Skip to Search





A Guide to the Business Letters Describing the Financial Market in Cuba

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

October 2004



Descriptive Summary

Title: Business Letters Describing the Financial Market in Cuba
Dates: 1867-1871
Abstract: Includes correspondence, dated 1867-1871, from agents in Cuba reporting on business and market conditions to merchants in Portland, Maine.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 3 Folders.
Identification: MS Group 176
Language(s): English
Note: This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/cubamarket_es.pdf
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

J.B. Brown and Sons was one of the largest private banking houses in Portland. The firm was founded and operated by John Bundy Brown and his sons Philip Henry Brown and John Marshall Brown. John Bundy Brown was a leading capitalist of Maine. He was the head of the Portland Sugar Company, one of the original incorporators and directors of the Atlantic and St. Lawrence Railroad, a director or investor of several other railroads and corporations.

His eldest son, Philip Henry Brown, was born on October 16, 1831. He assisted his father in the development of the Portland Sugar Company, which became one of the most important manufacturing houses of the country, turning out five hundred barrels of sugar a day, and distributing its product to all parts of the United States. During this time, Philip Henry also became a founder of the West India house of Churchill, Browns and Manson.


Scope and Content

Collection of handwritten letters dated 1867-1871 and written by various agents in Cuba reporting on business conditions to merchants in Portland, Maine. Most of the letters are addressed to J.B. Brown and Sons or to Churchill, Browns and Manson. The letters report the market prices and sales of molasses, sugar, shooks (knock-down barrels), and other commodities. Additionally, they discuss market conditions, agricultural concerns, grinding and manufacturing activities, and shipping. Descriptions of the ships and which cargoes are selling or not selling are also provided.

The letters are written from such places as Havana, Matanzas, Caibarién, Cárdenas, and Sagua La Grande. The agents include Vanderkreft, La Puerta and Co.; D. Ruiz Toledo; Smith and Company; Juan Ferrin; L.Y. Stocker and Co.; J.C. Burnham and Co.; and C.P. Madan. The majority of the letters are written in English, but a small number are written in Spanish.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the Digital Library of the Caribbean and the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Alternate Form of Finding Aid

This guide is available in Spanish at http://www.library.ufl.edu/spec/manuscript/guides/cubamarket_es.pdf.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Business Letters Describing the Financial Market in Cuba, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Purchased in 2004 from Charles Apfelbaum.


Contents List

Folder
1 Correspondence. 1867
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 March 9
1 Letter from Samuel Trask to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 March 18
1 Letter from L. I. Stocker & Co. to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 March 19
1 Letter from Pomares & Morrill to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 May 4
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 May 18
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 May 20
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 May 21
1 Letter from Traub, Parkinson & Co. to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 May 24
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 May 25
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 May 28
1 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 May 29
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 June 1
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 June 8
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 June 28
1 Letter from P. R. Toledo to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 August 22
1 Letter from Whitman, Meyer & Co. to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 August 24
1 Letter from Adot Spalding & Co. to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 August 30
1 Letter from Adot Spalding & Co. to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 September 13
1 Letter from C. P. Madero & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 September 13
1 Letter from J.J. Muller & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 September 27
1 Letter from Whitman, Meyer & Co. to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 September 28
1 Letter from Whitman, Meyer & Co. to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 October 2
1 Letter from Zaldo Fesser & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 October 12
1 Letter from Zaldo Fesser & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson. 1867 October 19
1 Letter from Whitman, Meyer & Co. to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 October 25
1 Letter from Meyer G. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 October 31
1 Letter from Traub, Parkinson & Co. to J. B. Brown & Sons. 1867 November 1
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 November 7
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 November 9
1 Letter from Mantee Butte & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 November 16
1 Letter from Medina Hermanos & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 November 28
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 November 30
1 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1867 December 14
2 Correspondence. 1868
2 Letter from Rosell y Sabino to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 January 2
2 Letter from Adot Spalding & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 January 3
2 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 January 4
2 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 January 4
2 Letter from J. K. Somers & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 January 4
2 Letter from Adot Spalding & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 January 10
2 Letter from Adot Spalding & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 January 10
2 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 January 11
2 Letter from Adot Spalding & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 February 21
2 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 February 28
2 Letter from D. Ruiz Toledo to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 February 29
2 Letter from J. K. Somer & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 February 29
2 Letter from Adot Spalding & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 March 6
2 Letter from Adot Spalding & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 March 13
2 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 March 24
2 Letter from Vanderkieft, LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson. 1868 March 25
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 March 26
2 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 March 28
2 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 April 1
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 April 3
2 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 April 4
2 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 April 4
2 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 April 8
2 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 April 15
2 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 April 22
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson. 1868 May 5
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 May 14
2 Letter from Laureano Pequeño & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 May 22
2 Letter from Juan Lavin to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 May 28
2 Letter from Juan Lavin to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 June 4
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 June 4
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 June 11
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 June 18
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 June 26
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 July 2
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 July 9
2 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 July 15
2 Letter from D. Ruiz Toledo to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 July 16
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 July 16
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 July 23
2 Letter from D. Ruiz Toledo to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 July 24
2 Letter from D. Ruiz Toledo to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 July 30
2 Letter from D. Ruiz Toledo to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 August 6
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 August 6
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 August 13
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 August 21
2 Letter from Smith & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 September 3
2 Letter from Vanderkieft LaPuerta & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 September 30
2 Letter from J. C. Burnham & Co. to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1868 October 2
3 Correspondence. 1869-1871
3 Letter from Juan Ferrin to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1870 March 14
3 Letter from Juan Ferrin to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1870 March 17
3 Letter from Juan Ferrin to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1870 March 31
3 Letter from Juan Ferrin to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1870 April 21
3 Letter from Juan Ferrin to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1870 April 26
3 Letter from Juan Ferrin to Churchill, Browns & Manson Co.. 1870 April 28

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Atlantic Ocean Region.
Capital market.
Churchill, Browns and Manson.
Commerce.
correspondence
Cuba.
J.B. Brown and Sons.
Sugar trade.
United States.




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page