuba and the Caribbean; please see this list of the Latin American and Caribbean holdings.
Cataloged items:
Additional items and collections:
Album de la Revolución Cubana 1952-1959. Circa 1959-1960. Children's illustrated album entitled "Álbum de la Revolución Cubana 1952-1959." [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Álbum ilustrado para niños titulado "Álbum de la Revolución Cubana 1952-1959".] .02 linear feet. MS Group 305.
Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría Papers on Aureliano Sánchez Arango. 1789-2019 (bulk: 1960-1976). The collection documents the life of Aureliano Sánchez Arango and his son Alfredo Sánchez Echeverría while they were involved in various counterrevolutionary groups to overthrow the government of Fulgencio Batista and Fidel Castro. The collection includes: correspondence, personal and professional documents, photographs, newspapers, clippings, magazines, articles, and audiovisual materials. 10.28 Linear Feet. MSS 0523
Barreto y Cardenas, Jose Francisco. Petition to King Ferdinand VII, October 10, 1814. 15 p. (1 folder) Spanish nobleman says that enemies are blocking him from the Countship of Motox. Ms Group 300. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la petición de José Francisco Barreto y Cárdenas al Rey Fernando VII.]
Batista, Fulgencio. Collection of four engraved invitations and related material to celebrate his inauguration for a third term as president of Cuba (1955-1958). Ms Group 127.
Bill of sale for the coffee plantation La Criolla and its slaves. A manuscript containing the Coffee Plantation, La Criolla's bill of sale and the individual names of its slaves from 1871. MSS 0546. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la Factura de venta del cafetal La Criolla y sus esclavos.]
Bond of solidarity with the nation of Cuba. Circa 1986. ScThis collection consists of two bonds issued by the Movimiento Puertorriqueño de Solidaridad con el Pueblo Cubano (Puerto Rican Movement for Solidarity with the Cuban Nation). The bonds, one with a value of $50 and the other of $100, represent the possessor's solidarity with the people of Cuba. The bonds are a representation of the possessor's support for the people of Cuba. .01 Linear Feet. 1 folder (2 pages). MSS 0533.
Business Letters Describing Cuba Financial Market. 1867-1871. Correspondence from agents in Cuba reporting on business and market conditions to merchants in Portland, Maine. 3 folders. MS Group 176. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de las Cartas de negocios describiendo el mercado financiero en Cuba.]
Cartoon History of the Spanish American War. 1898. This scrapbook made by Blanche S. Crawford is a compilation of political cartoons pertaining to the Spanish-American War published in American newspapers in 1898. MSS 0541. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Álbum de caricaturas de la historia de la Guerra Hispano-Cubano-Norteamericana.]
Certificate of Citizenship of Eusebio Salsamendi Lasheras 1940 April 11. This document is the certificate of citizenship for Eusebio Salsamendi Lasheras, who is a single male student born on July 11, 1924 in Barcelona. 0.01 Linear Feet. 1 folder. MSS 0536.
Charles IV, King of Spain. Real Cedula to Cuba. An official copy of a real cedula expressing the King of Spain's displeasure toward interracial marriages in Cuba. MS Group 302. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la Real Cédula del Rey de España Carlos IV a Cuba.]
Circular regarding trade relations between the United States and Cuba.1834. Circular regarding trade relations between the United States and Cuba.0.01 Linear Feet. 1 folder. MSS 0552.
Colegio "La Milagrosa" arts and crafts album. Circa 1902-1960. An album containing cross-stitch and crochet samples made by a student of "Colegio La Milagrosa". MSS 0540. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Álbum de trabajos manuales del Colegio "La Milagrosa".]
Contract of agreement to charter the American brig Jennie Phinney. 1879 January 23. In this contract the shipbroker, Edward A. Sánchez details the specifications of the Jennie Phinney brig, including its capacities and when and where it was built. 0.01 Linear Feet. 1 folder. MSS 0543.
Cuba en 1925 Photograph Album. Circa 1925. Album entitled "Cuba en 1925, Commandante M. Gajate," featuring hundreds of photographs of people and places in Cuba. Ms Group 216. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Álbum de fotografías Cuba en 1925.]
Cuban bulletin covering the resignation of President Manuel Urrutia Lleó and other currents events. 1959 July 25. The publication highlights the nation's growth since the Cuban Revolution and documents important historical moments, including the resignation of President Manuel Urrutia Lleó. 0.01 Linear Feet. 1 folder. MSS 0535.
Cuban Slave Death Certificates and Burial Letters Collection. 1852-1898 (Bulk: 1860s-1870s). The collection, which spans the second half of the nineteenth century, includes 28 documents. Some are letters of slave owners to the priest of the church of Montserrat in La Habana, Cuba; others are death certificates of slaves, runaway slaves, and free persons of color issued by the Real Hospital de Caridad de San Felipe y Santiago. 1 folder. MSS 0397.[The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Colección de los certificados de defunción de esclavos en Cuba y las cartas de solicitud de entierros.]
