Skip to Search





A Guide to the David Crown Holocaust Print Collection

Finding aid created by Lauren Krebs

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections

March 2016



Descriptive Summary

Creator: Crown, A. David (1924-2016)
Title: David Crown Holocaust Print Collection
Dates: 1985-2013, undated
Abstract: Artist David Crown worked across various media and was the Founder and Director of the International Mezzotint Society. This collection consists of a series of Crown's prints, titled In My Lifetime, which depicts various themes and scenes of the Holocaust. Additional prints, sketches, original etched copper printing plates, and documents are also included.
Extent: 0.42 Linear feet. 2 folders and one flat file drawer.
Identification: MSS 0334
Language(s): English
Online ContentItems from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

David Crown was born in London, England. He was educated at Cambridge University, the University of London, and the London Hospital Medical School. After becoming a physician in 1947, he moved to Rochester, New York, where he practiced internal medicine until his retirement in 1982. The following year, Crown moved to Gainesville, Florida, where he pursued his second career as an artist. Crown died on August 21, 2016 in Gainesville.

Dr. Crown worked across various media: woodblocks, linocuts, etchings and collagraphs, oil painting, sculpture, and mezzotints. He was awarded a residency for printmaking at the Frans Masereel Center in Belgium, and was the Founder and Director of the International Mezzotint Society.

Dr. Crown's works are included in several museum, library, and university collections, including The British Museum, London; the Samuel P. Harn Museum of Art and the Isser and Rae Price Library of Judaica, both at the University of Florida; the Ekaterinburg Museum of Fine Arts, Russia; and Univerzitet Educons, Serbia.


Scope and Content

This collection consists of a series of 26 prints, titled In My Lifetime, depicting various themes and scenes of the Holocaust. The prints are all intaglio; they were etched with nitric acid or using a mezzotint rocker. All prints were produced on zinc or copper plates, with indigo ink hand-blended by Dr. Crown. Additional records include various sketches, biographical materials, work lists, programs and papers regarding the exhibition, a Yahrzeit certificate for Crown's grandfather, Abraham, and eight of the original etched copper printing plates.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

This collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

To see the artist's statement, see "In My Lifetime." A. David Crown's 2014 lecture on the In My Lifetime Holocaust print series can be heard here.

Art by David Crown, MD (Artist's website)


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of selected items in the David Crown Holocaust Print Collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], David Crown Holocaust Print Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

These works were created and donated by artist A. David Crown.


Contents List

Series I: Papers.



Box Folder
11 Biographical materials and work lists. 2010, 2013, undated
12 Exhibition materials: Programs, gallery newsletters, clippings, letter. 1986, 1998, 2002, 2010, 2013


Box
MC Yahrzeit certificate for Abraham Cron [Crown] (grandfather). undated



Series II: Artwork.



Box
MC All Those Children. 1987
MC Almost Dead and Deloused, assorted sketches.
MC Almost Dead, print number 8. 1986
MC ... and Millions More. 1984
MC Arbeitslager, print number 11. 1984
MC Baruch Atah Adonai (titled in Hebrew). 1985
MC Deloused. 1984
MC The Dust Flew Up, print and sketch. 1985
MC Einsatzgruppen, print and three small sketches. 1988
MC The Final Solution, print and large sketch. 1986
MC The Final Solution - Soldiers. 1985
MC Forced March. 1988
MC Humani Nihil - A Me Alienim Puto (Nothing human that does not concern me). 1984
MC I'll take care of you!. 1984
MC In My Lifetime, print and four large sketches. undated
MC Jewess, print number 13. 1985
MC Mach Schnell. 1987
MC My Friend Now, print number 16. 1984
MC New Arrivals. 1984
MC The Ovens. 1986
MC Peddler? ... or Prophet, print and small sketch. 1985
MC The Rabbis. 1984
MC Remember ... (or "Can I keep my doll?"), print and small sketch. 1985
MC Soup. 1985
MC To The Gas Chamber. 1984
MC Unseidlung, print number 12. 1984
MC Waiting. 1989
MC Where do you want me to go?, print number 5. 1984



Series III. Plates. 1985-1990



Box
OS Plate 1: Original etched copper printing plate for the print entitled Baruch Atah Adonai.
OS Plate 2: Original etched copper printing plate for the print entitled The Dust Flew Up.
OS Plate 3: Original etched copper printing plate for the print entitled Einsatzgruppen.
OS Plate 4: Original etched copper printing plate for the print entitled Final Solution.
OS Plate 5: Original etched copper printing plate for the print entitled The Final Solution - Soldiers.
OS Plate 6: Original etched copper printing plate for the print entitled I'll Take Care of You.
OS Plate 7: Original etched copper printing plate for the print entitled Peddler? ... or Prophet.
OS Plate 8: Original etched copper printing plate for the print entitled Forced March.



Selected Subjects and Access Terms

aquatints (prints)
etchings (prints)
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) in art




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page