Cuban Slave Insurance Collection. 1855-1878. Seventeen documents pertaining to insurance for slaves in Cuba. MS Group 268. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Colección de las pólizas de seguros sobre la vida de los esclavos cubanos.]
de Tapia, Lope. 1639. A document written by Lope de Tapia, regarding the service of Don Diego Luis Riano y Menesses in Cuba. Ms Group 215. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del documento de Lope de Tapia sobre Don Diego Luis Riaño y Menesses.]
Document Regarding Financial and Property Transactions of the Convento de San Francisco in Havana, Cuba. 1844. Document describing transactions of money and land between various individuals and the Convento de San Francisco in Havana, Cuba. Ms Group 303. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de los Documentos sobre las transacciones financieras y de propiedad del Convento de San Francisco en La Habana, Cuba.]
Eagle, Arnold. Cuban Sugar Workers and Sugar Mills Photographs, circa 1950-1960. Group of 11 photographs, 5 negatives, and 6 prints taken by Arnold Eagle detailing views of sugar mills, workers and life in the countryside of Cuba. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la Colección de fotografías de trabajadores e ingenios azucareros cubanos.]
González Blanco, Carlos. Collection, 1968-1977. The collection includes the letters that Carlos González Blanco wrote to his wife, mother, and daughter while he was a political prisoner in various Cuban jails. It also includes his mother's correspondence with Latin American and U.S. presidents, and international organizations, such as Amnesty International and the Red Cross, regarding the situation of her son and two brothers, who were also political prisoners. Ms Group 24. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la Colección de Carlos González Blanco.]
Guerra, Ramiro. "El latifundio azucarero y la poblacion de las Antillas / West Indian Sugar Plantation and Peoples." Paper presented before the Atheneum Club, October 19, 1934. Ms Group 301.[The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del discurso de Ramiro Guerra.]
Guillén Batista, Nicolás. Manuscript of Sóngoro Cosongo, 1931. Dedicated typewritten manuscript of Nicolás Guillén's most critically acclaimed book of poems. MSS 0336. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Manuscrito Sóngoro Cosongo de Nicolás Guillén Batista.]
Hile, B. S. Correspondence, 1861-1862. Letters written by B. S. Hile to his family while he was living and employed in Havana, Cuba. 0.2 ln.ft. Ms Group 227. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la correspondencia de B.S. Hile.]
Historia de Cuba. Photograph Albums, 1935. Two copies of an album of photographs depicting people, historical sites and landmarks, events, buildings, ships, and documents spanning the history of Cuba. Ms Group 173. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de los Álbumes fotográficos de la Historia de Cuba.]
Historia Gráfica de la Marítima Parreño. Scrapbook, 1921-1941. Documenting the development of the Marítima Parreño port facilities in Santiago de Cuba during the 1920s and 1930s. Ms Group 217. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Álbum de recortes de la historia gráfica de la Marítima Parreño.]
Jewish Organizations in Cuba. Collection, 1925-1967. This collection sheds light on various aspects of Jewish communal life in Cuba from the 1920s until the 1960s. The documents in the collection were created by different Jewish organizations in Havana. The majority of these letters, written agreements, registry entries, affidavits issued to immigrants to both Cuba and the US, and tickets to different events are in Yiddish, also signaling that they are related to the lives of the last large wave of Jewish immigrants to Cuba, mostly from Eastern European Ashkenazi communities. 1 ln.ft. MSS 0558. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la Colección de organizaciones judías en Cuba.]
Letter book of the Brig Barbara kept by Ship Master William T. Stevenson II.1821 December-1822 December. Letter book containing copies of the letters that Ship Master Stevenson II sent to the owners of the ship, his suppliers, buyers, and other people with whom he conducted business. 0.01 Linear Feet. 1 folder. MSS 0554.
Maigrot, Don Juan Elías Documents Relating to Rights over Sugar-refining Technology, 1861-1871. Eight nineteenth-century Cuban manuscripts confirming entrepreneur Don Juan Elías Maigrot's patent for a new sugar-refining technology. .01 linear feet. MSS 0404. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de los documentos de don Juan Elías Maigrot relacionados a los derechos otorgados sobre una innovación tecnológica para el refinado de azúcar.]
Matanzas-Sabanilla Railway Extension Collection, 1843 February-August. Cuban manuscripts from 1843 documenting the negotiations for the construction of the Matanzas-Sabanilla railway extension passing through important sugar refineries in Cuba. .01 linear feet. MSS 0405. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la Colección de la extensión de la línea de ferrocarril de Matanzas a Sabanilla.]
Military Papers of the Spanish Army in Cuba. Military papers, 1869-1897. Correspondence, finanical records, and official documents that reveal the presence, organization, and activities of the Spanish volunteer military in Cuba from 1869 to 1897. 16 folders. MS Group 161. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de los documentos militares del Ejército Español en Cuba.]
"Movimiento 26 de Julio" Republica de Cuba $1.00 Note. Circa 1955-1959. A "Movimiento 26 de Julio" Republica de Cuba $1.00 note issued by Fidel Castro during the Cuban Revolution. MS Group 304. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Bono de 1 peso del "Movimiento 26 de Julio" de la República de Cuba.]
Oberly, Aaron S. Letter describing Havana, Cuba, 1865. Manuscript letter written aboard the U.S. Steamer Santiago de Cuba by U.S. Navy Assistant Surgeon Oberly describing the people, the climate, the music, and the activity on the roads and docks of Havana. 1 folder. MS Group 164. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la carta de Aaron S. Oberly describiendo La Habana, Cuba en 1865.]
Page, James . Correspondence, 1905-1911. Letters pertaining to Page's position as the engineer in charge of constructing a water supply and sewer system in Cienfuegos, Cuba, including a 1910 report on the status of the water system. 10 folders. MS Group 160. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la correspondencia de James Page.]
Parker, John. Letters, 1815. Three letters from Parker in Havana, Cuba, to his employer, A.C. Johnstone, discussing slave, coffee, sugar and other markets in Havana. 1 folder. Ms Group 165. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de las cartas de John Parker.]
Peñate de Tito, Reina. Collection, 1961-2011. In 1961, Reina Peñate de Tito joined a counter revolutionary group that sought to overthrow Fidel Castro. That same year, along with other members of the group, she was arrested. This collection includes testimonials on her experience as a political prisoner as well as copies of the sentence and of the release documents.The collection also contains one scrapbook with news clippings, photographs, letters, and documents regarding her experience as a political prisoner, and "The Miami Herald" magazine special publication on "Mariel. 25 años después. La travesía, los testimonios." Ms Group 22. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la Colección de Reina Peñate de Tito.]
Prats y Salas, Antonio. Advertencia. La presente reseña de los acontecimientos ..., ca. 1863. Manuscript "Advertencia" by Antonio Prats, describing the events that resulted in his arrest during the period of political unrest leading up to the 10 Years War in Cuba. 1 folder. MS Group 162. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Manuscrito "Advertencia".]
Ray, Manuel. Oral History Collection, 2008-2009. Two filmed interviews conducted by Lillian Guerra, one with Manuel Ray (aka Manolo) that is nine hours long, and the other with Aurora Chacón de Ray that is one hour and a half in length. Also included is a transcript of both interviews that is 74 pages in length and several photos. Ms Group 88. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la Colección de Historia Oral de Manuel Ray.]
Report on the contributions of the island of Cuba presented by intendant Antonio Larrua. Cuban reports presented by intendant of Havana, Antonio Larrua, regarding taxes, imports, exports and other costs from the year 1841. MSS 0551. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Informe sobre las contribuciones de la isla de Cuba presentado por el intendente Antonio Larrua.]
Rodriguez, Jose Ignacio. Papers, 1873-1890. Letters and documents of lawyer who represented clients whose property was seized by the Spanish government as retribution for their support of Cuban independence. Ms Group 306. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de los documentos de José Ignacio Rodríguez.]
Romero, César: Interview on
Royal Havana Company. Collection, 1749. Royal Havana Company was a Spanish company based in Havana, Cuba, which specialized in shipbuilding and trading of tobacco and sugar. This collection includes notes about shipments of tobacco, and a letter penned by Martín de Aróstegui, defending his role as president of Royal Havana Company. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía de la Colección de la Royal Havana Company.]
Saco, José Antonio. Letters, 1837 December-1844 September. Letters written by the Cuban intellectual José Antonio Saco documenting his abolitionist efforts during his residence in Europe. 1 folder. MSS 0388. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía a las Cartas de José Antonio Saco.]
Sánchez, Bernabé. Letterbook, 1898-1900. A letterbook containing copies of letters written by cattle rancher and financier Bernabé Sánchez of Cuba between 1898 and 1900. MS Group 179. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Libro de cartas de Bernabé Sánchez.]
"Sharpening of the class struggle: The education of domestic workers in Cuba" Manuscript. Sixteen page manuscript written by Elena Gil Izquierdo that explains the work done by the Federación de Mujeres Cubanas (Federation of Cuban Women) regarding education of household workers. MSS 0534. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Manuscrito: "La Educación de las Domésticas: Una agudización de la lucha de clases".]
Stevens Brothers letter book on sugar commerce with Cuba. 1858 March-1860 October. A handwritten nineteenth-century letter book from the New York sugar brokerage firm of Stevens Brothers, containing business material of the firm, including its relationship with Cuba.0.08 Linear Feet. MSS 0549.
Twentieth-century pharmacy logbook of José Sarrá's "La Reunión" Pharmacy in Havana, Cuba. Pharmacy logbook belonging to La Reunión Pharmacy in Havana, Cuba from 1924. MSS 0538. [The guide to this collection is available in Spanish: Guía del Libro de recetas del siglo XX de la farmacia "La Reunión" de José Sarrá en La Habana, Cuba.]
For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.
(c) 2004 University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
All rights reserved.
Terms of Use for Electronic Resources and Copyright Information and Disclaimer Statement
This page uses Google Analytics - (Google Privacy Policy)
Last updated January 2012 - jrn